Akela WholePrey

Akela WholePrey say:

Affordable vet-approved 80:20 nutrition. Made in Britain.

Akela WholePrey
99% of users rated this business as excellent or very good.
Ranked 1 in Dog Food
Ranking calculated based on average score and the most reviews. Businesses need more than 5 reviews to feature at the top.
560 reviews

Recent review

10th December 2018
“Akela is my top choice”
Since switching to Akela a few months ago, I can see the change in my Lab. She looks healthier and IS healthier. The reviews are true when they say it…

560 people have reviewed Akela WholePrey


Member ratings

Excellent
538
Very Good
17
Average
3
Poor
2
Terrible
0

Rating summary

Enjoyed by dog
Ingredients
Quality
Value for money
560 reviews (1 page) sorted by
5 reviews
“Dogs love it!”
Reviewed 19th May 2015
My dogs love this biscuit, they were not in bad condition anyway but they are still doing great on this food. Just wish they would hurry up with a new flavour, but apparently there is one on the way.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 3rd May 2015
I've just switched my 13 year old collie to Akela and he seems to love it, no problems switching him as we did it the recommended way. He doesn't seem as hungry with this food as he did with his previous food.

Will certainly be buying this again.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Akela whole prey 80/20 food”
Reviewed 3rd May 2015
We were searching for whole prey dog food but car across Akela on a review site. After receiving the sample produc t ofAkela we tried our 2 Labs on the food. Wow! Meal times and they are soooo excited. They simply love the food and we are now on are third bag and I've ordered two more. They are very happy and whilst the reduced ammount given seems small it is obviously enough due to the high nutritional value. Really great dog food. David - Gloucester
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“top marks. well done.”
Reviewed 13th April 2015
I got a new springer spaniel rescue dog just recently. So I decided to research the latest top quality dog foods. I am so pleased I did my homework. This company stood out for me from the quality of the dog food and top quality ingredients at a great price and mostly the personable customer service. I ordered a free sample and my dog loved it. I have a lovely feeling of knowing I am offering my dog the very best. His coat is glossy and healthy. He looks forward to meal times. A great company to order from and excellent quick delivery and customer service. Keep up with the good work. Well done.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“whilea welcome change”
Reviewed 1st April 2015
Our pup Luna has always had a sensitive tummy. We really struggled to find a puppy food for her. So when she turned 12 months I was worried about the search we'd have to go through to find her adult food.
I came across the reviews of Akela and thought it looked promising with the high levels of nutrition. The day it arrived I gave Luna a small amount and she literally hoovered it down. She's now fully on her adult food and finally looks forward to meal times. Her digestive system is a lot healthier and her fur nice and glossy.
We are extremely happy with Akela as a brand. You can't argue with a bowl that's licked clean after every meal!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Akela Wholeprey”
Reviewed 30th March 2015
A large lab/ german shepherd cross dog is very happy with this food and needs surprisingly little to keep him going.
Impressed.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Changed the way I think about dog food”
Reviewed 25th March 2015
I have 2 Sprollie's - one is a very fussy eater, the other has a sensitive tummy like you wouldn't believe.

They were on a middle-of-the-road brand of dry food that has been slowly creeping up in price. I decided in the new year that enough was enough so I looked to switch. Using a popular independent food reviewing site, I discovered Akela and haven't looked back - especially as it's cheaper than previous brand. My fussy eater now yelps with excitement when I ask her if she wants her 'bwyd' (food in Welsh). My sensitive hound has improved no end - without going in to graphic detail.

Vet's very happy with health of both and most importantly, the dogs absolutely love it. So much so, I've had to invest in some anti-gulp bowls!!

Set up a syndicate in work now - 4 dog owners now order collectively and split the cost of shipping.

Highly, highly recommended!!!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“'Wolfed' it down!”
Reviewed 19th March 2015
My fussy dogs seem to love this - and it is such a high quality food - so pleased I found it. I also have the treats and they love them too!! Good value for money also.

