Akela WholePrey

Akela WholePrey say:

Affordable vet-approved 80:20 nutrition. Made in Britain.

Akela WholePrey
99% of users rated this business as excellent or very good.
Ranked 1 in Dog Food
Ranking calculated based on average score and the most reviews. Businesses need more than 5 reviews to feature at the top.
582 reviews

Recent review

17th May 2019
“Sorted our Dogs' Digestion Issues”
We feed Akela Fish Feast along with raw meat to our Bull Lurcher and Staffy, and it is by far the best food we've tried (and we've tried a lot!). The …

582 people have reviewed Akela WholePrey


Member ratings

Excellent
559
Very Good
18
Average
3
Poor
2
Terrible
0

Rating summary

Enjoyed by dog
Ingredients
Quality
Value for money
582 reviews (1 page) sorted by
1 review
“Excellent food at reasonable price”
Reviewed 27th May 2015
When my 10 months old JR cross started going off her premium puppy food, the search was on for its adult replacement (food, not the puppy!). After trialling a couple of 80:20 formulas with little success, it was Akela's turn (thoughtfully, WholePrey allows you to try their product for free before committing to a larger bag). Since she started on it, the puppy -now 12 months old - looks forward to her meals once again. Made in Britain using excellent ingredients and, from the dog's point of view, highly nutritious and very tasty. The re-sealable pack is very convenient too.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Very Happy dogs!!”
Reviewed 27th May 2015
Both my 12 yr old Staffy and 3yr old greyhound absolutely love Akela! It is so good to find a complete food that suits both of their different needs. In a matter of weeks, both of their coats have become really sleek and shiny, their teeth are cleaner and they are just happier healthier dogs! My Staffy has so much more energy! She is brighter and happier and she bounds around the park like a puppy again! My adopted grey's flakey skin has completely gone and she seems calmer and more at home now. They look forward to meal times, they love the taste and always clear the bowl! (They are both usually pretty picky with their food). The best part is I know I am doing the best for them, the results are clear to see! Customer service is excellent too! Thank you Akela for being awesome!
PS: Can't wait for the cat food launch!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
Throckley, Tyne and Wear, North East
1 review
“Akela 80/20”
Reviewed 27th May 2015
Our 12 year old re-homed husky has a very sensitive tummy everything we tried didn;t seem to stay in very long ! so we got a free sample of Akela grain free WoW amazing Akela seems to keep him happy he loves it
looking forward to trying the new fish feast when it becomes available

