East Ruston Cottages

View Business Profile Places To Stay | Eccles on Sea, Norfolk, England | 01692 650083 | eastrustoncottages.co.uk

East Ruston Cottages say:

Very dog friendly holiday accommodation in rural and coastal Norfolk. Properties range from a Shepherd's hut to a large thatched house on the coast with plenty to choose from in between. All have enclosed gardens and great walks nearby. All near sandy, dog friendly beaches. Not an agency, just me, Sue Allen running properties owned by people I know in an area I love and have lived in for over 20 years.

East Ruston Cottages
99% of users rated this business as excellent or very good.
Ranked 1 in Places To Stay in Norfolk
Ranking calculated based on average score and the most reviews. Businesses need more than 5 reviews to feature at the top.
159 reviews

Recent review

29th December 2018
Sittingbourne, Kent, South East
“Christmas at White Cottage”
We have had an amazing week at White Cottage, Happisburgh over Christmas. The house was tastefully decorated and very welcoming. Kids and dogs had a…

159 people have reviewed East Ruston Cottages


Member ratings

Excellent
155
Very Good
3
Average
0
Poor
1
Terrible
0

Rating summary

Dog Friendly
Standard of accommodation
Value for money
159 reviews (1 page) sorted by
1 review
“Corner cottage”
Reviewed 19th June 2017
Recently stayed at Corner Cottage, very dog friendly, everything you need for your dog on holiday is there for you, it is also a lovely cottage for you too! Extremely clean and comfortable, thoroughly recommend it as a great place to stay in a lovely area.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
4 reviews
“RUNNING HARE BARN - A MAGICAL STAY!”
Reviewed 17th June 2017
Going on our previous experiences with East Ruston Cottates, we booked Running Hare Barn BEFORE it was completed! So confident of a brilliant stay, we booked it for Christmas, and we were not disappointed. From the moment we entered, with the smell of the real Christmas Tree to the fairy lights entwined up the staircase we knew we were in for one fantastic Christmas. With walks for our dogs just outside the door, every possible gadget etc Running Hare Barn is really a home from home. The only reason we haven't booked it again this year is because we have booked Thatchers! This is in our diary to come back to for sure!
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
4 reviews
“OAK COTTAGE”
Reviewed 16th June 2017
Oak Cottage was our first East Ruston Cottage stay, and what a stay! Everything you could possibly want, although calling this beautifully kept and welcoming home a cottage is slightly wrong. A large front room, with an equally large dining area, lovely kitchen with seating area, open fire, comfy settees. A really large downstairs double bedroom on the ground floor with an attached shower room, mean that if you have older or less mobile holiday makers with you, everything they need is on the ground floor. A beautiful upstairs, with one of the biggest baths you have ever seen! A lovely garden, a pub less than 200 yards away (very dog friendly) and just a few minutes drive from some lovely dog friendly beaches too!
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Corner cottage”
Reviewed 6th June 2017
Have stayed at quite a few if the cottages, last one being corner cottage which is absolutely gorgeous, extremely dog friendly, secure garden and short walk to beach - can't wait to go again - have recommended east ruston cottages to all family and friends with furry babies
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“The Old Piggery”
Reviewed 6th June 2017
Perfect! Spotlessly clean, well equipped for both 2 and 4 legged guests
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Daisy Cottage Holiday”
Reviewed 6th June 2017
Stayed at Daisy Cottage last September and loved every minute. Felt most welcome and happy. The 5 dogs enjoyed their holiday together and loved their beach walks. Daisy cottage was lovely and cosy and I think they had thought of everything. Can't wait for this September when we are trying out Heather Cottage.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“White Cottage”
Reviewed 7th May 2017
Just returned from a lovely week at White Cottage in Happisburgh. Beautiful cottage, well equipped, a few minutes walk from the dog friendly beach and Happisburgh lighthouse can be seen from the large garden. Our 4 dogs loved it.
We have been using East Ruston Cottages for the last 7 years and would highly recommend them.

  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Dogs truly are welcome”
Reviewed 7th May 2017
What a fantastic holiday we have had at Running Hare Barn.
One of the most relaxing holidays, from the point of view of the dogs knowing the whole set up had dogs an number 1 priority
Nothing to take regarding dog towels,throws, beds and bowls. Dogs allowed to sit on furniture just made life easy.
Lovely beaches, seals, places to visit and to eat. Loads of lovely recommendations.
Sue keeps the FB pages updated and interesting and is really helpful and responsive to questions etc
Highly recommend
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Farthing cottage 25th -1st April ”
Reviewed 28th April 2017
What a lovely dog friendly cottage. Really warm and cosy. Loved all the goodies left for all of us. So nice to find somewhere with lovely walks from the front door. Was great not to have to get in the car all the time to take the dogs out. Lovely secure garden so could relax knowing the dogs were safe. Nice to have a lovely little corner shop in the village. This cottage had it all.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Corner Cottage Lessingham”
Reviewed 3rd April 2017
We have not long returned from staying at Corner Cottage. This isn't the first time we have used East Ruston Cottages for our holidays, and once again, we weren't disappointed.

