Are you the owner of this business? Click here

Wainwright's Dog Food


Wainwright's Dog Food
24% of users rated this business as excellent or very good.
Ranked 24 in Dog Food
Ranking calculated based on average score and the most reviews. Businesses need more than 5 reviews to feature at the top.
33 reviews

Recent review

30th March 2020
“Gave our dogs diarrhoea ”
I have no idea what they put in this food, but it must be cheap and nasty. We tried our two whippets on it and over night they became very windy and h…

33 people have reviewed Wainwright's Dog Food


Member ratings

Excellent
8
Very Good
0
Average
0
Poor
4
Terrible
21

Rating summary

Enjoyed by dog
Ingredients
Quality
Value for money
33 reviews (1 page) sorted by
1 review
“Gave our dogs diarrhoea ”
Reviewed 30th March 2020
I have no idea what they put in this food, but it must be cheap and nasty. We tried our two whippets on it and over night they became very windy and had constant runny and sloppy poos. After a week of trying to figure out what was causing their problems, we switched back to their old food and immediately they were fine. Don't buy the stuff! If the virus doesn't kill you, your dog's flatulence will!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Dont buy this food!”
Reviewed 27th February 2020
Ive been giving my 10 month old pup Smudge wainwrights since i have had him, unfortunately he has an intolerance to Maize hence the reason using the original wainwrights due to the high quality ingredients. I purchased 2 new bags from pets of home that for some reason have a new recipe and has caused my dog sever diarrhea. I have used wainwrights with all my animals for the past 3 years and for them to change the ingredients without any notice is quite frankly negligent. People rely on these high quality food brands for exactly this reason!!! Wont by buying this food ever again
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Working Dog Food”
Reviewed 18th February 2020
Like many reviews on this site our working cocker has become extremely ill after eating this food. This has resulted in an overnight stay in the vets as she has become dehydrated with vomiting and diahorrea. She has been enjoying Wainwright’s Working Dog for 2 years without any issue but it would appear they have changed the ingredients without prior warning. We have returned the food to Pets and Home and the staff said they were shocked and weren’t informed of the change. Their website still shows the original recipe which is misleading. They have added maize to the recipe and reduced the meat content. I will be taking this further with Pets at Home and issuing a formal complaint.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Salmon and Potato”
Reviewed 16th February 2020
I have fed my dog the Wainrights, Salmon and Potato range for years. All of a sudden he refuses to eat it! It was a new bag which I have recently purchased. Then I got an email from Pets at Home confirming they have changed their recipe! They are no longer grain free they add rice to the dried food. They have suggested changing to Fishmongers which is grain free and have the Salmon and Potato range
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“WE dry dog food”
Reviewed 13th February 2020
Hi there. Had anyone had any luck finding out about the "new" but not told version of their dry food?
Was recommended to try this for our old girl but I don't want to reading all these reviews.
Found out our girl is now very sensitive to poultry (chicken) and we really can afford some of the other brands of food. I've just been made redundant.
Any ideas? I
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Wainwright's Salmon & Potato dog food.”
Reviewed 11th February 2020
We, too, have noticed a reduction in pellet size over the last few months. Like many other owners, we feed this complete diet volumetrically, using a Wainwright's measuring cup. Over a number of years we have fed our GSD bitch 2x200g /day. We realised that with the reduction in pellet size we were then feeding 2x530g/day - an increase of 30% (which may be good for product sales, but not good for either the customer's pocket or their pet's well-being).
The food analysis has also changed - albeit slightly - but any alteration may affect dogs with a sensitive gut.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Consider Trading Standards....”
Reviewed 8th February 2020
My dog has been on Wainwrights for approx 2 years, and has never had problem.
Four weeks ago, he began to suffer from diarrhoea. I assumed he’d picked something up and took him to the vets. Ten days of rice, egg, cooked chicken and antibiotics seemed to sort him out - so I very slowly reintroduced the kibble (turkey and rice) ...and within two days he was back to square one.
I’ve returned the bag to Pets at Home today, who to do them justice were good and refunded with no quibble.
A note of caution though. My dog trainer tells me a lot of dogs are coming down with tummy bugs at the minute (wet, warm winter is harbouring bugs - as well as lots of mud). But, I still feel that it’s no coincidence that his tummy flared again when the kibble was reintroduced (I reintroduced him to his wet food after this and his stools were normal).
