Akela WholePrey

Akela WholePrey say:

Affordable vet-approved 80:20 nutrition. Made in Britain.

Akela WholePrey
99% of users rated this business as excellent or very good.
Ranked 1 in Dog Food
Ranking calculated based on average score and the most reviews. Businesses need more than 5 reviews to feature at the top.
514 reviews

Recent review

23rd April 2018
“Won’t eat anything else”
My labradoodle has been fed akela 80-20 in kibble and wet food since she was 3 months old. She’s now two and a half and won’t eat anything else. I…

514 people have reviewed Akela WholePrey


Member ratings

Excellent
492
Very Good
17
Average
3
Poor
2
Terrible
0

Rating summary

Enjoyed by dog
Ingredients
Quality
Value for money
514 reviews (1 page) sorted by
1 review
“Won’t eat anything else”
Reviewed 23rd April 2018
My labradoodle has been fed akela 80-20 in kibble and wet food since she was 3 months old. She’s now two and a half and won’t eat anything else. I like the fact that there is no filler in the ingredients, so know she’s having a well balanced diet and her general condition proves this. Price wise Akela is very competitive with other premium dog foods and the website is excellent with delivery generally next day.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Nutmeg says a Thank You.”
Reviewed 22nd April 2018
I knew when I started toniwner train my assistance dog I wanted the best food for her. She needed something she loved and would give her all the nutrients she’d need to be a working dog. Then I discovered 80:20 original and we haven’t looked back. Nutmeg LOVES this food so much we can even use it for training treats!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
Dyce, Aberdeen City, Scotland
3 reviews
“Alice loves it and I love the 80/20 aspect”
Reviewed 20th April 2018
I’ve been purchasing the small paws 1.5kg bags for roughly 3 years and never looked back. I particularly like the 80/20 aspect so I can trust Alice is eating healthily and I feel compared to other brands the price is unbeatable. Very fast delivery and it lasts Alice for 2 months. I mix with wet food and she devours it especially with a littl gravy on top. She doesn’t like big crunchiest so the size is perspective for her. I will continue to purchase Akela.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Very good”
Reviewed 1st April 2018
My 3 1/2 year old neutered male Golden Retriever has been fed on Akela 80:20 Original Big Paws for two years and people always comment on his exceptional condition. Good quality food, fairly priced. Easy to order and quick and efficient service. My only criticism would be the packaging because the company recently changed the fastening and it does not close as easily, potentially leading to the product going stale before the bag is finished.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“New wonder dog food?”
Reviewed 26th March 2018
I have just started using Akela dry complete food(original) and find it to be excellent and my 14 week old border collie loves it. However, I am amazed at places that don’t sell it( Pets at home/ Pets corner) to name but two, and at least one dog food comparison site that doesn’t mention it at all!!
It looks excellent, dog loves it and quite rightly it gets 5stars in another comparison website. The price varies widely, from £38 for 10kg on Akela website to £49 on Amazon!!
I am presuming this is a relatively new food, and I am looking round as I obviously want to give my dog the best!
Interested to know how it compares with McAdams complete food,and what other people thought , thanks DaveH
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire, West Midlands
1 review
“Perfect food for my litter ”
Reviewed 25th March 2018
