East Ruston Cottages

View Business Profile Places To Stay | Eccles on Sea, Norfolk, England | 01692 650083 | eastrustoncottages.co.uk

East Ruston Cottages say:

Very dog friendly holiday accommodation in rural and coastal Norfolk. Properties range from a Shepherd's hut to a large thatched house on the coast with plenty to choose from in between. All have enclosed gardens and great walks nearby. All near sandy, dog friendly beaches. Not an agency, just me, Sue Allen running properties owned by people I know in an area I love and have lived in for over 20 years.

East Ruston Cottages
99% of users rated this business as excellent or very good.
Ranked 1 in Places To Stay in Norfolk
Ranking calculated based on average score and the most reviews. Businesses need more than 5 reviews to feature at the top.
160 reviews

Recent review

10th February 2019
“The Crib - East Ruston cottages ”
Just had a lovely short stay in The Crib, one of East Ruston cottages holiday homes. Great cottage, very well equipped, the owners have thought of ev…

160 people have reviewed East Ruston Cottages


Member ratings

Excellent
156
Very Good
3
Average
0
Poor
1
Terrible
0

Rating summary

Dog Friendly
Standard of accommodation
Value for money
160 reviews (1 page) sorted by
1 review
“We'll be back!”
Reviewed 6th October 2016
We stayed at the Old Piggery and absolutely loved it. George, our reactive rescue dog, relaxed immediately which meant we did too! The location was great, so quiet and peaceful but with several dog friendly beaches close by and lots of walks
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Running Hare Barn”
Reviewed 3rd October 2016
Wow, a great place to stay, very dog friendly (enclosed garden, warm outside dog shower, dog drying area with underfloor heating, dog throws, doggy welcome pack, dog toys, the list goes on.....), yet still managing to be a luxury break for us humans!! Lovely Barn conversion, very well done, with lots of attention to detail through-out. We loved the steam shower and the slipper baths, especially after a long day out walking the gang over the local fantastic beaches. Sue and Dermott are great hosts, there if you need them but not in your face. We loved it here and will be back!
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Rooster Barn”
Reviewed 3rd October 2016
Such a dog friendly barn with everything you could possibly need, large garden for them to run and play and no extra charges. Warm and welcoming for humans too, very quiet but near to lovely beaches and places to visit. It is just a wonderful place to stay - will definitely book this again and highly recommend this property.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
3 reviews
“Excellent week at Orchard Cottage”
Reviewed 3rd October 2016
A fantastic week in Orchard Cottage, a great place to stay with a very secure garden, a lovely walk from the sea and very comfortable.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Petrockstowe, Devon, South West
1 review
“HEATHER COTTAGE HAPPSBURGH”
Reviewed 3rd October 2016
A wonderful week was spent with our family at Heather Cottage, 4 adults 1 toddler and 3 dogs. The cottage was ideally situated for wonderful dog walks and a few minutes in the car to beautiful beaches. We couldnt believe how friendly Norfolk is towards dogs, our county of Devon is not as friendly during the season which is such a shame. Plenty of water bowls outside shops for pooches that have had a great time on the beach. The local pubs and restaurants were very dog friendly and food at the local pub was very good. The cottage itself was very comfortable and had every comfort. Would love to return again. Barbara and Keith Rooke
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Darwen, Lancashire, North West
2 reviews
“White Cottage Happisburgh September 2016”
Reviewed 28th September 2016
Just come back from a week at White Cottage. The gang are still in recovery positions � Certainly not a disappointment. Our 6 dogs absolutely loved it and it was truly amazing to be able to relax as they wandered in and out of the large secure garden has they pleased We are talking 6 springers here! One of them would escape given a chance but he couldn't find any little hole to even try . Happisburgh lighthouse is on the doorstep along with lovely coastal walks.Thank You so much to the owners and everyone involved in East Ruston Cottages for this beautiful place and all the doggie and human treats on arrival. Truly dog friendly place and we will be back has you know next year and many years to come ;-)
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
9 reviews
“Rooster Barn - lovely week”
Reviewed 27th September 2016
We had a lovely week in Rooster Barn, made even better by the fantastic weather. The barn is very well located for exploring north Norfolk - we were amazed at how many beautiful beaches there are and how dog friendly they were. Our dog enjoyed the treats in the welcome pack and we appreciated the human treats, particularly the home baked goodies and the local produce. The barn was very cosy and well equipped and garden was dog friendly and secure. There's a village shop nearby which is very convienient and a pub. We had a great time and will be returning to Norfolk soon!
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“The Old Piggery, East Ruston”
Reviewed 25th September 2016
We have all just returned from another superb holiday in The Old Piggery -- we're a little reluctant to let everyone know how wonderful this place is - but it is such a joy to be able to go on holiday to a place that is truly dog friendly and not just dog tolerant - so we felt we must share.