So, I’ve lodged a complaint with PaH, kept back a sample from the bag and if I don’t hear within 10 days, will consider contacting Trading Standards (will also point them towards reviews here). Advise others to do the same. We might all be wrong, but if the stuffs not tested we’ll never know!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Since the change ...”
Reviewed 7th February 2020
My Four Paws has loved Duck and Rice Small Breed Dry food for years until new packaging, and new size of nuggets to nibbles! At first I thought she had a bug, we were halfway down the bag, until I thought could be the food. Went to Pets At Home, asked if they knew of the change and said try a different flavour, bought Lamb and Rice Small Breed, old packaging old size nuggets, Mabel enjoyed the bag,went back to buy another, new packaging and new size nibbles, within this week, Mabel has bloody liquid pouring from her, I have kept her off the food and gave her rice, and had a decent motion! Wainwrights, what the hell have you done! Really scared if there is any long lasting damage to the poison my Four Paws has been eating, and I believe mine isn’t the only dog, looking at the latest reviews
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Wainwright’s Dog Food”
Reviewed 7th February 2020
My 2 cocker spaniels has been eating Wainwright’s for 3 years and never had any issues until last week, They both have sickness and diahoria. The food in the bag looks different and an inconsistent colour to the usual food. I took it back to Pets at Home yesterday and the assistant said that they had a similar complaint and she seems to think that the Pets at Home own brand has been bagged in the Wainwright’s bag, as they are both made by them.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Wainwright’s salmon and potato mature ”
Reviewed 6th February 2020
I bought a 15kg bag of this food last week and my dog ate only a couple of the pellets , and refused to eat the rest , I thought he was having an off day but nearly a week later he still would not eat it I was adding meat and gravy to it just to get him to eat something but he still would not touch it , I thought he was really ill as he is 14 now , but I decided to check the food and realised it smelt really strange nothing like the fishy smell it usually has so I returned it to the store . They were really good In store and swapped the bag for another one to try . We gave him some as soon as we got home but it was exactly the same , my dog has been on wainwright’s food for as long as I can remember because he suffers with skin problems (he is a westie ) and this was the only food that suited him . I took the food back to store again , the staff were great we decided after reading other reviews on here not to try any more of wainwright’s food and have now purchased another brand . We got home and he woofed it down as by this point the poor thing was starving
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Wainwrights working dog ”
Reviewed 6th February 2020
bought two big bags of this just before christmas. my lab like others have said eats everything and he wouldn't touch his dinner. he started on wainwrights puppy and went on to wainwrights young adult and never had an issue until the last two bags. The food smelled like chemicals and our lab had an upset stomach and diarrhoea until we changed him onto something else! took the second bag back as soon as it smelled of chemicals and logged a product complaint with Pets at Home
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“DO NOT FEED !!!!! ”
Reviewed 6th February 2020
I am at my wits end !!! I have fed this food for ages and all the dogs thrived on it. How ever after opening a new bag in December 6 of the 7 dogs fed it were at the vets. 2 dogs were PTS, 3 recovered as soon as I put them onto an alternative food, and the 6th has only just been signed off from the vets. My other dogs which weren't on this food had no issues at all.
When I phoned PAH initially they assured me nothing had been changed with the food.
I asked for the food to be tested for vitamin/mineral content etc - the minimal testing was done not what I asked for.
They asked me to forward all vet reports - this I did 3 weeks ago - heard nothing !! I emailed again - nothing.
Today I phoned AGAIN oh but the person I needed to speak to wasn't yet in the office and would phone me back - NOTHING
I have now issued a complaint but am getting more and more frustrated and wish I could actually speak to others that have had problems. I have been very patient but am now getting more and more distressed.
PLEASE DO NOT USE THIS FOOD !!!! THERE ARE PLENTY OF ALTERNATIVE FOODS TO FEED YOUR DOGS - WHY TAKE THE RISK !!!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
Rushden, Northamptonshire, East Midlands
1 review
“Turkey and Rice ”
Reviewed 3rd February 2020
My Labrador has been on this food since he was a puppy! Wainwright is supposed to be a good brand of food, that’s why it is so expensive and I want him to have the best! Four weeks a go my dog started with really bad diarrhoea, up in the night with him even slept down stairs with him, went vets twice and even had poo samples done as was worried he had picked a virus up that Id heard was going round. It’s cost me £250 in vet bills to find out today thankfully that his results Have come back clear! It only just to a-cured to me that it all started when I’d brought a new bag of food from pets at home, the same we always have! Took it back today and the lady said your the fifth person to bring it back cos their dog has been poorly!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Wainwrights Turkey and Rice”