Annie
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Akela 80/20”
Reviewed 27th May 2015
My two beagles love it!
Beags number one was fed on a well known kibble, slightly tubby, but healthy. On my FB beagle page 'allabout dogfood.co.uk 'was being discussed. Curiosity...3.5 /5 was my old dog food rating. Knew I could better. Found Akela, 5/5, ££ very good, thought I'd order a sample. Never looked back, now on my second 10kg.
Beags number two arrived six wks ago, she loves it.
Both my girls have shiny coats, lost weight, less poos!! And lick their lips.
Yes, I recommend Akela dog food, knowing I am feeding high quality food to my girls is pleasing. Thank you.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“The best dog food my jack has had”
Reviewed 27th May 2015
My German shepherd jack has had skin problems in the past including hot spots and dry flaky skin which itches, but since swapping to Akela all his skin problems are gone and he is a much happier dog. I had tried all the other dog foods but only this one has done the trick. My jack loves this food and always leaves a clean bowl. I can not recommend this food more highly.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“dog delicious”
Reviewed 27th May 2015
as with all foods dogs need to adjust,i have 2 active Shissons they seem very happy with Akela wholeprey they leave the old brand and eat the new.it seems to me they are very happy.i was looking for ingredients best for there health and vitality we will be using again,....... joby and misty can not wait until the new brand comes out .happy days.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Best of both worlds”
Reviewed 27th May 2015
Akela is the best kibble nutnutritionally and at an affordable price its simply the best of both worlds
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Akela dog food”
Reviewed 27th May 2015
Feeding your dogs the best food is a minefield both with quality ingredients and cost. The first and main ingredient for all dogs must be meat not fillers , after lots of research I found Akela . 80/20 composition ( 80% meat 20 veg) My dogs love it and knowing I'm feeding them good quality food with no rubbish in reassures me that I'm giving them the best I can afford.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“2 HAPPY LABS”
Reviewed 27th May 2015
They love this food and don't eat anything else with such enthusiasm, apart from their monthly steak !!!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Vet recommended”
Reviewed 27th May 2015
This is the first decent food that Amber has ever eaten, she's been stuck on Bakers so it is such a relief to get her on to something that's good and nutritious. My vet has highly recommended it too. Thank you....
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Quality Ingredients”
Reviewed 27th May 2015
I love Akela because of the quality ingredients, it's grain free, and a fantastic price for what it is! :)
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
Cheltenham, Gloucestershire, South West
1 review
“Excellent!!”
Reviewed 27th May 2015
Excellent value for money and good quality ingredients from a small local business. My shar pei loves this food and can't wait for his next meal time. Best food he's had and will be sticking with it
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“My dog loves it”
Reviewed 27th May 2015
Tried the regular flavour and I love it that my dog loves it. It is great to find a nutritious food that is loved as much as treats!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Akela Small Paws”
Reviewed 26th May 2015
I have 2 bichons that can be very fussy when it comes to food. In the past (with other 'premium' kibbles) I had to mix meat with every meal to make them eat, without meat they would spit out the kibble and not eat their food. So I tried them with this new food, Akela, and I can honestly say they have never enjoyed their food so much. It takes less than 30 seconds for them to wolf it down followed by a few minutes of licking the bowl looking for more. They love it! They also love it when given as a treat or reward. The small paws kibble is perfect for their small teeth and the price is great compared with other premium foods. I'm really glad I gave it a chance, I definitely won't be changing this food any time soon.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Fussy Bedlington finally eats! ”
Reviewed 22nd May 2015
Previous food was hills science plan, and one portion could last 3 days. (Notoriously fussy dogs that eat like super models). So glad I found this food, and know she is not eating any low quality nasties. She now ears 2 small portions a day, and never leaves a crumb! We ❤️it!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Finally a food that is scoffed!!”
Reviewed 22nd May 2015
Up until this point the many dog foods I have tried just get left in my dogs bowls all day. Many dog foods which have been recommended are just too expensive so when I found Akela I was a little apprehensive - good quality food and a decent price?? Surely not! Boy was I proved wrong. I ordered the sample and it didn't even last 1 minute. My dogs have never eaten that quickly. I have quickly moved into buying the large bags. My dogs have never looked better. They are loosing weight and look healthy despite eating every scrap of food I put down within minutes. Love it and won't ever change again.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Fantastic Food”
Reviewed 21st May 2015
This is the best dog food out there at such a reasonable price for such quality. My GSD is only a year old and spent time back and fro at the vets for loose motions and other related issues but after just two weeks on this food we have turned the corner. My dog used to pick at her food but now she loves her mealtimes. Thanks to WholePrey for producing a fantastic 5* food. My cats look forward to the day they get the same treatment.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Excellent dog food, my old boy loves it!”
Reviewed 21st May 2015
Wish I had found this dog food sooner. My 14 year old boy Roo loves it & actually gets excited at meal times now.
After trying probably most of the top brands of dog food in the country I am delighted to have now discovered Akela.
Roo's coat is shiny & he seems to have less wind. He also seems to have more energy than before I changed his food.
I can definitely recommend Akela
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Great value and does what it is supposed to”
Reviewed 20th May 2015
I now have 4 dogs on Akela - the youngest being 22 weeks. I wanted a very good quality food at a reasonable price and this is just the ticket. The dogs love it. Having 4 dogs other so called top brands were expensive so finding Akela was a godsend.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Yummy”
Reviewed 20th May 2015
My mum say's Akela is amazing value for money. 80/20 at it's best. I love it (I just wish she would feed me more of it!).
My coat is beautiful and gleaming (as commented on by the nice vet man I go to see). The ingredients are wonderful and really good for me so I mum knows I am being fed the best. Get your owners to buy it........you won't regret it and neither will they.
Alfie the Sprollie from Cornwall
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Great food at a great price ”
Reviewed 19th May 2015
I was looking for a cheaper alternative to a well known 80/20 food and found Akela. It was enjoyed even more than the original brand I used and the price can't be beaten. My dog is healthy and lean, his coat is gleaming with health and I even notice a difference in his waste. There is much less of it and it is ways solid. Wish I'd found it sooner!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“just the job”
Reviewed 19th May 2015
I moved 2 my bull terriers to thi food and they love it.
They have lovely shiny coats and nearly fall over each other to get to their
Dinner.
The customer service is good. If only my ddb would eat it but she won't touch dry at all.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
5 reviews
“Dogs love it!”
Reviewed 19th May 2015
My dogs love this biscuit, they were not in bad condition anyway but they are still doing great on this food. Just wish they would hurry up with a new flavour, but apparently there is one on the way.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 3rd May 2015
I've just switched my 13 year old collie to Akela and he seems to love it, no problems switching him as we did it the recommended way. He doesn't seem as hungry with this food as he did with his previous food.

