Akela WholePrey

Akela WholePrey say:

Affordable vet-approved 80:20 nutrition. Made in Britain.

Akela WholePrey
98% of users rated this business as excellent or very good.
Ranked 1 in Dog Food
Ranking calculated based on average score and the most reviews. Businesses need more than 5 reviews to feature at the top.
468 reviews

Recent review

16th November 2017
“Eaten by fussy eater”
Our almost 7 year old collie is a fussy eater who will go for days without eating if she decides she no longer likes her food. We are now starting on …

468 people have reviewed Akela WholePrey


Member ratings

Excellent
447
Very Good
16
Average
3
Poor
2
Terrible
0

Rating summary

Enjoyed by dog
Ingredients
Quality
Value for money
468 reviews (1 page) sorted by
1 review
“Eaten by fussy eater”
Reviewed 16th November 2017
Our almost 7 year old collie is a fussy eater who will go for days without eating if she decides she no longer likes her food. We are now starting on a second large bag of 80:20 and she is still eating it without anything else mixed in. She has always had a bit of an issue with compulsive licking, which has completely disappeared, and dry skin, which has hugely improved. The food may seem expensive but 1 10kg bag has lasted us about 2 months which works out at less than 50p a day and there have been no upset tummy incidents and less stinky farts!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 15th November 2017
We've been feeding Akela to our Border Collie since he was three months old. He's fourteen months now and is in superb condition thanks in no small part to Akela. He loves it (and the beef tails and goats ears) we wouldn't give him anything else.
Additionally Akela is great value for money, ordering is simple and the delivery reliable via DPD or UK Mail.
We cannot recommend Akela highly enough.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland
1 review
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed 14th November 2017
I have tried every kibble there is available over the last few years, and never before have I managed to find one that ticks all of my boxes... It has to be a good size for toy breeds, that dosn't cause some form of stomach sensitivity, that ALL of my dogs like, that is grain free, excellent quality ingredients, that has the main ingredient as duck as some of my dogs are sensitive to chicken, turkey, lamb etc... and that if I happen to overfeed slightly, does not cause sudden soft poops. Well, I have finally managed to find that food. Akela Suffolk Duck for small paws is absolutely perfect, ticks all of my boxes, all of my dogs are enjoying it, have lovely formed poops, and I know that I am giving them good quality. To top it all off, the price is excellent also. And even moreso, the largest bags are 10kg, so, when you order 2 or more, they come in boxes of 2, and they are so much easier to handle than some companies who make food in 15kg bags, it is impossible to carry a box of 2 of those....
Would highly recommend, and there customer service is spot on also!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Akela Dog Food”
Reviewed 14th November 2017
We changed to Akela on recommendation from a friend and our Bichons love the food and already we can see a difference in the decline of tear staining.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“A very happy puppy!”
Reviewed 12th November 2017
We moved on to Akela after we’d used up Dexters breeders food up with which he was fussy. Dexter loves his Akela kibble hidden in all his toys and for breakfast and dinner. The big bag lasts us 3 months which works out at under 50p a day. That with the fab treats that they have to complement his meals like the fish skins he’s such a happy well fed pup!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Akela”
Reviewed 10th November 2017
Great high quality product that my puppy loves. We use both wet and dry food plus treats and we have a very healthy, happy and active puppy. He used to have a sensitive stomach but not since changing to Akela. Its a great quality product that I'm happy to feed by spoiled fur baby.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Great quality, the dogs love it”
Reviewed 8th November 2017
We have a 6 year old small mixed breed dog and a 6 month old vizsla. We have a gluten free home because members of the household have coeliac disease, this includes the dog food and dog treats we buy as we cant risk any cross contamination. We changed our old brand of gluten free dog food when our little vizsla came to live with us because we wanted a smaller kibble size to the one our other dog had. The vizsla came with a food that wasn't gluten free and although really expensive had questionable ingredients and she was also had very loose bowels. Akela 80:20 small paws was perfect for the first couple of 10kg bags, it sorted out her tummy issues and she absolutely loved it. We have now moved onto medium paws as she has grown. Both our dogs love it with a small amount of Akela 70:30 wet food mixed in. Akela is much better quality food than our older brand at a similar price and the training treats are brilliant. We found the training treats particularly useful for agility with our older dog and training for our pup . We also like to support local companies if we can and after our first order we realised they are about 30 miles away from us. We have had two fairly large orders from Akela now and we have had great customer service, communication and fast delivery. We notice how much calmer both our dogs are and we have been so happy and confident in the food that we bought a 30kg of the 80:20 dry, 36 tins of 70:30 wet, 1kg of 100% meat chub (for stuffing Kongs) and 2kg of training treats on our last order.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Great quality, dogs love it!”
Reviewed 6th November 2017
My English Toy Terriers have really enjoyed Akela wet and dry food. Good choice of flavours available and great to know that it's high quality too. Will definitely continue to order from them.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Happy healthy dogs”
Reviewed 3rd November 2017
