Church View Cottage

View Business Profile Places To Stay | East Ruston, Norfolk, England | 07923606768 | www.churchviewcottagehols.co.uk

Church View Cottage say:

Church View Cottage sleeps 4 people and is a very comfortable, spacious and attractive ground floor cottage adjoined to the owners old brick and flint cottage. Situated on the outskirts of the quiet village of East Ruston, Church View Cottage is a great place to relax and unwind. Yet conveniently located near beautiful unspoilt beaches, broadland villages, traditional seaside towns. Truly dog friendly and dogs stay free of charge.

Church View Cottage
100% of users rated this business as excellent or very good.
Ranked 2 in Places To Stay in Norfolk
Ranking calculated based on average score and the most reviews. Businesses need more than 5 reviews to feature at the top.
79 reviews

Recent review

8th November 2020
“Our holiday”
Just home after our first visit and it won’t be our last. We were warmly welcomed by Paula and introduced to her beautiful restful cottage. A pea…

79 people have reviewed Church View Cottage


Member ratings

Excellent
78
Very Good
1
Average
0
Poor
0
Terrible
0

Rating summary

Dog Friendly
Standard of accommodation
Value for money
79 reviews (1 page) sorted by
1 review
“Our holiday”
Reviewed 8th November 2020
Just home after our first visit and it won’t be our last. We were warmly welcomed by Paula and introduced to her beautiful restful cottage. A peaceful, rural, location near to beaches, shops and attractions. very close to Horsey Beach and the seals that were pupping while we were there. Amazing welcome hamper provided delicious goodies for both us and Tess. Truly dog friendly with a safe garden and no restrictions on where she could go. Lovely to meet Paula, Pete and Weasel and would highly recommend Church View Cottage for a doggie friendly holiday x
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
9th November 2020
Thank you for your wonderful review and so pleased to read how lovely your first holiday here was. We hope to see you again in the future. ????
1 review
“Fantastic home away from home”
Reviewed 1st November 2020
We have just returned from our first holiday at Church View Cottage, and can't wait to return!
The cottage is cosy and comfortable with everything you could possibly need. It's so lovely to find a cottage that is truly dog friendly!
We enjoyed exploring the local area using the information book provided in the cottage. We walked for miles on the gorgeous sandy beaches, and we even got to see Seals at Horsey!
Paula, Peter and Weasel were so welcoming, and nothing was too much trouble.
The welcome basket with homemade treats for the humans and dog was a lovely gesture!
I shall look forward to returning in February!
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
2nd November 2020
Thank you for your fabulous review and we are so very pleased that you enjoyed your first holiday here at Church View Cottage so much. It was lovely to meet you all and we look forward to welcoming you back in February. Paula, Peter and Weasel x
2 reviews
“Our Happy Place”
Reviewed 26th October 2020
We've just returned from our third stay at Church Veiw Cottage and with two more holidays booked for next year, I can honestly say we have found our "happy place". The cottage is cosy and comfortable, the welcome we receive from Paula and Peter makes us feel like we are returning home to stay with family. This particular corner of Norfolk is very pretty, miles and miles of unspoilt beaches and country walks,extremely dog friendly. All I can say is once you've visited you will want to return time and time again .
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
26th October 2020
This is such a lovely review for us to read. Thank you so much and we look forward to welcome you back twice next year to continue to make happy memories in your happy place. X Paula, Peter and Weasel.
1 review
“Autumn Break At Church View Cottage ”
Reviewed 25th October 2020

