East Ruston Cottages

View Business Profile Places To Stay | East Ruston, Norfolk, England | 077 66665684 | eastrustoncottages.co.uk

East Ruston Cottages say:

Very dog friendly holiday accommodation in rural and coastal Norfolk. Properties range from a Shepherd's hut to a large thatched house on the coast with plenty to choose from in between. All have enclosed gardens and great walks nearby. All near sandy, dog friendly beaches. Not an agency, just me, Sue Allen running properties owned by people I know in an area I love and have lived in for over 20 years.

East Ruston Cottages
99% of users rated this business as excellent or very good.
Ranked 1 in Places To Stay in Norfolk
Ranking calculated based on average score and the most reviews. Businesses need more than 5 reviews to feature at the top.
170 reviews

Recent review

8th September 2019
“East Ruston Cottages can't be faulted”
We have stayed at lots or ERC's cottages, and visited several of them more than once. They are an efficiently run organisation, and this makes booking…

170 people have reviewed East Ruston Cottages


Member ratings

Excellent
166
Very Good
3
Average
0
Poor
1
Terrible
0

Rating summary

Dog Friendly
Standard of accommodation
Value for money
170 reviews (1 page) sorted by
1 review
“The best dog friendly house and garden”
Reviewed 23rd September 2015
This is our second holiday at Thatcher's booked East Ruston Cottages, a comfortable and spacious house with a beautiful huge garden which is completely secure and so perfect for our three greyhounds who don't often get so much opportunity to stretch their legs.
A beautiful house with all home comforts, and the loveliest garden. Lots of interesting places to visit, walks on the doorstep and plenty of pubs and restaurants within a short drive.
A really dog friendly place to stay which is of a high quality and very comfortable. If you want to be lord and lady of the manor for the week this is the place for you. Can't recommend it highly enough.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Truly dog-friendly”
Reviewed 21st September 2015
This was our second holiday booked through East Ruston Cottages, and we will be booking again! The properties listed on East Ruston Cottages are truly dog-friendly; they are positively welcomed and their needs and comfort are catered for. This year we stayed at The Lodge in East Ruston, which was well equipped and very comfortable. There are lovely walks all around and it's an ideal base for visiting local villages and the coast.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Fabulous Cottage”
Reviewed 18th September 2015
We stayed at Farthing Cottage in Trunch in September. This was the first time we had stayed in a self catering cottage and were not disappointed. The cottage had everything you could possibly need and more but best of all was very dog friendly with a small but fully secure garden. Lots of places to visit nearby and The Crown pub a couple of minutes walk away. We loved it so much we have booked it again for November/December
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Wow what a beautiful place to stay”
Reviewed 21st August 2015
Thatchers is a wonderful 5 bedroomed house set in Happisburgh, just a short distance from the beach. It is completely dog friendly and with just over an acre of garden to the house, there is plenty to keep your dog happy as well as being so quiet and peaceful to just sit in and chill! The silence was broken by just the sounds of cricket practise across the road and bell ringing on Thursday night and the sounds of the waves wafting across from the adjoining field. The facilities in the house were excellent, it was clean and airy and well maintained. The owners were friendly and approachable. The fresh home made cake waiting for our arrival was much appreciated. I always worry about where the dogs are allowed access in a holiday home and I was not disappointed here. The downstairs lobby and courtyard outside the back door was perfect for night time. There was even a purpose built kennel tucked away in the garden if required. Within the house they pretty much had access downstairs although not allowed on the furniture in the living room. However the snug adjoining the kitchen was a lovely room too and we actually ended up taking root in there with the dogs. This room also benefits from underfloor heating so I imagine would be cosy in the winter too! Would I come back again? You bet I would! If only I could live in a house like this permanently
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Holiday stay at Myrtle Cottage ”
Reviewed 21st August 2015
We enjoyed a really lovely holiday at Myrtle Cottage with our two dogs. It is in a picturesque location and is very dog friendly. Most local beaches are accessible with dogs and there are lots of places to go. The cottage had everything we needed and would definitely consider returning again. We have included a picture of the sunset from the cottage window, absolutely beautiful.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
5 reviews
“Orchard Cottage, Happisburgh, Norfolk”
Reviewed 19th August 2015
We had a brilliant holiday at the totally dog friendly Orchard Cottage. On arrival at the spotless cottage we were greeted with flowers, cakes and strawberries. There was also milk in the fridge, tea coffee and sugar and of course treats for the dogs - all of which was a lovely touch and much appreciated after our journey.

