Akela WholePrey

Akela WholePrey say:

Affordable vet-approved 80:20 nutrition. Made in Britain.

Akela WholePrey
99% of users rated this business as excellent or very good.
Ranked 1 in Dog Food
Ranking calculated based on average score and the most reviews. Businesses need more than 5 reviews to feature at the top.
593 reviews

Recent review

11th December 2019
“Desmond's choice ”
Our English Cocker Spaniel has been enjoying this food since we first started feeding him on it as a result of the breeders recommendation when we fir…

593 people have reviewed Akela WholePrey


Member ratings

Excellent
570
Very Good
18
Average
3
Poor
2
Terrible
0

Rating summary

Enjoyed by dog
Ingredients
Quality
Value for money
593 reviews (1 page) sorted by
1 review
“Desmond's choice ”
Reviewed 11th December 2019
Our English Cocker Spaniel has been enjoying this food since we first started feeding him on it as a result of the breeders recommendation when we first brought him home two years ago as a puppy. We mix the biscuits with various non-rocessed products so he has a varied diet. Ordering has always been easy and delivery prompt. However, on this latest occasion, the courier company delivered to a wrong address. However, Mandie came to the rescue and promptly refunded the additional expense I incurred in having to pick the order up myself and made sure everything was OK. Great customer service, thank you Mandie.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Akela Original BIG PAWS dry food”
Reviewed 7th November 2019
Have been buying this for over five years, initially for my first Old English Sheepdog and now for my second, a one year old rescue. Adores the food, good solid plops, identifiable ingredients, always top rated and above all, British. Ordering process is superb via the new Wholeprey website and plenty of delivery choices to suit your need and urgency. Freya at Akela has always promptly helped when I’ve had any product queries or delivery questions, superb company, staff and product. Thank you for being there for us.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Best food for my GSD's sensitive digestion”
Reviewed 29th August 2019
We adopted our GSD X lab last year and was on a very cheap brand of food and as a result, his bowel movements were not as they should be. We tried 3 other foods before I was recommended Akela by a friend, I was almost to the point of trying a raw diet... This stuff is magic. I can now pick up poop using only one hand in the bag! It was never firm enough for that previously.
As for the taste, he is half Labrador and therefore eats anything and everything. He is still interested when I use it for treats in walks - I order a bag of Medium paws for this. He is always excited to get his meals.
I was looking for something that had a high meat content and low carb for his sensitive digestion and this fit the bill perfectly. Plenty of protein and has much, much smaller meals than when he was on cheaper food! He is energetic, happy and has a lovely shiny coat, 10/10 would recommend for GSDs, thank you Akela!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Fantastic dog food”
Reviewed 15th August 2019
Our two rescue collie cross-breeds were terribly under-weight and suffered consistently from very runny stools when we got them. We tried quite a few other brands without success until, after some research, we switched to Akela 80:20 Original, which they’ve been on for the last eight months. And what a difference! They are now at a good healthy weight with glossy coats and all the digestion problems have disappeared. Most importantly, the dogs love it.

I’d also like to highlight the fantastic service I’ve had from the company on the couple of times I contacted them with some minor enquiries about delivery. The response was quick and efficient and on the last occasion particularly, the help given was over and beyond what I could have expected.