We have just enjoyed another superb holiday at Church View Cottage with our two dogs.
We have walked for miles on the sandy dog friendly beaches of Norfolk; at times we had the beach to ourselves. This is why we love visiting in the Autumn.
We loved returning to the warm and cosy cottage in the evenings to have dinner and to plan our adventure for the next day while the dogs snoozed.
We have returned home refreshed and relaxed with happy memories and sandy paws.
We have already booked for next year!
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
25th October 2020
So lovely to welcome you back and thrilled to read your review. It's so important that our guests return and enjoy their holiday just as much as their previous ones. See you next year.
5 reviews
“A home from home ”
Reviewed 22nd September 2020
So welcoming, as soon as we walk through the door we’re relaxed. A very easy place to stay with everything you could want including the most comfortable sofa ever!
Dog love the garden which is lovely.
Paula and Peter are so welcoming and provide a lovely welcome basket with lots of home made goodies. Very close to gorgeous beaches, lovely walks and cosy places to eat.
Thank you
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
23rd September 2020
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so pleased you enjoy your holidays here. See you next year and the year after!
Crawley, West Sussex, South East
4 reviews
“Relaxing Church View - The Place To Unwind”
Reviewed 18th September 2020
As soon as you walk through the door you can kick back and relax in the knowledge that Church View Cottage is totally dog friendly and dog safe. No worries about your furry friends getting out and running away, the garden is great for the dogs to run around as much as the like and is well fenced all round.
Owners Pauls and Peter have worked hard in making this a great place to stay with your four legged friends, which is why so many of the visitors return year after year - ourselves included.
There are plenty of nearby sandy beaches where you can walk your dogs to your hearts content. Local pubs and Cafe's are nearly all dog friendly as well. All makes for a perfect place to unwind.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
20th September 2020
Thank you for this fabulous review and we are pleased that Church View Cottage continues to be an excellent place for you to holiday. See you next year.
Crawley, West Sussex, South East
4 reviews
“Relaxing Church View Cottage”
Reviewed 14th September 2020
As soon as you walk through the door at Church View Cottage with your four legged friends you know that you can just kick back and relax in the knowledge that the dogs can roam around the fully fenced garden in safety.
This is the sixth time that we have visited and it wont be our last. Many of the other guests also return regularly - need i say anymore.
Owners Paula and Peter make you feel very welcome and have worked hard to make this a really excellent dog friendly and safe place to stay.
Norfolk is a great place for anyone wanting to holiday with their dogs - pubs, cafe's and beaches, very dog friendly.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
20th September 2020
Thank you, what another fabulous review. So pleased you can relax and unwind. That's exactly what we hope you can do. See you next year. Paula, Peter and Weasel.
1 review
“Lovely Church View Cottage”
Reviewed 27th July 2020
This is our 2nd visit, but this time we brought our granddaughter along to sample the lovely Norfolk Broads.Paula,Peter and Weasel (dog) greeted us when we arrived and Paula went through all the safety precautions, which put our minds at rest. The cottage was lovely and clean, the welcome basket was a lovely touch, which included cakes, bread, eggs, etc, and even cheese biscuits for our 2 dogs, which they loved. For our granddaughter and our dogs we visited Sea Palling, Happisburgh, and Horsey beaches which they really enjoyed, they had great fun, the beaches were beautiful and clean. Horsy beach is where you can see the wonderful site of Seals, which made our day. We also went on a Mississippi Boat Trip for a hour and half along the Broads and another day on a Steam Train at Sherringham all in all this as been a great holiday. Thanks Paula,Pater and Weasel for a lovely stay, hope to see you again
Kind Regards
Dave, Mary, Madison,Billie and Humphrey
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
28th July 2020
Thank you for this fabulous review And it was great to welcome you back to Church View Cottage. So pleased Madison loved her first visit to Norfolk and that you had such a great holiday. Yes we would definitely like to welcome you back again. Regards Paula, Peter and Weasel.
4 reviews
“Church view cottage”
Reviewed 26th July 2020
Our 4th visit to this beautiful relaxing cottage. Paula and Peter are so friendly and helpful couldn’t ask for nicer people. We came for 2 weeks and were the first people in since lockdown relaxed, the cottage was so clean and we felt really safe. The welcome basket of home made cakes, eggs, bread and even bone shaped cheese biscuits for the dogs went down really well. Glass of wine in the evening watching the dogs play In the very secure garden Is a must. The cottage is in a perfect location not far from anything including places to eat and beaches. That good we have booked 2 weeks for next year. Thanks to Paula, Peter and not forgetting Weasel their most gorgeous dog.
Love Lynne Julie Alfie Kizzy and Topy xx
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
27th July 2020
Thank you for this wonderful review. Like we told you while you were here we couldn't have asked for better guests to stay after re opening. Thank you again for looking after Church View Cottage and we are so pleased that you are able to work that two weeker in next year! Paula, Peter and Weasel x
1 review
“Perfect”
Reviewed 3rd January 2020
Our first visit and it won’t be our last. Warmly welcomed by Paula, Peter and Weasel into their cosy, warm, cottage. A peaceful, rural, location but close enough to beaches, shops and attractions. Wonderful welcome hamper provided delicious goodies for both us and our dog. Truly dog friendly with a fully enclosed garden and no restrictions on where she could go. Highly recommended.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
3rd January 2020
Wow, thank you for such a wonderful review. Great to hear that you found Church View perfect and we really do hope to see you all again too.
1 review
“Peaceful week, perfect break”
Reviewed 10th November 2019
My mum and I were looking for a quiet getaway with our 3 dogs to escape the fireworks. Couldn't have asked for a better place to do it. The welcome from Paula and Peter was so friendly. They were always at hand if we wanted anything but not at all pushy. The cottage was clean, cosy and well equipped. The location was great, close enough to local beaches and shops while being in a rural location.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
4 reviews
“Another perfect holiday!”
Reviewed 22nd October 2019
Thanks to Paula, Pete and Weasel for our third perfect holiday with them. Felt like we had Norfolk to ourselves with wide open beaches and the roads virtually empty.
The cottage is always spotless and so cosy for an Autumn break with the log burner keeping us warm in the evening, Plum really loved it. Everything we needed for a relaxed dog friendly holiday had been thought of and provided.
We also appreciated the delicious welcome pack with home made cake and jam for us and home made biscuits for Plum.
It feels like a home from home now and we can't wait to go again.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
23rd October 2019
Thank you for your wonderful review. It was so lovely to read. We really enjoy having you stay and we do hope to see you again next year.
5 reviews
“Home from home”
Reviewed 28th September 2019
Have just spent our third stay at this beautiful cottage. Fully equipped with all you need and exceedingly dog friendly to enjoy and relax for a perfect holiday. Beautiful garden to kick back and relax in knowing it’s very secure for the dogs. The owners Paula and Pete go above and beyond to ensure you have a lovely holiday .. the location is great with a short distance to the beach , pubs and places of interest. Booked up for 2 more holiday next year and we can’t wait!
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
29th September 2019
Thank you so much for this wonderful review. You are such lovely guests too and look after Church View Cottage so brilliantly. And two 2020 holidays booked. Fabulous. X
Wirksworth, Derbyshire, East Midlands
3 reviews
“2nd Wonderful Visit to Norfolk!”
Reviewed 15th September 2019
We’ve just returned from our second stay at Church View Cottage and hoping to book for a third time next year. We were given a lovely welcome from Paula, Peter and Weasel. The cottage is perfect in every way for a great relaxing break. Everything you could possibly need has been provided. It is brilliant for four legged guests too. This part of Norfolk is stunning and very dog friendly. Can’t wait to come back!
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
15th September 2019
Thank you for your wonderful review and thank you too for being such lovely guests. You are welcome to return anytime!
1 review
“Back again for 6th stay, says it all!”
Reviewed 24th August 2019
Once again my dog and myself have returned to this wonderful cottage in Norfolk to enjoy our 6th doggy holiday!

