Rosie R

20 reviews | A member for 4 years, 8 months

About me:

This reviewer has not written a bio

Name of my dog(s):

---

Breed of my dog(s):

---

County:

---

Town / City:

---

Minster Lovell, Oxfordshire, England
Posted on 18th October 2020
Stone baked pizza heaven
Of course the dog couldn’t have any but good to find a dog friendly pub that serves something more than the usual pub menu. The pizzas were freshly cooked and as good as you’d get anywhere. Otherwise a nice traditional, army themed pub which welcomes dogs in the bar. Large car park and outdoor eating area for the warmer weather.
view more
view less
Chalfont St Peter, Buckinghamshire, England
Posted on 6th December 2019
Great pub for us and the dog
We like this pub as the bar area has plenty of space, unlike a lot of bar areas which are very cramped. Although it was December there was plenty of room and, again unlike many places, the music wasn’t intrusive. The nice man in charge filled up the jar of dog biscuits when he saw us coming and offered us a bowl of water. Unfortunately we both had fish curry so the dog didn’t get to try any of the food but we all had a very nice lunch.
view more
view less
Hampton, Richmond upon Thames, England
Posted on 14th November 2019
Good location
Dog friendly and well situated for Hampton Court and Bushey Park. Plenty of space for dogs and a nice pub with good food. Outdoor area if the weather is nice.
view more
view less
Stalham, Norfolk, England
Posted on 18th August 2019
Great value for money
Stayed in one of the new garden rooms which are dog friendly which is great as they are away for, the noise of the main building. They are clean and very well appointed and it’s great that you can stay just one night rather than a minimum stay. There are particular tables allocated for people with dogs for breakfast and the food was good and the service very friendly - everyone made a big fuss of the dog. Lots of outside eating space too. Would definitely come back here if wanted accommodation in the are.
view more
view less
Walcott, Norfolk, England
Posted on 18th August 2019
Great pie and dog friendly
The only place we could find in the area that served food all day and we weren’t disappointed. We chose the pie (generous portion!) which was the signature dish and it was very good. There is a large bar area for the dogs and also an outside garden. Only downside was that there wasn’t table service so quite a queue at the bar at busy times. The owner and staff were very friendly.
view more
view less
Rolvenden, Kent, England
Posted on 5th July 2019
Beautiful gardens
Exceptionally well kept gardens in a beautiful setting. Beautiful planting and herbaceous borders as well as woodland areas and it’s great that you can take your dog with you. There’s also a coffee shop in the stable yard which is very reasonable. Limited opening though so do check the website before going. You can also get 241 entry with the Gardeners World card.
view more
view less
Branscombe, Devon, England
Posted on 25th April 2019
A traditional pub in rural Devon
Takes a bit of finding down some narrow country lanes and there is not a great deal of parking but worth it for the excellent home cooked food at very reasonable prices. We sat outside as it was a - fairly - nice day but dogs are allowed inside. The pub dates back to the 14th century so it is fairly small inside but has lots of character.
view more
view less
Exeter, Devon, England
Posted on 25th April 2019
Surprisingly dog friendly!
We wouldn’t have expected this restaurant to be dog friendly but they were very pleased to see him and there were a few dogs under the tables. An excellent fish restaurant with a great menu, modern decor and a good atmosphere situated on the Quay. I think it probably has outside tables in the summer too. Great place if you fancy something different to a pub.
view more
view less
Westerham, Kent, England
Posted on 6th September 2017
A NT garden which is dog friendly
I get a bit frustrated with the National Trust as so many of their properties are not dog friendly so it was refreshing to be able to take our dog with us to Chartwell. Admittedly - and understandably - dogs are not allowed in the house, but you can buy a ticket for garden entrance only and we spent a pleasant couple of hours enjoying the garden and the views. There are also woods you can walk around if you have the energy/time.

The restaurant and shop are also not dog friendly but there are tables outside - I imagine though that it must get quite busy in summer. We had a pleasant lunch and the shop was well stocked with plants. The car park was £3 for the day and garden entrance £6.75. Given the historical importance of the site it seemed reasonable and we had a nice day out.



view more
view less
Hunston, West Sussex, England
Posted on 2nd April 2017
Dog friendly accommodation in a lovely cottage
We were struggling to find dog friendly accommodation in the Chichester area and were really pleased to find Harry's which is a self contained cottage sleeping two (and a dog), part of Spire Cottage B&B (some of the rooms also allow dogs).

