Akela WholePrey

Akela WholePrey say:

Affordable vet-approved 80:20 nutrition. Made in Britain.

Akela WholePrey
99% of users rated this business as excellent or very good.
Ranked 1 in Dog Food
Ranking calculated based on average score and the most reviews. Businesses need more than 5 reviews to feature at the top.
547 reviews

Recent review

13th October 2018
“Happy hound”
We recently ordered the Akela wet food mixed pack alongside some of their kibble. We started with one 6 can pack and then the 36 can version because …

547 people have reviewed Akela WholePrey


Member ratings

Excellent
525
Very Good
17
Average
3
Poor
2
Terrible
0

Rating summary

Enjoyed by dog
Ingredients
Quality
Value for money
547 reviews (1 page) sorted by
1 review
“Happy hound”
Reviewed 13th October 2018
We recently ordered the Akela wet food mixed pack alongside some of their kibble. We started with one 6 can pack and then the 36 can version because our dog just loves it. We ve tried other premium grain free hypoallergenic brands which we mix with kibble and they've met with mixed results. Generally he likes them to start with but gets bored but thus far there is no sign of this with Akela. He wasn't keen on the fishy one in the first pack so when we ordered the 36 can pack we simply skipped that one from our selections. His particular favourite seems to be turkey and duck. That's the great thing about the multipacks, there are 8 or 9 flavour options so you can pick the ones your dog prefers.
I did notice Akela include some ingredients in their recipes that some other hypoallergenic brands avoid (notably eggs) but we ve had no problems with this at all. I've deducted 1 point for this reason as I do think this can be an issue for some.
Last but not least the Akela is actually rather cheaper than some other premium brands we 've bought.
All in all a real winner.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“The best a dog can get. ”
Reviewed 11th October 2018
I looked into many brands of dog food available in pet shops and supermarkets, and couldn’t believe how little meat/protein they contained. They market the high rice/grain/potato content as being beneficial to your dog as a source of energy, but given that a dogs digestive system is ‘designed’ to convert protein into energy this is bunkum.
I searched the Internet looking for something more suitable, and found that there are a number of good quality foods available. I decided on Akela as it has a high protein content, no rice or grains and lots of vitamins and minerals. It was also ranked number 1 on most of the sites I visited.
My dog absolutely loves it, he is in very good condition and has a beautiful coat. Oh, and at £39.00 for a 10 kilo bag the price is great too!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
Dinnington, South Yorkshire, Yorkshire and the Humber
2 reviews
“Spaniel loves this food ”
Reviewed 6th October 2018
Our spaniel never tires of this food
He loves every flavour
Suffolk duck being his favourite
His cost is shiny and he’s a picture of health
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Excellent food for our dogs ”
Reviewed 6th October 2018
Dogs absolutely love it and I can tell the difference in quality just by opening the time of wet food and in their coats and energy since we moved from James wellbeloved kibble and butchers tins (which they came to us on from the rescue) after a bit of research I decided on Akela and not disappointed at all. They are probably eating better than I am !
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Best West and Dry Dog Food Ever!!!!”
Reviewed 3rd October 2018
We got fed up with our golden retriever having an upset stomach on general branded food sold at the local supermarket and pet shops that we went in search of a good quality food brand. We found Akela and have never looked back. Our dog loves the wet and dry food and its fantastic quality. We recommend this food to all our pet loving family and friends.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Amazing!!!”
Reviewed 29th September 2018
I foster boxer dogs for Boxer Welfare Scotland and we feed dogs in our care Akela fish 80:20. An amazing food suitable for any age. Dogs love it and look fantastic on it. Coats, breath and toileting improve within 24hrs. Would not go past this food and let me tell you we have tried many.
The picture is of 2 oldies in our care. They came into our care very underweight. Akela is helping these boys everyday.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Finally a food that suits!”
Reviewed 19th September 2018
