Akela WholePrey

Akela WholePrey say:

Affordable vet-approved 80:20 nutrition. Made in Britain.

Akela WholePrey
99% of users rated this business as excellent or very good.
Ranked 1 in Dog Food
Ranking calculated based on average score and the most reviews. Businesses need more than 5 reviews to feature at the top.
615 reviews

Recent review

6th July 2020
“Top quality food”
I buy dry food for my Cavachon but tins of wet to go with the dried for my daughter's (most handsome) long-haired Weimaraner . Delivery has been an e…

615 people have reviewed Akela WholePrey


Member ratings

Excellent
592
Very Good
18
Average
3
Poor
2
Terrible
0

Rating summary

Enjoyed by dog
Ingredients
Quality
Value for money
615 reviews (1 page) sorted by
Bodelwyddan, Denbighshire, Wales
2 reviews
“4 border collies love akela ”
Reviewed 23rd November 2015
Our 4 border collies absolutely love this food from 4 month old
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Excellent Dog Food”
Reviewed 23rd November 2015
I have rescue dogs and they absolutely LOVE Akela! I tried a sample which I feel is a great idea before buying a larger bag of food and ending up wasting it, this way you can find out before you commit.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Excellent food, happy I found Akela.”
Reviewed 22nd November 2015
My 3 dogs love this food and are doing really well on it, from my 2 senior huskies to my active 2 year old Leonberger. Akela has everything I am looking for in a food. Fairly priced for the quality also so its a win win.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Our spaniel loves it”
Reviewed 21st November 2015
Used Akela for over 6 months now and our cocker spaniel loves it. Don't have to feed her as much because of the good ingredients therefore lasts longer than most bigger bags or less quality.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Amazing dog food”
Reviewed 20th November 2015
My two dogs 5 and 23 weeks absolutely love this food. They eat it in seconds. There coats are shinny and glossy and I get asked all the time what food I feed them on. Brilliant,fabulous...... Couldn't be happier xx
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Love Akela!!”
Reviewed 20th November 2015
My 11 month old American Akita Ghost just loves Akela! Wouldn't buy another brand again the quality of the food is amazing A* so glad we found their products.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Good Quality Dog Food”
Reviewed 20th November 2015
My Dog is now on the 2nd bag of Akela and really likes it, he also has a raw diet......He was on Royal Canin as recommended by my vet but I decided to do some research and have found Akela to be so much better quality and without the grain that Royal Canin has in it........Wish it was a little cheaper as I have it sent to the Channel Islands but so far so good.......
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
3 reviews
“Simply the very best.”
Reviewed 19th November 2015
Small paws for my recently-acquired small dog is just perfect.
Not only does he love it, but there isn't even the slightest of hint of grain in it and I love the price.
He will also work for this food and it's so easy to 'hide' to encourage his natural instincts.
It's a great size for him and being crunchy is so much better for his teeth.
Our professional dog trainer who came to assess him for the first time today, was so impressed that he, too, has taken details of the Akela website.
Akela Whole Prey was recommended to us by a friend, whose own dog had no appetite for dog food whatsoever. I can't thank her enough.
Happy 1st Birthday to Akela. A fantastic, highly-nutritious product at a very reasonable price. Thank you!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Brilliant food for a fantastic price. 5*”
Reviewed 19th November 2015
When I first got my Sprocker Spaniel, I tried countless different foods as he suffered some itchy skin and soft poos. I discovered Akela through a work friend, and haven't looked back since. He's like a completely different dog now, beautiful sleek shiny coat, and his poos are greatly improved, and he absolutely loves it! I feed the fish feast version. I work at a veterinary practise, and recommend Aleka to anyone that stands still long enough, it's such a brilliant product!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Extraordinary good dog food.”
Reviewed 17th November 2015
We all want what's best for our dogs, especially feeding them the best food that we can afford! Having done some research I came across Akela Whole Prey. To put it bluntly this is the best dog food in this price range. The ingredients speak for themselves and are all actively supporting your dogs health in some way. I have a English Bulldog X and a Shit Zhu and have to say they both thrive on this dog food! After a week there attitude and behaviour systematically changed for the better! They became more alert, more assertive and more enigised. I have now been feeding them Akela for over 8 months and body wise they both are in prime condition. With the extra protein in their diet their muscle definition is superb and on practically every walk I go on I am stopped by someone admiring their form. Their eyes are alive and full of life and their fur is soft enough lay a baby on. I can not recommend this dog food enough and to top it all the customer service is second to none. Every inquiry or comment I have left has been answered in full and in the kindest and quickest possible manner, 5* all the way!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Much happier dog”
Reviewed 17th November 2015
Bruno was rescued a couple of years ago and he was very underweight with bad skin and quite a lot of fur missing where he chewed his legs and constantly scratched. We tried him on a 12 quid a bag food and his weight increased, but his skin didn't improve... until we tried Akela. There has been no other change in his life apart from his food and the change over the past 6 months has been phenomenal. Wet schnezz, glossy coat, brighter eyes, more energy, appears more content, a full coat and no scratching. Every dog deserves a quality product like Akela. It really is the dog's..............
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Healthy longdog”
Reviewed 17th November 2015
