East Ruston Cottages

View Business Profile Places To Stay | East Ruston, Norfolk, England | 077 66665684 | eastrustoncottages.co.uk

East Ruston Cottages say:

VERY dog welcoming holiday accommodation in rural and coastal Norfolk. Properties range from a simple chalet to a large thatched house on the coast with plenty to choose from in between. All have enclosed gardens and great walks nearby. All near sandy, dog friendly beaches. Now able to offer guaranteed and inclusive cancellation insurance!

East Ruston Cottages
99% of users rated this business as excellent or very good.
Ranked 1 in Places To Stay in Norfolk
Ranking calculated based on average score and the most reviews. Businesses need more than 5 reviews to feature at the top.
180 reviews

Recent review

14th September 2020
“Best dog friendly holiday company ever!”
As a multi-dog household, finding this company has quite literally changed our lives. It’s felt too hard to holiday with the dogs as I’ve just nev…

180 people have reviewed East Ruston Cottages


Member ratings

Excellent
176
Very Good
3
Average
0
Poor
1
Terrible
0

Rating summary

Dog Friendly
Standard of accommodation
Value for money
180 reviews (1 page) sorted by
1 review
“Orchard Cottage”
Reviewed 18th September 2018
This was our 2nd visit to Orchard cottage this time for 2 weeks which we thought might be too long, how wrong were we. Love Happisburgh so much, dogs had a fab time every day on the beach, lots of lovely walks. Out of school hols the beaches are deserted and so may lovely places to visit. the cottage is well equipped with everything you need but my favourite is the garden just love it. We have already booked for next year as it gets booked quick. Lovely little Gem (big really)
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from East Ruston Cottages
18th September 2018
A two week break is getting more and more popular with our guests as they realise how lovely and relaxing it can be in this area and yet still have plenty to do! Delighted you enjoyed your 2 week break. Orchard Cottage really is a gem isn't it!? :)
3 reviews
“Hidden Gem is truly that ”
Reviewed 9th September 2018
We had a wonderful dog friendly stay at Hidden Gem cottage in Winterton. The location, backing onto the dunes, is perfect for morning dog walks, straight from the door. The cottage is beautiful, wonderfully equipped with everything a family and our doggy friends could want. The welcome pack was amazing, including a spectacular home baked cake and just what we needed to put us in the holiday mood! Winterton is a great base for visiting lots of dog friendly locations, like the many local beaches, Bacton woods, dog friendly pubs and restaurants and even a boat trip on the broads. We'll be back again next year for sure
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from East Ruston Cottages
9th October 2018
Thank you Midge! Really pleased you had such a lovely holiday and look forward to you coming back. Thank you so much for taking the time to do such a lovely review - I know the owners will be delighted!
Brentwood, Essex, East
2 reviews
“Beagles love The Old Piggery and so do we !”
Reviewed 8th September 2018
We stayed at the Old Piggery for the last week in August. This is the sixth property we have stayed in with ERC and they are our go to company for dog friendly holidays . No other company comes close ! The property is extremely comfortable and the ultimate in dog savvy . Lots of lovely welcome goodies for both humans and pooches on arrival are a lovely touch . Sue is awesome and always ready to help or advise . Nothing is too much trouble . Our two beagles were joined by their Labrador and mini dachshund friends for the weekend and all had a great time . If you are a larger group book Running Hare Barn next door to the Piggery . We stayed there in January and it is beautiful . Already in the process of booking our next ERC break . Can not recommend them highly enough .
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from East Ruston Cottages
18th September 2018
Love the beagles!! :) Thank you so much for your really lovely review. I know the Piggery and Running Hare Barn are very popular properties but it is great to read it on here and let everyone else know! :) Delighted to welcome you back any time!
1 review
“The best cottages we have stayed via ERC website ”
Reviewed 7th September 2018
I cannot praise how much we really love these cottages. Can’t fault any one of these. All different n perfect locations. Had Xmas there 2 years ago, nice n peaceful n beaches are to die for especially for dogs. Highly recommend it as 100% isn’t enough as 1,000% is what I would say. Home to home.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from East Ruston Cottages
18th September 2018
Oh wow! That's a really great thing to say ! 1000%! Thank you. I am really glad you enjoy what we do. I love being able to welcome so many dogs and their owners to stay :)
1 review
“Simply amazing”
Reviewed 1st September 2018
We have just had a week in Farthing Cottage. We can't fault the property. I had expectations that it might be a bit 'dog eared' on account that so many dogs visit, but nothing could be further than the truth. It was spotless and the array of dog accessories could have meant I need not have packed the car with so many dog bits, but saying that I do prefer to use my own stuff but I am sure many people would be thrilled to not have to pack for their dogs too. Everything has been thought of and I'm sure if someone did think of something missing that it would be provided the next time they visited. We cooked in house all but the last day and found everything we needed.

