Akela WholePrey

Akela WholePrey say:

Affordable vet-approved 80:20 nutrition. Made in Britain.

Akela WholePrey
99% of users rated this business as excellent or very good.
Ranked 1 in Dog Food
Ranking calculated based on average score and the most reviews. Businesses need more than 5 reviews to feature at the top.
618 reviews

Recent review

24th July 2020
Leysdown-on-Sea, Kent, South East
“Good quality ”
I have brought both wet & dry and am very pleased with both. My labrador loves it! He has a renewed interest in his meals again. Would definitely …

618 people have reviewed Akela WholePrey


Member ratings

Excellent
595
Very Good
18
Average
3
Poor
2
Terrible
0

Rating summary

Enjoyed by dog
Ingredients
Quality
Value for money
618 reviews (1 page) sorted by
1 review
“Wolfed it down!”
Reviewed 29th November 2015
I sent for a sample of akela. As soon as it was in the bowl my whippet x wolfed it down. He's never done that with a dry food in his 9yrs!! Now to purchase a full size bag
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“I found Akela on the 'All about dog food website'”
Reviewed 29th November 2015
You think you have been doing the best for your beloved pets and then you find out you have been feeding them expensive rubbish for years. I'm so happy I found Akela. My extremely parky dog eats it without complaint and my greedy dog loves it. Yes we had 2-3 days of loose poos while they adjusted to the change but this has happened every time I have changed their diet, it is normal so don't worry if this happens to your pooch. My greedy dog used to constantly be nibbling at his paws and frequently had dandruff, these issues are no more. Great product accompanied with good customer service. I highly recommend that you give it a go. P.S. I mix the fish feast and the original together, the smell is wonderful.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Love this dog food!”
Reviewed 29th November 2015
My dogs absolutely love Akela, I moved them onto this after researching into how brilliant the quality of ingredients is. My cocker spaniel seemed to have a bad stomach from the last brand of food so moved her onto this and she has no problems any more. Love it, I won't be buying any other brand from now on.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Great stuff!”
Reviewed 29th November 2015
I love the idea of this food and the sample packet indicated my 2 jack Russell's did too. Now on 2nd large bag,love how it opens and closes to keep fresh. Small paws is perfect for their jaws,all food is gone and at ages 11 and 12 and on this they show no signs of slowing down!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“If carlsberg made dog food”
Reviewed 29th November 2015
I have been feeding Akela to our 5 month old German sheperd for the last 6 weeks and he just can't get enough. When he was on his old brand of food, he wasn't too bothered if he ate it all or not, slowly walking through to where he eats when his food is put in his bowl. Now though, he sit's and wait's by the the cupboard where his food is kept, I then make him wait until I say he can have it and if it is not quick enough he will bark at me telling me to get a move on. Also I have had to purchase a anti-gulp feeding bowl to slow him down a little, yet they say that german sheperd's are fussy eater's.
I also give him a varied selection of the treats that Akela produce and he is same with them, cant get enough and will hold his attention for a long period of time to get the treat which is excellent for training purposes.
I would thoroughly recommend AKELA dog food and treats to any dog owner,not just because my gsd seems to really enjoy it, but also because the ingredients are all good and the delivery service is spot on.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Top notch food”
Reviewed 29th November 2015
This is a fantastic all round kibble providing your dog with a balanced nutritious meal.
I'm a firm believer in you get what you pay for, but still considering the quality I feel you get great value for money.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Love this food”
Reviewed 29th November 2015
My dogs have been doing great since changing to akela they enjoy the flavours and I wouldn't use any other fog food now. Looking forward to ordering duck next.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Excellent Product, Excellent Service!”
Reviewed 29th November 2015
I switched to Akela after a lot of research and I am so glad I did! My Cockerpoo loves her food now and has a lovely shiny soft coat. She is healthy, fit and happy. It takes less food to satisfy her and her poo is firm. I like the ordering system and customer service is very helpful. I recommend Akela to everyone who wants the best for their furry family member!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Stunning food”
Reviewed 29th November 2015
Bought this after finding amazing reviews online. Absolutely love the product. The food even feels and smells much more natural than the well known brands. I've ordered a 10kg bag of the new Duck based food. Looking forward to them trying it. My two dogs have been eating it since they were puppies and have grown heathy and strong.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Wow...what a difference!!”
Reviewed 29th November 2015
We hadn't owned a dog for a number of years, so when the time was right we wanted to make sure we did everything we could to ensure a happy, healthy dog. When we picked our puppy up from the breeder she told us the food that he had been weaned onto. Let's just say it was a cheap one! We immediately researched and found some great reviews for Akela WholePrey. To cut a long story short, our dog is extremely happy and healthy. This is an excellent food.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Very tasty”
Reviewed 29th November 2015
I changed my cockapoo over to Akela 80:20 when he was 4 months old. Prior to the switch he had been on a different dry food that needed soaked but did get reasonable reviews. However my pup often left his food and his poops were semi formed. After switching over to Akela, he never ever leaves a biscuit. So much so that when it arrived he ate through the bag and helped himself to a rather large helping because he could smell it. I use it as treats for tricks and obedience and he never gets bored of it. His poops are now formed which is much more pleasant. He is satisfied. Had an excellent 6 month vet check. He concentrates, settles, has normal puppy energy. I researched on a dog food website and bought it of the back of the expert reviews regarding it's quality ingredients, no fillers, nothing artificial. It breaks my heart to see the contents of some of the supermarket highly advertised brands which have little poor nutritional value for loved doggies. But Akela 80:20 fills me with confidence that I am giving the best for my pup and I won't need to switch when he's fully grown. The price for the quality of product is exceptional in comparison to other brands if similar ingredients and quality.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“A happy Rottie, (with no runny botty!)”
