Akela WholePrey

Akela WholePrey say:

Affordable vet-approved 80:20 nutrition. Made in Britain.

Akela WholePrey
99% of users rated this business as excellent or very good.
Ranked 1 in Dog Food
Ranking calculated based on average score and the most reviews. Businesses need more than 5 reviews to feature at the top.
616 reviews

Recent review

10th July 2020
“Consistently great”
I have ordered from these guys quite a few times now and I can honestly say I’ve always been really happy with their food and speed of delivery. …

616 people have reviewed Akela WholePrey


Member ratings

Excellent
593
Very Good
18
Average
3
Poor
2
Terrible
0

Rating summary

Enjoyed by dog
Ingredients
Quality
Value for money
616 reviews (1 page) sorted by
3 reviews
“Our Allergic Dog”
Reviewed 1st November 2015
We have three Border Terriers and one of them has a hot ear. We have just had tests done at the vets for allergies and it appears he is allergic to all grains, chicken, all red meat, soya and house dust mites. It has been a nightmare trying to find something that doesn't flair up his ear and cause him wet excema on his skin. We have been very careful to eliminate grains from his diet and worked our way through all the meats to find something he can eat that he will be ok with. We were feeding a salmon and potato dog food with no grains in it but it turns out there is poultry fat in it so we have had to dis-continue that one. I am in the process of switching all three boys onto the same Akela Whole Prey Fish for the simplicity of feeding. They all seem to enjoy the food so hopefully our little allergic boy will be a lot happier. Fingers crossed this will sort out his problems food wise.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Excellent affordable high quality food! ”
Reviewed 30th October 2015
My three border collies have been on Akela for at least six months now and they love it! It's a great food, their coats are in great condition and I've never had any problems with them being on it. The value for money is great, given that foods of similar quality are more expensive. The company that sells akela is fantastic too, with a quick delivery and helpful customer services.

I cannot reccommend this food enough! Fantastic quality food at an affordable price.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Bigger Bags Please ”
Reviewed 30th October 2015
Great food - our Viszla loves it - but to be honest fed up of ordering and paying the carriage fees - why carn't you do larger bags? I currently get the Small Paws dry food. If you do larger bags can you not reduce the price too as compared to other brands it is quite pricey and would image out of the reach of many who would have this over what they currently give their dog.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“I tried the tester pack.”
Reviewed 23rd October 2015
We have two dogs both Cocker Spaniels (show type). One is two and a half and the other is fourteen weeks old. Hugo our older dog is quite a fussy eater after suffering from tummy problems due to food poisoning for six months in his first year, and we had tried a number of the dry "scientific" foods which Hugo had "gone off" within a few weeks. Getting a new puppy (Ralph) I decided to look into a better food type since I was becoming concerned that what Hugo seemed to like to eat through his mouth didn't necessarily agree with him as witnessed at the other end. So I ordered a tester pack.

There is not a lot in the pack (100 grammes) but both the older dog and the puppy snaffled up their first handful as though they hadn't eaten for a week. I kept the rest and use it as treats. I am impressed with the results of my wee test and will definitely be purchasing a bag of Akela for further tests. Part of the upside is both dog and puppy can have Akela and since they like to swap bowls mid way through eating I won't have to stand over them to stop that happening.

So far so good. Like most dog owners I would like to think that I am doing the best that I can to keep them happy and healthy.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
Newport, Isle of Wight, South East
1 review
“Fish Feast gets puppy approval........”
Reviewed 23rd October 2015
Our 7 week old PatterdaleXRussell's first 'proper' food and he loves it.

I became a puppy food nerd and checked the details of nearly every puppy food on the market and decided that this one offered our puppy everything that he would need. Pretty much every ingredient mentioned was something I recognised as a food. I did discover that if you recognise the brand name - don't buy it. Apart from the initial outlay the cost per kilo is half what we could have paid for the far less wholesome foods available from the local suppliers.

We were worried about the lack of a local stockist being on the Isle of Wight but with an amazing next day delivery from placing the order we need not have been concerned.