I can't speak highly enough of this food! I used the Fish Feast for my litter of 10 Golden Retriever puppies & Mum & it was fabulous. Everyone ate it up quickly, no upset tummies, fabulous coat condition, no flaky skin....superb. The other bonus is that Mum could eat plenty of food & had maximum nutrition without getting full too quickly which happens with other kibble which swells so much when wet. Akela stays the same size so I know digestion must be excellent. I would definitely use it again & if you like the idea of raw feeding but can't face the practical side, this is the perfect alternative. Thank you Akela!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
Uttoxeter, Staffordshire, West Midlands
2 reviews
“So far so good....”
Reviewed 24th March 2018
A friend recommended Akela for our two dogs as the one seems to have a delicate stomach. Ordering was easy and delivery quick (I like their auto re-ordering as well). Both dogs love it and lap it up. I use it as a training treat as well. So far so good with the dogs.....
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
3 reviews
“I feed raw but this is the closest thing in kibble”
Reviewed 23rd March 2018
I actually feed both my dogs a raw diet, but i give my boys a little handful of Akela kibble as a bedtime snack. I also use the natural treats for rewarding my dogs on walks etc. I spent months researching and comparing dog foods, Akela was the clear winner. Price and quality is spot on.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Maisie would eat this food all day long! ”
Reviewed 16th March 2018
Researched via Allaboutdogfood in the first weeks of having Maisie, our Cockapoo. She is now 18 months with a thick shiny, soft curly coat; has never had any tummy upsets. She loves all the flavours and certainly knows when it's time for a feed! We have the medium paws kibble 1.5 kg in different flavours as easier to store. Would prefer say 5kg bags as 10kg too big and 1.5 kg rather small!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Great switch from Royal Canin to Akela”
Reviewed 14th March 2018
My breeder recommended wetted Royal Canin Junior for our Shetland Sheepdog puppy and was very generous with advice and a gift pack. All worked well, but his stools were a little orange, slightly smelly and quite soft. This led the puppy to regular eat what he pooed. The Kennel Club and other sites implied over-feeding, but also advised that the stools should be firm and reasonably dark. I researched various reviews and looked at 80:20 food options. Akela came out well and claimed the small paws kibble would work for puppies. We decided to give it a try. Upon arrival, the puppy was curious and took the kibble dry. Unfortunately this lasted just one feed. I cut the Royal Canin Junior 50:50 with a general reduction to less than 10% RCJ and the rest Akela. During the first week, I found myself hand feeding from the bowl with a spoon and a wetted feed. Finally, the puppy ate on his own again with no intervention and has wetted kibble in the morning and dry in the evening. The results have been excellent. Firstly his stools dried up, barely any smell and he rarely goes near them, and secondly, his coat sheens more and has a softer texture than before. The best pricing was direct from Akela, but with a decent amount to get the benefit of free shipping. I pay around 25% more, but it is worth it. I would not turn people away from Royal Canin, as it worked well, however, Akela works really well for my puppy and I will continue with Akela and recommend it.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
Penicuik, Midlothian, Scotland
1 review
“good dog food”
Reviewed 13th March 2018
Our 2yr old Border Terrier is very happy and healthy eating Akela, Original Medium Paws dog food. She's fit as a fiddle on it and her coat is in good condition too. She's been on this food for several months and loves it. It's great to find a food that's not full of fillers and ingredients un-natural for a dog to eat. She also enjoys the various treats by Akela, especially the venison sticks which can be chopped into little bits to use as training treats. Also, thanks for the hassle- free service and deliveries.

