Are you the owner of this business? Click here

Petplan


Petplan
75% of users rated this business as excellent or very good.
Ranked 1 in Dog Insurance
Ranking calculated based on average score and the most reviews. Businesses need more than 5 reviews to feature at the top.
12 reviews

Recent review

19th March 2018
“Exclusions - Petplan”
When I applied for my dachshund Hugo’s insurance I was told that the only exclusion was his back as he had had problems in the past (I understand th…

12 people have reviewed Petplan


Member ratings

Excellent
8
Very Good
1
Average
0
Poor
0
Terrible
3

Rating summary

Claims process
Customer Service
Level of cover
Value for money
12 reviews (1 page) sorted by
1 review
“Exclusions - Petplan”
Reviewed 19th March 2018
When I applied for my dachshund Hugo’s insurance I was told that the only exclusion was his back as he had had problems in the past (I understand this).

However, after 6 months of insurance they have now written to me excluding eye problems, skin disorders and food allergies, bowel problems, ear disorders and dental disorders (because he had cracked a tooth biting on a stone).

In fact there isn't much he is covered for even though his insurance costs £450 a year.

Beware dog owners, they will sign you up and then write to you with numerous conditions which are not covered.

  • Claims process
  • Customer Service
  • Level of cover
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Pet insurance you can rely on”
Reviewed 20th February 2018
We have been using Pet Plan for all our cats and dogs for about 18 years now and in all that time they have always paid out always on any insurance claims that we have had. They have helped to save the lives of at least 2 of our Great Danes. They are expensive but as always you get what you pay for. Cant recommend then enough they are the best.
  • Claims process
  • Customer Service
  • Level of cover
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Reliable service”
Reviewed 8th April 2017
Have insured my dogs with Pet plan for over 16 years and made loads of claims with them and have never had an issue or been penalised for claiming
They're a little more expensive than other insurers but I've always found them very reliable. Claims are dealt with efficiently and they keep you updated on the progress of your claim
  • Claims process
  • Customer Service
  • Level of cover
  • Value for money
Bolton, Greater Manchester, North West
3 reviews
“Rip off!”
Reviewed 22nd December 2016
Had a policy 7 years with Pet Plan, never claimed ever. Every year premiums went up. You should treat your loyal customers better.
  • Claims process
  • Customer Service
  • Level of cover
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR”
Reviewed 29th July 2016
My dog had to have a big operation that cost almost £600. Pet Plan dealt with the claim very efficiently and never questioned or argued about anything. I can't speak highly enough of them. They are expensive, but when it comes to my dog she is worth every penny and I would never consider going to another company. I think the person that had a bad experience must have been very unlucky and quite likely an isolated case.
  • Claims process
  • Customer Service
  • Level of cover
  • Value for money
1 review
“Absolutely dreadful company”
Reviewed 20th June 2016
In my experience Petplan are happy to take your money but will look for any loophole to avoid paying in the event of a claim. They may act within the law but they certainly don't act in a morally responsible way. Many online reviews will confirm my opinion.
  • Claims process
  • Customer Service
  • Level of cover
  • Value for money
3 reviews
“Deal direct!”
Reviewed 18th December 2015
I've had two claims this year, and my Vet dealt directly with Petplan both times, so is was less stress and worry for me.
Both claims paid in full, quickly and with no hassle, and a nice letter both times to say it was all done. I can't thank Petplan enough or recommend them more highly.
  • Claims process
  • Customer Service
  • Level of cover
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Buy the best, get the best ”
Reviewed 19th May 2015
always had my dogs on pet plan and a year ago my 6 year old jack Russell started going blind.....aggressive cataracts in both eyes , the willows animal hospital were fab although we were talking over 4k of treatment...operation,thousands of drops, aftercare appointments etc etc ....panic ....how's ...what ....when ......ring pet plan .....fabulous, their first concern .....the dog and what could be done ,really caring customer service and being the best you can buy....all vets deal direct with them, another load off your mind ..everything was sorted no problem and my dog can now see well again after cataract surgery on both eyes ......has the policy gone up hugely because of the claim .....has it hell....£1.50 a month extra for this year......I asked them if I'd have to pay loads more , they said no, don't worry.....we don't work on no claims basis , making claims does not affect you .....some people have to claim, others never do, it all evens itself out. Fantastic ......I recommend covered for life policies though :-)
  • Claims process
  • Customer Service
  • Level of cover
  • Value for money
5 reviews
“Dependable”
Reviewed 19th May 2015
All of my dogs have been insured with petplan. Two of the three have had serious conditions, one of which is ongoing. Never had an issue with payment and not had any nasty hikes in policy premium the following years. Would not be without it.
  • Claims process
  • Customer Service
  • Level of cover
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“You get what you pay for!”
Reviewed 2nd January 2015
Dog insurance isn't cheap and it is fair to say that Pet Plan is one of the dearer insurers. However, are they just expensive or a top brand offering better cover and claims process? My experience is that they are the latter. I have insured several dogs with them and all claims however large were paid promptly with no attempt to wriggle out of paying by quoting the small print!I wouldn't take the risk of insuring my dogs with anyone other than Pet Plan.
  • Claims process
  • Customer Service
  • Level of cover
  • Value for money
1 review
“cover for life - excellent”
Reviewed 29th August 2014
After adopting our dog we chose Pet Plan cover for life. Soon after that we found out she is allergic to dust, corn and rug weed.she is on medication daily and her tablets would cost us approx £100 a week.pet plan pays direct to our vet.never a problem :-) .she is also an accident prone and has regular visits to the vet.i thought our fees will go up and they did but only £2 per month! Without Cover for life , she woul not be covered in the following year. It would be the same with cancer, diabetes and any other long term illness. A*
  • Claims process
  • Customer Service
  • Level of cover
  • Value for money
16 reviews
“Settled our claim quickly”
Reviewed 13th August 2014
We chose the lifetime cover and it wasn't long before we had to test the claims process following our dog's argument with a rather large bone - which he lost! A couple of x rays and drips later he was fully recovered thankfully and pet plan paid our claim quickly with only a deduction for the special tins of food we bought for his sensitive tummy. Sure the premiums went up the following year (by about 10%) but at least we've got the comfort of knowing that he's covered should he develop a recurring problem
  • Claims process
  • Customer Service
  • Level of cover
  • Value for money
We’re Social! Facebook Facebook Facebook Facebook Connect With Us