As I am quite sensitive to chemicals and detergents the cleaner kindly double rinsed the bedding for me, and also took the initiative to switch off the plug in air freshners which I was greatly relieved off. But that was so thoughtful.

The property is well placed for some amazing walks, and we also visited 'The Canoe Man' and took our two large dogs on the Broads in a canoe for an afternoon.

We genuinely hope to return, I loved staying at Farthing Cottage.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Wonderful holiday at Milestone Barn”
Reviewed 27th August 2018
This was our second holiday booked through Sue at ERC and same as the first one it was great. Milestone Barn was perfect for us and our 4 dogs of varying sizes. Totally enclosed garden, great location, great little Barn conversion tastefully decorated with everything you could need. Wonderful beach and inland walks on the doorstep. Thank you Sue.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Dirty beds and ...”
Reviewed 26th August 2018
Stayed in corner cottage. Beds were dirty and property had not been cleaned properly. Electric socket in main bedroom unsafe.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from East Ruston Cottages
27th August 2018
Margaret, I am so sorry that you have found it necessary to take to a review site to air your grievances about our lovely Corner Cottage. None of these issues were mentioned to us at the time you stayed and it was only afterwards that you mentioned them, shortly after we found the lamp you broke but also didn't mention and all the dog mess that was left in the garden for us to clear up . I personally both cleared the dog mess away (I wouldn't expect the cleaner to do it) and looked at the one bed in question, out of 4, that had a mark on the mattress protector. This was immediately rectified. I, along with the many other guests who have had very happy holidays at Corner Cottage have been very satisfied with the level of cleaning at the cottage and I am very confident that Becky the cleaner will have done her usual good job. If you had considered the socket unsafe then surely the safest thing would have been to mention it at the time so we could immediately attend to it. This wasn't mentioned at the time of your stay or afterwards; this review is the first mention made of it. It is part of the Terms and Conditions under which you book - to advise us of any problems as soon as you come across them so we can rectify them immediately. If you had been so unsatisfied with the level of cleanliness then we could have returned to the property to clean the areas you were unsatisfied with maybe while you were out so as not to inconvenience you. I am also a little puzzled as to why you have only awarded us 3 stars for Dog Friendly. We welcome dogs, 4 or 5 is not uncommon, don't charge for them, provide bowls, throws, crates and toys plus a fully secure garden for them. We are well known for offering dog friendly accommodation above and beyond the normal standard and Corner Cottage is no exception . I will email you separately to find out what you consider we could do to achieve a 5 star Dog Friendly rating in your view.
1 review
“Absolutely fantastic! ”
Reviewed 26th August 2018
We arrived at Farthing Cottage not really knowing if the photos were going to have been misleading BUT! WOW! Absolutely perfect house with everything and more that we could possibly have needed! The dogs (all 4 of them) settled so quickly, they were clearly impressed by the treats and lovely dog beds that were waiting for them. As were we with the lovely cake and prosseco. The property was clean and tidy (not at all how non dog lovers would imagine a dog friendly holiday home) the beds were very comfy. Teenage son was very impressed by the tv in his room! The area is so dog friendly, I don’t just mean “the dog is allowed in the beer garden” kind of friendly but more like people say hi to the dogs before the humans!! The beaches were clean and inviting even the the dog friendly ones (didn’t come across a single mess!) from this review you’ll probably guess the kind of “dog friendly” holidays I’ve been on in the past. East Ruston offers over and above any other company I’ve used before and will most definitley be returning! even the teenager has opted for Norfolk next year over the algarve!
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from East Ruston Cottages
27th August 2018