Shirley Wemyss, Midlothian
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Excellent company - Excellent food.”
Reviewed 12th March 2018
After trying various foods recommended by shop and vet to cure our cockapoos constant sickness and diarrhoea we found this excellent kibble. The improvement was almost immediate. After 18 months she is still on 80:20 original medium paws and we have a fit and healthy dog. Always order online and delivery is fast and efficient. Only once had a missing delivery but Wholeprey responded immediately and delivered a replacement next day. Price is good for a quality food made from good ingredients.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Simply the best”
Reviewed 12th March 2018
I switched my six year old cockapoo onto Akela after listening to advice from family members and checking some dog food comparison websites. Bella had no particular health issues but I have no doubt that she is better off on Akela than the popular brands she was eating previously. I have no doubt that this was a good move and will help Bella to keep healthy as she ages. The main difference is that her waste is much easier and less unpleasant to deal with. I started her on the Fish Feast but she seems to prefer the Original.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
3 reviews
“Akela Raw food as good as the dry”
Reviewed 7th March 2018
Have had my 2+ year old German Short Haired Pointer on Akela dry since a pup, he has a delicate stomach and suffers terribly on anything other. Recently I started to mix his diet by adding the Akela raw meals, he loves the duck, chicken and turkey varieties all pre-mixed with a good level of fruit, pulses, vegetables etc. I’m happy, he’s an active dog who needs good structure to his diet, not just bulked out with rice, grain etc used by so many other brands.
Packs are delivered in freezer boxes, I just pop a couple in the fridge to defrost every couple of days. Simple, clean, doesn’t smell and neither does his waste.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“One very happy puppy and owner”
Reviewed 6th March 2018
Switched my Labrador Retriever puppy to 80:20 Original at about 12 weeks after reading the reviews. I have a happy and healthy dog - no medicals issues so far. Her coat is beautiful - no itching or skin problems - and she spins in anticipation at meal times! I have rung Akela a couple of times now and the customer service is fantastic and the delivery is super fast. Thank you x
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Great food- good value. ”
Reviewed 23rd February 2018
I ordered the working dog wet food because I have a dog with Megaesophagus. He needs food that is tasty, can be easily puréed and has a high protein content. This was recommend.
Danny loves it, and also seems to tolerate it very well. All in all very pleased with the quality and variety.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Excellent ”
Reviewed 22nd February 2018
I switched to Akela after reasearch and being impressed with the reviews. Ordered the samples to start but my young lab was so disappointed that was all there was I have been purchasing the Fish. With no grain thiscreally suits him.
Accidentally ordered the original this time and he cannot get enough of it. Must have a great taste as he has never left any. Impressed with ingredients- great service.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Can’t recommend it enough ”
Reviewed 21st February 2018
I switched from my vet recommended brand to Akela fish feast when my cockerpoo puppy was around 10 months old. She had always had soft grainy stool which was really difficult to pick up! I wish I had discovered it earlier, as it has also reduced the amount of wind she produces. Before Akela she was uninterested in food but now can’t wait for feeding time. She is so keen on her food now that we have to use maze bowl to slow her down.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“No problems here ”
Reviewed 20th February 2018
I ordered Akela after it was recommended by a dog trainer. My puppy jasper had constant tummy upset and runny poops with the foods we were using. This is now improving after 1 week on Akela.
Jasper gets so excited when his food is put down and really enjoys it. The only downside is he whines for more :)
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Approved by fussy eater who needs a specific diet ”
Reviewed 19th February 2018
I have been using 80:20 Akela fish feast for around a year, my Saint Bernard is a very fussy eater and she also has food allergies. This food suits her very well - Shiny coat, happy tummy and a dog who is full of life. Before starting her on Akela she was half bald, itchy and very quiet... not herself at all. I can't recommend this food enough it has worked absolute wonders for her.