Will certainly be buying this again.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Akela whole prey 80/20 food”
Reviewed 3rd May 2015
We were searching for whole prey dog food but car across Akela on a review site. After receiving the sample produc t ofAkela we tried our 2 Labs on the food. Wow! Meal times and they are soooo excited. They simply love the food and we are now on are third bag and I've ordered two more. They are very happy and whilst the reduced ammount given seems small it is obviously enough due to the high nutritional value. Really great dog food. David - Gloucester
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“top marks. well done.”
Reviewed 13th April 2015
I got a new springer spaniel rescue dog just recently. So I decided to research the latest top quality dog foods. I am so pleased I did my homework. This company stood out for me from the quality of the dog food and top quality ingredients at a great price and mostly the personable customer service. I ordered a free sample and my dog loved it. I have a lovely feeling of knowing I am offering my dog the very best. His coat is glossy and healthy. He looks forward to meal times. A great company to order from and excellent quick delivery and customer service. Keep up with the good work. Well done.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“whilea welcome change”
Reviewed 1st April 2015
Our pup Luna has always had a sensitive tummy. We really struggled to find a puppy food for her. So when she turned 12 months I was worried about the search we'd have to go through to find her adult food.
I came across the reviews of Akela and thought it looked promising with the high levels of nutrition. The day it arrived I gave Luna a small amount and she literally hoovered it down. She's now fully on her adult food and finally looks forward to meal times. Her digestive system is a lot healthier and her fur nice and glossy.
We are extremely happy with Akela as a brand. You can't argue with a bowl that's licked clean after every meal!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Akela Wholeprey”
Reviewed 30th March 2015
A large lab/ german shepherd cross dog is very happy with this food and needs surprisingly little to keep him going.
Impressed.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Changed the way I think about dog food”
Reviewed 25th March 2015
I have 2 Sprollie's - one is a very fussy eater, the other has a sensitive tummy like you wouldn't believe.

They were on a middle-of-the-road brand of dry food that has been slowly creeping up in price. I decided in the new year that enough was enough so I looked to switch. Using a popular independent food reviewing site, I discovered Akela and haven't looked back - especially as it's cheaper than previous brand. My fussy eater now yelps with excitement when I ask her if she wants her 'bwyd' (food in Welsh). My sensitive hound has improved no end - without going in to graphic detail.

Vet's very happy with health of both and most importantly, the dogs absolutely love it. So much so, I've had to invest in some anti-gulp bowls!!

Set up a syndicate in work now - 4 dog owners now order collectively and split the cost of shipping.

Highly, highly recommended!!!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“'Wolfed' it down!”
Reviewed 19th March 2015
My fussy dogs seem to love this - and it is such a high quality food - so pleased I found it. I also have the treats and they love them too!! Good value for money also.

  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
We’re Social! Facebook Facebook Facebook Facebook Connect With Us