Akela WholePrey

Akela WholePrey say:

Affordable vet-approved 80:20 nutrition. Made in Britain.

Akela WholePrey
98% of users rated this business as excellent or very good.
Ranked 1 in Dog Food
Ranking calculated based on average score and the most reviews. Businesses need more than 5 reviews to feature at the top.
484 reviews

Recent review

20th January 2018
“What A Find ”
After doing much research decided to Charlie on Akela dog food due to other reviews and the the ingredients in the food. We decided on a mix of kibble…

484 people have reviewed Akela WholePrey


Member ratings

Excellent
463
Very Good
16
Average
3
Poor
2
Terrible
0

Rating summary

Enjoyed by dog
Ingredients
Quality
Value for money
484 reviews (1 page) sorted by
1 review
“What A Find ”
Reviewed 20th January 2018
After doing much research decided to Charlie on Akela dog food due to other reviews and the the ingredients in the food. We decided on a mix of kibble and wet food mix as Charlie was only 12 weeks old and thought kibble may be a bit difficult on its own. Bought the sample packs and Charlie loves it but what surprised me was how he loved the kibble and like others we have used it for treats also. The customer service was great and no problems with deliver :-)
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Excellent food”
Reviewed 18th January 2018
I switched my german shepherd puppy, Polo, onto Akela as soon as I got him. I spent quite a lot of time researching different foods and Akela looked like the best option in terms of quality and price. The food is quite "rich" so I add fresh vegetables to his diet to provide a little extra fibre. He eats a combination of the dry, wet and raw food, in all the different varieties and he LOVES it. He jumps up and down excitedly at mealtimes. He also gets some of the "treats" on the site. The chicken and fish training treats are great.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Happy, healthy dogs ”
Reviewed 28th December 2017
Finding a dry kibble and treats to suit both dogs has proved difficult. One has colitis and the other has allergies. The Suffolk Duck dry food is especially suitable for allergy dogs and being high quality ingredients with no added gunk, it also suits our colitis dog. Both have shiny coats, improved stool quality and plenty of energy. We order online, it’s easy. Delivery is quick and products are always well packaged.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Good quality food, fast delivery.”
Reviewed 28th December 2017
My Labrador was on Hills prescription which I would imagine is a bit bland (hypothyroid. So his wait is a bit of an issue), but as soon as I gave him this food he had a renewed keenness for dinner time. He is 45kg and I am giving him 350g a day which seems a good amount at the moment. It's also tasty enough that I can use a handful for training/reward when we're walking. Delivery was quick. The website advised 5-10 working days, but it came within a few days. It's grain free too!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Just what we needed”
Reviewed 26th December 2017
My young lurcher - already on a grain-free diet - developed serious diarrhoea for no apparent reason; all tests proved negative. I decided to try whole prey, and the problem resolved itself almost immediately. My dog enjoys her feeds too.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Quality feed and service”
Reviewed 24th December 2017
I started feeding my Border Collie trials bitch 80:20 feed when she was 1 year old because of a skin problem and it did the trick...no more scratching! I was using an imported feed (from Canada) but when the value of the pound fell, after Brexit, it became quite expensive so I shopped around on the internet and found the Akela brand. The protein level is high which is important as she is a working sheepdog so requires a high level of fitness and stamina. I feed twice daily and when I introduced the Akela Whole Prey Original into her diet there was no discernible difference in her appetite, the bowl is cleaned up as soon as it is set down! As I found with the previous 80:20 feed her coat stays immaculate and the itching has completely disappeared so I would not take the risk of changing back to any other type of feed. Another bonus of changing to Akela is the excellent delivery service offered. I live on the Shetland Islands and was pleasantly surprised when I ordered three 10kg bags of Whole Prey that the delivery (by Yodel) was free! I am totally satisfied with Akela's feed...and service.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Excellent Food & Excellent Service ”
Reviewed 22nd December 2017
