Are you the owner of this business? Click here

Wainwright's Dog Food


Wainwright's Dog Food
18% of users rated this business as excellent or very good.
Ranked 24 in Dog Food
Ranking calculated based on average score and the most reviews. Businesses need more than 5 reviews to feature at the top.
48 reviews

Recent review

4th May 2021
“Wainrights Grain Free Lamb with Vegetables”
My dog has been on this for a year. He developed a really sore anus and all the hair under around his tail gradually turned red. I had only kept him…

48 people have reviewed Wainwright's Dog Food


Member ratings

Excellent
8
Very Good
1
Average
0
Poor
5
Terrible
34

Rating summary

Enjoyed by dog
Ingredients
Quality
Value for money
48 reviews (1 page) sorted by
2 reviews
“Wainrights Grain Free Lamb with Vegetables”
Reviewed 4th May 2021
My dog has been on this for a year. He developed a really sore anus and all the hair under around his tail gradually turned red. I had only kept him on it because it gave him really firm poos and I thought it would assist with the emptying of anal glands. He was previously on Challenge Salmon and Potato but his poos were always very soft and squidgy on it though otherwise he thrived. I was honestly just trying to save money by going cheaper.
Such a big mistake. He ended up at the vet with an anal abscess which after 3 courses of antibiotics has not fully healed.
I always check ingredients of dog food before I buy and have to give him grain free as he ( a Samoyed) is sensitive to gluten. Somehow I missed that TOMATO POWDER is in this Wainwright’s food. A really strange ingredient to add to dog food and not good for either dogs or humans with very sensitive stomachs. He had had a bout of acid reflux in the past (brought up blood during the night) and the vet prescribed an anti acid which sorted that out. He was not on Wainwright’s at the time. As a reflux sufferer I can confirm that tomato is one if the foods to avoid. I discussed his food with the Vet when booking him in for sedation for cleaning out of the abscess and he suggested I return him to his original food and stop the Wainwright’s. I can only think that it contributed to the abscess. There were no signs that his anal glands needed emptying at any time. No scooting or bothering his rear end.
I am hoping and praying that he does not have an antibiotic resistant bacterial infection. I am at the vet with him again tomorrow.
I would not recommend this food, as although I can’t prove anything, I do not think tomato powder a suitable ingredient for dog food. I have never seen this in any other dog food and I have researched quite a few.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Awful ”
Reviewed 2nd May 2021
Found this page by chance as my dog has been so unwell. They have been on this food for 7 years and both dogs have had poorly tummies since the 20th of April. Now I know why!!! They changed the recipe and did not even bother mentioning it! I thought it was just the packaging that changed. I'm livid as its cost me a fortune with the vet! I will be complaining on Tuesday.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Recently changed ingredients made my dogs poorly! ”
Reviewed 20th April 2021
Our spaniels have been on this food for 7+ years with no problem until recently we’ve found out the ingredients had changed and it has been making them ill with diarrhoea and pooing in the house. Also cost us a ooh trip to the vets when one of them was very ill overnight! Will not be buying this food again!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Angry at the ingredients change”
Reviewed 15th April 2021
My dog has been on wainwright’s from being a puppy it was the only good we settled well on and never had a problem until 2 weeks ago when he sudden severe diarrhoea and vomiting.

Prior to this he has never had us up in the night since the day we got him and we was up all night from 3am in and every half an hour.

We put him on boiled chicken and white rice and with in a day was back to solid poos so re-introduced Wainwright’s and surprise surprise we were back to square one.

I had realised the packaging had changed on the Wainwright’s food and so went to Pets at Home to question it and was told yes the packaging and ingredients have changed. Apparently they have done it to make it a better quality food by increasing the meat content to 36%....as the saying goes if it’s not broke don’t fix it. I’m so angry that we now have to go through the whole process of trying to find the right food again
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Really upset”
Reviewed 15th April 2021
Had had my dog on the green wainwright's for 6 years with no problems then the last 3 months I have been In and out the vets bill after bill wondering why she was so ill constant lose poo waking up in the night to go, off with herself. It has been the change in ingredients that they haven't made any point of on the packaging. Or I would have known straight away it was her food. So upset I have been hurting her for months because of there not telling us they hanged to main ingredients.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Fuming at this food”
Reviewed 29th March 2021
Used this food since our dog was a puppy , really solid poos never would have adjusted his diet but this company decided to do it for us!!!!