I really can’t fault this place at all, every time I return it is always clean and very welcoming for both humans and dogs, with treats waiting for both, (lovely cake), and has everything you will need to stay there for a week, like you’ve never left home.

There is so much to do in Norfolk, woodland walks, boat trips and wonderful beaches to explore, and once this has tired you out and your hungry, there is plenty of pubs to eat and drink just round the corner, and all of this is great because everywhere is dog friendly, and to top it off this cottage is located central to many places here, so everything isn’t a far drive away.

I will be back next year for my 7th stay and still have so much to explore, I can’t wait!
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
25th August 2019
Wow, thank you for your fabulous review. And we can't wait to welcome you back for your 7th holiday. Paula, Peter and Weasel.
1 review
“First Norfolk Holiday”
Reviewed 24th August 2019
This was my first time staying at Church View Cottage and what a lovely welcome I received from Paula, Pete and Weasel ! The cottage is a perfect for a dog friendly holiday and everything you could ask for, from the best chocolate brownies ever to great suggestions on places to visit with your doggy friend! Some where you can visit over and over again.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
25th August 2019
So pleased to read that you enjoyed your first dog friendly holiday here at Church View and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
2 reviews
“Fantastic 3rd holiday at Church View Cottage ”
Reviewed 19th August 2019
Home from our 3rd holiday at Church View Cottage with our children age 7 and 9. And just booked
Our 4th holiday.
We were welcomed by Paula and weasel and yummy homemade cakes.
The cottage is home from home and very welcoming. we spent relaxing evenings playing games and doing puzzles after busy days.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
20th August 2019
Thank you for your wonderful review and so pleased you had yet another fabulous holiday here at Church View Cottage. You are always so busy while you are here! And plenty more activities planned for next year. See you in 2020. Paula, Peter and Weasel.x
1 review
“An amazingly relaxing gem!”
Reviewed 3rd August 2019
We have just returned after a week at Church view. From the moment we stepped out of the car we were given the warmest of receptions from Peter who showed us round before leaving us to settling in as Paula was away but on her return she too popped in which was lovely. We were treated to delicious cupcakes and essentials such as bread and homemade jam which were much appreciated and enjoyed by us all. Even the dogs were treated with yummy homemade dog biscuits.

