Church View Cottage

View Business Profile Places To Stay | East Ruston, Norfolk, England | 07923606768 | www.churchviewcottagehols.co.uk

Church View Cottage say:

Church View Cottage sleeps 4 people and is a very comfortable, spacious and attractive ground floor cottage adjoined to the owners old brick and flint cottage. Situated on the outskirts of the quiet village of East Ruston, Church View Cottage is a great place to relax and unwind. Yet conveniently located near beautiful unspoilt beaches, broadland villages, traditional seaside towns. Truly dog friendly and dogs stay free of charge.

Church View Cottage
100% of users rated this business as excellent or very good.
Ranked 2 in Places To Stay in Norfolk
Ranking calculated based on average score and the most reviews. Businesses need more than 5 reviews to feature at the top.
48 reviews

Recent review

3rd November 2018
“Perfect ❤️ X ”
Just arrived home after a near perfect week here, we had terrible none stop rain the whole week......obviously the cottage has no control over the wea…

48 people have reviewed Church View Cottage


Member ratings

Excellent
48
Very Good
0
Average
0
Poor
0
Terrible
0

Rating summary

Dog Friendly
Standard of accommodation
Value for money
48 reviews (1 page) sorted by
1 review
“Perfect ❤️ X ”
Reviewed 3rd November 2018
Just arrived home after a near perfect week here, we had terrible none stop rain the whole week......obviously the cottage has no control over the weather!!! We stayed for October half term with our 2 children and our labradoodle Humphrey. The cottage is very geared up for dogs and the owners encourage you to use the throws and towels provided for the pooches. The cottage is in a great location and very close to all the doggy friendly beeches. It has a private garden which I’m sure is lovely during the warmer weather with lovely patio furniture and direct access from the cottage. The cottage it’s self has everything you could possibly want or need, it’s very cosy with a wood burner for the colder months. The owners are very knowledgeable about the local area and can recommend some great local places to eat, visit and enjoy. We had a lovely welcome basket on arrival and enjoyed local dippy eggs with local bread and home made jam.......even homemade biscuits for the pooch!!! Al in all a great little find that I would not hesitate in recommending to all my family and friends.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
4th November 2018
It was so lovely to meet you and your lovely family Marie. So sorry that we had so much rain!
3 reviews
“ 3 visits and still loving it!”
Reviewed 28th October 2018
We have stayed with Paula, Pete and Weasel 3 times now and still haven't run out of things to do. Their welcome and knowledge of the area help us to find places that are extra special every time. The cottage is perfect for us with the log burner for colder evenings and and the secure garden means we don't have to worry about Plum wandering off. We love it and will be back.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
31st October 2018
It was lovely welcoming you back for your third holiday and thank you for this fabulous review. We are so pleased that you love our fabulous county of Norfolk and yes we do hope you will be back soon. Paula, Peter and Weasel x
1 review
“Relaxing Holiday”
Reviewed 22nd October 2018
We really enjoyed the coziness of the cottage.
It was lovely to receive a welcome with cakes for us and treats for our dog.
She really appreciated the fire on a very cold, wet day.
It was easy to get around for my husband who has mobility problems.
Paula and Peter were very welcoming and so friendly, it was a pleasure to stay there.