The cottage was immaculate, and was literally just like a home from home. All the facilities that you need/want are in the house.

The cottage is also ideally situated for travelling around Norfolk, and is only a very short drive to Happisburgh Lighthouse and beach.

We went with two friends and three dogs, and having a secure garden meant we could leave the dogs at the cottage and go down to the very lovely Star Inn for our food and refreshments.

We would thoroughly recommend using East Ruston Cottages for your holiday, and they are just so dog friendly.

Garvan and Heather
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Relaxing holidays for dog lovers”
Reviewed 3rd April 2017
What can I say? At last! Truly dog friendly holiday cottages! Having spent far too many holidays unable to let my dogs off lead except when in the cottage due to the so-called secure garden being anything but, it was refreshing to be able to relax and not have to worry about this. And no more restrictions - we've 4 dogs, which pretty much rules out just about every other 'dog friendly' cottage holiday company we've ever come across, so to be able to take all ours with us has been fabulous and how it should be. After all, if we had children, no one would be expecting us to restrict our numbers! And what a charming area - we'd never holidayed there before and it's beautiful. A fab dog-friendly beach at Happisburgh and lovely walks 100 yards from Holmes Cottage along Weavers Way. Bliss - thank you. We've already booked for the next couple of years!
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Brockford Street, Suffolk, East
1 review
“The Old Piggery, East Ruston Cottages”
Reviewed 3rd April 2017
Have just returned from a week at the Old Piggery and we couldn't fault it. Equipped to a high standard for both humans and hounds, it had a wonderful homely feel. The welcome pack is such a lovely idea, again catering for hounds and humans alike.

It's so lovely to find a holiday home that doesn't just tolerate dogs, but positively welcomes them with the provision of an enclosed garden space, toys, beds, throws for furniture, spare lead, poo bags, feeding bowls, etc, and doesn't charge extra, however many dogs you bring.

The underfloor heating made for a constantly cosy feel, and although firewood is provided for the wood burner, we didn't need to light it once. The situation is rural and peaceful, despite being on a 'junction' as the roads are quiet country lanes.

This eco-friendly property is particularly suited to dog owners, especially those with some mobility issues as it is all on one level once inside. There are, however, a couple of steps down to the back door entrance and one out to the enclosed courtyard garden, but no stairs or raised thresholds within.

All in all a wonderfully welcoming, greyhound(and other dog)-friendly property where no extra charge is made for canine family members, however many you bring - doggy holiday heaven!
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Rooster Barn, East Ruston Cottages”
Reviewed 30th March 2017
It's not easy to relax when you are travelling with a spaniel who thinks she is human and is anxious of other dogs, a Romanian rescue dog who has trust issues with strangers and a very excitable terrier. East Ruston gave us a little oasis of peace and time to enjoy quality time as a family. From my first e-mail, Sue was very reassuring and rather than present me with rules and regulations she assured me that the dogs would be welcome and then patiently managed my disorganised approach to booking! Rooster Barn was the perfect choice for us and beautifully presented. We felt completely at home and had everything we needed plus a whole lot more.....the beds were super comfortable to! We cannot thank you enough for the thoughtful little extras, especially the welcome pack containing not only the essentials but also delicious homemade treats for us and the dogs. The local information was very helpful to, we came with no plan but loved exploring this unspoilt part of the country. Our first visit but certainly not our last, we were very sad to leave. Thank you to everyone involved I'm making it such a lovely break.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Another brilliant holiday”
Reviewed 28th March 2017
We love East Rushton Cottages - they are genuinely dog-friendly. We have stayed at three of the properties on their list and they are consistently good. We have just got home from a return visit to The Lodge which is really comfortable, cosy and ideally located for walking on local beaches and in the woods. We have booked a week later this year in another of the ERC properties and are already planning our doggie holidays with ERC next year.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Farthing Cottage, Trunch”
Reviewed 6th March 2017
We have just spent 4 glorious days at Farthing Cottage in Trunch, what a wonderful dog friendly property. everything was dog orientated. Hard floors downstairs (easy cleaning) toys/blankets/throws/bowls provided.
A welcome pack and the heating was on ready for our arrival (February!!) Secure garden.
Recommended to anyone with dogs, we wish there were more places like this.
Excellent beaches within 3 miles, we can recommend Mundersley and Overstrand.
Sue at East Ruston Cottages was very helpful.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
3 reviews
“White Cottage, Happisburgh”
Reviewed 6th March 2017
We have been staying with East Ruston Cottages since we adopted our rescue dog 5 years ago. Having enjoyed a long stay over Christmas, we were delighted to return to White Cottage for a pre-birthday celebration as a result of a last minute cancellation (a rare event!)

