Church View Cottage

View Business Profile Places To Stay | East Ruston, Norfolk, England | 07923606768 | www.churchviewcottagehols.co.uk

Church View Cottage say:

Church View Cottage sleeps 4 people and is a very comfortable, spacious and attractive ground floor cottage adjoined to the owners old brick and flint cottage. Situated on the outskirts of the quiet village of East Ruston, Church View Cottage is a great place to relax and unwind. Yet conveniently located near beautiful unspoilt beaches, broadland villages, traditional seaside towns. Truly dog friendly and dogs stay free of charge.

Church View Cottage
100% of users rated this business as excellent or very good.
Ranked 2 in Places To Stay in Norfolk
Ranking calculated based on average score and the most reviews. Businesses need more than 5 reviews to feature at the top.
69 reviews

Recent review

10th November 2019
“Peaceful week, perfect break”
My mum and I were looking for a quiet getaway with our 3 dogs to escape the fireworks. Couldn't have asked for a better place to do it. The welcome fr…

69 people have reviewed Church View Cottage


Member ratings

Excellent
68
Very Good
1
Average
0
Poor
0
Terrible
0

Rating summary

Dog Friendly
Standard of accommodation
Value for money
69 reviews (1 page) sorted by
1 review
“Peaceful week, perfect break”
Reviewed 10th November 2019
My mum and I were looking for a quiet getaway with our 3 dogs to escape the fireworks. Couldn't have asked for a better place to do it. The welcome from Paula and Peter was so friendly. They were always at hand if we wanted anything but not at all pushy. The cottage was clean, cosy and well equipped. The location was great, close enough to local beaches and shops while being in a rural location.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
4 reviews
“Another perfect holiday!”
Reviewed 22nd October 2019
Thanks to Paula, Pete and Weasel for our third perfect holiday with them. Felt like we had Norfolk to ourselves with wide open beaches and the roads virtually empty.
The cottage is always spotless and so cosy for an Autumn break with the log burner keeping us warm in the evening, Plum really loved it. Everything we needed for a relaxed dog friendly holiday had been thought of and provided.
We also appreciated the delicious welcome pack with home made cake and jam for us and home made biscuits for Plum.
It feels like a home from home now and we can't wait to go again.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
23rd October 2019
Thank you for your wonderful review. It was so lovely to read. We really enjoy having you stay and we do hope to see you again next year.
4 reviews
“Home from home”
Reviewed 28th September 2019
Have just spent our third stay at this beautiful cottage. Fully equipped with all you need and exceedingly dog friendly to enjoy and relax for a perfect holiday. Beautiful garden to kick back and relax in knowing it’s very secure for the dogs. The owners Paula and Pete go above and beyond to ensure you have a lovely holiday .. the location is great with a short distance to the beach , pubs and places of interest. Booked up for 2 more holiday next year and we can’t wait!
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
29th September 2019
Thank you so much for this wonderful review. You are such lovely guests too and look after Church View Cottage so brilliantly. And two 2020 holidays booked. Fabulous. X
Wirksworth, Derbyshire, East Midlands
3 reviews
“2nd Wonderful Visit to Norfolk!”
Reviewed 15th September 2019
We’ve just returned from our second stay at Church View Cottage and hoping to book for a third time next year. We were given a lovely welcome from Paula, Peter and Weasel. The cottage is perfect in every way for a great relaxing break. Everything you could possibly need has been provided. It is brilliant for four legged guests too. This part of Norfolk is stunning and very dog friendly. Can’t wait to come back!
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
15th September 2019
Thank you for your wonderful review and thank you too for being such lovely guests. You are welcome to return anytime!
1 review
“Back again for 6th stay, says it all!”
Reviewed 24th August 2019
Once again my dog and myself have returned to this wonderful cottage in Norfolk to enjoy our 6th doggy holiday!

I really can’t fault this place at all, every time I return it is always clean and very welcoming for both humans and dogs, with treats waiting for both, (lovely cake), and has everything you will need to stay there for a week, like you’ve never left home.

There is so much to do in Norfolk, woodland walks, boat trips and wonderful beaches to explore, and once this has tired you out and your hungry, there is plenty of pubs to eat and drink just round the corner, and all of this is great because everywhere is dog friendly, and to top it off this cottage is located central to many places here, so everything isn’t a far drive away.