  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
23rd October 2018
Thank you for taking the time to review us and thank you too for your fabulous review. So pleased to read that you found Church View Cottage so cosy and comfortable. Yes the fire does help after a day out on the beach. Hope to see you again in the future. Paula, Peter and Weasel.
2 reviews
“Home from Home”
Reviewed 23rd August 2018
What can we say our 5th time here and it feels like coming home, Paula and Pete make you sooo welcome even the personal touches especially the cake for our 25th Wedding Anniversay. Our two dogs have had a great time would recommend this cottage for all dog lovers, always immaculately clean. It is in a very nice location near to Norfolks many beautiful beaches, walks and local pubs.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
23rd October 2018
Thank you for your wonderful review and we were delighted you chose to celebrate you anniversary here at Church View Cottage. See you next year. X Paula, Peter and Weasel
1 review
“Beautiful cottage ”
Reviewed 20th August 2018
Our second visit to church view cottage with our 2 children.We were welcomed by Paula Peter & weasel and very yummy homemade cakes. The cottage is like home from home, very clean and everything you can possibly need. The secure enclosed garden was enjoyed by the children. We are looking forward to returning again next year xx
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Wow ”
Reviewed 9th August 2018
This is our first visit to the cottage and won’t be our last. Church View Cottage is absolutely spotless and has all the comforts of home, even home made treats for humans and dogs on arrival- what a lovely way to start a relaxing holiday.
Paula and Peter and wonderfully helpful and knowledgeable about the area and Weasel their dog is gorgeous. We’ve been spoilt by the fantastic weather and haven’t had to venture too far from the cottage to enjoy dips in the sea with our dogs- we’re taking 2 exhausted but very happy labradors home from their holiday. The whole area is dog friendly and I will happily recommend this cottage to everyone
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
10th August 2018
Wow Di, thank you for such a fabulous review. It's been lovely meeting you all and hope to see you again.
Birmingham, West Midlands, West Midlands
1 review
“A place to return to again and again!”
Reviewed 29th July 2018
Church View Cottage has offered us a home from home experience in Norfolk, our favourite part of the country. We have stayed here twice so far and we are eagerly awaiting our third holiday here in September 2018. We have stayed in other 'dog friendly' cottages in the region but they just don't seem to offer those little extras that really make the difference and at which the owners of Church View cottage really excel.
The accommodation is spotlessly clean and an array of goodies await your arrival so that you can start to chill out and unwind from the moment you arrive. How lovely to sit down and have a cup of tea and a slice of beautiful homemade cake after a long journey.
Our pooches are never forgotten, there are handmade dog biscuits, dog blankets and bowls, and even a special dog tag for your dog to wear whilst on holiday should the unthinkable happen!
The owners also live onsite and are on hand should you need them. They are a lovely couple and so friendly and knowledgeable about the area and places to visit. At the same time they give you your space to enjoy a peaceful and relaxing holiday.
As you can guess we love it here, and intend to return many more times over. Highly recommended.
PS: You will adore their dog Weasel, a gorgeous labradoodle!
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
30th July 2018
What a great start to our day, reading your wonderful review. Thank you, thank you, thank you.
You are more than welcome to return anytime and we look forward to seeing you in September. ❤️
2 reviews
“Church View Cottage”
Reviewed 28th July 2018
Our second visit and just as perfect as the first. The Cottage has everything you could want and the garden is wonderful for dogs, very secure and large enough to chase about in. Paula and Peter are really friendly and very knowledgeable about things to do and places to see in the area. Once you've been to the Cottage you will want to return.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
30th July 2018
Thank you for your wonderful review. Lovely to welcome you all back and we hope to see you very soon.
1 review
“Lovely holiday!”
Reviewed 19th July 2018
We had a lovely holiday in fantastic, peaceful surroundings, perfect for people and dogs! Paula, Pete, and Weasel were perfect hosts and the cottage itself is a home from home. We found lots of interesting places to visit nearby, my favourite being Wroxham and the Broads. We look forward to staying with you again.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
19th July 2018
Thank you Jane for your fabulous review. It was lovely to meet you and we look forward to you staying again in the future. Regards Paula, Peter and Weasel.
3 reviews
“Fantastic holiday again.”
Reviewed 12th July 2018
Our second holiday and the first with Plum our rescue dog. We all had a fantastic time in the beautifully thought out cottage and secure garden . She loved it as much as we did. Treats for us and for her so everyone felt totally spoilt.
Paula and Pete were really helpful telling us places to go and things to see that we might have not found ourselves. Norfolk is so dog friendly we were able to visit lots of different places from the first visit.
Thanks for a great time.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
12th July 2018
Thank you for you second wonderful review. It was lovely seeing Plum settle in comfortably at Church View Cottage and pleased you found Norfolk so dog friendly. See you soon. Paula, Peter and Weasel x
1 review
“Excellent Holiday ”
Reviewed 10th July 2018
We had an excellent start to our holiday at Church View Cottage, a welcome basket full of goodies, a yummy Lemon Drizzle cake which went down well with our cuppa and our dog had homemade biscuits which soon disappeared.
The cottage is very cozy, Paula and Pete have thought of everything you and your dog could possibly need, whether it’s in summer or winter. The good sized garden is enclosed so your dogs are safe to play and explore.
There are so many interesting places to visit in the area, lots of dog friendly beaches to explore, lots of eating places which welcome dogs and spoil them rotten. If you have any queries Paula and Pete are on hand to answer them and give advice.
A week is never long enough, we never want to leave.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
11th July 2018
Thank you Judy for your wonderful review. We are so pleased you had a great holiday and enjoyed Church View Cottage. Paula, Peter and Weasel. X
1 review
“Lovely Little Cottage!!”
Reviewed 10th July 2018
This was a lovely place to take our dog for his first holiday. It was really dog friendly and the homemade welcome treats were a lovely touch. Olly (our dog) was very settled and comfortable here, as was I at 30 something weeks pregnant! A very relaxing place to stay. Lots of info provided on the local areas and attractions made our stay hassle free! Would definitely recommend staying here!
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
10th July 2018
Thank you Jess, it was lovely having you stay for your first dog friendly holiday. We hope to welcome you back as a family.
2 reviews
“‘The perfect dog friendly cottage ‘”
Reviewed 10th July 2018
We have just returned from our fourth holiday at Church View Cottage and have booked our fifth!

