Akela WholePrey

Akela WholePrey say:

Affordable vet-approved 80:20 nutrition. Made in Britain.

Akela WholePrey
98% of users rated this business as excellent or very good.
Ranked 1 in Dog Food
Ranking calculated based on average score and the most reviews. Businesses need more than 5 reviews to feature at the top.
432 reviews

Recent review

4th July 2017
“Wonderful, nutitious food”
We love for our Shih szhu Akela Fish Small Paws. However, since our dog is quite a small dog, and we would like to sometime mix with something else th…

432 people have reviewed Akela WholePrey


Member ratings

Excellent
411
Very Good
16
Average
3
Poor
2
Terrible
0

Rating summary

Enjoyed by dog
Ingredients
Quality
Value for money
432 reviews (1 page) sorted by
1 review
“Wonderful, nutitious food”
Reviewed 4th July 2017
We love for our Shih szhu Akela Fish Small Paws. However, since our dog is quite a small dog, and we would like to sometime mix with something else than fish food, the big bags in which the food is being delivered are too big for us to store. Our dog thus wishes for smaller (half the size of what we have bought) units. We live in DK, and this means that there is no local store, where we can buy the very good dogs food.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Love it and the treats”
Reviewed 3rd July 2017
My westie has been free of ear problems since being on Akela.
My 2 cockapoos, one a fussy eater love the fish option.
All 3 enjoy the treats as well.
Excellent delivery service with DPD, time slot means i know when delivery is arriving
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“My dog, and I, are converts!”
Reviewed 19th June 2017
We rehomed an adolescent bitch just before Christmas last year (yes, I know; it was planned but happened more quickly than expected). She came to us on a commercial diet; her skin was flaky and itchy, her coat poor, underweight, and her pooh was very loose and smelly. I gradually shifted her into another, Canadian, grain free kibble which was very effective but costly and, well, not British. A little research later and I'd found Akela: comparable in composition to the other kibble but more cost-effective and British. Our dog loves it; her coat is thicker, her skin smoother, and her poo solid and (pretty much) odour-free. I do add salmon oil and, after a nasty stomach bug, a pre/pro-biotic blend but Akela's food is the clean base in a very effective dietary plan that keeps her healthy and weight-appropriate. Packaging and delivery is good. Overall, a company and products I am happy to recommend.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Just superb all round”
Reviewed 15th June 2017
I ordered weds late afternoon,and by 12.30 the next day,my food was here,couldn't believe it,fantastic.
SO pleased with this company,they are so helpful,the quality is superb,and great communication too.
I cannot recommend this company and their food highly enough.
The service is outstanding.
100% pure,and so good for the dogs.
I'll keep feeding this as my dogs adore it.

Jenny
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Feeds all of my dogs from 15 wks to 14 yrs”
Reviewed 28th May 2017
I moved to Akela 18 months ago and my dogs love it. I breed Golden Retrievers and have just weaned my last litter onto it. The coats of this litter were the best coats we have ever had and it can only be the food. Everything else was the same, even the parents as it was a repeat mating. I would recommend it to anyone.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Happy dog, happy owners.”
Reviewed 26th May 2017
My one year old miniature poodle Reuben was very picky with food and only ate enough to take the edge of his hunger, he was being fed natures menu Country Hunter canned wet food. He was also prone to stomach upsets from time to time. I read the reviews about Akela and decided to change Reuben on to the canned wet food and am so glad I did, he wolves (sorry about the pun)! the food down and is doing very well on one can divided into breakfast and supper daily, the quality is excellent for a very reasonable price of £10 for six assorted cans in a tray. I don't have to worry about giving him extra vitamins etc as the food is complete and is not bulked out with grains.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Quality Product, Dog Thriving. Excellent.”
Reviewed 16th May 2017
We became puppy owners in January this year, having had a Labrador til he ran out of happiness aged 13. For our new addition, we wanted a quality pet food, high in all the nutrients and ingredients that are great for your pooch, low or nil in all the nasties that big brand foods seem to pack in.

The mission grew upon discovering there were 1700 different pet foods to choose from. Review sites, like this one, helped enormously. So having reviewed many and then discovering that the one we like was rated 5/5 was excellent news.

At £38 per 10kg bag, it seemed more expensive than most, but less than many "premium price" but seemingly inferior product. However, you get what you pay for. The average gram weight per feed per day is significantly lower than the mass market brands masquerading as Vet approved. So we feed our pup less, but he doesn't need more than that. He wolfs it down but then he seems replete.

The labelling and weight to feed table on the pack is very easy to follow - for either puppies or adult dogs.