The cottage itself is lovely (we all agreed we could quite happily stay forever!) and very well equipped - it had everything we needed for a relaxing family break. The garden was great for the dogs and for us - having the sun loungers in the shed as well as the table and chairs was really good as it meant after a day out we could really relax in the garden especially as it got the sun all day. Also the chimnea is good - we spent most evenings in the garden and were lucky enough to see the meteor shower whilst there too.

The cottage is in a great position in the village with the beach, small shop and pub both only five minute' walk away. We found the food, drink and welcome at the Hill House Inn to be excellent. We also enjoyed a stroll along the cliff path to Smallsticks cafe for breakfast and then walked it off back along the beach - the dogs loved it too. Would also recommend Nelson's Head at Horsey for food and drink after a walk to see the seals - husband and eldest daughter's boyfriend recommend several of the beers!

All in all we had a brilliant week and have no hesitation in recommending Orchard Cottage as a fantastic place to stay whether you have dogs or not. Hopefully we will be visiting again.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Doggy heaven”
Reviewed 18th July 2015
We stayed at Badger's Retreat for a few days. Perfect little annex beautifully decorated and well equipped throughout. Extremely comfy bed and sofas to relax after a hard day at the beach. Throws for the dogs were provided but we had also taken our own. We were made to feel really welcome by Craig and Susan

The property itself is close to great walks, wonderful beaches and dog friendly pubs in abundance. The Butcher's Arms is within walking distance but also visited The Pleasure Boat Inn which has fantastic fishcakes. We loved Happisburgh beach (see photo) and a seal even popped by to say hello. Further up the coast is Sheringham which I fell in love with and also the Red Hart Inn at Bodham is worth a stop.

But wherever you went there was a warm welcome, will definately be back!
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“The Lodge - cosy dog friendly cottage ”
Reviewed 12th July 2015
The Lodge is an excellent, well equipped home from home, in lovely part of beautiful Norfolk. Safe enclosed garden, and dogs welcome, even get biscuits, bowls, towels and a bed supplied. Spotlessly clean and thoughtfully laid out accommodation, convenient for all the Broads have to offer.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Properly dog friendly :)”
Reviewed 9th July 2015
We stayed at badgers retreat for 3 night.

A beautiful little hideaway that is truly dog friendly, everything you could want for a few days away good beaches close by, owners are friendly and helpful.

Cottage is small but perfectly appointed with everything you need including free wifi, welcome pack of tea/coffee milk and home made cake was lovely.

This cottage is really dog friendly not just dog tolerant, dogs are allowed on furniture and beds as long as throws are used which the owner supplies in abundance.

The location has no phone reception (which for us is a bonus).

The nearest town stalham is a pretty little place and has a good butchers and a lovely little shop selling all local produce as well as a tesco for all the essentials

Happisburg beach was ours and Daisy the dogs favourite
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Holmes House - home from home”
Reviewed 2nd July 2015
We have stayed here twice with our two dogs. It is an ideal spot as the garden is fully enclosed and there are lovely walks straight out the gate and as it is down a very quiet lane there is no traffic to worry about. Although we only took two dogs there is no limit on how many can go. I believe one family took eight!
The house itself is very well equipped and is comfortable and very clean and the owner is extremely helpful. We had a very relaxing holiday visiting lots of very dog friendly places in the area.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Our favourite Holiday destination.”
Reviewed 19th April 2015
For a Perfect getaway staying at an East Ruston property would be recommended! For anyone wishing to take their faithful canine friends then look no further. From the very thoughtful welcome pack including home made doggy biscuits to the abundance of local information at hand Sue the hostess will make sure your vacation is a treasured one. There are properties to suit all numbers spread around the large parish of East Euston. Do take the time to explore all that is on offer locally and make the most of the dog friendly beaches! You will soon be back once more!
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Doggy Heaven”
Reviewed 14th March 2015
From the first contact with Sue of East Ruston Cottages to the point when we locked the front door for the last time, everything about these cottages are truly fantastic. Many places advertise themselves as dog friendly, but sadly fall short. This is most certainly NOT the case with East Ruston and we & our 4 Cocker a Spaniels had a terrif time.
Amazing cottages for dog lovers, but also for non dog lovers, as the cottages are of such a high standard
Can't wait to book again soon
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Perfect holiday”
Reviewed 13th March 2015
These cottages are perfect for dog friendly holidays. They are beautifully appointed, clean and well kept and dogs are truly welcome, most of them have no limit of number of dogs and very few have restrictions. They are all close to beaches, good walks and good pubs where dogs are welcome. Many places of interest to visit and once you have stayed in one of these cottages you will return again and again. Me and my dogs always hate to leave.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Simply the best”
Reviewed 10th December 2014
Over the past 4 years my wife's family and us have stayed in pretty much all of the properties offered by East Ruston Cottages and all have been excellent.