Our 2 boys(12 & 9) were so excited at their room and the garden (we took cheap badminton sets which they enjoyed). We even took to playing cards in the evenings with no tv on which is almost unheard of for our technology obsessed children.

The cottage is a home from home with everything you need for a break, so much so we choose to stay in and cook most nights. The weather was so good we took up the chance to bbq with the one from the shed.

Our 2 dogs took a liking to the cottage and garden and enjoyed a visit from Weasel. All the sea air wore them out and the cottage was their haven for the week.

The location is fabulous as it is so quiet and no light pollution ... so definitely some star gazing to be done on clear nights. Although quiet you are minutes away from Cart Gap (Smallsticks cafe definitely worth a visit) and Happisburgh lighthouse. For essentials there is a Tesco about 5 mins away too. Sea Palling, Winter and Walcott are all within easy reach too.

All 6 of us enjoyed it so much we booked for next year before we left .... what more can we say other than my youngest woke on the last morning and stated ‘I’m sad to go, I’m going to miss this place!’
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
5th August 2019
Wow, what a lovely review. We were so thrilled to read this. So lovely to meet you all. And we look forward to seeing you next Spring. Enjoy the rest of your summer holidays. ☺️
1 review
“Fourth holiday stay and still counting”
Reviewed 27th July 2019
We have just returned from our 4th and very relaxing holiday at Church View. The weather was scorching in the 30's all week and with a dog we were not able to go out and about in the hot sun. It was lovely to sit back and relax in the comfort and coolness that Church View provides. The garden is lovely and secure for the dog so to sit in the shade with a Prosecco or two went down a treat. It is so calm and quiet away from the hustle and bustle of our home city and a little oasis within our favourite part of England. The owners are delightful, so friendly and helpful you couldn't want for more. We will soon be sitting down to plan our next stay at Church View and never tire of returning to this very special gem of a place.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
30th July 2019
Oh what a lovely review! Thank you. You really did have a scorching week weather wise but so pleased to read that the coolness of the cottage helped. You too are delightful guests and we really do hope to see you again for your fifth stay.
1 review
“February Holiday”
Reviewed 18th July 2019
Another brilliant holiday at Church View Cottage, it really is a true home from home, with everything that you need. As always there was a very friendly welcome from Paula, Pete and Weasel and a lovely welcome basket - Poppy especially enjoyed the homemade dog biscuits!
The local beaches are always lovely but this year the weather was superb, it could almost have been summer. A great place to stretch your legs and then back to read a book with a slice of Paula's homemade cake, in front of the log burner = perfection for humans and dogs alike.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
19th July 2019
Thank you Diane for your fabulous review. I've lost count of the number of times that you have stayed here at Church View Cottage. You are both so very welcome here anytime. ☺️
2 reviews
“THE BEST NORFOLK GETAWAY ”
Reviewed 14th July 2019
Another brilliant holiday at Church View Cottage. Everything you need is in the cottage, it’s home from home. You always get a friendly greeting from Paula, Pete and Weasel and the welcome pack is so handy when you’ve had a long drive and desperately need a cuppa and slice of cake, it’s all waiting for you, the dogs enjoyed their homemade treats as well. The dogs love the garden and surrounding beaches and woods to walk in. Can’t believe how dog friendly all the pubs, cafe’s and restaurants are. You leave feeling so refreshed and counting the days to your next stay there. Brilliant.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
15th July 2019
Thank you Judy for your fabulous review. We are so pleased that you find Church View so comfortable. We will see you next year.
4 reviews
“Church view holiday”
Reviewed 23rd May 2019
Another super week at church view. The cottage is loverly, and the garden is the best for dogs, very secure. Paula and Peter are so friendly and helpful It's like going to visit family. The welcome goodies are always really good with treats like buns and practical things like eggs and not forgetting the dog treats which the three Poodles thought were loverly.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
24th May 2019
Thank you for your fabulous review. Always lovely to welcome you back to Church View Cottage. And you have already booked for next year! Paula, Peter and Weasel x
1 review
“PERFECT DOGFRIENDLY COTTAGE”
Reviewed 14th May 2019
We had such a lovely week at Church View Cottage.Paula and Peter were perfect hosts.There when needed but also given your privacy.Perfect balance!!The cottage is so clean and comfy...especially the all important bed.Everything provided not only for us but for our pooch Harry as well.Their lovely dog Weasel is also a bonus...lovely chilled out boy.Definitely a place to visit again..and again.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