My dog has numerous allergies. Finding Akela has been the best thing for my dog. He’s not a fussy eater at all so finding a food he will eat is no issue. But due to his allergies, my choices have been limited. We’ve tried wet, raw and dry all with varying degrees of success and all have been high quality food. But none have been able to cure his dry flaky skin. That is none other than Akela. His skin is no longer dry and his fur is so soft and shiny. Even his groomer was amazed by the change and she asked for the name of the food so she could tell other clients who’s dogs suffer like mine. If you aren’t sure whether to try it, what have you got to lose? The food is competitively priced, I’ve had no problems with delivery and communication with Akela is excellent.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Akela medium paws duck”
Reviewed 18th September 2018
Very good product. My whippet is in great condition on this diet. High meat content and no fillers is great for a wheat intolerant dog. Arrives very quickly after ordering too.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Akela for senior dogs”
Reviewed 13th September 2018
I have tried many foods over the years for my pugs, some of which have varying problems and requirements. My elderly pug , now 10, has an oesophageal pouch and requires his food to be made into a thick soup. I tried the Akela tinned food and he is a new dog. He has lost weight and is full of energy, bright and alert. ~The difference in him is marked. I also use the Akela dry on one of my other pugs who is unable to tolerate raw. This together with pumpkin digestive aid is a perfect food for her. She has gained weight from the undernourished puppy (rescue) that she was. I cannot recommend Akela enough.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Outstanding service and nutrition.”
Reviewed 17th August 2018
I think we’re all far more aware about checking the ingredients in our own food these days, and it’s surprising as well as worrying just what rubbish goes into human food.
My dog is an incredibly important member of my family, and it stands to reason that I want the best for him too.
It was a shock, then, to find out that his tinned dog food had more rubbish in it than my own pre-packed stuff.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed 11th August 2018
Bought Small Paws for my Fell Terrier. Started off with the trial sample packs and she seemed to like Original and Suffolk Duck but not so keen on the Fish Feast ( just her personal preference). So bought in the 1.5 kg bags of the two she liked and a mix pack of the tinned wet food to try her with.
All orders were received a few days after ordering with no problems and there's plenty of information on the company website about portion amounts and mixed feeding.
The dog has finished the Suffolk Duck bag and is just started the bigger bag of Original and still seems to be enjoying the food. I have been adding a small amount of the tinned wet food and the only one she's not been keen on is again the fish but again I think this is just her preference as all the tinned food has looked and smelled absolutely delicious.
Once I finish the 1.5kg bags I'll be going for the bigger bags. No point buying cheap food they won't eat as that's just a waste of money better burying something reasonably priced that will be eaten and no waste of food or money.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Akela medium paws”
Reviewed 9th August 2018
I have always struggles to get my 5year intact male Husky to eat let alone gain any kind of weight. I have always used James wellbeloved grain free dry complete but had to add things to encourage him to eat which was hit and miss apart from with my 10 year old Labradoodle that loved all the extras and had no problem in gaining the extra pounds! Added to the mix a new 1 year old greedy Frenchbulldog whine I recently acquired and finding something that would nourish them all took some research. Which is when I came across Akela. Huskynhas gone from Eating barley one meal a day to sometimes 3 bowls (its not every day) and is gaining weight. Labradoodle is trimming down and my Frenchbulldog is thriving gaining a glossy coat. His once dull dark coat is now looking more lilac. I didn’t think I would find a food that would interest my strange Husky and 5 bags in he’s still eating.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Akela all the way”
Reviewed 8th August 2018
