East Ruston Cottages

View Business Profile Places To Stay | East Ruston, Norfolk, England | 077 66665684 | eastrustoncottages.co.uk

East Ruston Cottages say:

Very dog friendly holiday accommodation in rural and coastal Norfolk. Properties range from a Shepherd's hut to a large thatched house on the coast with plenty to choose from in between. All have enclosed gardens and great walks nearby. All near sandy, dog friendly beaches. Not an agency, just me, Sue Allen running properties owned by people I know in an area I love and have lived in for over 20 years.

East Ruston Cottages
99% of users rated this business as excellent or very good.
Ranked 1 in Places To Stay in Norfolk
Ranking calculated based on average score and the most reviews. Businesses need more than 5 reviews to feature at the top.
170 reviews

Recent review

8th September 2019
“East Ruston Cottages can't be faulted”
We have stayed at lots or ERC's cottages, and visited several of them more than once. They are an efficiently run organisation, and this makes booking…

170 people have reviewed East Ruston Cottages


Member ratings

Excellent
166
Very Good
3
Average
0
Poor
1
Terrible
0

Rating summary

Dog Friendly
Standard of accommodation
Value for money
170 reviews (1 page) sorted by
2 reviews
“Mid Thatch Sea Palling”
Reviewed 5th February 2017
This is our 5th east Euston holiday, our second in Sea Palling and first at Mid Thatch. As ever cottage was comfortable and very clean. Lots of nice touches with dog bowls, throw for the sofa and treats for us and Bonnie. Sea Palling has a wonderful sandy beach a 5 min walk from the cottage either across the field behind or down the road. Often we were the only ones on the beach. V dog friendly bar and cafe and lots of dog friendly places near by.
David, Deborah and Bonnie
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Norwich, Norfolk, East
1 review
“Heather Cottage”
Reviewed 4th February 2017
Really lovely break in this this super cottage. Probably the best equipped holiday accommodation I've ever stayed in. Great kitchen, wonderful sofas, comfy beds and cosy, cosy, cosy. The welcome basket was lovely and the phrase 'dog-friendly' is no exaggeration; beds, towels, blankets, biscuits, bowls and an inescapable garden (I can assure you my little girl would have found a way if possible!)
Lovely walk to the beach and lots of friendly dog walkers to boot
Fab week and desperately looking to see when I can return!
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Running Hare Barn ”
Reviewed 23rd January 2017
Wonderful property, Really Love this barn, set up wonderfully well for humans and their dog family excellently well
beautiful
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Lovely time at Mid Thatch”
Reviewed 22nd January 2017
I booked this cottage as a short break for a few days for me and my husband and our 2 dogs - we have a 13 year old cantankerous westie and a 7 year old devil dog who is very lively! The cottage was great for both of them and it was comfortable for the humans too! We took our own bedding as the dogs were sleeping upstairs but the bedding provided was of excellent quality. The cottage is situated down a very quiet lane and is only 5 minutes walk to the shop and the same again to a gorgeous little beach that both dogs loved.

The cottage was smaller than it looked in the pictures but it had everything we needed and there was a gorgeous welcome pack left for us and some biscuits for the dogs.

I would definitely return for a short break.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Christmas at Farthing Cottage”
Reviewed 1st January 2017
What a great place. Underfloor heating was a hit. Very Dog Friendly. Loads of blankets, bowls and toys. Garden all inclosed so no worries about the dogs. Lovely 2 bedrooms with TV. Good size bathroom. Kitchen had all the mod cons. We were surprised with xmas gifts for ourselves and the dogs. Would recommend to friends
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Heather Cottage”
Reviewed 1st January 2017
Had a lovely Christmas at Heather Cottage.
The cottage was cosy and very dog friendly , thoughtful dog biscuits and bottle of champagne in arrival.... very friendly pub within crawling distance! Lovely quiet dog friendly beaches all around, including the beach at happisburgh just a few minutes walk. Highly recommend!
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Corner Cottage”
Reviewed 21st November 2016
We stayed at Corner Cottage for a few days mid October. The cottage was warm and cosy and beautifully furnished to a standard much higher than the usual 'dog friendly' accommodation. The garden was well fenced and secure enough to keep our 2 Samoyeds and beagle from roaming. The area was lovely and the local beach, less than a mile from the cottage, sported friendly locals with their dogs, and seals bobbing around near the shore. Overall it was a great place to stay.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Short break in Mid Thatch cottage Sea Palling”
Reviewed 19th November 2016
We were recommended to look at the East Rushton Cottages website by a friend who had stayed during the year and we are so glad we did.
MId Thatch Cottage is ideally located for the beautiful beaches with miles of sand and dunes to walk and explore. The cottage is very cosy and was ideal for my husband and I with our Irish Setter Florence, she loved the under floor heating, the cosy throws and of course the welcome bowl of dog biscuits - what a thoughtful touch.
We have already recommended to friends with dogs and we will be returning.