14th May 2019
Thank you for your wonderful review. So pleased you had an excellent holiday and we would most definitely like to see you return again and again.
1 review
“Perfect Peace”
Reviewed 4th May 2019
Enjoyed a relaxing and peaceful stay! Our two dogs settled straight away and thoroughly enjoyed the garden.
We walked in and felt welcomed and at home!
On a clear night there was no light pollution so the stars were so clear!
Highly recommended!!!
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
7th May 2019
We are so pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your holiday here at Church View. It was lovely to meet you all.
5 reviews
“Church View Cottage”
Reviewed 27th April 2019
Fabulous place to stay. Clean, comfortable cottage. Great location . Owners very friendly and helpful.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
7th May 2019
Thank you both for your fabulous review and we look forward to welcoming you back in September and April!
1 review
“Fantastic holiday”
Reviewed 27th March 2019
This was our first holiday with our 2 English Springer Spaniels and certainly won't be the last. Peter and Paula have made a fantastic holiday home from home, the cottage was fabulous, so cosy, clean and comfortable. The garden is totally dog proof and pretty. The welcome pack was delicious. The whole area is so dog friendly, the beaches were loved by the dogs and not once did we feel they were unwelcome or a nuisance. We will be recommending Church View Cottage to everyone and can't wait to return, hopefully for longer.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
27th March 2019
So lovely to meet you all and we are thrilled to read your review. We most definitely look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Many thanks Paula, Peter and Weasel.
1 review
“A gem near the beaches.”
Reviewed 5th March 2019
Paula and Peter Wooding have made this a wonderful doggy retreat, with its secure and pretty, south-facing garden plus a houseful of doggy accessories. Bella and Charlie particularly enjoyed the home-made peanut butter biscuits just for them. We felt as if we and our dogs were all welcome, the dogs not just tolerated. All of us were comfortable and even though it was an unseasonably warm February the log-burner was a cosy thing to sit round in the evening. There are so many wonderful, spacious beaches and dunes nearby they all run into one another, and there is no danger of dogs being unwelcome on them. It was dog heaven walking between Sea Palling (some good cafes) and Eccles, and then further north to Sheringham and Overstrand and Blakeney. Everywhere we went we felt as if it was almost a disadvantage NOT to have a dog with you! We can recommend the nearest pubs, The Star Inn at Lessingham and the pub at Happisborough, though we found practically every place we visited provided good pub food and was easy-going about dogs. We would love to have shared a photo but this website will only accept 2 Mb.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
27th March 2019
Thank you for your review and pleased to hear you describe our cottage as a "gem".
1 review
“Great stay for dogs and humans alike”
Reviewed 3rd January 2019
Just returned from new year at Church View our 2nd visit. Feel totally relaxed and recharged although the dogs are still shattered from the great beach walks and exploring in woods close by. Ideal.location for exploring and relaxing. Silence is definitely golden here. The hosts Paula and Peter are really lovely and friendly and by no means pushy or intrusive, always on hand to help and for great holiday tips of where to visit and make the most of your time. The welcome packs are fantastic and greatly appreciated. The cottage is very very well equipped cosy and warm. Definitely well worth the money and worth visit again we all can't wait
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
3rd January 2019
Great to see you return to Church View and so very pleased that you had a fabulous New Year at Church View Cottage. You are all welcome to return any time.
Wirksworth, Derbyshire, East Midlands
3 reviews
“Pawfect ”
Reviewed 30th November 2018
This was our first visit to the area and Church View Cottage. We were made very very welcome with a delicious welcome basket which even included homemade biscuits for our dogs. There is everything you could possibly need for you and your dogs including a secure garden. The cottage is lovely and cosy with lots of character. Paula and Pete were very helpful and very knowledgeable about places to visit etc. I’m so pleased I found them and would have no hesitation in recommending them!
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
4th December 2018
It was so lovely to meet you all and we are very pleased to here you enjoyed your first stay in our cottage and in fact in wonderful dog friendly Norfolk. We hope to welcome you back again in the future.
1 review
“Fabulous ”
Reviewed 24th November 2018
Lovely, lovely place to stay.
Attention to detail absolutely first class.
The welcome basket second to none - included home made flapjacks for the humans and a treat for the dog!
Highly recommended
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
4th December 2018
Thank you for your fabulous review. ☺️
We’re Social! Facebook Facebook Facebook Facebook Connect With Us