  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Another Akela convert”
Reviewed 12th March 2015
I saw a review of Akela online whilst I was researching what might be the best food to offer our 2 year old mini schnauzer. At her previous home she was fed on 'anything' (literally) and I really wanted to give her a wholesome food that she would enjoy eating. I've been thrilled with the results - the Akela gets wolfed down, and seems to be more satisfying than the food we first used, so the quantity is somewhat reduced. There's absolutely no 'rubbish' in there, and our little dog seems to be in better condition all round - skin is clear, no itchiness and deposits are fewer and firmer. Will definitely stick with Akela, and look forward to maybe having the choice of another flavour soon. [The herring renders it a bit 'fishy' but this isn't overpowering, and not a problem]
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Our little beastie wolfed it down”
Reviewed 11th March 2015
Got free sample to see if our Jack Russell x Lakeland Terrier would like it and it was a huge hit. She gets her fair share of fibre etc as she's always stealing carrots. Looking at the ingredients I think it will have great health benefits for her future years. Am now going to order the 10kg bag of food.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Ordered a sample that lasted one sitting!”
Reviewed 10th March 2015
My Pom has had the same food for the past 5-6 years so I was a little nervous about introducing him to this new food.

I shouldn't have been. He loved it so much, he ate it before his current "favourite" food!

if my Pom's happy, so am I!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Akela 80:20”
Reviewed 5th March 2015
One of my pack is a very fussy eater and he eat the sample that Akela sent. My local pet store is planning to stock this food so I will buy a bag in the hope that he will continue to eat it. Watch this space.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Akela 80/20”
Reviewed 5th March 2015
Our little dog was always fussy about her food. We were struggling with feeding her since she was a pup. We were buying different types of food for her to try ,and always ended up giving it to our neighbours....Gina was only eating what she wanted
After seeing some information on Facebook about Akela I've decided to get a sample to see if my dog would eat it....Success! !!! Gina loves her little, dark brown biscuits. Akela is here to stay with us....
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
3 reviews
“Fish and potato”
Reviewed 5th March 2015
Thank you for the free sample my three border terriers loved it. One of them is very sensative to grains so we have to be careful of what we buy. This is very good quality, about the same price as what I normally buy and will be good for a change for our boys. Will definately be buying some more.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
Bargarran, Renfrewshire, Scotland
1 review
“Akela Original 80/20 ”
Reviewed 4th March 2015
Can I say how happy I am with your service? From web chat to delivery and most of all the food itself, it's been outstanding! I previously fed my Shih Tzu Royal Canin Shih Tzu Adult and when I compare the ingredients between this and your Akela Original, I'm upset I fed my hairy baby with "fake" food for so long! The Akela Original has resulted in a shiny coat, and a huge reduction in my food bill, top quality ingredients and a happier dog all round. I am begging my local pet shop to start stocking your product!
Was concerned that the kibble would be too big for my dog, but not at all, this will be my go to dog food from now on.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Akela by audrey7635”
Reviewed 4th March 2015
My boy blue is loving this food trying a no grain diet hope it does him wonders and enjoys it for life.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“My GSD was an instant fan!”
Reviewed 4th March 2015
The sample, thank you very much for this, did not touch the sides he loved it and it had no adverse effects. Will be moving him to the 80/20 food.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Akela dog food”
Reviewed 27th February 2015
Great quality dog food at a good price.My dog loves this food! ,good quality ingredients
and it's made by a British company.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“GOOD QUALITY FOOD”
Reviewed 25th February 2015
MY DOGS HAVE JUST ENJOYED THEIR FREE SAMPLE OF AKELA . NOT ONE PIECE LEFT. LICKING THEIR LIPS . WILL HAVE TO BUY A LARGE BAG.
THANK YOU FOR THE FREE SAMPLE . NOT MANY COMPANIES DO THIS
JACK RUSSELL LOVER.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Great natural dog food”
Reviewed 25th February 2015
My Border Terrier loves Akela. It`s a fantastic natural UK made dog food with traceable ingredients. The price is reasonable for this kind of quality you`re getting. Highly recommended!!!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
We’re Social! Facebook Facebook Facebook Facebook Connect With Us