We didn’t know what was causing sudden diarrhoea and change in behaviour, poor boy was looking unwell. We put him on chicken and rice and viola solid poop again. So we start to introduce 5 peices of wainwright’s back in and instant diarrhoea, all over his bum he was running round crying, showing him at 12oclock at night and having to clean carpet!!!

After trips to the vets and £78 bill later we find out there’s been a recipe change and that’s causing the problem. We are absolutely fuming and will be returning this food and expect full refund and will never use this brand again. Stay away from this brand unless you’re happy with a company changing the recipe as they please!!!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Vomiting”
Reviewed 7th March 2021
I have feed my dogs Wainwright complete dry food for 5 years with no problems. Suddenly vomiting after eating . Vet couldn't find anything wrong. After 3 weeks of chicken and rice and a mild diet all good. Introduced a smal amount of Wainwright immediately back to vomiting after just one very small portion.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Caused sickness and diarrhoea in my dog”
Reviewed 9th February 2021
A couple of weeks ago, my dog started to be sick and had diarrhoea. After numerous visits to the vets, it was still unclear what was wrong and her blood tests and urine results came back absolutely fine. My dog was put on chicken and pasta and every time I began to slowly reintroduce her to her Wainwright's, she became sick again. It took me about 3 times before I realised it could possibly be the food. It was not until I had a google and found these reviews below that I was almost certain it was a change in recipe which has not agreed with my dog. I have now changed her food and she seems absolutely fine!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Made my dog very sick”
Reviewed 4th September 2020
I recently bought 2 new bags of Wainwright's grain free duck and veg, (which my dog has been on for many years without issue)
I noticed immediately that the kibble looked different. The pieces looked larger, thinner and paler in colour but nothing on the packaging to advise of a new recipe/formula?! My dog ate only from the new kibble (nothing else) and was violently sick from that first evening onwards. He also had diarrhoea and I had to give him Pro-kaolin to settle his tum. Needless to say I stopped feeding him the new kibble.
I've messaged Pets at Home who state they are looking into the matter. The comments on here are very alarming and I've forwarded the link to PaH also.
Not sure if this is due to a change of ingredients or mix up or some kind of contamination but I eagerly await a response from Pets at Home.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Has made my dog sick ”
Reviewed 3rd September 2020
I was unaware that the recipe had changed until informed by the vet, the last bag has made my dog vomit and have loose stools.

It has also caused my friends dog to break out in a full body rash !!
AVOID!!! Not only is my dog sick I’m out of pocket for the bag and for the vets bills!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“New Recipe made my dogs so ill”
Reviewed 13th July 2020
Since the recipe has changed my two dogs have been so unwell after eating this food. It has cost us a crazy amount in vets bills to get them better! Not to mention the worry and sleepless nights staying up while they were so ill.