  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“The best food I've found”
Reviewed 19th October 2015
Superb food with all the ingredients I wanted and best of all it's loved by all 4 of my dogs of varying ages from 18 months to 8 years with very pleasing results. I even use it for training treats too.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
Duns, Scottish Borders, Scotland
3 reviews
“Happy Dogs”
Reviewed 17th October 2015
I have tried other manufacturers' 80/20 combination of kibble but Akela Whole Prey seems to suit them best. Only just switched but have 2 happy and energetic dogs. Feed bowls are well polished at the end of their meal.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
7 reviews
“The boy loves it! ”
Reviewed 15th October 2015
We have an 11 month old black lab, who is a big lad and still growing it appears! We weaned him into barking heads, but he always seemed to be a 'bit loose' and also it stained his new adult teeth really badly. I spent many an evening researching what seemed to be the best food for 'my boy'. Eventually I decided on Akela and ordered a bag. By the time we had changed over to solely Akela (about 2 weeks) his teeth gleamed and what was produced from the other end become much firmer and normal!
He loves his Akela, and being a Labrador he 'vacuums' it up! I have just ordered the big paws hoping he may take a bit longer over it!
But, he his a very fit, active young adult dog who loves his food, but his teeth are white, his poop is better and his coat shines so much people stop me to ask firstly if we polish him and secondly what we feed him......think that is a review in itself!! Also love that the price is reasonable, delivery is quick and most importantly he seems to love it....happy dog = happy owners!! Give it a go
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
Chatteris, Cambridgeshire, East
1 review
“Happy!”
Reviewed 8th October 2015
We have a 7 year old lab who we adopted a year ago when he retired from being a working dog. He was previously fed on proplan but became quite bored with his diet on several occasions. We then got a Lab puppy who came to us being fed on Beta but on investigating the best dog food we found Akela could be fed to both dogs and would be giving them both a far more healthy and cereal free diet. The transition of diets was much easier for our older dog but we have finally accomplished a solid stool with the puppy by eliminating all other treats. Both dogs love their food and show real excitement at meal times. Both dogs have shiny and soft coats. I would highly recommend Akela, we get the big paws size for both dogs. Ordering and communication with the sales team has always been easy and friendly. On the question of value for money, it is definitely cheaper than purchasing their old food so we are very happy all round!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Great food”
Reviewed 5th October 2015
Ruby is a Sprocker and is nearly 10 weeks old. We are part way through swapping her over to Akela Fish Feast from Royal Canin. So far she is up to 3/4 Akela per feed and there are no issues to report, everything is positive. Her coat is better than ever (not that it was bad to start with) but most noticeably she loves her food - previously she would graze on and off and often leave some but now it goes in a fairly brief single sitting. From my point of view it is also very much nicer to handle than the previous stuff which left my hands feeling greasy and in need of a wash asap!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Approved by Edgar (Eddie)”
Reviewed 2nd October 2015
My toy poodle pup really loves the small paws Fish fest by Akela. In fact he loves it so much he started eating too quickly and we had to buy him a special bowl to slow him down. He is lively and healthy. The price is good too.
Also great advise given to me by the Akela team. Thanks guys.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“best dog food out there”
Reviewed 28th September 2015
Our 5 month old working cocker spaniel is thriving on akela original. His coat is super shiny, his stools are firm. I can't see us changing his food, unless akela change it. The service from Wholeprey is excellent, delivery is perfect , kept informed all the way. Can't recommend enough!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“fantastic quality food ”
Reviewed 25th September 2015
My lab puppy has been on akela since he was 7weeks old and has thrived on it, his coat is so shiny and dosent moult much. Has plenty of energy and just looks amazing.. we love akela.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
Willington Quay, Tyne and Wear, North East
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed 25th September 2015
When we took puppy home he was on fishmongers finest from pets at home. He was lovely and healthy but did have loose stools. Got in touch with Akela (via allaboutdogfoods) and they sent a free sample immediately and gave loads of advice about changing his food over gradually. He began on fish feat small paws and has just upgraded to normal kibble. Our vets are very happy with him and his coat, teeth and eyes are lovely. We don't have the space or time to feed raw but value good nutrition, so a high quality kibble was essential to us and that is what we have found with akela.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
Warrington, Cheshire, North West
1 review
“Amazing :)”
Reviewed 19th September 2015
We have a 3 month old whippet and couldn't get rid of the dandruff, her coat was dull, she had diarrhoea very often. We have tried two different brands of dog food, it wasn't getting better. We found out about Akela and decided to give it a go after all the positive comments. We couldn't make a better choice, after only a few days her coat started getting shiny and terrible dandruff disappearing. She is a happy puppy now :) We will definitely stay on Akela:) Thank you:D
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
Cheltenham, Gloucestershire, South West
1 review
“The best dog food I could find”
Reviewed 16th August 2015
I have rescued a 6 year dog from Spain, she has had a very harsh and terrible life and only survived on scraps that a few people had given her. I wanted to give her the very best food I could find at a reasonable price ( she weighs 50 kg ! ) After many hours research I found Akela. When I looked at all the ingredients I was very impressed - but even more because they gave the percentages of them as well. I believe I have found the best food possible for my dog - well done Akela !
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
3 reviews