I’d whole-heartedly recommend Akela - they produce great products backed up by a great team.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Great British dog food!”
Reviewed 13th August 2019
Our 16 week old mini Dachshund pup was being fed what we thought was a 'Premium' brand kibble, I stumbled across a dog food nutrition review website to find that in actual fact, it was far from 'premium' as far as nutrition goes. Akela dry 80:20 food scored over 90% so I quickly contacted their customer services department who very kindly sent me a sample pack, my pup loved it from the start! I ordered some more straight away and it was quickly delivered, she's been on it for nearly 2 weeks now, she now eats all her food in one sitting whereas she only used to pick at it, she is thriving, her coat looks amazing and she seems more content after meals. We are so glad we found Akela Wholeprey, a British company doing a very good job indeed! Thankyou.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“AKELA WET AND DRY FOOD”
Reviewed 7th August 2019
We currently have a 14 week old Havanese puppy and are feeding her a mixture of wet and dry Akela food. She loves it and is always so excited at meal times. The quality of the food is excellent and this is borne out by the health of our little Havanese. Her coat is shining and she is putting on weight at a gradual rate. We are happy she is getting an all-round balance in her diet and intend to carry on with Akela for the rest of her life. We were recommended Akela by our Breeder and we would, in turn, recommend Akela to everyone who wants to give their pet the best pure ingredients in their food.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Fantastic quality dog food”
Reviewed 31st July 2019
I've been feeding my English springer spaniel Akela for the last year and a half he's never looked better his coat is glossy, he loves the taste and everyone comments on how good he looks. Thank you for providing such a great quality food!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
3 reviews
“Top of all Dog Food.”
Reviewed 15th July 2019
I got my Rescue - a small Bichon Frise x Maltese - just before he was 7. He’ll be 11 this year.
He’d been fed on a cheap and nasty tinned dog food with no nutrition whatsoever.
A friend had recommended Akela smlal Paw dried biscuits, but he had quite a few teeth missing when he arrived here os I subsequently plumped for a wet, cooked, tinned food.
Easy to store and a 400 g tin lasts him for five meals of 80g per meal.
He isn’t particularly discerning when it comes to his food - he loves all food, just like his owner - but he positively wolfs this down and I’ve had to buy slow feeder bowls in an effort to stop him eating it so quickly.
He gets so excited at his meal times that he prances around like a ballerina and races me to his feeding mat
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Suitable for all breeds!!”
Reviewed 10th June 2019
My 3 year old Toy Poodle has been fed on Akela dry food since she was 12 weeks old she is a bundle of endless energy so not just for working dogs great for big and small breeds!!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Excellent food, firm favourite ”
Reviewed 7th June 2019
Hugo has been on this food for over 2 years now and is still so excited for EVERY meal! His favourite is the fish feast and It suits his sensitive stomach perfectly. His coat is shiny all year round and he always gets compliments on his condition. We know he is getting the best quality a dry food can offer and are hoping the new addition will love it as much as he does!⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Gave our Puppy a Great Start”
Reviewed 31st May 2019
I switched to Akela when we got our cocker puppy taking time to switch very slowly. He loved the Scottish Salmon so much we used it for treats too. I was confident we were giving him the best possible nutrition in kibble form. He put and weight and thrived. Unfortunately he has since developed pancreatitis and this food is no longer suitable for hi and I am so disappointed. Researching lots of other foods it became obvious that Akela is a superior dog food.He is still struggling but have switched to a low fat diet and I hope this improves his situation. The staff at Wholeprey have been great, they have refunded the cost of my unopened bag which I returned and their communication has been brilliant. Thank you Mandie.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Sorted our Dogs' Digestion Issues”
Reviewed 17th May 2019
We feed Akela Fish Feast along with raw meat to our Bull Lurcher and Staffy, and it is by far the best food we've tried (and we've tried a lot!). The Bull Lurcher had onging digestion problems for the first two years we had him. Previously, the only food that prevented him having the runs was pure raw meat, but this was impracticle a lot of the time (freezer space!) and meant he wasn't getting additional nutients. All dry foods we tried mixing in with the meat immediately caused the runs to return. Akela was recommended to us to try, so although dubious we gave it a go... No issues whatsoever and we are even able to feed pure dry when away on holiday or if we run out of meat. Thank you Akela!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Our 4 enjoy this food”
Reviewed 9th April 2019
Having tried many kibbles, with one or another dog not getting on so well, this works for all 4 of ours. Currently using the Salmon grain free, with 3 out of our 4 dogs eating it as soon as put down. Our older girl takes a while to be interested, so will be trying one of the other many options for her.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Fantastic food”
Reviewed 29th March 2019
Really good food. Darcy has been having it since she came off puppy food and she still loves it. The medium is great to use as training treats too. Fab stuff.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Great dog food”
Reviewed 12th March 2019
Introduced to Akela dog food by breeder of latest dog. He was already on Snall Paws, which we continued. Now over a year old and usually has the Medium Paws, but if it is out of stock, he will take the Large Paws. He is thriving on it, and now have our older dog on it too. Noticed big improvement in his digestive system since the change.
Very easy ordering online from Wholeprey with quick delivery. Delighted.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Elsa Loves it!”
Reviewed 4th March 2019
We started with the dry food small paws when Elsa was a puppy. Tried medium paws it took too much chewing for her delicate jaws! So we are back to small paws mixed with wet food. Elsa absolutely loves the wet food pulling it out of the bowl first. If anything is left it’s a little bit of kibble. Good flavours seemingly - great service and excellent quality. Highly recommended will not nay anything else now.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Dogs love it”
Reviewed 20th February 2019
I changed my dogs complete meal about 12 months ago after being told about it by my vet. My white English bull terrier had red sore looking skin and after changing to Akela her face is so much better. They are not so keen on the salmon flavour for some reason but love the duck. Very happy mum
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed 13th February 2019
Akela Dog food is excellent quality.
The bowls of our two terriers are always left clean after each meal.
Our Dogs are in such excellent condition with coats shiny eyes bright & full of energy.
The service from ordering to delivery is so speedy.
I highly recommend this Food as it is the best I have found & Our dogs love it.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