Having been through a lot of the ‘popular’ brands I eventually discovered Akela, I have to commend the company for their excellent service and their excellent quality food. I’ve been feeding Akela for over 2 years now which is probably the longest I’ve kept them on the same brand & I wouldn’t be in a hurry to change. IMO this is the best quality dry food on the market my show dogs love it.... they are all in superb condition, shiny coats and excellent muscle tone which is extremely important in my Breed, I have only rared one litter on this food, my bitch was in immaculate condition throughout her pregnancy and even while feeding the litter she never lost any condition, the puppies were weaned onto Akela and are all still been fed it 10 months on. I’m sure we will continue to use this food for the foreseeable future!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Best dog food with the best customer service”
Reviewed 20th December 2017
We have a picky dog and have tried literally every food option.; meat, kibble, mixtures, raw, cheap-expensive. ...... Ted, my dog, would go three days sometimes without eating. He liked nothing. It was a very distressing and anxious time as he was so thin. We were at a show and came across the Akela Wholeprey stand. It was the best thing from the start. The chap on the stand gave us samples, which we tried Ted on. He ate them up. We placed an order for a sack of feed and meat continue to do so. We have been happy customers for around 18 months now. Ted totally loves this food. He eats two good meals a day. He's in fabulous condition, gained weight, so fit and handsome. People stop their cars to see him! We are so happy to have found Akela and have recommended it to others.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Akela ”
Reviewed 18th December 2017
I like feeding my Belgium Malinois/Husky Akela dog food because if the amazing ingredients. He looks great and is very healthy. My son introduced me to it as he feeds his lovely Belgium Malinois the same. I highly recommend.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Happy, Healthy Dogs”
Reviewed 13th December 2017
Great food really glad I read the reviews and decided to give it a try. One of my dogs used to suffer from itchy skin and on recommendation I had changed to another grain free food but although there was an improvement it didn't solve the problem entirely. Decided to try Akela and about a year down the line, I realised I can't remember the last time she scratched !!
The dogs love it, bowls are cleared every meal, and the vet comments how lean and fit they both are. Very happy with prompt delivery service too.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Best ever ”
Reviewed 7th December 2017
After spending years drifting from one to another, always wanting the best for my dogs, I eventually found Akela. I cannot praise this kibble highly enough, my dogs love it and it’s really economical, as it has such high quality ingredients, the quantity needed tends to be less than you think. Don’t hesitate change your dog to Akela, you won’t regret it.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Excellent Customer Service”
Reviewed 6th December 2017
It is a delight in these times to find an organisation that does what it says it will. This company does exactly what is written on the tin!
Food is of very high quality and completely devoured by the dog, every time. Resulting in plenty of energy, a good glossy coat and well balanced weight. Thank you.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Great food for sensitive Boston”
Reviewed 6th December 2017
We were struggling to find a good that would suit or Boston terrier. All other food tried left him with very loose poops until we changed to Akela 80:20 original which not only solved that problem but our dog wolfed it down thoroughly enjoying every feed. I also love the fact we were able to change the kibble size to take him from puppy to the medium sized kibble he's on now. We've also changed our Shih Tzu over to the same food now and she loves it just as much! The feed calculator is also a great help and at a recent check up the vet remarked on thier perfect weight and coat condition. Would and have recommended to all.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
Gosforth, Tyne and Wear, North East
1 review
“Puppy LOVES this food”
Reviewed 28th November 2017
My 10 month old Cockapoo LOVES this food. He has the Fish Feast as he is sensitive to eggs and this one does not contain egg. We have tried a several different brands but were recommended this by a few people as he has a sensitive tummy and often had loose stools. But since starting this his stools have been normal! He gets really excited at meal times whereas with other brands he wasn't all that bothered. He used to be quite hyper but since changing to Akela he has also calmed down considerably. His coat is soft and shiny and he is the picture of health.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“80/20 wholeprey”
Reviewed 23rd November 2017