The Old Piggery is wonderfully equipped with everything that the whole family could possibly need (humans and four legged friends) and is maintained to a great standard throughout. A welcome pack on arrival that caters for the dogs as well as the rest of the family. A secure and safe courtyard area that even our best doggy escape artist has not managed to crack. The cottage is in a superb location with lots to do and places to explore. The beaches nearby are superb and provide excellent opportunities to walk or just sit and watch the world go by.
Needless to say we've already booked for next year :-)
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Corner Cottage - Lessingham”
Reviewed 19th September 2016
We have just returned from a week at Corner Cottage. The cottage is lovely and has everything that you and your pooch will need for your hols. The décor is lovely and the location is great and only a small walk from the local pub which does great meals. The beaches are just the best in this area, we were there when it was really hot weather and even though there were more people out and about the beaches were never overcrowded. Just love Norfolk and will be back :)
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Milestone Barn”
Reviewed 18th September 2016
A fabulous place to stay, great location and excellent for dogs. Garden is secure for most dogs - an enthusiastic smaller dog might squeeze under the gate. We had dreadful weather while we were there, but it didn't stop us enjoying the beaches and the barn itself was very snug and comfortable.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Myrtle Cottage 3rd - 10th Sept 2016”
Reviewed 15th September 2016
Had a lovely stay at Myrtle Cottage. Enjoyed the goodies left for all of us. Loved walking on the beaches and around Rollesby . Winterton on sea great for the dogs. So nice to find a holiday property so dog friendly. Having huskies its quite a challenge to find somewhere with space and security. Thankyou Jean and Neal you have thought of it all.
Karen, Dave. Diesel, Lunar, Suki , Kato and Stark
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“A great place for a doggie friendly vacation”
Reviewed 6th September 2016
We have just returned from yet another great holiday booked with East Ruston Cottages. This time we stayed in Heather Cottage which is ideally situated for walks on the lovely beach & even closer to the local pub which serves really good food. I would definitely recommend to anyone looking to spend some time in Norfolk.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“The old piggery”
Reviewed 30th August 2016
This is the second year of having a holiday through east Ruston cottages and the first time at the old piggery, what can I say ! It was fantastic, with 4 Spaniels it was their ideal setting ,lovely walks just outside the front door ,10 minuets from the very dog friendly cart gap beach or happisburgh beach, the cottage has everything a dog could wish for and therefore a very relaxing time for us humans and to cap it all we had such good weather so I booked another holiday for next year.

Sally and 4 spaniels
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Running Hare Barn”
Reviewed 18th August 2016
Many houses advertised as dog friendly actually only pay lip service to that statement. With East Ruston Cottages you can be assured they mean what they say. Staying at Running Hare Barn I was aware of the considerable thought, love and attention to detail the owners have shown. This is not a typical holiday house, no skimping here. On the contrary a determined effort to produce a first class experience at the same time incorporating features to reduce the demand on our natural resources. Dogs are catered for in every respect from the pretty, enclosed yard , including warm dog shower to the indoor dog safety zone enabling your pet to be left securely should the need arise, also plenty of accessories from water bowls to beds, large and small.
A wonderful house allowing you and your dogs to feel relaxed in a welcoming environment with the added bonus of rural walks and superb beaches on your doorstep. What more do you need!
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Corner Cottage, Lessingham”
Reviewed 13th August 2016
We (7 humans ranging from 10 months to 63 years and 4 dogs from 11 weeks to 3 years!) have just returned from a wonderful week's holiday at Corner Cottage. Super holiday home, great standards throughout: kitchen equipment, beds/bedding, goodies - home made jam and victoria sponge and dog treats - and great attention to small details. Super location: dog friendly beaches; seal watching; lovely walks and secure gardens for small children and canine friends.
We are happy to highly recommend East Ruston Cottages; all queries answered quickly and helpfully, just a pleasure from first contact to the very end. We look forward to returning to this, or another of the properties, in the future.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“White Cottage, Happisburgh”
Reviewed 11th August 2016
On our second visit to White Cottage we had a really relaxing break. A lovely cottage very near the beach, very well equipped and clean, both for humans and dogs! Totally enclosed garden, so you can relax with the family and enjoy a BBQ or two. A short walk to the village pub which welcomes dogs. Plenty to see and do in the area from stately homes, beaches, pubs, gardens, watching the wildlife, or just relaxing with a good book.