Our dogs Jack and Bertie are made very welcome and love it there; the garden is large, peaceful and completely secure.

The cottage itself is very dog friendly with bowls, throws for the furniture and homemade dog treats (made by Paula) provided.

All of the local beaches are superb for the dogs to run around on with no dog restrictions. All the cafes and pubs that we visited were also very dog friendly.

We all adore the stunning Norfolk coastline and we walk for miles on the vast and almost deserted beaches. It is always lovely to come back and relax at the cottage after a busy day out.

Paula, Peter and Weasel are very knowledgeable and passionate about the local area and are always on hand to offer advice and suggestions of where to visit.

We are looking forward to our next holiday at Church View Cottage already !

  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
10th July 2018
Thank you Alison for your fabulous review. We really enjoy welcoming you to Cghurch View Cottage and are so pleased that your fourth stay was as equally as wonderful as your other holidays. See you next year. X Paula, Peter and weasel X
1 review
“Superb holiday”
Reviewed 12th May 2018
Church view is truly dog friendly. The owners Paula and Pete and their dog weasel made us feel welcome and right at home from the get go. The cottage was immaculate and had all the home comforts not only for us but for the dogs too! The garden was large and delightful and the home made treats were delicious. Seconded by our dogs who enjoyed their own home baked biscuits. The beds were comfy and the linen and towels were crisp and fresh. We could have stayed for weeks! Thank you so much for an amazing holiday I would highly recommend to anyone thinking about this cottage
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
14th May 2018
What a lovely review Julie. Thank you. We are so pleased you had such a fabulous holiday. You really did pack lots in to your week. Hope to see you again in the future. Paula, Peter and Weasel. X
1 review
“Truly dog friendly”
Reviewed 31st March 2018
We stayed at Church View cottage for 3 nights and found it to be a truly dog friendly place to stay with welcome treats for the dogs as well as the humans. Paula and Peter have thought of everything a dog owner may need including spare beds and bowls.
The cottage itself is lovely with comfortable beds and a log burning stove for those colder evenings. The kitchen has everything you could possibly need.
The local towns and beaches are perfect for a relaxing walk or shop.
We will definitely be going back
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
3rd April 2018
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your short break and that you found the cottage comfortable and well equipped. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
1 review
“Great place to holiday with your dog”
Reviewed 26th March 2018
We have just enjoyed a lovely week at Church View Cottage.

The cottage is very clean, comfortable and well equipped. The owners, Paula and Peter are friendly and welcoming & dog lovers themselves. Spare doggy beds & bowls are available for doggy visitors. There is a safe pet proofed garden for dogs to run around in.

Loads of great walks locally - we particularly enjoyed visiting Bacton Woods and also a fabulous walk on the nearby Blickling Estate. The Weaver's Way is close by too. Great dog friendly beaches only a short drive away and loads and loads of dog friendly pubs and cafes. Our dog even joined us on a small boat on the Broads for a day.

We and our jack russell Punk enjoyed a fabulous week & have already made a booking for next year. Highly recommend.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
27th March 2018
Thank you Punk and your mum and dad for your fabulous review. You visited so many places and had some great walks. Thank you for looking after Church View Cottage and we will see you next year.
1 review
“Great little cottage in a great location!”
Reviewed 21st February 2018
We spent a week here in February 2018 as a family of 4. Although there are only 2 double beds, the children loved sleeping in the one tucked away in the cubby! Plenty of bits & bobs for the dogs (didn't need to bring my own bowls) and lovely homemade treats to welcome both us and the dog. Great enclosed garden for the dog. Our days were spent on the gorgeous beaches, and our evenings were spent enjoying the wood burner in the cottage with a glass of wine, or sampling one of the great nearby pubs.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
22nd February 2018
We are so pleased to read your review and glad to hear you found Church View Cottage both child and dog friendly. The bed is rather special! We are pleased you enjoyed the cottages location too. Thank you. ☺
1 review
“Very relaxing cottage”
Reviewed 5th January 2018
We stayed there over new year period from 29th Dec 2017 to 5th Jan 2018.