Having 5 dogs between us trying to find somewhere which will take 2 is hard enough but 5 is nearly impossible, apart from with ERC as they see more dogs as an achievement not an issue.

If you are looking for properly dog friendly places to stay in the best parts of Norfolk (Sea Palling being our personal favourite) then ERC is simply the best.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“First dog holiday”
Reviewed 2nd December 2014
Me, my husband and 3 dogs stayed at one of these properties in early October , we couldn't fault it! We had loaded the car with everything we, and the dogs, would need for the week. There was no need to pack anything other than our clothes! Yummy welcome pack was perfect for afternoon tea on arrival, beds were all made up, towels for the bathroom, and everything a dog could wish for! We only had to take their food.
We have booked a week next spring in another of their properties, and we can't wait !
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Welcomes dogs - not just dog friendly”
Reviewed 2nd December 2014
We stayed at 'The Tender' in September with our cocker spaniel. The owners were very welcoming and helpful recommending places we could visit with our dog. The accommodation was of a very high standard with throws to cover the settee if your dog likes to share the seating arrangements-with you ! There are lots of dog friendly places to visit a short drive away. I would recommend it to all my family and friends.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“The Lodge, East Ruston”
Reviewed 1st December 2014
We stayed at The Lodge in September. We were blessed with glorious weather, but out three dogs loved the holiday. Lots of lovely beach walks and all very close to East Ruston. But their favourite walk was Bacton Woods where they could run and roam to their hearts content. The Lodge was small, but so well equipped and comfortable. It was cosy and warm and we arrived to find a lovely welcome pack. It was in a quiet corner of East Ruston, not too far from the Weavers Way, which was another favourite walk. We found many places to eat out and everywhere we went the dogs were made welcome. Food was excellent at the Star at Lessingham. East Ruston Cottages are very dog friendly, but high quality accommodation .
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
4 reviews
“Truly dog friendly”
Reviewed 1st December 2014
My husband, 4 dogs and I have stayed several times in The Lodge - one of East Ruston Cottages. It's small but beautifully finished with plenty of room for us and our 4 Greyhounds. Sue who runs ERC is so friendly and helpful and really puts herself out to make sure all the guests, human and animal are happy. The area is beautiful with lots of walks and dog friendly beaches and plenty of good pubs and cafes that welcome dogs. For truly dog friendly, good quality, clean and well equipped holiday cottages East Ruston cottages are a must!
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“So dog friendly”
Reviewed 1st December 2014
Together with my husband and 3 dogs we have stayed at 2 of East Rustons holiday properties. The Lodge and The Tender. They are second to none for the facilities they provide. The dogs are really welcomed with little touches like doggy biscuits and covers for the furniture. Yes....dogs are allowed on the furniture with no silly restrictions. The area is outstanding for dog walking and they are welcomed in so many places. 2 of the nicest places we have stayed and the dogs agree.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“The Tender, East Ruston Cottages.”
Reviewed 26th October 2014
I feel I just have to tell everyone about what a fantastic time we have had at The Tender. I am over whelmed by Michelle, Richard, Olly & Monty's welcoming hospitality. We have never been so at home when away with our fur baby before.
Not only was The Tender well equipped & clean it appears never to have had a dog in it (which I know isn't the case) but previously stayed in "dog friendly cottages" always appear to be "dog tired".
I would not hesitate to recommend to friends & can't wait to return asap.
A true gem has been discovered that you should be very proud of. Thank you for the most memorable break away we have ever had and it was also the 1st proper holiday that 4month old Cocker Barney has had which will always be in our memory now.

Note: 4 miles from the nearest beach, directly opposite "Weavers Way"
Thank you
The Markham's
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
We’re Social! Facebook Facebook Facebook Facebook Connect With Us