We will return...
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Running Hare Barn”
Reviewed 11th August 2016
Where do I begin,, from start to finish we have had the most fantastic family holiday in accommodation to die for, space to spread ourselves , facilities that were beyond any of our expectations, well equipped with everything you could possibly need and a lovely welcome pack for humans and dogs. The attention to detail was brilliant, where can you get a warm dog shower in the garden after a day at the beach and somewhere for them to dry off without the worry they were on the couch as a dog room is included, they really have thought of everything. Our grandson is till telling people about the room with the big telly and Wow that's a big tv not that we had time for watching it . A truly amazing place to stay, we have had many holidays in The UK ,(Norfolk many times )with our dogs and have struggled to find somewhere to stay that was anywhere near the high standard that we managed to find here, i had actually given up and it was our son that found East Ruston cottages and we are so thankful he did. We hope to be back next year in another of East Ruston Cottages now we know the exceptional standard they have achieved in Running Hare Barn. Thank you Sue and Dermot from all the Heath's.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Rooster Barn- Surpassed all expectations!”
Reviewed 8th August 2016
We had an amazing week at Rooster Barn. The welcome goodies were such a thoughtful touch for us & our lab. The standard of the barn is very high, its beautiful, clean and yet homely. We felt very relaxed. The huge garden was such a bonus for our children & dog. They could explore their surroundings safely which made us feel at ease. The ERC dog tag & holiday collar such a good idea. The added extras all made our stay extra special. We were very sad to leave & already booking for next year! Highly recommend. Thank you ERC
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Running Hare Barn”
Reviewed 28th June 2016
As the first guests in the newly converted Running Hare Barn we could hardly pass up the chance to write a review.
The barn is splendid and is a real tribute to to the painstaking design and workmanship which Dermot and Sue have carried out. The building has a lovely friendly feel to it and is fitted out very luxuriously, equipped with everything you could possibly need , even a warm shower for dogs, which I was not aware I needed until I tried it! Works well for children too. The accommodation is spacious and the feeling of interior space and height has been preserved by the 'open to the rafters' central area of the barn. There is a a very attractive and sheltered courtyard garden and lovely walks on the doorstep. Our three lively spaniels were welcomed and the open pen area inside the front door was a perfect place for the dogs to dry off and sleep .
We would certainly recommend this as a charming and unique place to stay in one of the nicest areas of rural Norfolk.