Having a wcs and a chihuahua and wanting to feed the same food was provided g a challenge until late on found akela,my wcs has a very sensitive tummy and my chi can be fussy,but they both love the fish feast and are excited every meal time,nice solid poo with no nasty smells,lovely shiny coats ( hard with a white wcs and cream chi) and are just so much better allife round,thank you akela for an affordable fantastic food
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Time for a change.”
Reviewed 27th October 2017
In the process of introducing Suffolk Duck medium paws to our 6 month Sprocker. So far so good and big improvement in bowel movements and a slightly calmer dog. Just need to juggle the final amounts for a fast growing dog.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Great so far”
Reviewed 24th October 2017
We moved our 6 month old lab onto Akela and he loves it. In fact I even use the kibbles as training treats for another dog I sit because she thinks it's great too. Considering the price of some "bigger brands" that often contain a lot of horrible ingredients, Akela is great value too.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Akela dog treats”
Reviewed 22nd October 2017
I have a bearded collie who is very picky over his food - he either doesn't like it or it upsets his stomach. I tried akela 80% chicken, duck & turkey as a treat and he absolutely loves it and with it being 80% meat I feel it is doing him good. I found it very easy to order and delivery was very prompt. Would highly recommend.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Top Quality”
Reviewed 19th October 2017
Typically I feed my Cocker Spaniel a mix of wet and dry dog food and have used products from many of the so called "household name" pet food producers. More recently, I discovered Akela and ordered supplies of both their wet and dry dog foods. Delivered the next working day, these were of the highest quality - and are thoroughly enjoyed by my dog, who can be a somewhat fussy eaer! I unreservedly recommend Akela to anyone looking for "proper" non-raw dog food comprising the best possible ingredients, with no grains, fillers or other "junk" products so regularly used by other producers.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Akela - Does exactly what it says on the tin!”
Reviewed 16th October 2017
Our rescued GDS came to us with chronic upset tum which lasted 3-4 weeks. We kept her on chicken and rice but that didn't help, we tried Wainwrights which improved things but the "end result" was a bit like Mr Whippy Icecream! Then we tried Akela, it agreed with her straight away, her coat improved, her bowels were perfect and she had lots more energy. She is now on a mix and has a lot of raw food too, but I would not hesitate to recommend Akela to anyone.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Great food, great value”
Reviewed 15th October 2017
I wanted to feed my puppies a healthy feed, but many work out to be so expensive - especially with two rapidly growing puppies to feed. I have not looked back since finding Akela - the dogs absolutely love the food (especially the kangaroo) and the one with the sensitive tummy has had no issues. I feed a mix of wet and dry food and my boys have great coats, bright eyes and look healthy. They also love the fish skin and while fish treats and I feel I am feeding them as natural a feed as I can. Very happy dogs!!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Akela Wholeprey is used by Animals Saving Animals”
Reviewed 10th October 2017
Animals Saving Animals is an organisation that supports wildlife organisations in the prevention of wildlife crime through supplying trained Anti-Poaching dogs to conservancies and national parks throughout the world. Akela Wholeprey was recommended to us and all I can say is the new diet has lived up to its recommendation. Our dogs age range from puppies to adults in training and they are active most of the day from day one the dogs have enjoyed the food and there have been no negative affects from the change. As an organisation we would recommend this food, well done on a well thought out product
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
4 reviews
“PROBLEM SOLVED”
Reviewed 5th October 2017
After trying 3 of the main dry dog food companies without success, I thankfully found Akela for my young Frenchie. He clears his bowl, his stools are now firm and his muscle mass has improved. Fast and competitive delivery from Akela.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Fish Feast Big Paws”
Reviewed 5th October 2017
My dog was put on this as a result of allergies. The service from ordering to delivery is excellent.
Alfie absolutely loves this and is desperate for meal times!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed 2nd October 2017
My crossbreed and beddy whippet have been on Akela for years. We have occasionally tried other foods (a fair few over the years) and usually when I have forgotten to order - delivery is fabulously quick though. Akela 80/20 is a fab food though, they adore it and do very well on it. A top notch food at a very reasonable price.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Best 80/20 Food I have Tried”
Reviewed 2nd October 2017
My 5 year old German Shepherd is fussy and has a sensitive digestion. She has been on other 80/20s for almost 4 years - they were OK but she wasn't enthusiastic about eating. I changed to Akela and bingo, she loves it. She sits by the food bucket waiting for dinner! Nutritionally it's excellent and she has a very shiny coat, cold nose and perfect poo's! I buy 3 at a time, so great value. I have tried her on all flavours and she loves duck the best. The service is quick. My only comment is the packaging (box) used for delivery is not strong enough when 3 x 12KG are delivered in the same box. The bags of food are always OK but a stronger box would be welcomed!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Good grub & the dogs love it!”
Reviewed 1st October 2017
I switched from a raw diet to Akela due to a family member having a compromised immune system. The food is excellent, no grains or fillers. My two working cockers love it and they are fit and well, with bright shiny coats. They are full of energy and I could not wish for a better food.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Great quality great service”
Reviewed 27th September 2017
I switched our 4 month old lab on to the fish based dry food. He had been very itchy and smelly!