Reviewed 29th November 2015
I have a Rottie pup now 5 months old (27/11/15) that is very sensitive to almost all dry food! Everything and I mean everything went straight through him, I got him on Orijen which gave him a boost, and settled him but was far too expensive, after a lot of research I found Akela, he's happy, his tum is happy, gorgeous soft coat, I'm on my 3rd bag now and can highly recommend this food... Weighing his food isn't a problem, as too much is easily given
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Nevis loves it”
Reviewed 29th November 2015
Our 8mth GSD has been a good eater until a wee while ago & went off his food. i've always fed BETA to my dogs but he has been very soft & bulky in his stools & the amounts they wanted us to feed him you'd think we were feeding an elephant. His breeder suggested AKELA & you could eat it yourself there is no crap,fillers or cereals just wholesome great quality ingredients meat fish vegetables herbs. He now needs less on AKELA because it is such high quality he is loving it clearing his bowl & looking at you as if for more but he doesnt need more which is the bonus. His stools are firmer & because his body is using the better ingredients to their full he is also not expelling as much (sorry but it is important) try it you wont be disappointed we are thrilled at how he has come on since eating it shiny coat filling out nicely but still keeping hourglass shape. Telling all my dog friends about it .....very happy pup & owners.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Fantastic food & customer service. ”
Reviewed 29th November 2015
After having weight issues with a 6 week old pup and trying to find a good quality food at a good price I was recommended Akela by lots of people on a social media site, I had a stockist near by so went straight out & purchased 10kg original small paws, well not only did the puppy get on great with it, no issues in switching and it firmed up his poops & only had 2 poops aday unlike other products it was constant, I've now converted all six of my adult dogs onto it, Love the product it's great for my dog and is all natural and good quality ingredients. Thanks Akela and thanks to the team who supply with great service, Easy to order on the website and quick delivery.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“My dog, and my friends dog love this food!!”
Reviewed 29th November 2015
We both have dogs that were getting very fussy with their food so we moved to 'Akela' after reading the reviews, and wow, they love it. They never turn away from their food now, they are very happy dogs.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“My fussy cockapoo loves her food now”
Reviewed 29th November 2015
My dog groomer recommended Akela dried dog food for my fussy cockapoo and she loves it, so would highly recommend for fussy eaters looking for dog food with a decent taste!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Frank”
Reviewed 29th November 2015
Was advised Akela would be a good new food to get out border collie puppie onto after his first food. He absolutely loves it, and looks healthy for it.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Happy Healthy pup”
Reviewed 28th November 2015
I ordered a sample pack for my Cocker Spaniel pup to try. He loved it so much I ordered a 10kg bag which was delivered promptly. He's a happy healthy dog and I'll definitely be ordering more. :-)
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“My French Bulldog Luna can't get enough of it!”
Reviewed 28th November 2015
We'd had some problems with our frenchie and food allergies - itchy paws and red skin - coming from eating chicken and red meat. We tried several fish based foods (with varying degrees of success) before finding that she absolutely LOVES Akela's Fish Feast. It was great being able to get some samples first to make sure she would like it without having to commit to a big bag. Now she has no allergy symptoms at all...and she loves the food so much she does all the pre-dinner tricks we've taught her without being asked just so she can get fed that much more quickly! Her coat is in top-notch condition now, and picking up after her is much easier. As a healthy, tasty dog food at a very reasonable price, I can't recommend it highly enough.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Akela”
Reviewed 28th November 2015
I changed my pup to this about 4 months ago and I wish I had done it sooner, I always get comments on how well he looks and how shiney his coat looks. I will never change his food again.
He enjoys this food and always knows when it's dinner time.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Brilliant product, great customer service”
Reviewed 28th November 2015
Tried this for my puppy after other brands did not digest well with him. He adores the taste, as soon as I put it down he is straight there, he enjoys it so much we have had to get a slow feeder bowl which turns a 30 second meal into a 15 minute meal. His poo's are now firm and we have had no trouble since switching to Akela. The value is amazing too, for a similar price that we were paying before we have, what we believe to be a far superior food, and we have to feed a smaller amount too for each meal. Customer service is fantastic, always happy to answer emails and delivery is fast via a courier so no more carrying big bags home from the supermarket, and if you order 2 bags the postage is free which makes even better value, order 3 bags and you get next day delivery if you place your order before 12.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“At last a food that fits ”
Reviewed 28th November 2015
After going through endless food brands to try and find something that my wolfdog pup could tolerate I was over the moon to find Akela and a team that seemed to know what they were talking about. We are now switching over our other 15 dogs dogs onto it which is causing a great success.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Akela original 80/20”
Reviewed 28th November 2015
Having wasted 3 or more top brands of dog food on a young dog and even consulting a vet thinking something was wrong with my dog we stumbled upon Akela at a country show,our little dog took some food of the man on the stall with no hesitation and boy did she scoff the lot unbelievable,needless to say we have learned it's not about flashy branding and top end costs and by the way she looks great on it
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
Hessle, East Riding of Yorkshire, Yorkshire and the Humber
1 review
“Akela original 80:20 for my Boston Terrier”
Reviewed 28th November 2015
When my Boston Terrier pup was 6 months old I was looking an adult food to move him onto from his puppy food. I was looking for the best quality food I could get with value for money. There's a lot of high quality foods out there but they tend to be expensive.