Chris H and family
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Just as promised and more besides”
Reviewed 28th June 2016
Fabulous stay at Wind in the Willows part of East Ruston Cottages. A cosy Shepherds Hut full of charm and everything you could possibly need for a tranquil get away . A week with no TV or internet but with games and a radio and a warm welcome and a lot more besides. Just perfect.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Heather Cottage, Happisburgh, Norfolk”
Reviewed 19th June 2016
Fabulously equipped dog-friendly cottage in the heart of a quiet, peaceful coastal village.
It had everything from dishwasher tablets to dog biscuits and is by far the best rental property I have ever stayed in. It was immaculately clean and tidy, but welcoming and comfy with plenty of space for 5 adults and a dog! He loved the secure garden and it was nice to have off street parking too. The area is really dog friendly and we even took our dog boating on the Broads! Highly recommend this picturesque cottage and hope to go back soon.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Convenient Snowdrop”
Reviewed 14th June 2016
Just spent a great week at Snowdrop Cottage, Winterton on Sea. Great little cottage with a lovely open plan layout downstairs and two bedrooms upstairs, and a nice long garden perfect for playing "fetch" . Ideally situated for touring along the coast in either direction or simply walking the dunes or fabulous year round dog friendly beach.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Always a perfect holiday”
Reviewed 12th June 2016
We have stayed, along with our 2 dogs with East Rushtom cottages for the last 3 years. They are incredibly dog friendly with lovely welcoming hosts, welcome packs and plenty of information on places to visit. Really can't praise them enough
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Dog paradise.”
Reviewed 12th June 2016
Just got back from a wonderful relaxing week at Walnut Farmhouse Waxham...weather was good to us which always helps but the house was very spacious and gardens were delightful.. Norfolk is so dog friendly, lovely walks and beaches were practically empty..apart from a colony of seals we came across. ( a sight we will always remember) had a day trip,on a cruiser and rest of holiday spent walking and re,axing, the gardens and house absorbed a family gathering of over thirty people with ease. Highly recommend, dog friendly places like walnut farmhouse are a godsend...many thanks.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Mid Thatch cottage.”
Reviewed 7th June 2016
Beautiful very welcoming cottage, basket of essentials and dog biscuits to welcome you.
Lovely sandy beach very dog friendly, neighbors and local people very friendly and make you feel so at home, did not want to leave. Will definietly be returning.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 6th June 2016
My friend and I visited Holmes house in April 2016 with 10 dogs between us.
The house is friendly and inviting,it doesn't look like a show house that I would be worried about spoiling with with my rabble. The hall is very wet dog friendly with a stone floor. It has a lovely warm comfortable feel,I could've stayed forever. There's a nice big garden with parking for a couple of cars within it,so no need to put dogs on lead when you get back each day,just shut the gate and open the car and they can mooch around to their hearts content.
There is a footpath less than 5 minutes from the door plus of course so many beautiful sandy beaches.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Holmes House”
Reviewed 6th June 2016
I just did not want to leave. This is such an amazing cottage and just perfect for the dogs. We received a lovely welcome and made to feel at home straight away. I can't recommend it enough although a little reluctantly as it may get booked up too much !!
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“The very lovely Daisy Cottage”
Reviewed 31st May 2016
Stayed at Daisy Cottage for a week in May, and it is the most dog friendly cottage we've ever stayed at. A super location, minutes from the beach, a large garden, multiple dog beds, bowls, throws, toys, even home made dog biscuits on arrival, all your dog requires. Add to this, the fact that it's a lovely cottage with all you need, and more, and it makes for a great holiday. The only downside is that we had one very sulky Retriever when we left.
Sea Palling is a tiny place, but everywhere is remarkably dog friendly, in fact I think it's bordering on compulsory to have a dog there.
If you want a relaxing holiday, in a lovely cottage, a stroll away from the beach, in a village where dogs take priority, Daisy Cottage is for you.

Andy
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Daisy Cottage - Sea Palling”
Reviewed 22nd May 2016
Great house for a holiday. Lovely welcome pack for us and the dogs. Well equipped with everything that you would normally have at home. Information pack told us everything we needed for the house and a lot of useful information for surrounding area.
Already booked to go with East Ruston Cottages for next year.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Apethorpe, Northamptonshire, East Midlands
1 review
“Short stay Mid Thatch”
Reviewed 16th May 2016
Stayed at the recently re curb Mid Thatch. Four adults and two dogs. Accommodation was lovely. Welcome basket of local goodies and fresh eggs when we arrived as well as doggie treats for Finn and Mya. Property had all we needed, beds were remarkably comfortable, my husband has a back problem and beds are normally an issue, however the beds were lovely and firm. Spoils with underfloor heating in living room ( it was cold on day we arrived), dogs loved it to. Lovely fleeces for them to snuggle up in to. Good location for getting to Wroxham/Wells etc. Really enjoyable short stay. Owner very accommodating as we could only do 3 very specific days as daughter had travelled from Oz and was trying to fit various other things in, so a big thank you for that.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
We’re Social! Facebook Facebook Facebook Facebook Connect With Us