We were made to feel so welcomed by Paula, Peter and Weasel, as so friendly. Loved Paula’s rocky road cakes, nice welcome pack of bread, milk, cakes, box of chocolate, home made jam and treats for dogs.

We needed a week break and the cottage was perfect n easy location to base yourself in and travel around. Garden just right n safe. It felt like home right in the countryside. Can not fault the cottage. Parking was easy. Highly recommended
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
6th January 2018
Thank you for your 5
Breedon on the Hill, Leicestershire, East Midlands
1 review
“Wonderful Winter Break”
Reviewed 2nd December 2017
We have just spent our first week at Church View Cottage (Nov 17) and have booked to come again in March. The property is truly dog friendly, the garden is secure, dog bowls, throws, dog towels, poo bags etc are all provided, together with a welcome hamper for dogs and humans. We brought our own bed linen with us as our dogs sleep on the bed at home. The local beaches are brilliant for dog walking, our personal favourite is Sea Palling, but we also visited Happisburgh (where the lighthouse is), Cart Gap, and Horsey Gap where we observed dozens of seals on the beach from the dunes above. Church View Cottage is very rural but several supermarkets deliver groceries, and Stalham and North Walsham are close by. The property is centrally heated and also benefits from a wood burner (first basket of logs included), it is comfortably furnished, WIFI is included, and the kitchen has everything you need to cook, if you don't want to eat out. Paula and Peter are excellent hosts, and we felt at home straightaway.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
2nd December 2017
Thank you both for your glowing review. We are so pleased you had a great Winter holiday and that you enjoyed the log burner. See you in March.
Crawley, West Sussex, South East
2 reviews
“Doggy Heaven 2”
Reviewed 6th November 2017
This was our second visit to Church View Cottage...we couldn't wait to return
From the moment you arrive you can relax knowing that your dogs will be happy & safe
Us humans could relax in the warm & comfortable accommodation too
With fantastic dog friendly beaches,pubs, cafes & restaurants all within easy reach of Church View
As ever our hosts Paula & Peter were as helpful as always ...really enjoyed the homemade scones & homemade jam...yum! ...lovely to see Weasel again
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
12th November 2017
It was lovely to welcome you all back to Church View Cottage and to meet the gorgeous Finn. So pleased your second stay was just as good as the first. See you in 2018.
2 reviews
“Church View Cottage East Ruston”
Reviewed 20th October 2017
Fantastic place to stay, owners cannot help you enough. Its tidy, comfortable and well situated to travel to the many fabulous sights in North Norfolk. Its VERY DOG FRIENDLY, the owners left us a wonderful hamper, full of goodies for humans and dogs alike. Would definstely recommend this a place to stay.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
20th October 2017
Thank you for your review Jenny. We are thrilled you enjoyed your holiday so much and that Church View gets the big thumbs up for dog friendliness. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
3 reviews
“Lovely dog friendly cottage”
Reviewed 18th October 2017
Had a lovely week, cottage is very comfortable and well equipped. Truly dog friendly, great welcome basket for dogs and humans alike. Lovely secure garden, peaceful location. Paula and Peter are perfect hosts. Love this part of Norfolk, lovely beaches and great walk. We booked for next year as soon as we left! Thank you
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
19th October 2017
It was lovely to welcome you all and we are so pleased you found Church View so dog friendly. We look forward to seeing you again next summer.
1 review
“Sarah”
Reviewed 18th October 2017
Another great week at Church View Cottage. Hamper of goodies provided for both Humans and dogs, fully enclosed secure garden. Very dog friendly run by a lovely couple and Weasel the dog. Thoroughly recommended. Lots of dog friendly local beaches and cafes.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
18th October 2017
Thank you Sarah for your fabulous review. We look forward to seeing you all next year.
1 review
“Lovely dog friendly cottage”
Reviewed 8th October 2017
We received a warm welcome along with some homemade goodies, chocolate brownies, cucumber pickle and honey and peanut butter dog cakes! We had everything we needed and a perfect secure garden for our GSD, Bella to run around in. The local beaches are great for walking, such a peaceful area. It's lovely to find accommodation that is so dog friendly, we'll be back as soon as we can. Paula and Pete are a great couple and Weasel is soooo cute.
A perfect place to stay. Deb and Dave, Redditch
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
8th October 2017
Thank you for your review Deb and Dave. We are really pleased you found Church View Cottage so dog friendly. Hope to see you again in the future.
1 review
“Be back soon”
Reviewed 18th August 2017
What can I say apart from perfect.
Lovely welcome and made to feel part of the family.
The cottage was great for us with two retired greyhounds,plenty of room
The goody basket was great after a long drive, a cup of tea and homemade jam on a local bread lurrrrvly.
Local beeches are great for walking and if you ask Paula or Pete (the owners)they'll point you in the right direction .
Paula and Pete... thanks c u soon
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
8th October 2017
So pleased you had a fabulous holiday and enjoyed your welcome goodies on arrival. We hope to see you all again in the future.
Great Baddow, Essex, East
1 review
“Summer break with Bailey the basset hound ”
Reviewed 13th August 2017
From the moment we arrived at Church View Cottage we knew we were in for a relaxing and enjoyable stay. The owners; Paula and Peter were helpful, friendly and knowledgable about the local area. The welcome pack which included a delicious Victoria sandwich cake, homemade jam and treats for Bailey was lovely. The cottage and secure garden were perfect for both us (my husband and I plus our adult daughter) and Bailey. We had everything we needed for a peaceful break, including games and jigsaws for the one day when the weather let us down. The proximity to the beautiful dog friendly beach at Happisburgh (5 min drive) and dog friendly pubs was excellent. I highly recommend this cottage. Michelle A, Chelmsford, Essex.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
14th August 2017
Thank you Michelle for your wonderful review. It was lovely to hear that you found staying here so relaxing and peaceful. It was lovely to meet you all.
1 review
“Fully recommended”
Reviewed 6th August 2017
Quaint well eqipped cottage, perfect location for the sights and sounds of Norfolk. Very disabled friendly for folks and pooches. Paula and Pete are a lovely couple, beautiful homemade welcome goodies for humans and our doggie pals provided. Safe secure garden. Fully recommend to all ages. Oh and guest book and welcome book are packed with ideas on places to visit
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
14th August 2017
It was lovely to meet you all and we are very pleased you had a great holiday in Norfolk. H
2 reviews
“Super dog friendly cottage”
Reviewed 17th July 2017
Paula and Peter are the lovely owners of Church View Cottage. Totally dog friendly garden that is very secure and great size for dogs to have a good play. Paula also makes super biscuits for your dogs ours got peanut butter ones. The Cottage is so clean and the beds let you have the best nights sleep. Great welcome basket with lots of nice things. Both Paula and Peter are very helpful and knowledgeable of the area and nothing is to much trouble. Beautiful walks, scenery and lots of nice places to eat.