Maidstone, Kent, South East
1 review
“Top quality”
Reviewed 11th February 2019
I have been transitioning my 13 yr old Bearded Collie and 5 month old wirehaired vizsla onto Akela for the last couple of weeks. The Collie has never been food motivated and has always been difficult to keep at her desired weight. This is the first food in 13 years that she actually asks for. She actually ants to be fed. Her weight is stable so far and she is enjoying being fed for the first time ever. However the pup is having to take things much slower, as the food caused diarrheoa. He is currently eatoig a 50/50 mix of Akela and his previous food. The digestive issues seem to be easing gradually with time and I wont increase the amount of Akela until it is resolved. I am hoping he just needs longer to adjust because of his age. On the plus side he loves the food and we have had to feed him in a slow feeding bowl as he is so keen to eat the Akela he bolts it down.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Lovely Food that my dogs all enjoy”
Reviewed 11th February 2019
About 5 years ago I decided to change my feed to be gluten free and still contain things like salmon oil and joint supplements. I also needed a food that all of my girls liked if possible as one is quite fussy. After trying a few others following indepth research, I came across Akela. This has proved exactly what I needed and my girls thrive on it. I am always being commented on how well the girls look and how shiney their coats are. As a whole a very good service, the only occasional annoying thing I have come across when ordering is that the large kibble is not always available and I have had to order medium to tide me over. I have four dogs on this and now provide a friend who I advised to try their dog on it, so I get through a few bags and need to order 3 each time. The other recent thing I only fell upon whilst discussion what weight of food to give and reviewing the chart on the back of the bag, is that it is not clear that the same feed I give to my older dogs can also be given to puppies. When I search the Wholeprey site for puppy options there was nothing on there that really made it clear that the same food can be given to pups. As such I went elsewhere initially for food for my latest pup, I am still not sure as there is no real info as to whether Akela holds all of the relevant ingredients for a growing pup.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Suffolk Duck kibble Big Paw”
Reviewed 7th February 2019
We were recommended this Akela Suffolk Duck kibble from another owner of a golden doodle after comparing their ways and diet etc and thought we’d give it a try as our 2yr old goldendoodle was not eating his other food like he was he would graze on it . Now you only have to mention the word breakfast or dinner and he’s there waiting for it. I highly recommend Akela Suffolk Duck big paw kibble and hopefully Woody will be loving it for years to come.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Old boy with few Teeth Devours Small Paws”
Reviewed 4th February 2019
I have tried many kibbles, (4 others), to tempt my recent addition. A 12 yr young Lhasa. He has dropped a fair amount of weight. Needed something tempting, nutritious, small bite & affordable. A friend sent me a sample.
Well he loves it, as does my allergy ridden 5 yr old Shih Tzu. Both will happily devour a bowl on its own! After months of lacing kibble with gravy, Chicken, Turkey, this is enjoyed as it is.
They have it dry AM & PM with wet food.
Delighted, will be ordering a regular supply. Super quick Delivery & well packaged.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Itching & Paw Biting Stopped. Now Happy Dogs”
Reviewed 31st January 2019
We have a 2 year old American Bully XL Rescue dog named Odes and a 7 month old English Bulldog Martha. The XL Bully came to us in a very poor condition with red weeping eyes, reddish brown paw and facial stains, sore feet from constant biting at his feet and sores from his constant itching. He was taking antihistamines to give some relief but he was a very sad, depressed dog who just didn't want to play or be touched due to his sore body. We tried various dog foods over 6 months, some he ate quickly others he ate reluctantly and while some foods helped a bit nothing was giving him total relief. Then we tried Akela 80:20 Suffolk Duck Big Paws. He loved the food and within 48 hours he'd stopped itching. 6 months on he is a different dog and has stopped his antihistamines completely. He now loves his walks, absolutely loves being stroked, plays happily with Martha and other dogs AND his Itching Has totally Stopped, Eye Redness has Gone, His Skin has Healed, No More Paw Biting and brown stains have also gone. His overall appearance has changed drastically for the better. He has a shiny coat & his muscle tone is good but the best change is seeing him totally relaxed and happy. When we got our English Bulldog Martha we put her straight onto Akela and she is thriving, people comment on how healthy and active she is for a bulldog ! Akela dog food is Worth Every Penny To See Our Healthy & Happy Dogs !!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Highly recommended ”
Reviewed 26th January 2019
This is the first food that I have found that my 5 year old English Springer Spaniel loves. He was always a fussy eater would never eat 2 meals a day. Quite often I would put food down for him and it was still there when I returned a few hours later. With this he is waiting for me to feed him, the bowl is cleared in minutes and I now have a dog that loves his dinner.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Best Dog food full of natural ingredients”
Reviewed 24th January 2019
I had no problem changing over from the old food as this food is so gentle on her stomach. My dog is 9 years old and the difference in her energy levels increased after a week on Akela. We look after our neighbour's dog and he is 1 year old, he has been on this food since he was 6 months old. I like the fact that it has natural ingredients and no additives. Would thoroughly recommend it.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Big Paw Kibble (original) - excellent product”
Reviewed 18th January 2019
We feed our Siberian Husky predominantly premium kibble with a small amount of cooked chicken. We switched from another premium brand to Akela, mainly because we could not get his gut settled properly on the original brand. On Akela his gut has been much better - more consistent and he likes it better (finishing his bowl more often then not). The big paw size of pellet is also a real plus - we were unable to get this for the other brand. Finally the service has been excellent - ordering from the website is easy, and the communication (re: dispatch and delivery) is also excellent.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Well eaten and lots of variety”
Reviewed 17th January 2019
We feed our boy predominantly kibble but add a small amount of wet food as he isn't keen on dry alone.
We have tried other brands, all premium, some he's liked initially but got bored of some he's persistently refused. We tried Akela since it was possible to buy a mixed 6 can tray and it went down a treat. Now we buy 6 x 6 tray packs as it's possible to choose which flavours make up the selection. There are plenty of varieties to choose from ( Mr fussy dog doesn't like them all) so we just pick the ones he prefers.
All varieties look good with good obvious meat content.
Even better is that at £50 for 36 cans its in comparatively economical in comparison to some brands we'd tried.
Orders have arrived promptly.
All in all very happy.