Thanks

Sue, Paul and Florence.

  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Fantastic Doggy Holiday”
Reviewed 2nd November 2016
Just returned home from a week at Holmes House. We couldn't have been made more welcome in all aspects. Genuinely dog friendly unlike so many places that are just dog tolerant.
The house was lovely and the garden was fully enclosed - perfect for two slightly anxious dogs to rampage around in safely. The walks (and bike rides) right on the doorstep were an absolute joy - we literally walked for miles without meeting another soul
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Brentwood, Essex, East
2 reviews
“Super short break at Mid Thatch in Sea Palling ”
Reviewed 25th October 2016
We had a truly lovely three night break at Mid Thatch Cottage in Sea Palling. This isn't the second dog friendly break we have bookedthrough East Ruston Cottages and we have a third booked for January @. We have been impressed by both the quality of the cottages and the friendly and efficient booking service from Sue.
The cottage was cosy and very well presented . The wood burning stove and lovely under floor heating mean that it will be comfortable year round. Super comfortable beds and everything you could need in the kitchen area. Lovely shower room too ! The welcome goodies including local cake and treats for our two beagle girls were a lovely touch. The sun trap paved yard area at the front of the house was brilliant for the dogs and you could walk to the beach across th field path or through the village. A handy local store, fish and chip shop and The Reefs Bar means that most needs are catered for. We would recommend both e cottage and East Ruston Cottages as a company. We wished we had booked for a week and we're sorry to leave.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“We'll be back!”
Reviewed 6th October 2016
We stayed at the Old Piggery and absolutely loved it. George, our reactive rescue dog, relaxed immediately which meant we did too! The location was great, so quiet and peaceful but with several dog friendly beaches close by and lots of walks
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Running Hare Barn”
Reviewed 3rd October 2016
Wow, a great place to stay, very dog friendly (enclosed garden, warm outside dog shower, dog drying area with underfloor heating, dog throws, doggy welcome pack, dog toys, the list goes on.....), yet still managing to be a luxury break for us humans!! Lovely Barn conversion, very well done, with lots of attention to detail through-out. We loved the steam shower and the slipper baths, especially after a long day out walking the gang over the local fantastic beaches. Sue and Dermott are great hosts, there if you need them but not in your face. We loved it here and will be back!
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Rooster Barn”
Reviewed 3rd October 2016
Such a dog friendly barn with everything you could possibly need, large garden for them to run and play and no extra charges. Warm and welcoming for humans too, very quiet but near to lovely beaches and places to visit. It is just a wonderful place to stay - will definitely book this again and highly recommend this property.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
3 reviews
“Excellent week at Orchard Cottage”
Reviewed 3rd October 2016
A fantastic week in Orchard Cottage, a great place to stay with a very secure garden, a lovely walk from the sea and very comfortable.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Petrockstowe, Devon, South West
1 review
“HEATHER COTTAGE HAPPSBURGH”
Reviewed 3rd October 2016
A wonderful week was spent with our family at Heather Cottage, 4 adults 1 toddler and 3 dogs. The cottage was ideally situated for wonderful dog walks and a few minutes in the car to beautiful beaches. We couldnt believe how friendly Norfolk is towards dogs, our county of Devon is not as friendly during the season which is such a shame. Plenty of water bowls outside shops for pooches that have had a great time on the beach. The local pubs and restaurants were very dog friendly and food at the local pub was very good. The cottage itself was very comfortable and had every comfort. Would love to return again. Barbara and Keith Rooke
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Darwen, Lancashire, North West
2 reviews
“White Cottage Happisburgh September 2016”
Reviewed 28th September 2016