It is a lovely cottage well situated for Chichester and exploring the local area, including West Wittering beach and Pagham Nature Reserve. It was very well appointed - modern yet cosy and the self contained, secure garden was good for the dog. There is also a dog friendly pub, The Spotted Cow, at the end of the lane which, unfortunately we weren't able to try as it was closed for refurbishment. Would certainly recommend Harry's for anyone looking for a break with their dog in this area.
view more
view less
West Dean, West Sussex, England
Posted on 30th March 2017
Lovely gardens - and dog friendly too!
These gardens are a fantastic place to visit. They are in beautiful surroundings and are really pretty with lovely planting, a walled garden, a sunken garden and a pergola as well as an arboretum walk. Dogs are welcome in the gardens on a short lead. Our only disappointment was that March probably isn't the best time of the year to go. Although it was impressive it must be even more so when the flowers are in bloom. And as an extra bonus, dogs are also allowed inside the cafe. Perfect on a cold and damp day, although the outside terrace would be lovely for a warm day with is wonderful views over the Downs. Not to be missed.
view more
view less
Nyetimber, West Sussex, England
Posted on 28th March 2017
Dog friendly pub just outside Bognor
This pub is located on the Pagham Road just outside Bognor. It's a 16th century inn with lots of character and there were several dogs in the bar. Our dog was offered both water and biscuits and made a fuss of which he enjoyed! There was a reasonable lunch time menu and we particularly enjoyed the lasagne. Prices were reasonable.
view more
view less
Chidham, West Sussex, England
Posted on 28th March 2017
Busy Sunday lunch
We went on Mother's Day so it was very busy but we all got a warm welcome including the dog! The Old House at Home is a traditional village pub with a lively atmosphere. This place is clearly popular with dog owners and we enjoyed our lunch here.
view more
view less
Bosham, West Sussex, England
Posted on 28th March 2017
Ok lunch
We were a bit disappointed with the White Swan after reading reviews elsewhere. It's situated a ride away from the centre of Bosham village and has been nicely done out inside. There was space for our dog to lay down in the bar area, helped by the fact it was very quiet on a Monday lunchtime. The food was ok, although not particularly wow. We weren't asked if we wanted a dog bowl and service was polite but not overly friendly.
view more
view less
Thorpe Market, Norfolk, England
Posted on 16th September 2016
Best in the area
This restaurant is in a lovely setting at the edge of the deer park - although it was pouring on the day we went so we probably didn't see it at its best. It's a very old building with two large rooms - one dog friendly - and there was lots of space for our dog. It was a bit gloomy the day we went because of the weather but otherwise it's a great place to eat. It's not the cheapest in the area, but the quality of the food is well worth it. Service was good and a dog bowl offered without asking. Well worth a visit.
view more
view less
Mundesley, Norfolk, England
Posted on 16th September 2016
Lovely dog friendly cafe
Situated on the road by the beach, this is a really nice place to stop for a drink and a piece of home made cake after a trip to the beach. They didn't even mind our wet, sandy retriver. They also serve breakfasts and lunches and the cafe is bright and airy and decorated in a beach style. And the dog biscuit went down well too.
view more
view less
Happisburgh, Norfolk, England
Posted on 14th September 2016
A beautiful beach and dog friendly all year round
You are a bit spoilt for choice for beaches in this part of the world, but a trip to Happisburgh beach is a must. There are no restrictions on dogs all year and it's a lovely sandy beach, perfect for both walking and doggy swimming. There's a car par with toilets just at the entrance to the beach and a lovely little shack for burgers and light refreshments just before the car park. Perfect for humans and their dogs.
view more
view less
Southrepps, Norfolk, England
Posted on 13th September 2016
A traditional country pub
Dogs are welcome in the bar area - there's also an outdoor area at the front of the pub. The staff were friendly and the food was good. There's lots of local produce on the menu - the tan pie was particularly delicious - and the dog enjoyed sharing (bits of!) the steak. Worth a visit.
view more
view less
Cromer, Norfolk, England
Posted on 12th September 2016
Lovely food but a long wait!
This is a nice place to eat on the sea front at Cromer. Although it doesn't have outdoor seating, there are lovely views of the sea and it's completely dog friendly with our pooch happily accepting a biscuit and a cuddle. We had the sea platter for two which had a good selection of fish - including monkfish - chips and bread and was good value. We enjoyed our food but we did have to wait rather a long time for it and our drinks. I think that they were training new staff so we may have gone at a bad time and it wouldn't stop me from going back.
view more
view less
Trunch, Norfolk, England
Posted on 12th September 2016
Dog friendly but could be better
We visited this pub when staying locally on holiday as it was convenient and dog friendly. It's recently been taken over by new owners and seemed very much a locals' pub. The menu was limited and fairly basic but the food we had was fine. The pub didn't have a great deal of atmosphere - not helped by the Irish music . It also had no wifi and didn't take cards, but the new owner may just have been finding his feet.
view more
view less
We’re Social! Facebook Facebook Facebook Facebook Connect With Us