His "daily constitutional" is compact and um, dry. His coat is fabulously black and shiny and he is in great health. Plenty of energy and he is free (touch wood) of any dietary gremlins that seem to beset many dog owners.

It's a class product, manufactured by an excellent company. They are producing the top rated product on this site, yet are small, locally owned and deserving of pet owner support. It delivers what it says which in the world of pet food, is a rarity.

  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“happy days on WholePrey”
Reviewed 26th April 2017
I have a rescue collie spitz (nearly 4, male) and a female Samoyed cross (just 3, newly neutered and only with me 4 months). We discovered Akela from a boutique pet shop nearby in Brighton (Niche is lovely for grooming too!) Both dogs are shedding less, pooing better and have a ton of spirit - the protein levels are enviable. We take wet, dry and treat orders as a matter of routine now. For bad tums after a seperation the digestive aid tin is a fast remedy. They are mad on the pressed tripe bones and wolf fish chewies. Love it that I can spoil them without doing harm to their health, or my wallet!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Doggy delicious.”
Reviewed 24th April 2017
I can only review the free samples of kibble I received as that's all I've had.
My Border Terrier loved this food and I was impressed with it too. I intended switching him over to Akela permanently but unfortunately when I tried to order, hardly anything was in stock so I abandoned it and put him on Aatu instead.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Akela”
Reviewed 24th April 2017
All three of my dogs are rescue and they all love it especially the duck flavor even our latest edition who is 4 months old , it keeps them on top form
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Excellent food at an affordable price”
Reviewed 24th April 2017
Both of my dogs are fed on Akela 80-20 and thoroughly enjoy the food. They are both in very good condition, muscular with glossy coats and bright eyes.
As a dog trainer I know only too well how low quality dog food can badly affect the condition and behaviour of a dog and Akela is recommended to any of our canine trainee's handlers if they are experiencing any problems with their dogs.
Within one or two weeks I will be thanked for the recommendation as the behaviour of the dogs always improves dramatically.
For such a high quality food the price of Akela is also very reasonable, allowing more people to benefit from this excellent product.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Our dog likes this food”
Reviewed 24th April 2017
We switched from raw food to Akela mainly because we could no longer afford to keep our dog on raw food. Our dog Frankie likes Akela and seems to be healthy on it. We find it to be competitively priced and like the fact that it does not have additives.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Wild Game a hit”
Reviewed 24th April 2017
My eleven month old German bred Dachshund from hunting stock loves blood scent tracking and adores the Wild Game wet food. She proved allergic to the Akela duck kibble, which made it an expensive mistake, but really loves the wet food, which I use as "dessert" after she's eaten her kibble (from another producer, with a lower protein level). The wet food is pretty expensive, and with postage on top, it puts it on the very limit of what I can afford - but boy, does she love it. Service is great, very helpful if you need to call them, and delivery is swift.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
Andover, Hampshire, South East
2 reviews
“Have changed most of my dogs to it”
Reviewed 24th April 2017
I changed to this food after receiving reccommnendations from friends running Rescues and reading the reviews on the allaboutdogfood web site. I can't say my dogs prefer this to the previous food as they eat both as well. But reading the reviews I know the composition is far better so initally changed all my dogs over to it, but had to change my Wesite back to her Burns Duck Sensitive as her allergies started to flare even when I tried to change her to the Duck WholePrey. I do have to be careful not to give them the same amount in volume as it is far denser and weighs more, so they actually need less to keep the same condition. When I am short of cash I do sometimes revert back to using Burns but where ever possible I feed them WholePrey.
Delivery is also very prompt.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“My labrador loves this food!”
Reviewed 24th April 2017
I first started using Akela Big Paws original in September 2016 and have never looked back. I am impressed by the quality of the ingredients and my 19-month old labrador loves it. Other foods were causing her stomach problems and she even refused to eat some others - unheard of for a greedy labrador!! By ordering 3 x 10 kg bags in one order, I am able to save money and also obtain free shipping. Would highly recommend.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“An excellent affordable food”
Reviewed 24th April 2017
I was initially given a sample of this food at a gun dog fair, I took it but thought that it wouldn't be any good for my three chihuahuas, I couldn't have been more wrong as soon as I put it in the bowl all three of them were jostling to eat it, the bowl was emptied in no time. I bought the wrong size the first time I order and was told it was fine to return it which I was going to do but decided to give it to my daughter for her springer. My dogs are usually fussy but I've not had any problems since using Akela whole prey, the ingredients are excellent for my dog that has a delicate stomach. I wouldn't buy anything else now because I've found the perfect food for my dogs. If you're not sure ask for a sample.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Our Sprocker loves it!”
Reviewed 24th April 2017
Great food that our Sprocker loves after trying several. He previous food was full of cereal which gave her very loose motions. Akala changed that in two weeks!
So tasty i can even use it for dog training!
Particularly loves the Duck and Fish. You feed less per helping as it t so nutritious so if you do the sums it is actually about the same cost as may lower quality.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Brilliant!”
Reviewed 24th April 2017
I moved our Golden Retriever onto Akela dry dog food 6 months ago - it has suited her very well. In the past few months I have started to mix in Akela wet dog food with the dry kibble - she loves this. The food is excellent quality and ordering/delivery couldn't be easier with an excellent service provided from the company. Highly recommended.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Yet another company to be ruined by greediness.”
Reviewed 24th April 2017
I've used Akela for my miniature schnauzer for over a year and both me and my dog were happy with it. He seem to like it enough to clean his plate every time and he's been healthy weight and otherwise.