Just come back from a week at White Cottage. The gang are still in recovery positions � Certainly not a disappointment. Our 6 dogs absolutely loved it and it was truly amazing to be able to relax as they wandered in and out of the large secure garden has they pleased We are talking 6 springers here! One of them would escape given a chance but he couldn't find any little hole to even try . Happisburgh lighthouse is on the doorstep along with lovely coastal walks.Thank You so much to the owners and everyone involved in East Ruston Cottages for this beautiful place and all the doggie and human treats on arrival. Truly dog friendly place and we will be back has you know next year and many years to come ;-)
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
9 reviews
“Rooster Barn - lovely week”
Reviewed 27th September 2016
We had a lovely week in Rooster Barn, made even better by the fantastic weather. The barn is very well located for exploring north Norfolk - we were amazed at how many beautiful beaches there are and how dog friendly they were. Our dog enjoyed the treats in the welcome pack and we appreciated the human treats, particularly the home baked goodies and the local produce. The barn was very cosy and well equipped and garden was dog friendly and secure. There's a village shop nearby which is very convienient and a pub. We had a great time and will be returning to Norfolk soon!
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“The Old Piggery, East Ruston”
Reviewed 25th September 2016
We have all just returned from another superb holiday in The Old Piggery -- we're a little reluctant to let everyone know how wonderful this place is - but it is such a joy to be able to go on holiday to a place that is truly dog friendly and not just dog tolerant - so we felt we must share.
The Old Piggery is wonderfully equipped with everything that the whole family could possibly need (humans and four legged friends) and is maintained to a great standard throughout. A welcome pack on arrival that caters for the dogs as well as the rest of the family. A secure and safe courtyard area that even our best doggy escape artist has not managed to crack. The cottage is in a superb location with lots to do and places to explore. The beaches nearby are superb and provide excellent opportunities to walk or just sit and watch the world go by.
Needless to say we've already booked for next year :-)
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Corner Cottage - Lessingham”
Reviewed 19th September 2016
We have just returned from a week at Corner Cottage. The cottage is lovely and has everything that you and your pooch will need for your hols. The décor is lovely and the location is great and only a small walk from the local pub which does great meals. The beaches are just the best in this area, we were there when it was really hot weather and even though there were more people out and about the beaches were never overcrowded. Just love Norfolk and will be back :)
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Milestone Barn”
Reviewed 18th September 2016
A fabulous place to stay, great location and excellent for dogs. Garden is secure for most dogs - an enthusiastic smaller dog might squeeze under the gate. We had dreadful weather while we were there, but it didn't stop us enjoying the beaches and the barn itself was very snug and comfortable.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Myrtle Cottage 3rd - 10th Sept 2016”
Reviewed 15th September 2016
Had a lovely stay at Myrtle Cottage. Enjoyed the goodies left for all of us. Loved walking on the beaches and around Rollesby . Winterton on sea great for the dogs. So nice to find a holiday property so dog friendly. Having huskies its quite a challenge to find somewhere with space and security. Thankyou Jean and Neal you have thought of it all.
Karen, Dave. Diesel, Lunar, Suki , Kato and Stark
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“A great place for a doggie friendly vacation”
Reviewed 6th September 2016
We have just returned from yet another great holiday booked with East Ruston Cottages. This time we stayed in Heather Cottage which is ideally situated for walks on the lovely beach & even closer to the local pub which serves really good food. I would definitely recommend to anyone looking to spend some time in Norfolk.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“The old piggery”
Reviewed 30th August 2016
This is the second year of having a holiday through east Ruston cottages and the first time at the old piggery, what can I say ! It was fantastic, with 4 Spaniels it was their ideal setting ,lovely walks just outside the front door ,10 minuets from the very dog friendly cart gap beach or happisburgh beach, the cottage has everything a dog could wish for and therefore a very relaxing time for us humans and to cap it all we had such good weather so I booked another holiday for next year.