Scamp is a Cocker, now 2.5yrs, after he came off his puppy starter pack from the breeder, we started him on a similar brand concept to Akela, as I'd read a really bad rewiew of the big named brands about the carbs (which I try to keep low myself) but he would get bored and he was on wet food for breakfast with the other for supper. At 1 he was on virtually the same but more expensive Canadian food, which was much better but he wasn't too excited ...... This time last year almost to the week we were given a sample bag of Akela mini size at The Game Fair, Scamp doesn't like any old dog biscuit on offer - always drops or refuses them, but at lunch that day we opened the bag and he ate the lot. After further research we ordered trial packs of the mini and medium, fish and original. A year on he is still eating them both in Medium - odd days he has a refusal but he's in great shape, very happy and healthy - one big poo a day like clockwork. I'm very interested to see that the Duck has a good review and I will be buying a small bag to see if this is a winner with him too.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Outstanding high-quality food!”
Reviewed 1st August 2018
After rescuing my GSD a few years ago, he was on a couple of different mediocre branded foods before I finally switched him to Akela after thorough research. The results have been nothing short of fantastic; a beautiful coat, healthy teeth, consistent stools and many more benefits have all stemmed from this high-quality diet. There's plenty of variety in their kibble and wet foods too, meaning dogs with unfortunate allergies to common ingredients may find a solution in the wide variety of novelty ingredients Akela has to offer. In regards to price, Akela costs less than one would expect for such a good quality food-when compared to the likes of James Wellbeloved or Royal Canin (both of which are rather poor quality), you are paying far less per day/month, especially if you follow the feeding guides. I promote Akela whenever and wherever I can, as it not only benefits the dogs who are put on it but it also allows the Akela brand to grow and offer an even better service. Though Akela's high, rich meat content doesn't sit well with all dogs, it is definitely worth trying; should your dog agree with it, the benefits are plentiful and both you and the dog will be more than satisfied with your choice.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“The best a pup can get! ”
Reviewed 23rd July 2018
We have changed our mini dachshund puppy from another dry food to Akela Small Paws Orginal. I spent ages researching dry food and raw food. We decided that a good quality dry food was best for us and our puppy, so after much digging, gave Akela a go. Ordered on line- the food arrived quickly. Our puppy wasn’t eating his original dry food at all and as soon as we offered Akela his tale was wagging and he was really tucking in. We use the salmon/fish/Suffolk duck sample packs as training treats (weighing out to make up his daily allowance) and the Original as his usual feed. We have noticed an improvement in his coat, energy, general appearance. The high protein content means his poops take a little longer to appear after food but they are much smaller (and less smelly!). He had absolutely no gastric upset from the switch- which took place over a 10 day period. It is a pleasure to watch him really enjoy his meals. Furthermore, as it is a highly and densely nutritious food, he needs much less of it than the original feed we were using so he is less likely to suffer from bloat (and good value for money). All in all, we have been delighted with the food and cannot wait to try some of the other treats on offer. Our sausage will stay on Akela into adulthood!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Fantastic food highly recommended!”
Reviewed 15th July 2018
We changed over to Akela for a few reasons, but mainly for the meat content. We have 2 spaniels who thrive on the food, their coats are shiney, they have lovely poos (gross I know) but they are ! They are very happy and content and I know I am feeding them the best dry food they could have.
The eldest had trouble with his anal gland and a funny tummy, bit Akela stopped it ! No problems anymore. We use the fish feast and Suffolk duck ! I highly recommend Akela, staff are really helpful, delivery is fast, the food is fantastic !!
I would never feed them anything else.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Excellent ”
Reviewed 12th July 2018
Dogs coat and condition have improved since we moved over to Akela. It’s reassuring to know exactly what goes into the food is good quality. My dogs are free feeders so food is always available but they are certainly not overweight in fact both are slightly under (4 years and 3 years). But are very active. I recommend this food mainly order the duck variety but occasionally have the original. Excellent value for money we used to have a cheaper food (well known brand) but found the dogs ate more whereas this brand they eat less but enjoy it more. So glad I found this food
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“The perfect balanced diet ”
Reviewed 30th June 2018