Hi Lou! So pleased you had such a good time at Farthing Cottage and thank you for your lovely review on our Facebook page and your gorgeous photos of your dogs. I am delighted you were able to experience just how dog friendly this part of Norfolk is! We love it here and glad you do too now! We genuinely love having dogs to stay in all of our properties and hope to be able to welcome you back soon.
1 review
“Running Hare Barn”
Reviewed 1st August 2018
Wonderful accommodation. Extremely dog friendly. Caters very well for canines and their companions. The welcome pack (both doggie and human) is a lovely touch. Great walks- Barton Woods and Happisburgh Beach were particular favourites.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from East Ruston Cottages
27th August 2018
Thank you so much - I know as ERC regulars you 'get' what we do here and know how much we welcome dogs to this dog welcoming part of Norfolk! Look forward to having you back :)
5 reviews
“Orchard Cottage Happisburgh ”
Reviewed 22nd July 2018
Our third stay at this perfect Cottage which at's it all really. We love it's homely and welcoming atmosphere and appreciate the owners' attention to detail and high standard of cleanliness. Fabulous welcome treats are always much appreciated too! Everything that you or your dogs could possibly need is provided. We and our dogs love spending time in the gorgeous garden and the dogs also love the cool tiled floor to sleep on in the heat. Happisburgh is a lovely village with lots going on. Having now stayed at 8 East Ruston Cottages, we can thoroughly recommend Sue and ERC.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from East Ruston Cottages
27th August 2018
Thank you for another fantastic review! Much appreciated and it's so great for other people to read about our lovely, dog friendly part of Norfolk. Really pleased you had such a good holiday in Orchard Cottage. It's definitely one of our favourites!
1 review
“Perfect dog and human holiday! ”
Reviewed 9th July 2018
Just returned from a week at running hare barn. This barn is perfect in every way. The attention to detail, the cleanliness was spot on. It has everything you would need for your dogs and you. I cannot recommend this barn enough. Will be back for sure. Thank you east ruston!
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from East Ruston Cottages
27th August 2018
Our lovely Running Hare Barn.....so pleased you enjoyed it and so glad you had a lovely holiday there. Thanks for taking the time to give us such a lovely review! :)
1 review
“most relaxing holiday in years says my mum”
Reviewed 7th July 2018
Hugo (puggle) and Clay (Spanish sheep dog mix) were kind enough to take my mum and me on their recent holiday to Heather Cottage which they'd booked through East Ruston Cottages. The Cottage was lovely, well equipped and the garden was secure meaning I wasn't constantly worrying about the dogs trying to escape. Even if they could have escaped, I don't think they'd have wanted to, it was so nice. Beds were very comfy. Lovely walk-in shower. Pub not even five minutes away - even better it was holding a beer festival when we were there.
Booking with East Ruston was easy, Sue was very helpful and Hugo and Clay are already trying to decide where we're going next year.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Another fantastic holiday”
Reviewed 2nd July 2018
Just returned from a week at Rooster Barn and what a brilliant place to stay. As always with ERC holidays incredibly dog friendly, an amazing garden and barn was spacious and spotlessly clean so good in fact we booked a week for next year while we were there. Wonderful welcome pack and full of everything you could possibly leave for a holiday
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Mid Thatch .”
Reviewed 24th June 2018
Have returned from a lovely break at Mid Thatch Sea Palling.Place immaculate
on arrival with a welcome pack for the pooches and a delightful mixed basket of goodies for the keepers. Accommodation had every thing you would need for a self catering break.Sea was a 5 minute walk on a public footpath up to the Sandhills.Once on the beach the walk either way were great.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“The old piggery ”
Reviewed 14th June 2018
Just had a fantastic week with our 2 dogs at the old piggery. Very well equipped, lovely comfortable cottage with secure courtyard. Very dog friendly accommodation like the area. Would highly recommend this company who provide holidays where your dog is not just accepted but actively welcomed and provided for even to the point of having a raised bed which our 10 year old Springer loved. Very helpful owners too