My only suggestion to improve it further would be more choice of flavours, something like just lamb or just venison, as the original and duck flavours my girl can't eat due to her allergies, it would be nice to have more choice.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Amazing food, amazing results!”
Reviewed 19th February 2018
We started using Akela over a year ago for our bulldog Watson.
He had suffered various allergies (constant ear infections, loss of fur on his head etc) and after endless visits to the vet for antibiotics and steroids creams without success we decided to look at his diet and after putting him on Akela the results were incredible. Within two weeks the ear problems had gone and the fur on his head started to grow back!
We haven’t been back to the vets since! His coat is shiny and he’s one happy bulldog!
We highly recommend Akela!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“My dog loves it”
Reviewed 17th February 2018
I have a Cyprus rescue dog who has thrived on this dry food. Put on weight , now has thick shiny coat and loves this food. For a rescue she was a bit picky with what she would eat. Have three flavour for bit of variety, fish being her favourite.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Best food yet”
Reviewed 13th February 2018
I’m on my 3rd 10kg bag of fish feast and my dog loves it, I’ve always used grain free food but Akela tops them all, good ingredients without all the fillers, price is very good too, I’ve done alot of research into dog food and this is the one I’m sticking with, I’ve tried a few , my dogs poops are firm and he doesn’t get sick as he has with some of the previous brands.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Very happy and my dog is too”
Reviewed 11th February 2018
Finally I have found a food that my German Shepherd likes the taste of , that is good quality and that agrees with his allergies. He is prone to itchy skin being allergic to all sorts of proteins. With this food his coat is in great condition and licks his bowl clean too .
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Excellent quality food that dogs love.”
Reviewed 7th February 2018
I'v always been very fussy about the food I feed my dogs - if it doesn't contain ingredients that meet the grade that I would eat, then I don't want to feed it to my dogs. I've literally spent hours researching quality dog foods and I have to say, Akela is one of the best. But my fussiness of quality comes combined with my Saluki-cross' fussiness of eating food. I have never known such a fussy eater. I tried her on quite a few brands of food and she would always go off them after a week or two. Akela is the only brand that she has stuck with and enjoys. I also have a Spanish Podenco that was referred to as a "grazer" by the rescue we got her from. With Akela, it's like she is in a race to finish first. The whole meal disappears in a couple of minutes. I love the fact that there are three different varieties to choose from too. We rotate them so that the dogs don't get bored of the same meals.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Great food and quality. Very happy.”
Reviewed 6th February 2018
Although I've only been feeding my Staff/Ridgeback Luis Akela Fish feast for only a week difference in his behaviour and coat is amazing. I always thought he was a little hyper, scatterbrain even but he 's become so much better behaved, more responsive and alert and seems to be altogether in a much happier place than he was. he's not so jumpy either. He still has a mixed diet and I use Akela as a 50/50 mix with wet food, normally Forthglade adjusting the amounts accordingly. His stools are far more solid, less smelly and less often as before. Also the kibble is a good for him, we use the Big Paws, I did try him on a few other brands but the kibble was very small for a dog his size, just altogether a great feed from a company who deliver what they say, fast delivery too. So far so good.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Two very happy dogs”
Reviewed 5th February 2018
We moved our Staffords onto Akela 3 months ago, Previously they were on a local per store designed food that was 50% meat content and grain free, 12kg bags were between £41 and £45 and each bag would last about 3 and half weeks. I discovered Akela on all about dogfood and as it was rated 5 out of 5 across the whole range I decided to look into it. The meat content is 80%, grain free and although the bags are 10kg you feed less. I was £78 for 2 bags of the fish this time round which is slightly more expensive than the original but still less than our previous brand. The girls look great on it, lovely shiney coats, good muscle, and although we felt like we may of been under feeding them as there meals now are much smaller they actually put on weight and we had to cut them back slightly more! Poos are greatly reduced and much more solid, not as many stinky Staffy farts either! And this is all improvements when they were orginally on a very good quality food, cant recommend it enough and neither can the girls. Only negative is they are now harrassing us for dinner an hour before its due!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Great choice”
Reviewed 29th January 2018
We have recently transferred our 12 week puppy over onto Akela as we read so many positive reviews about it and were impressed with its high 'quality' meat content. Our puppy took to it straight away and always eats her dinner. We will be staying on Akela as it's good and nutricious for the puppy and its good on the pocket too!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Probably a very good dog food”
Reviewed 24th January 2018
I say "probably" because I have yet to get my extremely fussy dog to try it. Akela has certainly got some very good reviews which is why I thought I would give it a go. I'm sure it is a very good food. I've explained to Freddi how nice it is and how good it is for him, but will he listen - NO. However, I will persevere. He is a 2 year old Cockapoo. I am not going to give up. I'm sure it is worth a try for most people, but unfortunately my dog doesn't live to eat or eat to live - he just doesn't like to eat!!!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
Dolgellau, Gwynedd, Wales
1 review
“Excellent dog food”
Reviewed 22nd January 2018
Great food for our growing Westie pup. We soak it first to make it moist and mix with a little beef or chicken. Will reduce the meat over time. Nice to know this is an 80/20 mix. Top nutrition we will stay with as he grows up.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
We’re Social! Facebook Facebook Facebook Facebook Connect With Us