This dog food is the best quality and value dog food on the market. I feed my 2 yo collie this twice daily and she loves it. Her coat is glossy and has tons of energy. The high protein in the food is great for building strong limbs and a more robust pup. She is solid, mush stronger and faster than other dogs of similar age and breed, and is healthier than a butchers dog. The duck flavour is the best for my pooch, she wolfs it down. Would highly recommend this brand of dog food.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Great food ”
Reviewed 23rd November 2017
I have two working breed dogs, one a border collie and the other a Welsh sheepdog. My boys spend most of their time out in the mountains and fields here in sunny Wales. They used to be on a well known brand of food, which I believed to be a good quality, until I researched what was in it and found I was so wrong. I chose Akela after reading many reviews from other people and it was hard to find a negative review about it. My boys love it. They have been on Akela now for a couple of months and the main differences I have noticed with them is that their stamina has increased a great deal, and their coats are very shiny and seem well nourished and in great condition. I have also noticed that they do not have sloppy poo anymore. This suggests to me that the food they are on now is just about right for their metabolism. The 80/20 of meat and veg is the perfect combination with no grain or cereal to bulk them out. I am very pleased with Akela and although a little more expensive than some other brands it is well worth it. Would I recommend this food to other people for their dogs. YES I would with no hesitation what so ever.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Eaten by fussy eater”
Reviewed 16th November 2017
Our almost 7 year old collie is a fussy eater who will go for days without eating if she decides she no longer likes her food. We are now starting on a second large bag of 80:20 and she is still eating it without anything else mixed in. She has always had a bit of an issue with compulsive licking, which has completely disappeared, and dry skin, which has hugely improved. The food may seem expensive but 1 10kg bag has lasted us about 2 months which works out at less than 50p a day and there have been no upset tummy incidents and less stinky farts!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 15th November 2017
We've been feeding Akela to our Border Collie since he was three months old. He's fourteen months now and is in superb condition thanks in no small part to Akela. He loves it (and the beef tails and goats ears) we wouldn't give him anything else.
Additionally Akela is great value for money, ordering is simple and the delivery reliable via DPD or UK Mail.
We cannot recommend Akela highly enough.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland
1 review
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed 14th November 2017
I have tried every kibble there is available over the last few years, and never before have I managed to find one that ticks all of my boxes... It has to be a good size for toy breeds, that dosn't cause some form of stomach sensitivity, that ALL of my dogs like, that is grain free, excellent quality ingredients, that has the main ingredient as duck as some of my dogs are sensitive to chicken, turkey, lamb etc... and that if I happen to overfeed slightly, does not cause sudden soft poops. Well, I have finally managed to find that food. Akela Suffolk Duck for small paws is absolutely perfect, ticks all of my boxes, all of my dogs are enjoying it, have lovely formed poops, and I know that I am giving them good quality. To top it all off, the price is excellent also. And even moreso, the largest bags are 10kg, so, when you order 2 or more, they come in boxes of 2, and they are so much easier to handle than some companies who make food in 15kg bags, it is impossible to carry a box of 2 of those....
Would highly recommend, and there customer service is spot on also!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Akela Dog Food”
Reviewed 14th November 2017
We changed to Akela on recommendation from a friend and our Bichons love the food and already we can see a difference in the decline of tear staining.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“A very happy puppy!”
Reviewed 12th November 2017
We moved on to Akela after we’d used up Dexters breeders food up with which he was fussy. Dexter loves his Akela kibble hidden in all his toys and for breakfast and dinner. The big bag lasts us 3 months which works out at under 50p a day. That with the fab treats that they have to complement his meals like the fish skins he’s such a happy well fed pup!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Akela”
Reviewed 10th November 2017
Great high quality product that my puppy loves. We use both wet and dry food plus treats and we have a very healthy, happy and active puppy. He used to have a sensitive stomach but not since changing to Akela. Its a great quality product that I'm happy to feed by spoiled fur baby.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Great quality, the dogs love it”