My standard poodle can be quite fussy but he has always loved this dog food - all the flavours. He has boundless energy and the food supplies him with every nutritional need. But, I am not immune to his puppy dog eyes, so I also buy the treats and chew sticks from Akela whole prey. It is excellent value for money, one bag lasts a long time (we buy the 10kg bags) and my dog is in tip top condition. I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend this over any other brand of dog food. We have also bought the canned food in the past which I give him on special occasions, because in all honesty the dry food is so good he doesn’t need anything else.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“The Big Paws option is a Godsend”
Reviewed 29th June 2018
I have 2 rescued GSD's. The long-haired one one is allergic to many foods including Marjoram and Thyme which are both in the Suffolk Duck recipe and caused terrific squits so he cannot have this food. Which is a pity because he loved it. The other shepherd loves it too but chokes on small kibble. So the Big Paws is perfect for her. Since she started on it some long time ago now her coat is noticeably improved and her body is lean and fit. She is 9 years old yet appears half her age with bags of energy to do flyball.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Helping an active puppy gain weight”
Reviewed 28th June 2018
My lovely Labrador/Springer puppy of 71/2 months was not gaining weight as expected. I had him on very good dog food, 30% protein and to try and help him gain weight I increased the amount I was giving him. This is fine, but has a tendency to make him poo more (and so the increased nutrient load went through his system faster and possibly decreased his nutrient intake, or so I reasoned), so increasing the volume of food wasn't going to work. He needed a food of increased nutritional value for the same volume. So I had been recommended Akela Fish Feast by a friend and tried it. I have moved him onto a 60/40% mix of Akela/other over about 10 days. I also give him the fish skins as treats which he really loves. His ribs are now no longer as visible and he has gained weight. I think the high nutritional value of the food per volume is a very strong feature. It's easy to fill dogs up but what effect does that have on their digestion. This food enables you to keep the volume lower for a superior nutritional input and I think that makes a difference to their health and their poo. I also think he is more satiated and jumps up less. Maybe a figment of my imagination, but I think he feels less hungry. All in all, very good stuff. Highly recommended
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
Boncath, Pembrokeshire, Wales
1 review
“Living life to the full”
Reviewed 26th June 2018
Charlie is an Old English Sheepdog x Black Labrador; as such he has a tendency to gain weight. Additionally, he has a sensitive stomach which tolerated rather bland, neutral smelling kibble. Even I, a mere human, can smell the richness of Big Paws and was unsurprised at his enthusiasm to wolf down his new food. In conclusion, thank you Akela Big Paws for refiring his taste buds whilst curbing his tendency to gain weight and leaving me with a leaner, lustrous coated pooch full of vigour and verve for life.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“New Puppy with the Salmon flavour”
Reviewed 19th June 2018
We got a new puppy last weekend, so prior to picking him up we did a lot of research into which food to give him, in the past, we have always used Royal Canin; After reading everything we could about the newer products on the market we decided we would give Akela.
We ordered the new Salmon variety in a 1.5kg pack and a couple of sample bags of the other three flavours along with some training treats and pumpkin digestive aid to use while we move him over from the Beta puppy food he was on with the breeder.
His first meal with us, using the salmon variety mixed with some Beta and pumpkin mix, he was still a little nervous, however, he managed to eat all the food in his dish, each subsequent meal has been like an attack by Piranha every scrap of his food is gone in seconds, he absolutely loves it.
So far we have been using the other varieties as training treats along with the actual training treats. The only item that isn’t perfect at the minute is the fish training treats, he likes them, but they are a little hard for his teeth, so it takes him a long time to crunch up which interrupts his training, but this will resolve its self as he grows he is only eight weeks old after all.
Overall these products have exceeded expectations, and I intend to order 10Kg bags of each flavour for him shortly so he can continue to have a varied and healthy diet.