Reviewed 31st January 2020
Wish I'd read these other reviews before deciding to give my dog a change of kibble. He point blank refused to eat this. He's a black labrador that will eat absolutely anything so that in itself speaks volumes. I notice other comments saying Wainwrights have been bought over by Wagg and perhaps the recipe has changed - certainly not for the better!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Back to Arden Grange.”
Reviewed 6th January 2020
Decided to try this for my Staffy but even though he seems to like the taste it certainly doesn't like him. Terrible smelly wind and very sloppy poops so it's back to the tried and trusted Arden Grange.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Wainwright salmon and potato dried food ”
Reviewed 4th January 2020
I have used this product for the last 6 years but now strongly advise pet owners to consider changing to other brands. My dog is recovering from open sores and hives caused by changes made to the food. His fur was dull, skin scaly and stiff to the point he could hardly turn his head. The hives made him scratch resulting in painful open sores . It has cost a small fortune to get him healthy again but what I am cross about is the suffering caused to my dog, he was in obvious pain. Ownership of this brand has changed as has the recipe but there is nothing on the bag to let you know. My daughters dog has also had skin issues and online research has shown many dogs have had issues. My advice, stay away from it and let other dog owners know so their pets won't suffer like mine has.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Bad changes”
Reviewed 17th December 2019
Used Wainwrights for nearly 2 years, they have changed the recipe. I got a refund back from pets at home after my dog refused to eat it after one day (his poo's after the first day were disgusting). Employer at pets at home told me they have sold the manufacturing to Wagg, very cheap supplier and known for poor quality.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Recipe changed, dog ill”
Reviewed 1st December 2019
Been feeding Wainwright's Duck and Rice/ lamb and rice to dogs for about 5 years. Recent bag of the duck flavour has been very different in appearance and one of the dogs is reluctant to eat. When she has eaten it she is up through the night (5 times) with diarrhoea. Not good for her or me.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Clearly changed the recipe!!”
Reviewed 16th November 2019
I've been buying Wainwrights adult salmon and potato dry dog food for years. The dogs loved it and it really helped calm their skin problem. However, I noticed in the last couple of bags I bought the biscuits seemed to be getting smaller. Then the bag I have bought this week is completely different! - the biscuits are now like rabbit pellets, small round, darker and harder. The smell has completely changed, I can only describe it as a chemical smell. One of my dogs has completely refused it, the other ate it then spent all night being sick and hasn't touched it since. Very unimpressed, there's nothing on the packaging to say they've changed the food but they clearly have.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Good food - poor quality packaging!”
Reviewed 15th September 2019
We had asked Pets At Home Derby, to put 6 boxes of Wainwrights Variety 12 pack mature trays aside for us. The date was good 2020, but on loading the boxes into the car, we noticed a suspicious smell coming from one of the boxes. Obviously something had gone off in the box, so we were able to return it, and get a refund on this box. That left five boxes, as no more in stock. A box lasts a week for my Labrador, and today I opened the second of the five boxes, and the smell hit me. One tray badly blown, and mess on the bottom of the box.
Every time we purchase Wainwrights, trays are blown of leaking, because they haven't been sealed properly.
Took a box away on holiday in may, three of the twelve trays were either leaking of blown. This meant I had to find more food to last our dog during the break.
Absolutely not good enough. Still awaiting a response to our last complaint to Pets at Home, as we cannot keep doing 30 mile round trips to return these.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Changes ?”
Reviewed 23rd April 2019
I have been feeding my choc labrador wainwrights turkey and rice for a few years because she has tummy problems and she has thrived on it ,but the last bag I bought seemed to have smaller nuggets, never the less gave it to the dog , the next day she had diaorhea and continued until I stopped feeding her with it .I can only think they have made some changes to the food and won't be buying it again. Petsathome were very good and took the bag back.Ratings are for before this last bag.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Dishonest ”