Reviewed 8th November 2017
We have a 6 year old small mixed breed dog and a 6 month old vizsla. We have a gluten free home because members of the household have coeliac disease, this includes the dog food and dog treats we buy as we cant risk any cross contamination. We changed our old brand of gluten free dog food when our little vizsla came to live with us because we wanted a smaller kibble size to the one our other dog had. The vizsla came with a food that wasn't gluten free and although really expensive had questionable ingredients and she was also had very loose bowels. Akela 80:20 small paws was perfect for the first couple of 10kg bags, it sorted out her tummy issues and she absolutely loved it. We have now moved onto medium paws as she has grown. Both our dogs love it with a small amount of Akela 70:30 wet food mixed in. Akela is much better quality food than our older brand at a similar price and the training treats are brilliant. We found the training treats particularly useful for agility with our older dog and training for our pup . We also like to support local companies if we can and after our first order we realised they are about 30 miles away from us. We have had two fairly large orders from Akela now and we have had great customer service, communication and fast delivery. We notice how much calmer both our dogs are and we have been so happy and confident in the food that we bought a 30kg of the 80:20 dry, 36 tins of 70:30 wet, 1kg of 100% meat chub (for stuffing Kongs) and 2kg of training treats on our last order.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Great quality, dogs love it!”
Reviewed 6th November 2017
My English Toy Terriers have really enjoyed Akela wet and dry food. Good choice of flavours available and great to know that it's high quality too. Will definitely continue to order from them.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Happy healthy dogs”
Reviewed 3rd November 2017
Having a wcs and a chihuahua and wanting to feed the same food was provided g a challenge until late on found akela,my wcs has a very sensitive tummy and my chi can be fussy,but they both love the fish feast and are excited every meal time,nice solid poo with no nasty smells,lovely shiny coats ( hard with a white wcs and cream chi) and are just so much better allife round,thank you akela for an affordable fantastic food
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Time for a change.”
Reviewed 27th October 2017
In the process of introducing Suffolk Duck medium paws to our 6 month Sprocker. So far so good and big improvement in bowel movements and a slightly calmer dog. Just need to juggle the final amounts for a fast growing dog.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Great so far”
Reviewed 24th October 2017
We moved our 6 month old lab onto Akela and he loves it. In fact I even use the kibbles as training treats for another dog I sit because she thinks it's great too. Considering the price of some "bigger brands" that often contain a lot of horrible ingredients, Akela is great value too.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Akela dog treats”
Reviewed 22nd October 2017
I have a bearded collie who is very picky over his food - he either doesn't like it or it upsets his stomach. I tried akela 80% chicken, duck & turkey as a treat and he absolutely loves it and with it being 80% meat I feel it is doing him good. I found it very easy to order and delivery was very prompt. Would highly recommend.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Top Quality”
Reviewed 19th October 2017
Typically I feed my Cocker Spaniel a mix of wet and dry dog food and have used products from many of the so called "household name" pet food producers. More recently, I discovered Akela and ordered supplies of both their wet and dry dog foods. Delivered the next working day, these were of the highest quality - and are thoroughly enjoyed by my dog, who can be a somewhat fussy eaer! I unreservedly recommend Akela to anyone looking for "proper" non-raw dog food comprising the best possible ingredients, with no grains, fillers or other "junk" products so regularly used by other producers.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Akela - Does exactly what it says on the tin!”
Reviewed 16th October 2017
Our rescued GDS came to us with chronic upset tum which lasted 3-4 weeks. We kept her on chicken and rice but that didn't help, we tried Wainwrights which improved things but the "end result" was a bit like Mr Whippy Icecream! Then we tried Akela, it agreed with her straight away, her coat improved, her bowels were perfect and she had lots more energy. She is now on a mix and has a lot of raw food too, but I would not hesitate to recommend Akela to anyone.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
We’re Social! Facebook Facebook Facebook Facebook Connect With Us