However for my last order I had to pay £40 per 10kg bag instead of £35 that I paid 5 months ago. That is over 10% price increase in such a short time. To my mind this is just greediness as now they have more sale they up their prices hoping it'll stick and increase their profits. Sorry but I will be shopping for a different brand next time rather than just reorder. You can continue increasing your prices but you will potentially lose customers.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
Fishponds, Bristol, South West
1 review
“Our saviour ”
Reviewed 24th April 2017
Absolutely love the dry food! Our GSD has suffered with loose bowels since we got him, even after continuing breeders guide. Tried several pet shop approved (canin, james well beloved, beta, raw food etc) to no avail. After a really bad episode vet suggested plain chicken & rice for a week to clear his system as he wasn't gaining weight. Unfortunately this seemed to make it worse & instead of cow pacs I ended up with liquid squirts! I decided to do some online research about the best food & came across a recommendation for Akela. I thought I'd give it a last attempt before having the vet do some costly investigation. By now my poor GSD was nearly 2 & skinny! His toilet motions were switching from softly formed to cow pac on a weekly basis plus he was so fussy even turning his nose up at a piece of steak! So I put Akela in his bowl & at first he turned his nose away & my hopes deflated, but an hour later the bowl was empty. A week later & he had fully formed solid poo for the first time ever, I wanted to celebrate! He is now almost 4yrs & so healthy, his coat is glossy & his body weight is perfect & no more cow pacs but fully formed & solid. So I changed both my chesty (westie/chihuahua) & scottie over to Akela too & they both seem healthier too. I wouldn't use anything else now I have 3 healthy happy dogs.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
Moira, Lisburn, Northern Ireland
1 review
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 22nd April 2017
I have a large male Labradoodle ,when we got him as a pup his breeders where feeding him Royal Canin as their vet sold and recommended this brand so we kept him on this food but found his skin was very sensitive and would sores round tummy area so I did a lot of research and found this food was over priced and not that great .I tried another grain free 80/20 food which gets great reviews but found his poo too soft while on it so tried Akela and haven't looked back .As I live in N. Ireland I cannot purchase it locally so have to purchase over 30kilos or pay a hefty delivery charge but my big boy is thriving and he is constantly admired while out on his walks so will be keeping him Akela .
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Astronomical Price Increase”
Reviewed 28th March 2017
My labrador age 7 years enjoys all food put before her and whatever she has eaten she has always been very healthy and full of life. She loved her Akela biscuits but sadly the cost of her regular consignment of Akela rose from £59 in January to £82 in March. As much as I love my dog I do not intend to feed her on overpriced dog biscuits any longer and have found a much cheaper brand which makes similar claims about it's ingredients and quality. How Akela can increase it's price by 35% and hope to retain customers I cannot understand.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“A competitively priced and quality 80 20 dog food ”
Reviewed 22nd March 2017
My dogs a 3 year old Staffy bitch and 8 year old Shar pei have been on this food for over 12 months. However,, my Staffy has regularly suffered very loose stools and emitting foul odours resembling a sewer. I recently decided to try a more gentle dog food and move away from the 80 20 type. Within a week her stools are notably firmer and the sewer smell has disappeared. I think the food itself is excellent though do not think all dogs are suited to such high protein diets.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
Wraysbury, Berkshire, South East
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed 8th March 2017
Many people review dog food with 'my dogs loves it, and finishes his whole bowl..'. Well in my case that would be said for week old cabbage or any dog food; I have 2 Labradors and a Jackhuahua! So how much or how quickly they eat is not something I'll mention because it's not a quantifiable measurement of the quality of food!

