East Ruston Cottages

View Business Profile Places To Stay | East Ruston, Norfolk, England | 01692 650083 | eastrustoncottages.co.uk

East Ruston Cottages say:

Very dog friendly holiday accommodation in rural and coastal Norfolk. Properties range from a Shepherd's hut to a large thatched house on the coast with plenty to choose from in between. All have enclosed gardens and great walks nearby. All near sandy, dog friendly beaches. Not an agency, just me, Sue Allen running properties owned by people I know in an area I love and have lived in for over 20 years.

East Ruston Cottages
100% of users rated this business as excellent or very good.
Ranked 1 in Places To Stay in Norfolk
Ranking calculated based on average score and the most reviews. Businesses need more than 5 reviews to feature at the top.
124 reviews

Recent review

17th November 2017
“East Ruston Cottages - Hidden Gem”
We have just spent a long weekend at Hidden Gem, the 4th East Ruston cottage we have stayed at with our dogs. What can you say, once you've stayed Ea…

124 people have reviewed East Ruston Cottages


Member ratings

Excellent
121
Very Good
3
Average
0
Poor
0
Terrible
0

Rating summary

Dog Friendly
Standard of accommodation
Value for money
124 reviews (1 page) sorted by
1 review
“East Ruston Cottages - Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 17th November 2017
We have just spent a long weekend at Hidden Gem, the 4th East Ruston cottage we have stayed at with our dogs. What can you say, once you've stayed East Ruston, you'll never look anywhere else. SUPER dog-friendly, they genuinely make dogs feel as welcome as you.
Hidden Gem is beautiful, recently refurbished and a PERFECT location for the beach and a fab café, both a 5 minute walk over the dunes from the cottage! We saw seals every day.
The cottage has everything for humans and dogs alike and is spotless. Brenda the housekeeper left us some home made goodies and a lovely welcome note. We've already booked another East Ruston cottage for next year.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Another great week at Badgers Retreat”
Reviewed 24th October 2017
We had a great time in the East Ruston area, using it as a good base to walk weavers way, go to stalham, wroxham, happisburgh and horsey gap. The location and accommodation are great and the has everything you need to make you feel welcomed in this country cottage and Craig and Susan alway give you a warm welcome. We visited Burgers at the Beach after seeing the posts on the East Ruston Cottages Facebook page and would recommend a visit, as well as trip to poppyfields after seeing the seals at horsey gap.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Daisy Cottage Sea Palling”
Reviewed 24th October 2017
Ideal cottage for a holiday with our two dogs. Dog beds, towels, bowls, treats provided. The cottage is larger than it looks from the outside and is very comfortable. I can imagine parking could be an issue in the height of holiday season although there is a pay and display car park close by.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 18th October 2017
Had a great weeks stay at this lovely terraced cottage backing up onto the miles of brilliant sand dunes of Winterton-on-Sea. The cottage was very clean, welcoming and tastefully decorated throughout and the layout comfortably accommodated 4 adults and 3 dogs. As part of the East Ruston cottages portfolio these cottages are really dog friendly with everything thoughtfully included for an enjoyable stay for both humans and dogs. With dog suitable floors and miles of walks on the sand dunes and beaches, local shops, a dog friendly pub a couple of minutes away and the Broads close-by, this is definitely a welcoming Gem of a place to stay. Highly recommend.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Milldene”
Reviewed 17th October 2017
Had a fantastic stay at milldene with our dog and baby. Jan, the owner, could not have been more helpful. The cottage was extremely clean and we were even greeted with a cake! Recommend the fish and chips from down the road too!
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Badgers retreat”
Reviewed 10th October 2017
Just back from a lovely week at badgers retreat. Very welcoming and friendly would recommend to anyone but most especially someone with dogs, a great area to stay in, so dog friendly. Beaches are gorgeous and really close by, with lots of dog friendly pubs to visit as well
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Farthing Cottage - Trunch”
Reviewed 3rd October 2017
We have just returned from a wonderful week at Farthing Cottage in Trunch - our second stay at this lovely cottage. It really is a home from home and was absolutely perfect for us. The cottage is well equipped and completely dog friendly, with beds, bowls and toys on hand. It's just perfect for sharing with your hounds for a week. We have two sighthounds and the garden is secure which gave us complete peace of mind and meant that we could relax whilst the dogs sat in the sun!
We were well placed for trips to all the local gorgeous Norfolk beaches, including Mundesley, Sea Palling and the beautiful Winterton. We also enjoyed many of the dog friendly cafes and pubs that are nearby...the Dunes Cafe at Winterton was a firm favourite!
The extra touches like the treats that welcomed us on day one were really appreciated - nothing like a cup of tea and a freshly baked scone after a long drive!
Another wonderful holiday and we will definitely be back again! Thank you
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
3 reviews
“COUNTRY HOUSE LIVING FOR YOU AND YOUR DOGS!”
Reviewed 27th September 2017
Our stay at Thatchers was quite wonderful, from the beautiful arts and crafts house, with it's thatched roof (hence the name!) to the acre garden with hidden seating places and lovely apple trees, the sound of the sea and occasionally the church bells ringing in the background, Large and airy, a big bedroom with en suite downstairs to the upstairs bedrooms with another two bathrooms. As for the dogs, they are made very welcome and with the pub, fantastic fresh fish shop just yards away and the post office (order your papers the day before) along with the tea room at Cart Gap, just a great place to stay!
