Are you the owner of this business? Click here

Animal Friends


Animal Friends
21% of users rated this business as excellent or very good.
Ranked 3 in Dog Insurance
Ranking calculated based on average score and the most reviews. Businesses need more than 5 reviews to feature at the top.
14 reviews

Recent review

15th August 2018
“Refuse to pay out claims”
Our dog was insured with animal friends for the past 5 years. We made a claim this year for a spinal operation on our dog who had 2 herniated discs an…

14 people have reviewed Animal Friends


Member ratings

Excellent
2
Very Good
1
Average
1
Poor
1
Terrible
9

Rating summary

Claims process
Customer Service
Level of cover
Value for money
14 reviews (1 page) sorted by
1 review
“Refuse to pay out claims”
Reviewed 15th August 2018
Our dog was insured with animal friends for the past 5 years. We made a claim this year for a spinal operation on our dog who had 2 herniated discs and was rendered paralyzed, the claim was refused on the grounds that 8 years ago we reported to our vet that our dog was catching the top of his paws when walking which caused sores, animal friends claimed that this was a sign that the dog had problems with his spine and therefore they would not pay out, they also excluded any future leg problems in all legs, spine, back and neck but they also backdated the exclusion to 8 years ago so in fact I was never insured! How can they link a dog catching his paw to a herniated disc? They are Rogue traders! DO NOT DEAL WITH THEM AS YOU WILL BE SORRY!
  • Claims process
  • Customer Service
  • Level of cover
  • Value for money
1 review
“Speak as I find! ”
Reviewed 18th July 2017
After being insured by More Than for 8 years after one claim for a minor operation my premium was substantially increased. I cancelled my insurance with them and insured with Animal Friends. Fast forward 2 years and my beautiful labrador was diagnosed with an extremely aggressive form of skin cancer after having a dew claw removed. My experience with this insurance company was totally positive. The vet made claims on my behalf and I paid the 20% that I was obliged to pay as she was 8 years +. After her death I cancelled her insurance that had just been renewed at the same monthly payment as before she'd been diagnosed and received a letter saying how sorry they were for my loss and cancelling my standing order. My vet said that dealing with this company had become easier as it was now all done online and once this had been introduced I only had to sign one claim form.
  • Claims process
  • Customer Service
  • Level of cover
  • Value for money
1 review
“Check it out!”
Reviewed 24th April 2017
Obtained a really competitive quote, but the following cover aspects caused me concern:
Theft or Straying only applies from home address, not much use if you are out for a walk.
Bilateral exclusion e.g. both eyes excluded if a problem with one.
Out of hours vets fee cover only if life endangering condition (how would you know?)
Reduction in market value due to age (but presumably not reduction in premium?)
Stayed with Petplan.
  • Claims process
  • Customer Service
  • Level of cover
  • Value for money
1 review
“Bad Payers”
Reviewed 31st March 2017
Please please do not use, they are not Animal Friends they are con artists !
They riddle and riddle with red tape and reduce your bill to a claim not worth having !

They should appear on Watch Dog again for all the wrong reasons !
Do your homework before you choose them.
  • Claims process
  • Customer Service
  • Level of cover
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Awful and unethical”
Reviewed 17th November 2016
Wouldn't pay out when my vet advised I should go to a specialist vet for an eye problem! The small print lets them get out of paying if they think the fees are too high!!! Who are they to say that? If my own vet thinks I need a referral, then I need a referral and my insurance company should pay up. Getting the Financial Ombudsman sorted them out. They didn't uphold my complaint, but they did pay up in the end. Bitter experience. Avoid at all costs.
  • Claims process
  • Customer Service
  • Level of cover
  • Value for money
1 review
“Won't insure with them again”
Reviewed 27th September 2016
Personally had a very bad experience with this insurer after having had them reccomended and seeing lots of good things about them so am very dissapointed.

Currently facing potential vets fees of £1500 with no support from insurance as my dog required emergency care and therefore i had no time to submit the pre-auth which apparently takes 48 / 72 hours to obtain. Now i have a nail biting wait to find out if they will help me, or if i will need to find the money i was expecting not to need to pay due to taking out insurance in the first place.

Athough my dog was admitted for emergency care at 10am due to not being diagnosed, earlier at 2am the same morning his condition was 'none life threatening' purely because he was sent home incorrectly.