Sally and 4 spaniels
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Running Hare Barn”
Reviewed 18th August 2016
Many houses advertised as dog friendly actually only pay lip service to that statement. With East Ruston Cottages you can be assured they mean what they say. Staying at Running Hare Barn I was aware of the considerable thought, love and attention to detail the owners have shown. This is not a typical holiday house, no skimping here. On the contrary a determined effort to produce a first class experience at the same time incorporating features to reduce the demand on our natural resources. Dogs are catered for in every respect from the pretty, enclosed yard , including warm dog shower to the indoor dog safety zone enabling your pet to be left securely should the need arise, also plenty of accessories from water bowls to beds, large and small.
A wonderful house allowing you and your dogs to feel relaxed in a welcoming environment with the added bonus of rural walks and superb beaches on your doorstep. What more do you need!
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Corner Cottage, Lessingham”
Reviewed 13th August 2016
We (7 humans ranging from 10 months to 63 years and 4 dogs from 11 weeks to 3 years!) have just returned from a wonderful week's holiday at Corner Cottage. Super holiday home, great standards throughout: kitchen equipment, beds/bedding, goodies - home made jam and victoria sponge and dog treats - and great attention to small details. Super location: dog friendly beaches; seal watching; lovely walks and secure gardens for small children and canine friends.
We are happy to highly recommend East Ruston Cottages; all queries answered quickly and helpfully, just a pleasure from first contact to the very end. We look forward to returning to this, or another of the properties, in the future.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“White Cottage, Happisburgh”
Reviewed 11th August 2016
On our second visit to White Cottage we had a really relaxing break. A lovely cottage very near the beach, very well equipped and clean, both for humans and dogs! Totally enclosed garden, so you can relax with the family and enjoy a BBQ or two. A short walk to the village pub which welcomes dogs. Plenty to see and do in the area from stately homes, beaches, pubs, gardens, watching the wildlife, or just relaxing with a good book.

We will return...
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Running Hare Barn”
Reviewed 11th August 2016
Where do I begin,, from start to finish we have had the most fantastic family holiday in accommodation to die for, space to spread ourselves , facilities that were beyond any of our expectations, well equipped with everything you could possibly need and a lovely welcome pack for humans and dogs. The attention to detail was brilliant, where can you get a warm dog shower in the garden after a day at the beach and somewhere for them to dry off without the worry they were on the couch as a dog room is included, they really have thought of everything. Our grandson is till telling people about the room with the big telly and Wow that's a big tv not that we had time for watching it . A truly amazing place to stay, we have had many holidays in The UK ,(Norfolk many times )with our dogs and have struggled to find somewhere to stay that was anywhere near the high standard that we managed to find here, i had actually given up and it was our son that found East Ruston cottages and we are so thankful he did. We hope to be back next year in another of East Ruston Cottages now we know the exceptional standard they have achieved in Running Hare Barn. Thank you Sue and Dermot from all the Heath's.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Rooster Barn- Surpassed all expectations!”
Reviewed 8th August 2016
We had an amazing week at Rooster Barn. The welcome goodies were such a thoughtful touch for us & our lab. The standard of the barn is very high, its beautiful, clean and yet homely. We felt very relaxed. The huge garden was such a bonus for our children & dog. They could explore their surroundings safely which made us feel at ease. The ERC dog tag & holiday collar such a good idea. The added extras all made our stay extra special. We were very sad to leave & already booking for next year! Highly recommend. Thank you ERC
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Running Hare Barn”
Reviewed 28th June 2016
As the first guests in the newly converted Running Hare Barn we could hardly pass up the chance to write a review.
The barn is splendid and is a real tribute to to the painstaking design and workmanship which Dermot and Sue have carried out. The building has a lovely friendly feel to it and is fitted out very luxuriously, equipped with everything you could possibly need , even a warm shower for dogs, which I was not aware I needed until I tried it! Works well for children too. The accommodation is spacious and the feeling of interior space and height has been preserved by the 'open to the rafters' central area of the barn. There is a a very attractive and sheltered courtyard garden and lovely walks on the doorstep. Our three lively spaniels were welcomed and the open pen area inside the front door was a perfect place for the dogs to dry off and sleep .
We would certainly recommend this as a charming and unique place to stay in one of the nicest areas of rural Norfolk.

Chris H and family
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Just as promised and more besides”
Reviewed 28th June 2016
Fabulous stay at Wind in the Willows part of East Ruston Cottages. A cosy Shepherds Hut full of charm and everything you could possibly need for a tranquil get away . A week with no TV or internet but with games and a radio and a warm welcome and a lot more besides. Just perfect.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
We’re Social! Facebook Facebook Facebook Facebook Connect With Us