My lurcher and yorkie cross have been on this for about 7/8 months now and they are thriving on it. Beautiful coat and lots of good energy. Easy to keep them at a stable weight. Fantastic price and quality ingredients. Empty bowls all round.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“The best by far”
Reviewed 17th November 2015
I'm so glad I discovered this food. After spending some time researching different foods to combat issues with anal glands and itchy feet, I came across Akela Wholeprey. Our dog Oreo loves this food and the different varieties stop him from getting bored. His anal glads only have to be emptied half the amount they did previously and there is a notable difference in his coat - which is softer and shinier than ever before - and no more itchy feet. I've recommended this food to lots of friends and relatives. I know if no other food of this quality for this price - most other high quality foods are double the price. Excellent - 100% will never buy anything else again.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
Hastings, East Sussex, South East
1 review
“Happy Healthy Labrador”
Reviewed 16th November 2015
We did a lot of research on dog food and tried out several. Most of them did not live up to the hype or the price. Once we tried Akela, we knew we found the one. Our Labrador has been on it for over 8 months now and his coat is so soft and shiny. He's very healthy and happy. Because it isn't made with lots of fillers, our lab has grown to be a beautiful well behaved 11 month old. Ordering is easy and they give you lots of options on delivery with different carriers so you can choose when your food arrives. We won't ever use anything else.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
3 reviews
“Excellent dog food”
Reviewed 16th November 2015
The best dry food I ever find, only comparable to a very expensive one but Akela cost half the price and is made in the Uk! What more what can anyone ask?
My dog dribbles when she is waiting for her food, never did that with any other food. But not only that, her coat is soft and shiny, no more dandruff problems. I have already recommend Akela to all my friends and family and they are very happy as well.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Fussy dog eating again!”
Reviewed 16th November 2015
My dog (1.5 year old British Utonagan) has always been a little picky about food despite being consistently being fed a good brand, but after a period of sickness completely went off all food. I tried several different brands, even mixing in wet foods, but just could not get him to eat enough to put weight back on. I tried a small bag of this food (original flavour), and he actually ate a good sized portion with no complaints! I have gradually built up his portions until he is eating the guideline amount for his weight, which due to the excellent quality ingredients and no rubbish fillers is a smaller volume than many brands. Making it much easier for my never-hungry dog to get in the right amount of nutrition.
He likes both flavours currently available, Original & Fish Feast, and we can't wait to give the new Suffolk Duck a try!
His skin, coat, eyes, and ears are in great condition. He always gets people saying how lovely and soft his fur is since being on this food. The waste is also small and more pleasant to pick up.
I completely recommend this food for all puppies and dogs. So much so that I have requested we start stocking it in the independent pet shop I work in!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Great for my fussy german shepherd”
Reviewed 16th November 2015
I have a 7 month old german shepherd who we tried with a few other foods but everything else gave him an upset stomach. Akela is the only food that doesn't do this and he absolutely loves it! He's thriving on it. I had to buy him a slow feeder bowl otherwise it's gone within a few seconds!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Very happy dogs!!”
Reviewed 16th November 2015
I've been feeding my dogs Akela for about 6 months now and they both look gloriously shiny and healthy. I really feel that this food has made a huge difference to my dogs, especially my addopted greyhound Fern. She used to have terrible dandruff and bald thighs but not anymore!! She gets really positive comments about her condition and coat almost every time we go to the park. She is sooooo shiny and her muscle definition is awesome!! My 13 yr old staffy Betty looks amazing too!! She has so much more energy now (but is not hyper) and she runs about at the park like a puppy again! You can really see how healthy they are and it is all because of Akela!!! Their range of natural healthy treats are excellent also!! My dogs just love them!! (Especially the Whitefish Jerky Allsorts!). I have been recommending Akela to every dog owner I know!! 10/10 Akela!!! You guys are awesome!! :)
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“She love's it”
Reviewed 16th November 2015
I have a 4 year old Alaskan Malamute who is quite a fussy eater and over the last 4 years I have tried various foods for her. Some she has virtually turned up her nose at, others she will eat for a week or so and then looks at me with disdain as if to say "that again". However, I have now been feeding her Akela for 3 months and she is still in love with it :) She knows where I keep the bag and will come and nudge me and go to the bag for me to feed her. She has always been a grazer and does not "wolf" her food down so there is often some left in the bowl - this means that my 2 cats also get to eat some and they love it too :) It's great quality food and excellent service - trying to get my local pet shop to stock it as it will make it even easier to get.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Best food I've found!”
Reviewed 15th November 2015
My two dogs (lurcher x collie and whippet) love this food. They look so healthy and their coats gleam, they're lean without being skinny and are generally in great health! The food provides excellent value for money and I love that I've been able to give it to them from being puppies, saving the hassle of changing from a puppy food to a junior food and then onto an adult food. Keep up the great work Akela, I'd thoroughly recommend!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“rescued at last.”
Reviewed 15th November 2015