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Rooster Barn - Trunch”
Reviewed 20th September 2017
Have just spent a week at Rooster Barn in Trunch with my 2 dogs and quite honestly, you'd be hard pressed to find a more stunning holiday cottage. The owners have thought of everything to make your stay wonderful - well equipped cottage, private and secure garden for the dogs, a fabulous welcome pack for humans and dogs too ! Lots of information on where to go & what to do (if you've not been to Norfolk before). Couldn't recommend both East Ruston Cottages and Rooster Barn highly enough.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 18th September 2017
We stayed in Running Hare Barn from 9th-16th September 2017, 4 adults and four dogs. This is simply a unique property near several beaches, The Broads and also Forestry Commission Bacton Woods, so absolutely ideal for dog walking. We were all made to feel so welcome, the Barn itself was spacious and yet so cosy and inviting to return to after a busy day out. Taking five years to build it is an absolute work of art, the sympathetic use of all the materials used and to be very eco friendly is wonderful and yet there is every mod con you could want on holiday. A real home from home (we wish!) and we can't wait to return.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Perfection!”
Reviewed 11th September 2017
We've just returned from our holiday at Running Hare Barn with family and friends. It really is the most amazing property we have ever stayed in and so dog friendly. We took our 9 sighthounds with us, it's so big you didn't notice them all, so much space for them to spread out. Everything has been done to such a high standard but it's so homely and comfortable. Throws provided, no problem if you have a dog who insists on sleeping on your bed with you. Even an extra fridge and freezer outside but under cover, great when you raw feed your dogs. We really didn't want to come home.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Dog heaven a beautiful cottage on the dunes”
Reviewed 9th September 2017
Hidden Gem is beautiful, quiet, wonderfully equipped and the most perfect location for dogs (and owners) who love to be able to walk straight from the back door on dog friendly, open space with no traffic, fencing to worry about. There's even a dog friendly cafe that serves delicious food all day.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Thatchers - return visit”
Reviewed 21st August 2017
This is the second visit to this quintessential English house. With the sounds of the organ and bell practise sliding down to the garden on the breeze and cricket and bowls on the other side and the see just behind the field to the back of the house what more could one ask for... The acre of garden is beautiful and the dogs all have a whale of a time there but there is also a smaller secure area off the back door for the bedtime wee's without loosing them for half an hour! The house itself is large and airy. The bedrooms are all very nice as are the bathrooms. For the less able there is a huge wet room off the downstairs bedroom although there are steps to all access points to the house which would require some assistance to get into the house. The large living room is quite formal but we did use it this time having previously just used the snug off the kitchen. We like to have our dogs with us and dogs are not actively encouraged to use this one room. The house is situated close enough to walk to the beach via the caravan park. Don't be put off to the proximity of the caravans, we have never experienced any noise or disturbance from there at all! Ideally situated to pop down to see the seals at Horsey (pop into Poppylands for something to eat whilst you are there) and not too far to get to the Broads or up to Holkham, Sandringham or Cromer for a day out. We will continue to visit East Ruston Cottages having now stayed at The Old Piggery, Red Roofs and Thatchers because of their lovely houses, doggy welcome ethos and general customer care!
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Holmes House”
Reviewed 18th August 2017
We had a wonderful time at Holmes House in East Ruston with our children and three lurchers. The garden was really big and completely secure, the house was very clean and the owners had thought of all eventualities. it was fantastic to literally turn left out of the cottage and you were on the dog walk - no roads to worry about, just beautiful countryside. Sea Palling and Happisburgh beaches for the dogs were favourites for us, very dog friendly. The dogs even received doggie biscuits on arrival.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
3 reviews
“Rooster Barn ”
Reviewed 16th August 2017
Another wonderful ERC stay - this time at Rooster Barn in Trunch. The owners have created a lovely home from home with everything we needed for a relaxing break. Very clean and well looked after. Our older Jack/Westie cross and Bichon Frise thoroughly enjoyed exploring the sniffs in the large grassed garden and the patio area; both fenced and safe. The welcome pack for both dogs and humans was huge and much appreciated by all. This is a good location with lots of lovely beaches and walks, all within a short drive. Another property we would love to come back to in the future.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Relaxing dog friendly break. ”
Reviewed 14th August 2017
Stayed in Wind in the Willows, a beautifully appointed shepherd's hut. Perfectly situated for dog friendly beaches and pubs.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 14th August 2017
Hidden Gem is gorgeous. Very dog friendly with a secure small garden and access to miles of sand dunes and a dog friendly beach. East Ruston Cottages are for dog lovers and I can't recommend them highly enough. We didn't have to worry about our spoilt, very large fur baby jumping onto the furniture as dog blankets are available for them, as are spare leads, toys and food bowls.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“The Lodge 5star dog friendly”