Left me very out of pocket and wondering about the purpose of insurance for my dog altogether sadly.
  • Claims process
  • Customer Service
  • Level of cover
  • Value for money
1 review
“Don't expect a refund”
Reviewed 9th August 2016
Having had to have our pet Moss put to sleep I cancelled her Pet Insurance with Animal Friends on 3 August 2016. A premium had been taken on 26 July for the next months cover and I phoned on 9 August to enquire if I was due a partial refund. In Sections 12.2 and 6.1 it states I can cancel and readsas follows :-
Should you decide to exercise this cancellation right, you will be entitled to a refund of premium less an appropriate pro-rata charge for the period of cover given before the cancellation right was invoked.
However I have found out that Animal friends do not offer a partial or pro rata refund if you pay monthly. Although there is nowhere in the agreement that states this I am expected to call them to find out if I don't understand the policy clauses. I told them on reading the notes iI was of the opinion that a pro rata refund would be due they informed me my understanding was wrong and I should have called to clarify this. When I said this was misleading they said not at all I could have called at any time to clarify their stance on the matter. When I asked where the money for the period of cover for the remainder of the month after Moss had died went I was told it went to Animal Friends. No pro rata refund applied to my payments and in any case the appropriate pro rata charge for the period of cover 26 July to 2 August when Moss was alive was in fact the whole months fee. So I was therefore not due any refund whatsoever.I asked where this appropriate charge was defined or how it was calculated and was told this was Animal Friends general policy of charging and was not in fact in my policy. I also asked if an annual payment had been made would the appropriate charge be a whole months premium and was told yes. I said that this was very misleading and was nowhere in the policy to enable customers to make an informed decision. Certainly a money maker for Animal Friends. So once again Animal Friends refusing to pay out, in my case a few pounds but it is the whole principle of how they operate and hide behind hidden interpretations of the policy. The wording is not defined or specific to inform clients of the full facts and biased towards Animal Friends not paying out and pocketing money. In my case at a very upsetting time.
  • Claims process
  • Customer Service
  • Level of cover
  • Value for money
1 review
“Not my friend - Animal Friends Pet Insurers!”
Reviewed 8th February 2016
Insured my kitten, made a claim for a parasitic infection (since cleared up), Animal Friends refused the claim but to add insult to injury disqualified any future claim for anything related to the whole digestive system!!! Madness, or ignorance - shows a complete lack of medical knowledge and questions what grounds they make their decisions. The condition is known to have no lasting health effects. It seems to me these new kids on the black are just covering their backsides and making it up as they go a long. Better to pay a little extra, go with a reputable long standing insurer and have peace of mind. Better i found out early, recommend reading the reviews about this outfit before signing up. Avoid.
  • Claims process
  • Customer Service
  • Level of cover
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Is insurance worthwhile?”
Reviewed 20th November 2015
I have owned dogs for many years (40+) so have great experience of caring for them prior to insurance being available, and not. In general I have mostly had hardy, small breeds, and having chosen breeders carefully, or bred them myself, coupled with good nutrition, hygiene, exercise and general care, have had little need for vetinary support beyond routine events such as vaccination. In the last 15/20 years I have seen vet fees escalate astronomically, and whilst I accept that research, improved drugs, surgery have all developed, I still suspect that this increase is linked to insurance companies getting in on the act. Since retirement my husband and I have bought 3 larger breed dogs, and due to the increase in fees, purchase price,etc. We decided to insure our brood. 1st, our old dog, who has never suffered a day's illness, was quoted at a ridiculous price. Our deerhound was uninsurable with many companies. Our 2 standard poodles we did insure, and made claims on both of them which were turned down (1st was an accident, apparently we didn't have the right level of cover, the 2nd was an ear infection, she had had it once before, so they were querying the cover.) An appeal was unsuccessful in one case, and only addressed in the 2nd case after we cancelled the policy. Our vet is trusted and competent, We no longer insure the dogs, and yes the dog with ear problems has gone on to have £2000 of surgery, we managed to find the money, which the insurance company would have refused anyway. In my opinion insurance companies are rapacious, greedy indidviduals, and it is better to save money each month for emergencies, or insure only if that is difficult. If you really cannot afford vet fees, should you have a pet in the 1st place?
  • Claims process
  • Customer Service
  • Level of cover
  • Value for money
3 reviews
“Chosen after a lot of research”
Reviewed 6th October 2015
Very happy with Animal Friends. The level of cover is high enough to protect our dog against pretty much anything that might happen and, as long as we stay with them, they will continue to cover him for existing conditions - including arthritis for which he has been treated in the past and which may well be a problem at some point in the future. I also like the fact that they are a charity and are giving something back. Pretty good value for money.
  • Claims process
  • Customer Service
  • Level of cover
  • Value for money
1 review
“Do not use!!”
Reviewed 14th August 2015
2 trips to the vets in a 13 month period - both undiagnosed but when trying to claim for the latter visit they have decided it was a pre existing conditionand will not pay out. Only a yelping crying dog and pain relief were the common factor in both cases. Clutching at straws to not pay my £2000+ vet bill.
  • Claims process
  • Customer Service
  • Level of cover
  • Value for money
1 review
“Avoid”
Reviewed 8th July 2015

I have been unable to claim back £600 for X-ray costs! My dog has been now diagnosed with a ruptured ligament in his shoulder. Animal Friends have refused to pay back the X-ray costs claiming this is an ongoing condition. My dog had previously been to the vets for limping which included treatment for dry pads. Animal Friends claim I should have advised of the other conditions when taking out the policy.
MAKE SURE YOU READ ALL THE SMALL PRINT ON YOUR DOCUMENTATION OTHER WISE YOU HAVE NO CHANCE OF GETTING ANY MONEY.
I’ve been to numerous vets over the last couple of weeks and they all are aware of Animal Friends reluctance to pay out.
USE ANOTHER INSURANCE COMPANY!!!
  • Claims process
  • Customer Service
  • Level of cover
  • Value for money
1 review
“alright if you never have to claim”
Reviewed 22nd May 2015
I had an expensive policy for my puppy £56 a month £4,000per condition lifetime.

My boy had surgery in his first year and on renewal premium went up to £116 a month.just about afforded it.

Second year he had some more surgery before being diagnosed with cancer.

Good l thought l am insured .cant fault them on the paying out but extortionate premium increases.

he was terminally ill,a fact they knew about but second renewal £408 a month.

No sympathy and l was prepared for another 100% rise but notthis one.they didnt care and my beautiful boy was pts at 26 months old as we couldn't afford the insurance or his treatmet .

When asked about price on website told only for people who never have to claim.my policy was lifetime so not worth the paper its written on.
  • Claims process
  • Customer Service
  • Level of cover
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Great value and profits to animal charities”
Reviewed 13th January 2015
Really pleased I switched to Animal Friends, the premiums are very competitive, they paid out very quickly on the claim I made and I really like the fact that some of their profits are donated to animal charities.
  • Claims process
  • Customer Service
  • Level of cover
  • Value for money
We’re Social! Facebook Facebook Facebook Facebook Connect With Us