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Great place to stay - very dog friendly!”
Reviewed 28th May 2018
Restored our faith in holidays with two lively Labradors in tow. We all had a wonderful time at The Lodge which was perfect both in facilities and location.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Orchard Cottage”
Reviewed 20th May 2018
We have had a wonderful week at Orchard Cottage, greeted by cakes, strawberries and doggie treats, I can honestly say that both cottage and area are the most dog friendly we have ever stayed in. Every desire both human and canine are catered for within the cottage and a huge secure garden to sit out and play in. Beautiful dog friendly beaches and pub/restaurants, one being just a couple of minutes walk away with biscuits at the ready for the girls !! Can't recommend East Ruston Cottages highly enough, especially for multi dog families.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
5 reviews
“Midthatch Sea Palling”
Reviewed 29th April 2018
This is a very quaint , comfortable and cute cottage. The location is perfect for Beach walks. There are lots of dog friendly eateries, which can be reached by car in just a few minutes. Safe secure garden for dogs. Disappointed with welcome pack compared to other ERC properties. No treats left for the dogs. Already got another holiday booked with ERC, at another cottage.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Lovely Stay at Running Hare Barn”
Reviewed 28th April 2018
What a fabulous place! Sue and Dermot have certainly catered for everything a dog or their human could need! Even the doggie treats from the welcome pack were mistaken by my father for a human biscuit lol!
The barn itself is simply amazing and has been very sensitively restored with all the mod cons you could possibly need (including a huge screen tv that was an instant hit with our 5 year old). Great walks as soon as you step out of the barn, but the best bit for us was the fact that we could truly relax in the knowledge that the area that surrounds the barn was totally escape proof, even for our 4 Houdini terriers!
Would definitely recommend both East Ruston Cottages (Sue and Dermot are really lovely and very attentive) and also Running Hare Barn.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Very dog friendly beautiful Cottage!”
Reviewed 13th April 2018
Need to recommend White Cottage at Happisburgh - what a beautiful home from home with everything you could possibly need for your stay, clean and cosy with lots of homely touches! Secure and lovely garden which our Greyhounds enjoyed hooning around! Weather bit hit and miss but the 2 conservatory’s stayed warm and the dogs enjoyed them. Some lovely beaches, boat trips and good eateries nearby, highly recommended!
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“The Old Piggery - AWESOME!”
Reviewed 25th March 2018
Just come back from a week in The Old Piggery in East Rushton. I can not say enough good stuff about this barn. When it is advertised as Dog Friendly, it TRUELY is. The dogs are absolutely welcome and so well catered for; dog bed, dog bowls, dog towels, dog toys, dog treats and pooh bags. There is an enclosed yard and walks from the door step.
As for the humans, they are catered for too! It is very well equipped in the kitchen, there are a few goodies upon arrival (lovely), all towels are nice and linens. There is plenty of literature within the barn to keep you entertained but there are also more DVD's than Sky Store!
The weather had been a little problematic prior to our arrival (do we all remember the "Beast from the East"?), but when we got there, the barn was lovely and warm and stayed that way the whole time. We were never cold.
I would love to come back to this barn and this part of the UK again.
Thank you Sue.
Sarah, Brian, Marcia and Dexter and Morgan (the doggies!)
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Patikipa Potter Heigham”
Reviewed 24th March 2018
Despite the awful weather we had a good time in this little chalet by the river. The use of a boat to get about on the broads (at extra cost ) was a plus. Chalet was clean and cosy. Ideal size if you are a couple with a small or one medium size dog. Service provided by everyone was friendly and efficient. Will use again .
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Lovely weekend break”
Reviewed 20th February 2018