I will be back next year for my 7th stay and still have so much to explore, I can’t wait!
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
25th August 2019
Wow, thank you for your fabulous review. And we can't wait to welcome you back for your 7th holiday. Paula, Peter and Weasel.
1 review
“First Norfolk Holiday”
Reviewed 24th August 2019
This was my first time staying at Church View Cottage and what a lovely welcome I received from Paula, Pete and Weasel ! The cottage is a perfect for a dog friendly holiday and everything you could ask for, from the best chocolate brownies ever to great suggestions on places to visit with your doggy friend! Some where you can visit over and over again.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
25th August 2019
So pleased to read that you enjoyed your first dog friendly holiday here at Church View and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
2 reviews
“Fantastic 3rd holiday at Church View Cottage ”
Reviewed 19th August 2019
Home from our 3rd holiday at Church View Cottage with our children age 7 and 9. And just booked
Our 4th holiday.
We were welcomed by Paula and weasel and yummy homemade cakes.
The cottage is home from home and very welcoming. we spent relaxing evenings playing games and doing puzzles after busy days.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
20th August 2019
Thank you for your wonderful review and so pleased you had yet another fabulous holiday here at Church View Cottage. You are always so busy while you are here! And plenty more activities planned for next year. See you in 2020. Paula, Peter and Weasel.x
1 review
“An amazingly relaxing gem!”
Reviewed 3rd August 2019
We have just returned after a week at Church view. From the moment we stepped out of the car we were given the warmest of receptions from Peter who showed us round before leaving us to settling in as Paula was away but on her return she too popped in which was lovely. We were treated to delicious cupcakes and essentials such as bread and homemade jam which were much appreciated and enjoyed by us all. Even the dogs were treated with yummy homemade dog biscuits.

Our 2 boys(12 & 9) were so excited at their room and the garden (we took cheap badminton sets which they enjoyed). We even took to playing cards in the evenings with no tv on which is almost unheard of for our technology obsessed children.

The cottage is a home from home with everything you need for a break, so much so we choose to stay in and cook most nights. The weather was so good we took up the chance to bbq with the one from the shed.

Our 2 dogs took a liking to the cottage and garden and enjoyed a visit from Weasel. All the sea air wore them out and the cottage was their haven for the week.

The location is fabulous as it is so quiet and no light pollution ... so definitely some star gazing to be done on clear nights. Although quiet you are minutes away from Cart Gap (Smallsticks cafe definitely worth a visit) and Happisburgh lighthouse. For essentials there is a Tesco about 5 mins away too. Sea Palling, Winter and Walcott are all within easy reach too.