White Cottage and East Ruston Cottages sets a high standard of care and consideration to dogs and their owners that other cottage owners should take note of. We self cater at least three times a year in the UK in different areas and this place is one of the most dogs welcome we've been to. One of the most frustrating elements of booking a holiday is checking that it’s dog friendly with a secure garden and then arriving to find that the garden has gaps or the fence is 3ft at best, or the dog has to stay downstairs. This is not the case in this cottage and I have always appreciated the honest details that Sue provides on her website about all the houses she manages. Agencies need to learn from East Ruston Cottages and I constantly cite them as a great example of a trustworthy company.

The garden is very secure with two sets of gates from the roadway to keep dogs extra safe, there are no rules about dogs not being allowed upstairs or on furniture – providing you use a throw it’s all okay and even better, throws are provided! Dog bowls are also supplied if you them, plus a crate and spare leads.

What we loved was that although Storm Doris had struck the week before and blown down a fence panel, this had been fixed with strong high wire fencing which was much appreciated. We've booked again for Christmas 2018 and are returned to another cottage on our grand tour of East Ruston Cottages. Thank you.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Regular Visitor ”
Reviewed 20th February 2017
This is our 8th year holidaying with East Ruston Cottages most recently at Mid Thatch. This company is truly dog friendly with great walks from the door of most properties and dog friendly local beaches. All properties are wonderfully clean and and furnished to a very high standard but at the same time the dogs are made an integral part of the holiday with treats and throws provided for them (the treats for the humans are pretty good too) Our four dogs love it and we wouldn't take them anywhere else
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Highly Recommended”
Reviewed 18th February 2017
Every year we book with East Ruston Cottages. We have stayed at The Old Piggery, Rooster Barn and White Cottage. The properties are beautiful, clean and fully equipped with more than what you would have at home! Dog friendly is an understatement! Not the usual 'one well behaved dog' or 'max 2 small dogs allowed' having 4 dogs we found it difficult to find somewhere that would accommodate them. Everything has been thought of... bowls, beds, leads, poo bags, toys and more! Our dogs love East Ruston Cottages as much as we do. We were hesitant to leave a review as we didn't want everyone to know how good it is as the word spreads the properties book fast! On our 1st visit we rebooked for the next year within an hour of being there! Totally in love with Norfolk and hoping to more there eventually. Well done East Ruston Cottages!, so glad we found you. Angela, Dave, Riley, Roxy, Vinnie and Skye xx
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Dog friendly holiday ”
Reviewed 12th February 2017
2nd year using East Ruston Cottages and its the 2nd year we have thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. I cant speak highly enough of this company. Highly recommend them and do. This year we stayed at Holmes House. The owner was there to meet and greet us and say goodbye. And was only a phone call away if we needed anything. The House was clean to a very high standard. And the garden was totally dog proof which was excellent for our 6 dogs to wonder around without ant worry. Now going on the website to book next years lol.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Mid Thatch Sea Palling”
Reviewed 5th February 2017
This is our 5th east Euston holiday, our second in Sea Palling and first at Mid Thatch. As ever cottage was comfortable and very clean. Lots of nice touches with dog bowls, throw for the sofa and treats for us and Bonnie. Sea Palling has a wonderful sandy beach a 5 min walk from the cottage either across the field behind or down the road. Often we were the only ones on the beach. V dog friendly bar and cafe and lots of dog friendly places near by.
David, Deborah and Bonnie
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Norwich, Norfolk, East
1 review
“Heather Cottage”
Reviewed 4th February 2017
Really lovely break in this this super cottage. Probably the best equipped holiday accommodation I've ever stayed in. Great kitchen, wonderful sofas, comfy beds and cosy, cosy, cosy. The welcome basket was lovely and the phrase 'dog-friendly' is no exaggeration; beds, towels, blankets, biscuits, bowls and an inescapable garden (I can assure you my little girl would have found a way if possible!)
Lovely walk to the beach and lots of friendly dog walkers to boot
Fab week and desperately looking to see when I can return!
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Running Hare Barn ”
Reviewed 23rd January 2017
Wonderful property, Really Love this barn, set up wonderfully well for humans and their dog family excellently well
beautiful
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Lovely time at Mid Thatch”
Reviewed 22nd January 2017
I booked this cottage as a short break for a few days for me and my husband and our 2 dogs - we have a 13 year old cantankerous westie and a 7 year old devil dog who is very lively! The cottage was great for both of them and it was comfortable for the humans too! We took our own bedding as the dogs were sleeping upstairs but the bedding provided was of excellent quality. The cottage is situated down a very quiet lane and is only 5 minutes walk to the shop and the same again to a gorgeous little beach that both dogs loved.