Reviewed 7th August 2017
A great property perfect for dogs and their humans..lovely secure garden .out in the tranquil countryside.close to so many dog friendly beaches and pubs..Will definitely stay again
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Corner cottage ”
Reviewed 2nd August 2017
Fantastic place to stay - great walks with the dogs, close to beach and when you come back lots of lovely beds for the dogs to rest as well as the humans .
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Orchard Cottage, Happisburgh, Norfolk”
Reviewed 27th July 2017
We have a great break at Orchard Cottage, a very dog friendly, comfortable, well equipped Cottage, with a lovely secure dog friendly private garden. Beach 10 minutes walk. Dog friendly pub 5 minutes walk. Plenty to see and do locally. A great cottage for both dogs and humans alike.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“A real dog friendly cottage! ”
Reviewed 23rd July 2017
We stayed at the piggery 8th July - 22nd July 2017. We have tried many "dog friendly" properties with enclosed gardens, and finally have found one that really is.
Not only does this cottage have a fully enclosed garden to a decent height (my shoulder height so I think 5ft), but there are dog beds -one is a lovely off the floor bed , throws, bowls etc and our girl was so impressed with the doggy hamper waiting for her!
The cottage itself is gorgeous and Sue is very friendly and helpful.
There are lots of very dog friendly eating establishments close by and beautiful beaches which we spent hours walking as well as seal watching!
We loved our week here
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Rooster Barn”
Reviewed 23rd July 2017
Four humans and three dogs have just spent a fabulous week at Rooster Barn. The house has everything we needed and was extremely well catered for our dogs. The garden was perfectly secure so we had no worries let our dogs be outside. There was plenty of choice for things to do that were all dog friendly and the house provided lots of information for us. Our dogs loved all the treats that were left for them as well. Just wish we had had longer to explore more places!
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 9th July 2017
We stayed at Hidden Gem one of East Ruston Cottages. They are so dog friendly, thinking of everything you could need for your pampered pooches with a little bag of homemade dog biscuits to welcome them on arrival.
Humans are well catered for too with a comfy bed, well equipped kitchen, bath and separate shower, conservatory, ( which the dogs loved!). We were blessed with wonderful weather which helped us to take advantage of the walks and stunning beach right from the back door. We wouldn't hesitate to visit again!!!
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Corner Cottage - Lessingham”
Reviewed 24th June 2017
Everything was perfect from the beginning. From booking to arrival and the holiday itself was fantastic. More than dog friendly!! I think dogs are more welcome than the humans
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“White Cottage - Another fabulous week”
Reviewed 24th June 2017
A wonderful week spent at White Cottage & our second holiday with East Ruston Cottages. Dogs are priority at ERC & White Cottage was no exception. A beautiful house, fantastic weather, great walks from the door, what more could you ask! Thank you
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Corner cottage”
Reviewed 19th June 2017
Recently stayed at Corner Cottage, very dog friendly, everything you need for your dog on holiday is there for you, it is also a lovely cottage for you too! Extremely clean and comfortable, thoroughly recommend it as a great place to stay in a lovely area.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
3 reviews
“RUNNING HARE BARN - A MAGICAL STAY!”
Reviewed 17th June 2017
Going on our previous experiences with East Ruston Cottates, we booked Running Hare Barn BEFORE it was completed! So confident of a brilliant stay, we booked it for Christmas, and we were not disappointed. From the moment we entered, with the smell of the real Christmas Tree to the fairy lights entwined up the staircase we knew we were in for one fantastic Christmas. With walks for our dogs just outside the door, every possible gadget etc Running Hare Barn is really a home from home. The only reason we haven't booked it again this year is because we have booked Thatchers! This is in our diary to come back to for sure!
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
3 reviews
“OAK COTTAGE”
Reviewed 16th June 2017
Oak Cottage was our first East Ruston Cottage stay, and what a stay! Everything you could possibly want, although calling this beautifully kept and welcoming home a cottage is slightly wrong. A large front room, with an equally large dining area, lovely kitchen with seating area, open fire, comfy settees. A really large downstairs double bedroom on the ground floor with an attached shower room, mean that if you have older or less mobile holiday makers with you, everything they need is on the ground floor. A beautiful upstairs, with one of the biggest baths you have ever seen! A lovely garden, a pub less than 200 yards away (very dog friendly) and just a few minutes drive from some lovely dog friendly beaches too!
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Corner cottage”
Reviewed 6th June 2017
Have stayed at quite a few if the cottages, last one being corner cottage which is absolutely gorgeous, extremely dog friendly, secure garden and short walk to beach - can't wait to go again - have recommended east ruston cottages to all family and friends with furry babies
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“The Old Piggery”
Reviewed 6th June 2017
Perfect! Spotlessly clean, well equipped for both 2 and 4 legged guests
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
We’re Social! Facebook Facebook Facebook Facebook Connect With Us