DO NOT BUY THIS DOG FOOD
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“New Recipe? Upset stomach”
Reviewed 12th July 2020
Used the adult dog lamb and rice food for past year. Last large bag of food delivered is definitely different. Looks much paler and smaller. My poor dog has such a bad upset stomach and can see similar reviews on here, the recipe must have changed. Not impressed
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“This food has made our Dog ill”
Reviewed 21st April 2020
I maybe should have got the hint that when our 14 year old Springer Spaniel Charlie started picking out the kibble and then dropping them on the floor something was wrong. We have used Wainwright for years and had no problems but in the last 6 months Charlie started being sick. It wasn't until we talked to our vet and changed all his food that things improved. He is now like a different dog. The clincher was we gave a 13 kg bag to our niece for her Border Collie that we knew the food was at fault he took a few mouthfuls and it made him sick as well. I gather that recently the recepie has changed adding maize and removing some meat content. What ever had happened the food is now not suitable for our dog. Note we have always mixed the kibble with Pedigree Chum wet food.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“First review of Wainwrights”
Reviewed 12th April 2020
I have been using Wainwrights Grain Free Adult (Turkey or lamb) kibble and my 3 yearold hound enjoys it. No adverse effects after 6 months of use. I combine it usually with a wet food, raw tripe, mince etc.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Complained to Pets at Home but no response!”
Reviewed 8th April 2020
Our dog Lily has been on Wainwights pet food since a pup. She is now nearly 12 and a few months ago we bought a new large bag of food only to find she recoiled at the very smell of it and wouldnt touch it. We even mixed it with tuna but she ate the tuna and spat out every piece of kibble. Reluctant to change brands after all these years we bought another bag, different flavour. Nope, wouldnt touch it. After doing a bit of reading in the web we discovered that the ingredients of the food had been changed, without any notice to the customer. Soni complained to Pets at Home as I was really concerned at how irresponsible this was (I also wanted my £60odd back fir unused food) they failed to.respond. I'll never buy food from this store again. Disgusting and irresponsible!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Gave our dogs diarrhoea ”
Reviewed 30th March 2020
I have no idea what they put in this food, but it must be cheap and nasty. We tried our two whippets on it and over night they became very windy and had constant runny and sloppy poos. After a week of trying to figure out what was causing their problems, we switched back to their old food and immediately they were fine. Don't buy the stuff! If the virus doesn't kill you, your dog's flatulence will!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Dont buy this food!”
Reviewed 27th February 2020
Ive been giving my 10 month old pup Smudge wainwrights since i have had him, unfortunately he has an intolerance to Maize hence the reason using the original wainwrights due to the high quality ingredients. I purchased 2 new bags from pets of home that for some reason have a new recipe and has caused my dog sever diarrhea. I have used wainwrights with all my animals for the past 3 years and for them to change the ingredients without any notice is quite frankly negligent. People rely on these high quality food brands for exactly this reason!!! Wont by buying this food ever again
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Working Dog Food”
Reviewed 18th February 2020
Like many reviews on this site our working cocker has become extremely ill after eating this food. This has resulted in an overnight stay in the vets as she has become dehydrated with vomiting and diahorrea. She has been enjoying Wainwright’s Working Dog for 2 years without any issue but it would appear they have changed the ingredients without prior warning. We have returned the food to Pets and Home and the staff said they were shocked and weren’t informed of the change. Their website still shows the original recipe which is misleading. They have added maize to the recipe and reduced the meat content. I will be taking this further with Pets at Home and issuing a formal complaint.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Salmon and Potato”
Reviewed 16th February 2020
I have fed my dog the Wainrights, Salmon and Potato range for years. All of a sudden he refuses to eat it! It was a new bag which I have recently purchased. Then I got an email from Pets at Home confirming they have changed their recipe! They are no longer grain free they add rice to the dried food. They have suggested changing to Fishmongers which is grain free and have the Salmon and Potato range
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“WE dry dog food”
Reviewed 13th February 2020
Hi there. Had anyone had any luck finding out about the "new" but not told version of their dry food?
Was recommended to try this for our old girl but I don't want to reading all these reviews.
Found out our girl is now very sensitive to poultry (chicken) and we really can afford some of the other brands of food. I've just been made redundant.
Any ideas? I
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Wainwright's Salmon & Potato dog food.”
Reviewed 11th February 2020
We, too, have noticed a reduction in pellet size over the last few months. Like many other owners, we feed this complete diet volumetrically, using a Wainwright's measuring cup. Over a number of years we have fed our GSD bitch 2x200g /day. We realised that with the reduction in pellet size we were then feeding 2x530g/day - an increase of 30% (which may be good for product sales, but not good for either the customer's pocket or their pet's well-being).
The food analysis has also changed - albeit slightly - but any alteration may affect dogs with a sensitive gut.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Consider Trading Standards....”
Reviewed 8th February 2020
My dog has been on Wainwrights for approx 2 years, and has never had problem.
Four weeks ago, he began to suffer from diarrhoea. I assumed he’d picked something up and took him to the vets. Ten days of rice, egg, cooked chicken and antibiotics seemed to sort him out - so I very slowly reintroduced the kibble (turkey and rice) ...and within two days he was back to square one.
I’ve returned the bag to Pets at Home today, who to do them justice were good and refunded with no quibble.