“Excellent food and great value”
Reviewed 29th July 2015
We did lots of research before deciding to try out FCR pup on Akela. He had been quite fussy and not keen on his food but I can honestly say since we got Akela we have never looked back, He is happy, healthy, has a lovely shiny coat and loves his food. Looking forward to seeing what he thinks of the new fish recipe. Highly recommended.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
Burnage, Greater Manchester, North West
2 reviews
“Finally found an excellent food.”
Reviewed 19th July 2015
My GSD has always suffered from bad stomach problems. He's been on different brands that he's been ok on, the last one he was on for a while, but they must have changed the ingredients or something as he started having loose stools again. After finding the website 'allaboutdogfood' I came across Akela thought I would give it ago, it did take a couple of weeks to get my dogs stomach finally settled on it but now he's never been better on any food. He's never been so excited for meal times. His coat and skin are the best they've been. If you've been looking for a new food dog or even if you haven't, just try Akela and you won't look back, best desision I've ever made. Go order some now!!!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
3 reviews
“Can't wait for feeding time now!”
Reviewed 18th July 2015
Our two year old rescue dog (in our care for one year now) was not a great eater, but now he runs in from his walk straight to the bowl for his Akela which gets eaten in now time followed by a "can I have some more, please" look!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
Clifton, Bristol, South West
2 reviews
“Happy Border Collie!”
Reviewed 14th July 2015
I moved my 11 month old collie onto this food as soon as I saw the 5 star review. He can't wait to get stuck into his bowl of Akela! He is now on his 3rd bag and I would not feed him anything else. On a rather more low brow note....his stools are firm and he is very regular, a sign of good food and a healthy dog!
I get so many people commenting on his coat and overall condition, and I must say he looks brilliant (although dad is always biased!)
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
Stockport, Greater Manchester, North West
2 reviews
“Happy dogs happy customer”
Reviewed 6th June 2015
This food is somewhat exceptional. It is loved by all of the dogs in my care. I home board and do doggy day care for lots of different breeds of dogs, ranging in size from my little Yorkie cross to several Cockerpoos. They all love this food and empty their bowls in no time.
I have now bought several large bags of this food, both small paws and the original and i will continue to do so.
This is the only dog food that I feel confident in purchasing as I know that not only will they enjoy it, it is also doing them the world of good..No more poorly tums and runny poos. Just happy contented dogs.
Thumbs up for Akela.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Great food at a great price! Spingo loves it ”
Reviewed 4th June 2015
I recently decided to buy Akela because of the good things I have been hearing about it and the very high rating on the all about dog food website. I'm very pleased that I did and so is Spingo
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Akela is seriously good dog food”
Reviewed 2nd June 2015
Our two border terriers were on Orijen which was highly rated, very good food, and enjoyed by our dogs. I prefer to buy British (Orijen is Canadian) and having tried one or two other zero-grain foods I found Akela. The ingredients are very similar to Orijen and our dogs enjoyed it just as much. The price is better, the fact that it's made in the UK is good and the ziplock bags it comes in are fab. I don't need to use clothes pegs to re-seal the bags anymore!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“he loves this so much he thinks it's a treat”
Reviewed 31st May 2015
My little dog is a fussy eater when it comes to new food but he loves this so much he thinks it's a treat so I have to be careful and not give him too much. Plus he has had problems with itching, especially at this time of year but within 3 or 4 days of starting this food he seems to be having no problems at all. I don't know if it's a coincidence but here's hoping. Thanks
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“My Airedale Gordon loves eating it”
Reviewed 29th May 2015
My Airedale Gordon loves eating it - it must taste good! He cannot tolerate grains, but on Akela his droppings are firm and healthy again. I love it because it contains all he needs without extra supplements, and so I know it is keeping him healthy.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
7 reviews
“lively, shiny, 'smiley' Lab”
Reviewed 28th May 2015
"He is a Labrador!
He is currently on the transition to Akela (only a couple more days to go!) and he is lively, shiny, 'smiley' and what comes out the other end is becoming so much better!!!"
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“I love Akela because my dog loves Akela!”
Reviewed 28th May 2015
I love Akela because my dog loves Akela! I've never seen anything devoured with such relish & her sleek coat tells me it's doing her good. Hope she likes the new fish flavour so that we can ring the changes.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Akela dog food ”
Reviewed 28th May 2015
Akela has made a massive difference to my dog. It has all the ingredients needed for her and also helped her loose a bit of weight and stay fit and healthy. She has tried many different brands but when you read the ingrediants and what nutrients are in each brand, nothing compares to Akela.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
East Taphouse, Cornwall, South West
1 review
“Great food for great dog”
Reviewed 28th May 2015
Having tried several types of food for my Newfoundland this is the one he enjoys. Great quality product that not only satisfys his appetite but also reassures me that he is getting evrything he needs to make a quality animal.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Terrific food for my cocker spaniels ”
Reviewed 28th May 2015
My cocker spaniels are nearly 3 years old and have been raw fed since puppies, but for practical reasons I have been looking for a dry food for convenience but without compromising on quality! After a long search I came across Akela and have not looked back since. The dogs love it, they wolf it down at every meal and their coats look fab!! Thanks guys :)
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
We’re Social! Facebook Facebook Facebook Facebook Connect With Us