Portsonachan Hotel

Places To Stay | Portsonachan, Argyll and Bute, Scotland | 01866 833224 | www.portsonachanhotel.co.uk

Portsonachan Hotel say:

We are a pet friendly hotel overlooking the shores of the beautiful Loch Awe, set in the beautiful landscape of Argyll & Bute, Scotland, We offer a wide range of accommodation from Log Cabins, to Loch Side Apartments, to standard en-suite hotel rooms.

Portsonachan Hotel
90% of users rated this business as excellent or very good.
Ranked 1 in Places To Stay in Argyll and Bute
Ranking calculated based on average score and the most reviews. Businesses need more than 5 reviews to feature at the top.
10 reviews

Recent review

12th February 2018
“Home from home”
What can we say about portsonachan hotel well....the staff are amazing and will do anything for you and always with a smile, so dog friendly and very…

10 people have reviewed Portsonachan Hotel


Member ratings

Excellent
6
Very Good
3
Average
1
Poor
0
Terrible
0

Rating summary

Dog Friendly
Standard of accommodation
Value for money
10 reviews (1 page) sorted by
1 review
“Home from home”
Reviewed 12th February 2018
What can we say about portsonachan hotel well....the staff are amazing and will do anything for you and always with a smile, so dog friendly and very welcoming the apartment was very warming and welcoming with a great view, , there are great walks close by and a lovely welcoming bar waiting for your return. The breakfasts are extremely filling and perfectly cooked with a great menu...thank you from the Boyd's and our 2 very happy dogs Lucy and Marley....see you soon x
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Truly Dog Friendly”
Reviewed 31st March 2017
We have just come home from a 3 night stay here with our 3 dogs and cant recommend it enough for being a really lovely dog friendly place. The staff were excellent and made us and the dogs very welcome. There were plenty of great walks and the 2 labs loved going in the Loch for a swim
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Christmas Visit”
Reviewed 30th December 2016
Arrived to a warm welcome. The lodge we stayed in was excellent. I took my 2 cocker spaniels. They were welcomed warmly. Breakfast was amazing. Dinner was great. Think the staffing could be improved but we had no issues with it. Lovely walks with the dogs too. Would definitely return
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Watford, Hertfordshire, East
1 review
“First time visitors”
Reviewed 3rd October 2016
Booked via local craft fair advertisement. Location superb. Hotel a little overcome by demand v supply (staffing) on first night's dining experience. Food was quite good but not overly considered value for cost. Staff very busy but tried hard and always with a smile! Breakfast good. Overall view - an interesting venue that looks al little 'tired' overall but based in superb location. Possibly a little stretched on occasions in delivering to the numbers of guests it attracts.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Perfect Portsonachan Hotel Self Catering Cottages.”
Reviewed 30th August 2016
We stayed for three nights 14/08/16-17/08/16 B&B in The Rassay cottage which is the self catering cottage attached to the main hotel. We were a party of eight, two adults two teenagers & four well behaved dogs, two were allowed in the cottage & the other two slept in the dog crate in the car. We had the best time ever!!The dogs were made to feel welcome wherever we went & the Hotel staff couldn't do enough for us. The cottage was spotlessly clean with everything we could need for a self catering holiday & a very comfortable bed too!!
Breakfast at the hotel was delicious!! lovely bacon,haggis & sauages, plenty of cereals & toast... enough to fill you up until teatime. We would definately recommend Portsonachan Hotel Self Catering Cottages for responsible dog owners.
Couldn't fault it.!!...10/10 all round great place to holiday. Can't wait to go back next year.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Dogs truly welcome - and humans happy too!!”
Reviewed 14th July 2016
Just returned from a short break at this very welcoming country hotel. Many places which say 'Dogs Welcome' actually mean dogs tolerated! Not this hotel, whose charming staff cannot do enough to keep dogs and owners happy. We had a small dog friendly apartment (Arklett) which was set a little apart from the main hotel, on a B & B basis, and which was very clean and comfortable. We were able to park outside the door too. We chose not to take our dogs to meals but could have done so if we wished. We did take them to the comfortable hotel lounge for coffee and they were much feted and given treats. The deal for owners was excellent value for money with good fresh food. As an added bonus the whole local area is extremely dog friendly and we and our dogs were welcomed with open arms at tourist attractions. The photo is of our dogs on their evening stroll in the area immediately behind the hotel. We hope to return and would certainly recommend.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Fantastic ”
Reviewed 23rd June 2016
We have just spent three nights in this fantastic hotel .our room overlooked the loch .the food was great .and the hard working staff very helpful . I would recommend this hotel to anyone . And we will be back .
Thank you to all who looked after us .
Kathleen and Richard Tansley Coventry
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“A perfect location and dog friendly hotel”
Reviewed 13th June 2016
We've just returned from having had a wonderful 3 night stay at The Portsonachan and would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a quiet, peaceful location with magnificent views.
Danny on reception greeted us on arrival and made us feel most welcome.
Like many others, we had read some of the negative reviews, and we're a bit apprehensive. We needn't have worried, as the room we were allocated (Etive) was a lovely, bright, clean little room in the dog friendly coach house. We had a waterfall by the back door and was a great place to watch the vast array of garden
birds hopping from tree to tree. There were lovely reododendrons on the bank which were in flower and some superb wooden sculptures of deer placed between.
Please note though- there is a steep stairway to this room on the first floor that some may find difficult to climb, so ensure you mention this at the time of confirming your reservation.
We enjoyed afternoon tea on the patio whilst admiring the magnificnt views and relaxed in the warm sunshine. Danny even provided a bowl of cold water for the dog and took time to explain where we could visit and some of the walks we could enjoy locally- he is a wealth of information and is a great asset to the hotel
Breakfast is served from 7.30am until 10.00am which was great for us as we like to get an early start. The was a good selection, cooked to order, served on hot plates, and the quality was excellent. The staff are very friendly and the service was efficient. We also dined at the hotel each evening and we were not dissapointed. There was a good quality appetising selection, well presented and reasonably priced.
During our stay we visited Kilchurn Castle, Inveraray, Loch Etive, Oban and Seil Island. There are so many places to see, we'll have to return and can recomend The Portsonachan without any hesitation.
Many thanks to all concerned and we'll look forward to staying with you in the future- we may even upgrade to a lock view apartment next time.

  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Fantastic break”
Reviewed 13th February 2016
My partner and I stayed in February 2016 with our two dogs. We were in the lochside self catering apartments and included with our break, had full access to the hotel with our dogs for some beautiful breakfasts and evening meals. All of us (including the dogs) couldn't have been looked after any better - wonderful staff team and management. Nothing was too much trouble.
The location itself is too beautiful for words, situated on the edge of the loch with nothing to disturb the peace. Mountains across the loch snow capped - picture perfect.
We will certainly visit again and it is fantastic to know our dogs will be made so welcome - they are part of our family!
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Brillant Stay”
Reviewed 9th February 2015
My partner and i stayed at Portsonachan Hotel In January a sort break away we took our small dog with us, we stayed in one of the loch side apartment we were on a bed and breakfast basis but the apartment was self catering which had everything you need. We had a balcony over looking the loch.The apartment was beautiful.
The area around the hotel was perfect for dogs walks along the lochside and fanstatic walks on the hill tops, you can bring your dog into the hotel and they are very helpful and make you feel welcome.
we will be going back and taking the dog again as its rare to find a hotel so geared up for dog owners.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
We’re Social! Facebook Facebook Facebook Facebook Connect With Us