Are you the owner of this business? Click here

Gentle Dog Food


Gentle Dog Food
100% of users rated this business as excellent or very good.
Ranked 12 in Dog Food
Ranking calculated based on average score and the most reviews. Businesses need more than 5 reviews to feature at the top.
9 reviews

Recent review

17th September 2017
“Excellent ”
We moved from Fish 4Dogs to Gentle due to the cold pressed nature of the food and based on other excellent reviews. We will not be trying any other …

9 people have reviewed Gentle Dog Food


Member ratings

Excellent
9
Very Good
0
Average
0
Poor
0
Terrible
0

Rating summary

Enjoyed by dog
Ingredients
Quality
Value for money
9 reviews (1 page) sorted by
1 review
“Excellent ”
Reviewed 17th September 2017
We moved from Fish 4Dogs to Gentle due to the cold pressed nature of the food and based on other excellent reviews. We will not be trying any other food- gentle has it all! Viz is full if energy , his coat is incredibly shiny and smooth, he is calm and settled at home and the comments we have had about how healthy he looks keep coming. The customer service us second to none . They were so helpful when Viz was going through a growth spurt and looking skinny. They talked me thoroughly the best percentage of food for him, adding extra protein rather than increasing the food and feeding more at night to push the weight gain. I am delighted with this food and , for ease when travelling it also comes in pressed bone shapes which also make great chews and keep him occupied! In either firm Biz cannot get enough and clears his bowl everyone.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Excellent food happy dog”
Reviewed 22nd March 2017
Our Finnish Lapphund is fussy and would rarely through one brand of High premium food before going off it and had loose poo a lot of the time. We switched to Gentle after reading a review about a year ago and he still loves it. He doesn't need to eat much as it's cold compressed and is still as happy to eat it as day one. He poop is better and he is a calmer pooch. Beatte at Gentle is a very helpful lady and obviously loves dogs herself so I am confident that the product is high quality with no nasty additives. It may be a cost to buy a sack but it lasts ages and it's worth it for Sprockett!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Early days but could be the answer !”
Reviewed 21st March 2017
I recently switched my dogs from a highly reviewed 80/20 kibble having been on it for over 12 months. My 3 year old staffy bitch struggled with inconsistent stools (often very soft!) and obsessive paw licking. My 8 year old Shar Pei had generally good stools but also a lot of paw licking. Having only recently transferred them to Gentle, within a few days my Staffy has finally firmer stools, less wind and both dogs seem less obsessed with their paws. I had a little issue on my first delivery and spoke to Beate who both resolved the issue and more importantly spoke to me at some length about each of my dogs with a refreshing genuine interest. I have now ordered a couple of further bags and look forward to continued improvements.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Best food ever”
Reviewed 14th September 2016
My dogs just love this food!!! Great as you can feed along side raw, I have two very healthy sprocker spaniels
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“A top class dog food”
Reviewed 21st August 2015
After doing my research into which food would be best for Miniature Schnauzer after reading that Royal Canine had not much nutritious value I made the swap to Eden, but after a while it was too rich for my dog and he kept being sick.
So after further research I found Gentle, we have not looked back, Ronnie loves it, I mix it with raw meat and veg, he keeps it down and really enjoys it.
Customer service is very good if you need help and and advice, the food is good value for money, postage is reasonable and delivery is quick.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“One of the best around”
Reviewed 8th June 2015
I'd tried all the top brands around and this has been the best for my three labradoodles with sensitive stomachs! I saw the following changes once I swapped over: 1) no smelly wind 2)my older girl's fur turned back to pure black 3) coats in best condition ever 4) calmer mood 5)always enthusiastic about eating their food, whereas before they were getting a little snooty about eating their kibble 6)smaller amounts of healthy looking poo.
We've been using Gentle Dog for over a year now and the girls still get excited when a bag of food arrives.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Unbelievable Change to my dogs!”
Reviewed 30th January 2015