I did a lot of research on the internet and discovered Akela. Already had some good reviews so I gave it a go. My Boston loved it from the first meal, wolfed it down. The ingredients are great, and it is priced cheaper than other 'premium' brands. I've referred it to friends and training experts who have all been impressed.

Ordering is quick and easy online and delivery is prompt. Highly recommended.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Akela dog food converts!”
Reviewed 28th November 2015
For a pup that turned his nose to dry dog food, my pup has really proven how much he likes Akela! I did loads of research before settling for Akela. The other dog foods I'd tried would either upset my dog's tummy or would just be left at the bottom of the bowl. After stumbling upon their website and ordering my first batch, I wished I had found them earlier. I feed smaller portions and my pups coat looks and feels great! Not to mention the easy delivery system! I recommend Akela to every dog owner who asks what I feed my pup!

All I can say is I am one happy puppy mom! Thanks guys! :)
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“The best dog food you can buy!”
Reviewed 27th November 2015
Been using this food for my two Cocker Spaniels (12 and 3) and Cockapoo (7 Months) for a few months now and they all still love it and it's empty bowls all round everyday, the previous food they had they would often leave half a bowl. They are all very healthy for it. A number of others I meet to walk dogs in the park have also switched to this food, various breeds and all are now regular purchasers, and have seen benefits from the food quality. Never had any issues with delivery or anything else and can not see myself ever changing, other than to try their other flavours they have recently brought out.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Excellent Food and Service :-)”
Reviewed 26th November 2015
Ordered 1.5kg bag of food to try for my Chug and she loves it. Definitely will be ordering more :-)
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“my dog loves this”
Reviewed 25th November 2015
my loves the dog 80% fresh fish 20% potato dog treats and the price is good value to for proper food
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Amazing food!”
Reviewed 25th November 2015
Just about to finish our first bag of Akela. We have 3 working Cocker Spaniels, Mum and 2 daughters. Mum is just recovering from 41 Hornet stings so needed great nutrition to aid Her recovery, also the 2 pups about to start out picking up. Amazing food they enjoy every mouthful.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Great food, great value!”
Reviewed 24th November 2015
I highly recommend Akela, a high quality food at a great price. I'm very pleased I found it and so is my dog!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
We’re Social! Facebook Facebook Facebook Facebook Connect With Us