The cottage was smaller than it looked in the pictures but it had everything we needed and there was a gorgeous welcome pack left for us and some biscuits for the dogs.

I would definitely return for a short break.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Christmas at Farthing Cottage”
Reviewed 1st January 2017
What a great place. Underfloor heating was a hit. Very Dog Friendly. Loads of blankets, bowls and toys. Garden all inclosed so no worries about the dogs. Lovely 2 bedrooms with TV. Good size bathroom. Kitchen had all the mod cons. We were surprised with xmas gifts for ourselves and the dogs. Would recommend to friends
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Heather Cottage”
Reviewed 1st January 2017
Had a lovely Christmas at Heather Cottage.
The cottage was cosy and very dog friendly , thoughtful dog biscuits and bottle of champagne in arrival.... very friendly pub within crawling distance! Lovely quiet dog friendly beaches all around, including the beach at happisburgh just a few minutes walk. Highly recommend!
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Corner Cottage”
Reviewed 21st November 2016
We stayed at Corner Cottage for a few days mid October. The cottage was warm and cosy and beautifully furnished to a standard much higher than the usual 'dog friendly' accommodation. The garden was well fenced and secure enough to keep our 2 Samoyeds and beagle from roaming. The area was lovely and the local beach, less than a mile from the cottage, sported friendly locals with their dogs, and seals bobbing around near the shore. Overall it was a great place to stay.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Short break in Mid Thatch cottage Sea Palling”
Reviewed 19th November 2016
We were recommended to look at the East Rushton Cottages website by a friend who had stayed during the year and we are so glad we did.
MId Thatch Cottage is ideally located for the beautiful beaches with miles of sand and dunes to walk and explore. The cottage is very cosy and was ideal for my husband and I with our Irish Setter Florence, she loved the under floor heating, the cosy throws and of course the welcome bowl of dog biscuits - what a thoughtful touch.
We have already recommended to friends with dogs and we will be returning.

Thanks

Sue, Paul and Florence.

  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Fantastic Doggy Holiday”
Reviewed 2nd November 2016
Just returned home from a week at Holmes House. We couldn't have been made more welcome in all aspects. Genuinely dog friendly unlike so many places that are just dog tolerant.
The house was lovely and the garden was fully enclosed - perfect for two slightly anxious dogs to rampage around in safely. The walks (and bike rides) right on the doorstep were an absolute joy - we literally walked for miles without meeting another soul
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Brentwood, Essex, East
2 reviews
“Super short break at Mid Thatch in Sea Palling ”
Reviewed 25th October 2016
We had a truly lovely three night break at Mid Thatch Cottage in Sea Palling. This isn't the second dog friendly break we have bookedthrough East Ruston Cottages and we have a third booked for January @. We have been impressed by both the quality of the cottages and the friendly and efficient booking service from Sue.
The cottage was cosy and very well presented . The wood burning stove and lovely under floor heating mean that it will be comfortable year round. Super comfortable beds and everything you could need in the kitchen area. Lovely shower room too ! The welcome goodies including local cake and treats for our two beagle girls were a lovely touch. The sun trap paved yard area at the front of the house was brilliant for the dogs and you could walk to the beach across th field path or through the village. A handy local store, fish and chip shop and The Reefs Bar means that most needs are catered for. We would recommend both e cottage and East Ruston Cottages as a company. We wished we had booked for a week and we're sorry to leave.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“We'll be back!”
Reviewed 6th October 2016
We stayed at the Old Piggery and absolutely loved it. George, our reactive rescue dog, relaxed immediately which meant we did too! The location was great, so quiet and peaceful but with several dog friendly beaches close by and lots of walks
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
We’re Social! Facebook Facebook Facebook Facebook Connect With Us