I Breed Golden Retrievers so I want the very best food for my dogs, especially for their start in life, as well as my bitches, to be in top form when they are in Whelp. One of my girls "Gracie", suffered from colitis and had almost weekly attacks of a poorly tummy with terrible diarrhoea! So we have to feed her a "grain free" and "hypoallergenic" food. Our boy "Charlie" who is neutered has a tendency to put weight on so we have to keep him on a "light" food. It was so annoying as we were feeding our 4 dogs, 4 different foods so had to be so careful they didn't finish each others up or swap half way through! As one of them "Lola" who was 3 months old at the time, was on Puppy food and the 4th Daisy-May" was on "normal Adult food"!
I tried changing over to Fish4dogs for puppies - after my vet suggested it, as my 2 older girls find it hard to keep a good weight and the protein content is high as well as the calories were good. But still Gracie had a poorly tummy regularly - we had to take her to the vet for an injection quite often as it got so bad. I also had to mix in some tinned god food as they were getting fed up with the fish taste i think, without this, they refused to even eat it and with the girls weight being low, I couldn't let that happen. Also, I noticed the girls were itching a lot and after checking they didnt have fleas! I posted on the FB Golden Group i am on, to see if anyone else had experienced this. Several people said that very high protein can cause itchiness! i know that the food they were on was very high at 30% Although I had tried changing their food quite a few times, i wanted to give it one last try at something totally different so I looked everywhere on the internet, reading reviews and on allaboutdogsfood.co.uk I saw Gentle Dog Food - it ticked all the right boxes and it was definitely different with being one of the only Cold-pressed dog foods out there, which keeps all the natural ingredients and goodness in. So I thought I would give it a try. I phoned the owner of the company "Beate" who was so helpful but not at all pushy for me to try a sack. She told me that i could put all my 4 on it, even the puppy as there is only one kind of Gentle,because of the natural ingredients in it, there was no need for different types, and it was all about portion control with my boy. She said she would send me a sample for my dogs to try. i expected a tiny sample as I had from other companies in the past, but she knew I had 4 big dogs so she sent me a lovely big bag for them to try! As soon as I opened the bag, they came running with their noses in the air! They thought the pieces were treats and immediately sat as if to wait my instructions to perform their next task! I ordered a bag and slowly switched them all over..... well that was my intentions, but they picked out all the pieces of "Gentle" and left the rest so it wasn't long before they were on the Gentle only, but with no bad side effects!
The difference was unbelievable! Their coats became so silky within a fortnight. Gracie's attacks of colitis stopped! They have been on it for 7 months now and have all changed so much. I have weaned my first litter of Pups on to Gentle now and all the new puppy owners have decided to keep them on it as they have been so impressed with it. All 4 of my dogs still eat it without anything added, they always come running when they hear the food going into their bowls, The girls have gained weight, but Charlie being on smaller portions has stayed a good weight. The itching has all stopped and to my shock, it doesn't even cost that much more, as they need so much less of it! I don't have shares in it or anything LOL, I just really feel I needed to write about it as it has changed our dogs lives so much for the better heart emoticon
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
3 reviews
“A genuine premium kibble”
Reviewed 15th January 2015
I have become very careful with dog foods following all the bad publicity in recent years about what some of the ingredients are in manufactured foods. If I had more time I would feed a raw diet but I think Gentle is the next best option as it is cold pressed to maintain the nutrients and also has a high content of meat and fish. Feeding levels are lower than most other kibbles so it works out at excellent value for money and I am happy that my dog is getting a food which will maintain his health rather than make him ill.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
4 reviews
“Even better than Eden!”
Reviewed 18th December 2014
We have recently changed our dog to this from Eden as we were impressed by the fact that it is cold pressed to preserve the nutritional value of the food and also contains Green Lipped Mussel which is excellent for joints / mobility. Cost works out slightly less than Eden but our dog seems to prefer it as he empties every bowl whereas he was previously starting to leave some of the Eden. Ordering online is easy with very fast delivery - very happy with the change so far!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
We’re Social! Facebook Facebook Facebook Facebook Connect With Us