  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Solved all our problems!”
Reviewed 16th January 2019
Our 16 month working cocker spaniel has lots of food intolerances which made the first 8 months of his life a real challenge for us all as he experienced related behavioural issues that we couldn’t understand. When the vet recommended we had him allergy tested, he come out high intolerancy for all of the carbs including potato, rice and wheat - 40% of the ‘natural’ high quality kibble we were feeding him! An owner of one of his litter mates recommended Akela and it’s made the world of difference! Before we had to bribe him to eat even a little food, now he wolfs down his meals so quickly that half of each portion goes into kong balls etc. We’ve had 6 months on Akela duck now and while he occasionally still has digestive problems (sandwiches foraged in hedgerows and kindly dog walkers offering cheap dog biscuits!), we know that his food is the best thing for him.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Very Happy”
Reviewed 4th January 2019
I was looking for a high quality dry food for my Springer Spaniel who suffers from problems with anal glands and loos pooh and my elderly boxer dog. I was looking for a tasty food that I could use for training to avoid using too many treats. The Akela Suffolk Duck has ticked all the boxes, they both love the food and the medium paws fits into the Treat and Train food dispenser which I use in my training.
The customer service is second to none, I placed an order shortly before Christmas containing a number of items including frozen sprats. I had a call from the company letting me know that I would not receive the order until after Christmas as it contained frozen items and checking that I had enough dry food to last until then. In fact the order was delivered on 24th December and I was kept informed so that I could arrange to be at home-Brilliant! Recommended.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Very happy”
Reviewed 31st December 2018
I have recently changed over to Adela from frozen raw. To be honest this was purely for convenience. I spoke to my vet nurse about this and she recommended Akela. Her dogs thrive on it and it is 80/20 split. I held my breath and took the plunge. I needn’t have worried. My dogs love it, they woof it down. More important their tummies are fine and coats are still shiny. They have healthy poos and more frequent and drink more but I expected this. Very happy dogs so happy all round.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
We’re Social! Facebook Facebook Facebook Facebook Connect With Us