  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Tilly loved Akela”
Reviewed 15th June 2018
I was feeding Tilly a vet approved food but then found out that it only has a rating of 2 out of 10. My friend recommended Akela. Tilly loved the food and I know I’m doing the best for her with this quality product. Very easy to order and rapid delivery, thank you
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Raw lamb”
Reviewed 7th June 2018
My Vizsla had developed allergy related ear problems caused possibly by chicken , my vet advised raw feeding although I was sceptic as he had previously turned his nose up to other proprietary raw brands.
The Akela raw complete lamb is going down a storm , he loves it and the ingredients are really good so everything is in one pack no messy mixing to be done .
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“By far the best food we have fed our dogs”
Reviewed 7th June 2018
We started using Akela in 2015 for our GSP who had a rare autoimmune disease that meant his claws started to deteriorate. He needed a high fish oil intake so as well as suppliments we put him on Akela and have never looked back. We get constant comments about how incredible his coat is and how healthy he looks. Our 9 month old Cocker is now on it too and she loves it!
We have tried a lot of different foods and this is by far the best we have found as well as being affordable!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
West Monkseaton, Tyne and Wear, North East
1 review
“Akela Fish Feast Puppy/Original 80/20”
Reviewed 3rd June 2018
AMAZING! My Cockapoo was a real food grazer on her last well named dry food, but after product packaging changed and maybe the incredients? Her stools changed drastically, so I decided to do some further research and came across AKELA myself and puppy are totally impressed too! She now loves her food and it is gone within seconds of placing her bowl down. Delivery is quick and cost is good too. Love the option that you can buy small samples to try before buying larger bags. I would certainly recommend to others. Well done!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
Lisburn, Lisburn, Northern Ireland
2 reviews
“Akela Duck - 10kg - Working Dog”
Reviewed 27th May 2018
We bought a little bag to check our 2.5yr old Rottweiler bitch would do OK on it.
She eats pretty much anything but I wanted to make sure her stools were OK with a new diet (no problems) and as we have had problems with her ears blocking up I wanted to try her on a formula that had less allergens.
She seems OK with it, always clears her bowl and as for the ears time will tell.
Delivery was prompt and contents were properly packed, the little bag had a really neat way of resealing it.
Price is excellent compared to major brands with dodgy ingredients.
There is no reason not to try Akela the little bags are a good way to see how they do on it.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
Chorley, Lancashire, North West
5 reviews
“Best dog food I’ve come across”
Reviewed 27th May 2018
Changed our dogs feed from James Wellbeloved to Harringtons as we could no longer afford to feed him it and he started to starve himself he wouldn’t touch it was getting worried but as soon as I started mixing in Akela he started to eat again he loves the fish flavour now every time I place his feed bowl down it’s gone straight away! Am very happy, such a great price as you don’t have to feed very much.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Basset's delight”
Reviewed 17th May 2018
I have three Basset Hounds that are currently on SYMPLY kibble which is a hypoallergenic food with all natural ingredients.
All my girls are quite happy but it is time to switch to a "senior" food so I done some research.
I noticed that AKELA was suitable for all ages and had lots more fruit and veg in it than my current brand so I ordered 3 trial packs, one of each flavour.
Now anyone who has a Basset knows that they eat just about anything and are very greedy.
I put a few pieces of the old and the trial pack in 2 separate piles and let them choose.
They all ate AKELA first so I will be ordering 3 large packs (different flavours) to start our changeover.
They were definitely more enthusiastic with this brand.
So glad we are making the change!

Best regards

Tina Spear
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Taste Trial”
Reviewed 11th May 2018
After feeding my dog another 80/20 dog food brand, I found Akela while doing some more product research. I bought 3 trial packs in the 3 flavours available (at a very reasonable price) Gave 1 taste test per day & he devoured them all. I did make the mistake of ordering the small kibble which is ideal for pups, so next order will be for the medium size. I am satisfied with the quality & found it is equal to the other premium priced brand I used but at a more reasonable cost. Fantastic product.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
We’re Social! Facebook Facebook Facebook Facebook Connect With Us