All 6 of us enjoyed it so much we booked for next year before we left .... what more can we say other than my youngest woke on the last morning and stated ‘I’m sad to go, I’m going to miss this place!’
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
5th August 2019
Wow, what a lovely review. We were so thrilled to read this. So lovely to meet you all. And we look forward to seeing you next Spring. Enjoy the rest of your summer holidays. ☺️
1 review
“Fourth holiday stay and still counting”
Reviewed 27th July 2019
We have just returned from our 4th and very relaxing holiday at Church View. The weather was scorching in the 30's all week and with a dog we were not able to go out and about in the hot sun. It was lovely to sit back and relax in the comfort and coolness that Church View provides. The garden is lovely and secure for the dog so to sit in the shade with a Prosecco or two went down a treat. It is so calm and quiet away from the hustle and bustle of our home city and a little oasis within our favourite part of England. The owners are delightful, so friendly and helpful you couldn't want for more. We will soon be sitting down to plan our next stay at Church View and never tire of returning to this very special gem of a place.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
30th July 2019
Oh what a lovely review! Thank you. You really did have a scorching week weather wise but so pleased to read that the coolness of the cottage helped. You too are delightful guests and we really do hope to see you again for your fifth stay.
1 review
“February Holiday”
Reviewed 18th July 2019
Another brilliant holiday at Church View Cottage, it really is a true home from home, with everything that you need. As always there was a very friendly welcome from Paula, Pete and Weasel and a lovely welcome basket - Poppy especially enjoyed the homemade dog biscuits!
The local beaches are always lovely but this year the weather was superb, it could almost have been summer. A great place to stretch your legs and then back to read a book with a slice of Paula's homemade cake, in front of the log burner = perfection for humans and dogs alike.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
19th July 2019
Thank you Diane for your fabulous review. I've lost count of the number of times that you have stayed here at Church View Cottage. You are both so very welcome here anytime. ☺️
2 reviews
“THE BEST NORFOLK GETAWAY ”
Reviewed 14th July 2019
Another brilliant holiday at Church View Cottage. Everything you need is in the cottage, it’s home from home. You always get a friendly greeting from Paula, Pete and Weasel and the welcome pack is so handy when you’ve had a long drive and desperately need a cuppa and slice of cake, it’s all waiting for you, the dogs enjoyed their homemade treats as well. The dogs love the garden and surrounding beaches and woods to walk in. Can’t believe how dog friendly all the pubs, cafe’s and restaurants are. You leave feeling so refreshed and counting the days to your next stay there. Brilliant.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
15th July 2019
Thank you Judy for your fabulous review. We are so pleased that you find Church View so comfortable. We will see you next year.
3 reviews
“Church view holiday”
Reviewed 23rd May 2019
Another super week at church view. The cottage is loverly, and the garden is the best for dogs, very secure. Paula and Peter are so friendly and helpful It's like going to visit family. The welcome goodies are always really good with treats like buns and practical things like eggs and not forgetting the dog treats which the three Poodles thought were loverly.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
24th May 2019
Thank you for your fabulous review. Always lovely to welcome you back to Church View Cottage. And you have already booked for next year! Paula, Peter and Weasel x
1 review
“PERFECT DOGFRIENDLY COTTAGE”
Reviewed 14th May 2019
We had such a lovely week at Church View Cottage.Paula and Peter were perfect hosts.There when needed but also given your privacy.Perfect balance!!The cottage is so clean and comfy...especially the all important bed.Everything provided not only for us but for our pooch Harry as well.Their lovely dog Weasel is also a bonus...lovely chilled out boy.Definitely a place to visit again..and again.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
14th May 2019
Thank you for your wonderful review. So pleased you had an excellent holiday and we would most definitely like to see you return again and again.
1 review
“Perfect Peace”
Reviewed 4th May 2019
Enjoyed a relaxing and peaceful stay! Our two dogs settled straight away and thoroughly enjoyed the garden.
We walked in and felt welcomed and at home!
On a clear night there was no light pollution so the stars were so clear!
Highly recommended!!!
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
7th May 2019
We are so pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your holiday here at Church View. It was lovely to meet you all.
4 reviews
“Church View Cottage”
Reviewed 27th April 2019
Fabulous place to stay. Clean, comfortable cottage. Great location . Owners very friendly and helpful.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
7th May 2019
Thank you both for your fabulous review and we look forward to welcoming you back in September and April!
1 review
“Fantastic holiday”
Reviewed 27th March 2019
This was our first holiday with our 2 English Springer Spaniels and certainly won't be the last. Peter and Paula have made a fantastic holiday home from home, the cottage was fabulous, so cosy, clean and comfortable. The garden is totally dog proof and pretty. The welcome pack was delicious. The whole area is so dog friendly, the beaches were loved by the dogs and not once did we feel they were unwelcome or a nuisance. We will be recommending Church View Cottage to everyone and can't wait to return, hopefully for longer.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
27th March 2019
So lovely to meet you all and we are thrilled to read your review. We most definitely look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Many thanks Paula, Peter and Weasel.
1 review
“A gem near the beaches.”
Reviewed 5th March 2019