Running Hare Barn is a stunning property, very well equipped, very clean and very dog friendly. There were 10 adults and 6 dogs and we all had plenty of space. The only down side is the grassed area is small but with a choice of lovely beaches all close this isn't a problem. We have stay at other East Ruston properties and would highly recommend them.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Roosters Barn, Trunch”
Reviewed 19th February 2018
Can't speak highly enough of this converted barn. It's so cosy & welcoming with a load of interesting features. Loved my stay here and so did the dogs. What I liked was that it was so dog friendly with eveything you needed both for humans & dogs. I shall definitely be visiting again
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Happy dogs in Happisburgh ”
Reviewed 11th February 2018
What a find. Orchard Cottage in Happisburgh exceeded expectations. Allowed us to take six dogs on a super holiday. The cottage is large and very well equipped, warm and comfortable. The garden is large and totally secure. Every thing has been thought of to ensure everyone has a great time . Extra touches included fresh homemade cakes , milk and fresh flowers on arrival, dog beds, throws, dog bowls, crate if required, local hand made dog biscuits and even a ball thrower. Everything we could of hoped for and more. Highly recommended holiday home. The area is lovely and advise a Sunday carvery at Happisburgh Halt. All the beaches are great but Holkham for a long walk and Happisburgh itself for some seal company on your early morning walk. Take time to visit Happisburgh Owls - fantastic experience. A great cottage in a great location.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Fantastic from start to finish!”
Reviewed 31st January 2018
They were exceptionally helpful considering I booked 2 days before our break. We stayed in The Crib cottage. It was absolutely beautiful, spotless and also provided leads, holiday tags, bowls, blankets and much more! I will be recommending to all if my friends and family and can't wait to go back!
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“East Ruston Cottages - Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 17th November 2017
We have just spent a long weekend at Hidden Gem, the 4th East Ruston cottage we have stayed at with our dogs. What can you say, once you've stayed East Ruston, you'll never look anywhere else. SUPER dog-friendly, they genuinely make dogs feel as welcome as you.
Hidden Gem is beautiful, recently refurbished and a PERFECT location for the beach and a fab café, both a 5 minute walk over the dunes from the cottage! We saw seals every day.
The cottage has everything for humans and dogs alike and is spotless. Brenda the housekeeper left us some home made goodies and a lovely welcome note. We've already booked another East Ruston cottage for next year.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Another great week at Badgers Retreat”
Reviewed 24th October 2017
We had a great time in the East Ruston area, using it as a good base to walk weavers way, go to stalham, wroxham, happisburgh and horsey gap. The location and accommodation are great and the has everything you need to make you feel welcomed in this country cottage and Craig and Susan alway give you a warm welcome. We visited Burgers at the Beach after seeing the posts on the East Ruston Cottages Facebook page and would recommend a visit, as well as trip to poppyfields after seeing the seals at horsey gap.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Daisy Cottage Sea Palling”
Reviewed 24th October 2017
Ideal cottage for a holiday with our two dogs. Dog beds, towels, bowls, treats provided. The cottage is larger than it looks from the outside and is very comfortable. I can imagine parking could be an issue in the height of holiday season although there is a pay and display car park close by.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 18th October 2017
Had a great weeks stay at this lovely terraced cottage backing up onto the miles of brilliant sand dunes of Winterton-on-Sea. The cottage was very clean, welcoming and tastefully decorated throughout and the layout comfortably accommodated 4 adults and 3 dogs. As part of the East Ruston cottages portfolio these cottages are really dog friendly with everything thoughtfully included for an enjoyable stay for both humans and dogs. With dog suitable floors and miles of walks on the sand dunes and beaches, local shops, a dog friendly pub a couple of minutes away and the Broads close-by, this is definitely a welcoming Gem of a place to stay. Highly recommend.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
We’re Social! Facebook Facebook Facebook Facebook Connect With Us