He loves the food and his itching stopped very quickly! He's also much less stinky!

Delivery is very quick.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Great product and even better service”
Reviewed 27th September 2017
Our Gokden Retriever puppy is now 7 months old and has been fed in Akela since being weaned. It was recommended by the breeder so we continued and both Reggie and we love it (well Reggie loves the food and we love the quality, service and price!). Would recommend unequivocally to anyone.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Excellent dog food”
Reviewed 27th September 2017
We've tried Akela Original and Akela Fish. My 6y old Weimaraner loves both. I prefer to give him the Akela Fish as he has had always a sensitive tummy and it suits him better.
Excellent quality food and good value for money.
I order online (usually 3 bags each time as it's cheaper this way). Good delivery service as well.
I recommend it 100%.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Happy dog. ”
Reviewed 27th September 2017
Always searched for the best quality food for my dog and started with dry food. Bella eat the food eventually but was never very fussed. Tried other top quality wet food but she still wasn't keen. Then I found Akela. She loves the Akela wet food even when mixed with the dry and gets excited at meal times. So happy to have found this food and the delivery and customer service are excellent.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Very happy dog, great food”
Reviewed 27th September 2017
Researched the best dog food for our cocker spaniel as he used to just pick at his food since being a puppy despite trying him on a number of different brands, and decided to try Akela samples based on reviews and nutritional content. From the first sample pack we could see he loved it, and we very quickly ordered a full size bag. He has been on Akela food for about 4 months now and he loves it, coat is shiny, abundance of energy. the food is great value, and delivery very quick. Will definitely be sticking with Akela food.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
Riddings, Derbyshire, East Midlands
1 review
“Happy working pack”
Reviewed 27th September 2017
8 rescue huskies of all ages ranging from 9months to 9 years. As a working team we need something that will keep them all in the best condition and give them the energy they need to run in harness competitively. Ours settled onto this food very easily, even mixing in with their old food they started picking out the Akela and leaving the old stuff! They are all doing very well in early season training and hopefully we will have some good results this season to prove it.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Happy Lab!”
Reviewed 27th September 2017
I'm so chuffed to have found Akela. We have a young working lab who has always been fussy about her food and it's been hard to keep her weight up. Since finding Akela, she loves mealtime, has gained weight and her coat is much shinier - we're very happy. Either Original or Duck goes down a treat and ordering is easy and it arrives on time. Thank you Akela!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“First Class”
Reviewed 27th September 2017
We recently got two new Cavachon Pups, and after extensive research into diet etc we decided that Akela 80/20 was the best choice by some way.
It was definitely the right decision, our dogs love it, the price is right and the service from ordering to delivering is first class.
We have given our Dogs, what we consider to be the very best start in life and we look forward to many years of good feeding habits with Akela.
I would highly recommend the products, your Dog deserves the best.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Good food and good service”
Reviewed 27th September 2017
Over the years we've tried various foods with our dogs and not really found anything that's both nutritious, grain free and our dogs enjoy. It was always two of the three but not all three. Usually we'd need to add a taste supplement for the dog to actually eat it. Even then it felt like they were only eating after giving up hope on anything else being offered to them.

We tried Akela Whole Prey with our current dog, a Bouvier des Flandres, to see if we could get her on a healthier whole prey diet without any grain - we'd tried most of the other options. She loves the 80:20 Suffolk Duck. We even use it as a training treat as she enjoys it so much. We did also try both the Chicken and Lamb teasers which she'll do pretty much anything for! We also sometimes add the Salmon oil, as she's not keen on the Fish Feast as much as the Suffolk Duck. As the contents are higher quality, she's not eating huge quantities to fill her up either so it works out fairly economical.

I'd certainly recommend this for owners of large breed, working stock dogs.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
We’re Social! Facebook Facebook Facebook Facebook Connect With Us