Paula and Peter Wooding have made this a wonderful doggy retreat, with its secure and pretty, south-facing garden plus a houseful of doggy accessories. Bella and Charlie particularly enjoyed the home-made peanut butter biscuits just for them. We felt as if we and our dogs were all welcome, the dogs not just tolerated. All of us were comfortable and even though it was an unseasonably warm February the log-burner was a cosy thing to sit round in the evening. There are so many wonderful, spacious beaches and dunes nearby they all run into one another, and there is no danger of dogs being unwelcome on them. It was dog heaven walking between Sea Palling (some good cafes) and Eccles, and then further north to Sheringham and Overstrand and Blakeney. Everywhere we went we felt as if it was almost a disadvantage NOT to have a dog with you! We can recommend the nearest pubs, The Star Inn at Lessingham and the pub at Happisborough, though we found practically every place we visited provided good pub food and was easy-going about dogs. We would love to have shared a photo but this website will only accept 2 Mb.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
27th March 2019
Thank you for your review and pleased to hear you describe our cottage as a "gem".
1 review
“Great stay for dogs and humans alike”
Reviewed 3rd January 2019
Just returned from new year at Church View our 2nd visit. Feel totally relaxed and recharged although the dogs are still shattered from the great beach walks and exploring in woods close by. Ideal.location for exploring and relaxing. Silence is definitely golden here. The hosts Paula and Peter are really lovely and friendly and by no means pushy or intrusive, always on hand to help and for great holiday tips of where to visit and make the most of your time. The welcome packs are fantastic and greatly appreciated. The cottage is very very well equipped cosy and warm. Definitely well worth the money and worth visit again we all can't wait
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
3rd January 2019
Great to see you return to Church View and so very pleased that you had a fabulous New Year at Church View Cottage. You are all welcome to return any time.
Wirksworth, Derbyshire, East Midlands
3 reviews
“Pawfect ”
Reviewed 30th November 2018
This was our first visit to the area and Church View Cottage. We were made very very welcome with a delicious welcome basket which even included homemade biscuits for our dogs. There is everything you could possibly need for you and your dogs including a secure garden. The cottage is lovely and cosy with lots of character. Paula and Pete were very helpful and very knowledgeable about places to visit etc. I’m so pleased I found them and would have no hesitation in recommending them!
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
4th December 2018
It was so lovely to meet you all and we are very pleased to here you enjoyed your first stay in our cottage and in fact in wonderful dog friendly Norfolk. We hope to welcome you back again in the future.
1 review
“Fabulous ”
Reviewed 24th November 2018
Lovely, lovely place to stay.
Attention to detail absolutely first class.
The welcome basket second to none - included home made flapjacks for the humans and a treat for the dog!
Highly recommended
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
4th December 2018
Thank you for your fabulous review. ☺️
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed 18th November 2018
This was our first visit what can we say. The cottage is beautiful, a real mix of old and new, very comfortable and spacious. Paula and Peter have thought of everything you could possibly need. The welcome basket was lovely the homade cake scrumptious and our doodles loved the home made peanut butter dog biscuits. Nothing was too much trouble, not only was Church Veiw Cottage dog friendly but so was the whole area, where ever we went the dogs received a warm welcome. We enjoyed ourselves so much we've booked a return visit for next year, the first of many returns I'm sure.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
19th November 2018
Thank you Sue for this fabulous review. We are so pleased you had such a great holiday and enjoyed days out in our very friendly area of Norfolk. See you next year.
1 review
“Perfect ❤️ X ”
Reviewed 3rd November 2018
Just arrived home after a near perfect week here, we had terrible none stop rain the whole week......obviously the cottage has no control over the weather!!! We stayed for October half term with our 2 children and our labradoodle Humphrey. The cottage is very geared up for dogs and the owners encourage you to use the throws and towels provided for the pooches. The cottage is in a great location and very close to all the doggy friendly beeches. It has a private garden which I’m sure is lovely during the warmer weather with lovely patio furniture and direct access from the cottage. The cottage it’s self has everything you could possibly want or need, it’s very cosy with a wood burner for the colder months. The owners are very knowledgeable about the local area and can recommend some great local places to eat, visit and enjoy. We had a lovely welcome basket on arrival and enjoyed local dippy eggs with local bread and home made jam.......even homemade biscuits for the pooch!!! Al in all a great little find that I would not hesitate in recommending to all my family and friends.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
4th November 2018
It was so lovely to meet you and your lovely family Marie. So sorry that we had so much rain!
4 reviews
“ 3 visits and still loving it!”
Reviewed 28th October 2018
We have stayed with Paula, Pete and Weasel 3 times now and still haven't run out of things to do. Their welcome and knowledge of the area help us to find places that are extra special every time. The cottage is perfect for us with the log burner for colder evenings and and the secure garden means we don't have to worry about Plum wandering off. We love it and will be back.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
31st October 2018
It was lovely welcoming you back for your third holiday and thank you for this fabulous review. We are so pleased that you love our fabulous county of Norfolk and yes we do hope you will be back soon. Paula, Peter and Weasel x
1 review
“Relaxing Holiday”
Reviewed 22nd October 2018
We really enjoyed the coziness of the cottage.
It was lovely to receive a welcome with cakes for us and treats for our dog.
She really appreciated the fire on a very cold, wet day.
It was easy to get around for my husband who has mobility problems.
Paula and Peter were very welcoming and so friendly, it was a pleasure to stay there.