Reviewed 7th February 2019
My dog was on burns which had increased in price until it was £55 for a 15kg bag, which I decided I was not willing to pay. I shipped around and decided to switch to wainwrights which was still good quality but only £35 per 15kg. The following month went to buy again and noticed the price was down to 30.99, then noticed the bag size was down to 10kg!! Did the calculations and this means a £10 increase on 15kg of dog food in one month!! Trying to hide it by making the bags carry less as well! Very cunning. My poor dog is going to have to have his food changed yet again now. Won't be buying from wainwrights again
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“not pleased”
Reviewed 10th December 2018
I bought 2 boxes of 24 dinners in each box a couple of months ago.....the expiry date is February 2020. I keep the food in my 'cold' room. i bought it because my 14 year old border collie was having teeth problems and was preferring softer food. sadly he went to doggie heaven on October 23rd. so now i just have my little yorkie who sure doesn't eat as much as my border did. so i gave a dozen trays away to my neighbour and was using as needed for my little guy. today i went to get a new tray out.... the box inside was full of itsy bitsy flies and all of the food looked absolutely rotten. so i took a look in theunopened box .....same thing. and my little guy would have nothing to do with it. also there was leakage all over the boxes.....it was pretty disgusting. so am definitely contacting wainright's tomorrow.....£45 wasted ......have also contacted my friends that introduced me to wainright's to put them on the alert and told my friends that i had given trays to and told them to stop the feeding. I've taken photos but the bugs are so tiny that you're hard pressed to see them. will i buy this again.....NO!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Hungry puppies ”
Reviewed 21st August 2018
Bought this for my French bulldogs as the breeder had been using it puppies hungry all the time pooped eight times a day did not satisfy them and did not gain weight soon changed food would not recommend for French bulldogs.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“My Dog Has Never Poohed so Much”
Reviewed 27th March 2018
My dog was on this food for a week and during this time, he was poohing large quantities 7 or 8 times a day. He also lost 2kg in a week. I fed him less than the recommended amount so this had nothing to do with overfeeding. I have now gone down the raw food route and use Nutriment and he is thriving. He now only poohs 2 or 3 times a day and has small hard stools and has put back the weight he lost. I have read other reviews and Wainwrights does get good comments so it is obviously suitable for other dogs, but I certainly would not recommend it.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Wainwright Grain free Turkey with vegetables”
Reviewed 12th July 2017
I've just put my cavalier on the mature+ years turkey with vegetables as he's been picky with his food. He couldn't eat it quick enough. I mix it with a few grain free dry biscuits along with one tray split into two meals. He's a happy dog now with a lovely shiny coat. A must for any dog owner. I'm putting my new puppy on this in August when we get him as he will be on Royal Canin.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“14 week old puppy - growing up healthy!”
Reviewed 7th June 2017
I changed my Maltipoo puppy 'Charlie' from another brand to Wainwrights. I have to mix the soft with the biscuits at the moment as he was bought up on soft food. He looks great on it and seems to love it...will definitely keep him on it. :)
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Wainwrights Salmon and Potato”
Reviewed 11th April 2017
I have been feeding this to my dog for about 2 Months now and her skin is great, people comment on how good she looks
Her coat has stopped smelling
I think it a fantastic food at a good price
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Wainwrights”
Reviewed 24th November 2016
I got a bag of adult food dry it was full of buiscuit dust. I have been using it for years with my border collies. I got in touch with the company by email but still await a return contact. Not very impressed with their customer services department at all
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Our two love it”
Reviewed 28th September 2016
We have a 2 yr old gsd and a 6yr old mixture we have tried various expensive and mid range brands for our dogs .Our gsd was a picky eater and has a very sensitive stomach.We tried him on Wainwrights and its the best thing we have ever done they both love the dry complete there poo is firm ,there coats are beautiful so shinny and healthy looking also the gsd doesn't shed hair as much now They don't itch or scratch ,both are extremely healthy dogs in tip top condition . This is an excellent value dry dog food exceptional ingreadiants at a reasonable price would recomended this to any one who's pet has sensitive tummy's and itchy skin...will just say neither of them like the salmon &potato but I've all the other variety's !
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
We’re Social! Facebook Facebook Facebook Facebook Connect With Us