  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
4th August 2017
Thank you for your lovely review and we are so pleased you enjoyed a great nights sleep. It was lovely to meet you all and see you next year.
Crawley, West Sussex, South East
2 reviews
“Doggy Heaven”
Reviewed 22nd June 2017
Trying to find any sort of dog friendly holiday accommodation is not always easy. So when you come across somewhere as brilliant as Church View Cottage it is a real pleasure. With a well fenced and secure garden you can truly relax and not worry about your four legged friends getting out and running away. Paula and Peter have worked hard to make this a cosy and comfortable little cottage which was very much appreciated. On arrival and throughout our stay they made us all feel very welcome and provided us with much valued information regarding the local beaches sites and pubs (dog friendly) to visit. We had a great holiday and hope to be returning to Church View Cottage on many more occasions.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
4th August 2017
We really enjoyed meeting you all . I can see from your review that you thoroughly enjoyed your holiday and you have already booked to come back late Autumn to experience our wonderful beaches during the chillier months. You are more than welcome back any time.
1 review
“Superb Dog Friendly Cottage”
Reviewed 19th June 2017
So great to stay in a really dog friendly cottage who provides everything that you could wish for, including home made treats for humans and their dogs! The Cottage is so comfortable - a real home from home. The area has such lovely dog friendly local beaches to spend days walking on and and then spend the evenings with a tired dog curled up in front of the wood burner. I have stayed 3 times so far and have already booked next years holiday! The cottage is so clean that last time I had a friend stay who has asthma and she couldn't tell that cottage had ever had dogs in it - so really friendly for all humans and dogs alike. I have would have not hesitation in recommending this cottage to anyone.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
4th August 2017
You have now stayed with us three times Diane with Poppy and it's always lovely to welcome you both back. It's great that you see Church View as a real home from home. That is exactly what we like to hear. See you next year. X
We’re Social! Facebook Facebook Facebook Facebook Connect With Us