A note of caution though. My dog trainer tells me a lot of dogs are coming down with tummy bugs at the minute (wet, warm winter is harbouring bugs - as well as lots of mud). But, I still feel that it’s no coincidence that his tummy flared again when the kibble was reintroduced (I reintroduced him to his wet food after this and his stools were normal).
So, I’ve lodged a complaint with PaH, kept back a sample from the bag and if I don’t hear within 10 days, will consider contacting Trading Standards (will also point them towards reviews here). Advise others to do the same. We might all be wrong, but if the stuffs not tested we’ll never know!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Since the change ...”
Reviewed 7th February 2020
My Four Paws has loved Duck and Rice Small Breed Dry food for years until new packaging, and new size of nuggets to nibbles! At first I thought she had a bug, we were halfway down the bag, until I thought could be the food. Went to Pets At Home, asked if they knew of the change and said try a different flavour, bought Lamb and Rice Small Breed, old packaging old size nuggets, Mabel enjoyed the bag,went back to buy another, new packaging and new size nibbles, within this week, Mabel has bloody liquid pouring from her, I have kept her off the food and gave her rice, and had a decent motion! Wainwrights, what the hell have you done! Really scared if there is any long lasting damage to the poison my Four Paws has been eating, and I believe mine isn’t the only dog, looking at the latest reviews
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Wainwright’s Dog Food”
Reviewed 7th February 2020
My 2 cocker spaniels has been eating Wainwright’s for 3 years and never had any issues until last week, They both have sickness and diahoria. The food in the bag looks different and an inconsistent colour to the usual food. I took it back to Pets at Home yesterday and the assistant said that they had a similar complaint and she seems to think that the Pets at Home own brand has been bagged in the Wainwright’s bag, as they are both made by them.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Wainwright’s salmon and potato mature ”
Reviewed 6th February 2020
I bought a 15kg bag of this food last week and my dog ate only a couple of the pellets , and refused to eat the rest , I thought he was having an off day but nearly a week later he still would not eat it I was adding meat and gravy to it just to get him to eat something but he still would not touch it , I thought he was really ill as he is 14 now , but I decided to check the food and realised it smelt really strange nothing like the fishy smell it usually has so I returned it to the store . They were really good In store and swapped the bag for another one to try . We gave him some as soon as we got home but it was exactly the same , my dog has been on wainwright’s food for as long as I can remember because he suffers with skin problems (he is a westie ) and this was the only food that suited him . I took the food back to store again , the staff were great we decided after reading other reviews on here not to try any more of wainwright’s food and have now purchased another brand . We got home and he woofed it down as by this point the poor thing was starving
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Wainwrights working dog ”
Reviewed 6th February 2020
bought two big bags of this just before christmas. my lab like others have said eats everything and he wouldn't touch his dinner. he started on wainwrights puppy and went on to wainwrights young adult and never had an issue until the last two bags. The food smelled like chemicals and our lab had an upset stomach and diarrhoea until we changed him onto something else! took the second bag back as soon as it smelled of chemicals and logged a product complaint with Pets at Home
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“DO NOT FEED !!!!! ”
Reviewed 6th February 2020
I am at my wits end !!! I have fed this food for ages and all the dogs thrived on it. How ever after opening a new bag in December 6 of the 7 dogs fed it were at the vets. 2 dogs were PTS, 3 recovered as soon as I put them onto an alternative food, and the 6th has only just been signed off from the vets. My other dogs which weren't on this food had no issues at all.
When I phoned PAH initially they assured me nothing had been changed with the food.
I asked for the food to be tested for vitamin/mineral content etc - the minimal testing was done not what I asked for.
They asked me to forward all vet reports - this I did 3 weeks ago - heard nothing !! I emailed again - nothing.
Today I phoned AGAIN oh but the person I needed to speak to wasn't yet in the office and would phone me back - NOTHING
I have now issued a complaint but am getting more and more frustrated and wish I could actually speak to others that have had problems. I have been very patient but am now getting more and more distressed.
PLEASE DO NOT USE THIS FOOD !!!! THERE ARE PLENTY OF ALTERNATIVE FOODS TO FEED YOUR DOGS - WHY TAKE THE RISK !!!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
Rushden, Northamptonshire, East Midlands
1 review
“Turkey and Rice ”
Reviewed 3rd February 2020
My Labrador has been on this food since he was a puppy! Wainwright is supposed to be a good brand of food, that’s why it is so expensive and I want him to have the best! Four weeks a go my dog started with really bad diarrhoea, up in the night with him even slept down stairs with him, went vets twice and even had poo samples done as was worried he had picked a virus up that Id heard was going round. It’s cost me £250 in vet bills to find out today thankfully that his results Have come back clear! It only just to a-cured to me that it all started when I’d brought a new bag of food from pets at home, the same we always have! Took it back today and the lady said your the fifth person to bring it back cos their dog has been poorly!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Wainwrights Turkey and Rice”
Reviewed 31st January 2020
Wish I'd read these other reviews before deciding to give my dog a change of kibble. He point blank refused to eat this. He's a black labrador that will eat absolutely anything so that in itself speaks volumes. I notice other comments saying Wainwrights have been bought over by Wagg and perhaps the recipe has changed - certainly not for the better!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Back to Arden Grange.”
Reviewed 6th January 2020
Decided to try this for my Staffy but even though he seems to like the taste it certainly doesn't like him. Terrible smelly wind and very sloppy poops so it's back to the tried and trusted Arden Grange.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
We’re Social! Facebook Facebook Facebook Facebook Connect With Us