I moved my dogs onto this food about 8-10 weeks ago. I had previously feed them an awesome dry food sourced from a small family led company in Scotland that was 100% natural, no derivatives, added nasties. Unfortunately my little Scottish company decided to focus on wet food and stop the production of dry food whihc made me go back to the drawing board and do my research. I looked long and hard at all the foods out there, the reviews, the expensive foods, the cheap foods, the foods from the US, from Europe. Latest research, you name it. I looked into it so deeply that you'd think i was a breeder who bred Crufts contenders with super powers that could do ballet with agility! Nope, I just have 3 dogs who i want to ensure have the best. I found Akela and was satisfied that on paper at least it seemed like the best out there, so decided to give it a go. I made the right choice. Within a week my 9 year old labs had shiny glossy coats, were running and bouncing around like they were 6 month old puppies. They've always had 2 hours / min 5 miles a day walks, the previous food satisfied them, and ensured they had the stamina and strength and were healthy and strong, but this stuff has taken them to the next level! You can tell a lot about the quality of a dogs food by their poo - my dog's poo is solid, a lovely brown colour and a simple poo odour. When poo is overly hard or runny, and any other colour than a deep brown then the dogs diet should be questioned, but not in this case. It's an amazing food, can't recommend it highly enough!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“My finicky Lhasa Apsos love it!”
Reviewed 27th February 2017
I have tried different types of kibble, without success and have had to return to a very poorly rated one each time! Lhasas are notoriously hard to suit food wise, liking something one day, then never again! I first of all tried the Original Small Paws kibble, and my girls loved it from the start! I then tried wet food, Meat and Fish, and Spring Lamb. Again, very successful! Their feeding mat was cleared! Yes MAT! They have an aversion to bowls! My friend's two Lhasas stayed for a sleep over at the weekend and, on both days, they cleared their bowls too! Safe to say I will be ordering again, starting with wet food in different flavours, this week.

The service from Akela is excellent. An easy to use website, speedy delivery, and a quick response to emailed queries.

Highly Recommended. Thank you to all at Akela from Jessica and Anna and their friends Freddie and Hope. Xxxx
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“So glad to have found this!”
Reviewed 13th February 2017
We have tried all kinds of food for our relatively large Golden Retriever and are so pleased to have settled on this. He loves it and we are most impressed by his shiny coat and the levels of energy he seems to have acquired. Delivery also seems efficient, too. Well done, we shall be sticking with Akela from now on!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Our dogs love this food”
Reviewed 12th February 2017
We have two very lively Jack Russell terriers who are thriving on Akela. I would not try any other brand now after two years of akela
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Customer care”
Reviewed 8th February 2017
I left my online order incomplete, I was contacted by phone & email so I could check the order and amend it - 2 days later, my order was delivered even though I'd opted for the 5 day delivery. The customer service is splendid - as is the food. All my Pharaoh hounds love it and my pregnant bitch is treated to cans of Akela wet food because she can get all the extra protein and nutrition needed.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Akela dog food”
Reviewed 2nd February 2017
We rescued a very overweight 4 year old labrad or about 8 months ago now and we put him on akela after a dog trainer recommend it. We have had labradors in the past, but I have never had one with such a brilliant coat, chilled out nature and really toned and healthy. I put this down to akela. I buy a 10kg bag for £34 and it lasts us about 5 week, which is less than £7 a week, so i think it's really good value too. I can't sing it's praises anymore, even the bag it comes in has a handy handle on the side and its resea label. Brilliant.l
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Better than I could have imagined ”
Reviewed 28th January 2017
I switched ebony, my seven year old Doberman onto this food around a year ago after seeing the company at a trade show. Ebony suffers with many food intolerance the biggest one being that she cannot digest meat, she also suffers from Addison's disease.

I have fed her countless good quality, high fish and botanicals diets since becoming aware of these intolerances. After around 4-6 months she would give up on a food and become less and less intestersted, until she just flat out refused to eat it. Taking into account that she has the appetite of a horse and never refuses food, the only option was to try different foods.

This would normally yield the same results within 4-6 months. I was literally feeding her the most expensive, highest percentage food, 60% fish, 40% botanicals, I could find and was genuinely worried I wouldn't find anything better when she decided she no longer wanted to eat it.

I saw Akela whole prey at a trade show and was surprised at the high fish content any the low price but thought I'd give it a try as ebony was beginning to get picky with the other food. She's been on it for around a year and is better than ever, her skin and coat are better, she smells less and she greadily eats every bit of it she's given without a second thought. It also has the distinct advantage of being much cheaper than any of the other foods I've tried. So glad we found you Akela, cannot recommmend highly enough
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
We’re Social! Facebook Facebook Facebook Facebook Connect With Us