  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
23rd October 2018
Thank you for taking the time to review us and thank you too for your fabulous review. So pleased to read that you found Church View Cottage so cosy and comfortable. Yes the fire does help after a day out on the beach. Hope to see you again in the future. Paula, Peter and Weasel.
2 reviews
“Home from Home”
Reviewed 23rd August 2018
What can we say our 5th time here and it feels like coming home, Paula and Pete make you sooo welcome even the personal touches especially the cake for our 25th Wedding Anniversay. Our two dogs have had a great time would recommend this cottage for all dog lovers, always immaculately clean. It is in a very nice location near to Norfolks many beautiful beaches, walks and local pubs.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
23rd October 2018
Thank you for your wonderful review and we were delighted you chose to celebrate you anniversary here at Church View Cottage. See you next year. X Paula, Peter and Weasel
2 reviews
“Beautiful cottage ”
Reviewed 20th August 2018
Our second visit to church view cottage with our 2 children.We were welcomed by Paula Peter & weasel and very yummy homemade cakes. The cottage is like home from home, very clean and everything you can possibly need. The secure enclosed garden was enjoyed by the children. We are looking forward to returning again next year xx
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Wow ”
Reviewed 9th August 2018
This is our first visit to the cottage and won’t be our last. Church View Cottage is absolutely spotless and has all the comforts of home, even home made treats for humans and dogs on arrival- what a lovely way to start a relaxing holiday.
Paula and Peter and wonderfully helpful and knowledgeable about the area and Weasel their dog is gorgeous. We’ve been spoilt by the fantastic weather and haven’t had to venture too far from the cottage to enjoy dips in the sea with our dogs- we’re taking 2 exhausted but very happy labradors home from their holiday. The whole area is dog friendly and I will happily recommend this cottage to everyone
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
10th August 2018
Wow Di, thank you for such a fabulous review. It's been lovely meeting you all and hope to see you again.
Birmingham, West Midlands, West Midlands
1 review
“A place to return to again and again!”
Reviewed 29th July 2018
Church View Cottage has offered us a home from home experience in Norfolk, our favourite part of the country. We have stayed here twice so far and we are eagerly awaiting our third holiday here in September 2018. We have stayed in other 'dog friendly' cottages in the region but they just don't seem to offer those little extras that really make the difference and at which the owners of Church View cottage really excel.
The accommodation is spotlessly clean and an array of goodies await your arrival so that you can start to chill out and unwind from the moment you arrive. How lovely to sit down and have a cup of tea and a slice of beautiful homemade cake after a long journey.
Our pooches are never forgotten, there are handmade dog biscuits, dog blankets and bowls, and even a special dog tag for your dog to wear whilst on holiday should the unthinkable happen!
The owners also live onsite and are on hand should you need them. They are a lovely couple and so friendly and knowledgeable about the area and places to visit. At the same time they give you your space to enjoy a peaceful and relaxing holiday.
As you can guess we love it here, and intend to return many more times over. Highly recommended.
PS: You will adore their dog Weasel, a gorgeous labradoodle!
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
30th July 2018
What a great start to our day, reading your wonderful review. Thank you, thank you, thank you.
You are more than welcome to return anytime and we look forward to seeing you in September. ❤️
3 reviews
“Church View Cottage”
Reviewed 28th July 2018
Our second visit and just as perfect as the first. The Cottage has everything you could want and the garden is wonderful for dogs, very secure and large enough to chase about in. Paula and Peter are really friendly and very knowledgeable about things to do and places to see in the area. Once you've been to the Cottage you will want to return.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
30th July 2018
Thank you for your wonderful review. Lovely to welcome you all back and we hope to see you very soon.
1 review
“Lovely holiday!”
Reviewed 19th July 2018
We had a lovely holiday in fantastic, peaceful surroundings, perfect for people and dogs! Paula, Pete, and Weasel were perfect hosts and the cottage itself is a home from home. We found lots of interesting places to visit nearby, my favourite being Wroxham and the Broads. We look forward to staying with you again.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
19th July 2018
Thank you Jane for your fabulous review. It was lovely to meet you and we look forward to you staying again in the future. Regards Paula, Peter and Weasel.
We’re Social! Facebook Facebook Facebook Facebook Connect With Us