We got a springer rescue dog 8 months ago. He was underweight and his ears , legs and tail were very matted. His coat didn't have any shine to it. We researched which dog food would be the best in a price range we could afford just to give us a head start on his recovery. The All about dog food website was excellent and we soon read about Akela dog food. We ordered a sample and he loved it. We now regularly order 3 x 10kg bags at a time. I'm so glad we did this company have chosen top grade ingredients and provide a top grade service to go with it. I also love the fact they are a British company. My dogs loves his food his coat is so healthy and shiny and I know he is getting the very best nutrients for good health as well. All I can say is we did the best thing for our dog buying Akela dog food. I have recommended it to my mum and she now has her king charles cavalier on it too.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Fussy eaters”
Reviewed 14th November 2015
With 2 fussy eaters, I have now found a winning food for them, coats are shiny, eyes gleaming and they not only eat it but go mad for it at meal times.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Super fussy pup eats nothing else”
Reviewed 14th November 2015
Since gettng our Yorkshire Terrier just over a year ago we have been pulling our hair out trying to find a food that the fussy thing would just eat!! He was not gaining any weight and was looking extremely scrawny. We were handed a free sample sachet at a local dog event and he wolfed the lot down so I took the plunge and ordered a bag. Not a day has gone by since when he has turned his nose up at dinner time. Always an empty bowl and a happy little dog who has steadily gained the right ammount of weight so he looks healthy and is full of life. I noow buy 10kg bags as I know he wwill eat the lot. So happy I found Akela. I recommend this food to everyone who will stop and listen!!!!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Akela Fish Feast - a Great Dog Food”
Reviewed 13th November 2015
Before getting our Dachshund puppy I researched what to feed him quite extensively. I came across Akela which was described as an affordable and high quality dog food. I agree wholeheartedly with this. As soon as our puppy came home (at 9 weeks) we fed him Fish Feast 'small paws' and have never looked back - he is now 18 weeks old. He absolutely loves his food and we have never had any problems with fussy eating - he looks forward to every meal time!! He looks incredibly healthy - has a lovely shiny coat which everyone comments on and is just generally a very happy little chat. I truly believe that the quality of the dog food shows in the dog. I will never stop buying Akela dog food for our pampered pooch!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
Lyng, Norfolk, East
1 review
“Ideal for growing puppies plus fantastic treats”
Reviewed 13th November 2015
I've recently changed to Akela mainly because of the fantastic reviews I'd read, and the fact they are reasonably local to me. It's great that their range is simple, with 3 flavours to choose from, and each is available in varying kibble size so suitable for every size dog. I'm particularly pleased with the White Fish Jerky Cubes as these really keep my dog's attention when training and on walks (my puppy was well trained with the 'come' recall before reaching 5 months old) and I know these treats are not doing her any harm. The large 1kg bags are great value and last ages, and I can cut/snap the cubes into smaller pieces with a knife and chopping board. I also love the fact they offer 100g sample bags of kibble food in all flavours at just 50p with free delivery - great to try before committing to the larger bags.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
Brislington, Bristol, South West
1 review
“Brilliant British top dog food”
Reviewed 12th November 2015
I would highly recommend this food. I have a Cavalier puppy and was having trouble finding a food that agreed with him. The service at the company is excellent and were very helpful in their advice and always willing to answer questions. The food they sell is suitable for puppy and adult dogs and is extremely high quality, no fillers or cheap ingredients. I originally found the company as it has a 5/5 rating on Dog Food Advisor. The price is comparable to many other dog foods and is not overpriced. You need less of the food as the ingredients are of a higher quality so make sure you check the weight / size of your dog with the guide on the back or on their website. I believe that the overall health of the dog will benefit in the long run probably saving you on vets bills! Cavaliers can tend to have a wetness / discharge around the eye and this has virtually disappeared since using this food. His coat is also lovely and glossy, and what comes out the 'other' end has improved no end. The company is a British company and I also feel it is good to support these smaller companies in the UK. I would highly recommend this food and the company even provide sample bags to try before you purchase a larger amount, so nothing to lose in testing you dog likes it first. Keep up the good work Akela
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Well Fed Westies”
Reviewed 11th November 2015
Discovered Akela on DogFoodAdvisor and tried it as it had a 5/5 rating. Both my westie pups adore this food especially the Fish variety. They've gained weight steadily and have fantastic coats. Will continue to use Akela as their main food source.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed 10th November 2015
My two chihuahua's love it, silky coats and always hungry for more, would highly recommend. Changed their food because wanted something with better ingredients. Great dog food and not too expensive either
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
Longton, Staffordshire, West Midlands
1 review
“Fussy husky”
Reviewed 10th November 2015
My husky has always been a grazer from a pup and has always struggled to put weight on. Since introducing her to Akela I have to hide the bag. She loves it! No more grazing and having to throw the left overs away and worry she is not eating enough. She's tried both fish and meat flavours, looking forward to getting a sample of duck.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Top stuff”
Reviewed 10th November 2015
Our Cocker Spaniel pup has loved this from the start of his time with us and he has developed into a stunning boy with a glossy coat and strong body. A brilliant food with no waste.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
We’re Social! Facebook Facebook Facebook Facebook Connect With Us