Church View Cottage

View Business Profile Places To Stay | East Ruston, Norfolk, England | 07923606768 | www.churchviewcottagehols.co.uk

Church View Cottage say:

Church View Cottage sleeps 4 people and is a very comfortable, spacious and attractive ground floor cottage adjoined to the owners old brick and flint cottage. Situated on the outskirts of the quiet village of East Ruston, Church View Cottage is a great place to relax and unwind. Yet conveniently located near beautiful unspoilt beaches, broadland villages, traditional seaside towns. Truly dog friendly and dogs stay free of charge.

Church View Cottage
100% of users rated this business as excellent or very good.
Ranked 2 in Places To Stay in Norfolk
Ranking calculated based on average score and the most reviews. Businesses need more than 5 reviews to feature at the top.
39 reviews

Recent review

12th July 2018
“Fantastic holiday again.”
Our second holiday and the first with Plum our rescue dog. We all had a fantastic time in the beautifully thought out cottage and secure garden . She …

39 people have reviewed Church View Cottage


Member ratings

Excellent
39
Very Good
0
Average
0
Poor
0
Terrible
0

Rating summary

Dog Friendly
Standard of accommodation
Value for money
39 reviews (1 page) sorted by
2 reviews
“Fantastic holiday again.”
Reviewed 12th July 2018
Our second holiday and the first with Plum our rescue dog. We all had a fantastic time in the beautifully thought out cottage and secure garden . She loved it as much as we did. Treats for us and for her so everyone felt totally spoilt.
Paula and Pete were really helpful telling us places to go and things to see that we might have not found ourselves. Norfolk is so dog friendly we were able to visit lots of different places from the first visit.
Thanks for a great time.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
12th July 2018
Thank you for you second wonderful review. It was lovely seeing Plum settle in comfortably at Church View Cottage and pleased you found Norfolk so dog friendly. See you soon. Paula, Peter and Weasel x
1 review
“Excellent Holiday ”
Reviewed 10th July 2018
We had an excellent start to our holiday at Church View Cottage, a welcome basket full of goodies, a yummy Lemon Drizzle cake which went down well with our cuppa and our dog had homemade biscuits which soon disappeared.
The cottage is very cozy, Paula and Pete have thought of everything you and your dog could possibly need, whether it’s in summer or winter. The good sized garden is enclosed so your dogs are safe to play and explore.
There are so many interesting places to visit in the area, lots of dog friendly beaches to explore, lots of eating places which welcome dogs and spoil them rotten. If you have any queries Paula and Pete are on hand to answer them and give advice.
A week is never long enough, we never want to leave.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
11th July 2018
Thank you Judy for your wonderful review. We are so pleased you had a great holiday and enjoyed Church View Cottage. Paula, Peter and Weasel. X
1 review
“Lovely Little Cottage!!”
Reviewed 10th July 2018
This was a lovely place to take our dog for his first holiday. It was really dog friendly and the homemade welcome treats were a lovely touch. Olly (our dog) was very settled and comfortable here, as was I at 30 something weeks pregnant! A very relaxing place to stay. Lots of info provided on the local areas and attractions made our stay hassle free! Would definitely recommend staying here!
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
10th July 2018
Thank you Jess, it was lovely having you stay for your first dog friendly holiday. We hope to welcome you back as a family.
2 reviews
“‘The perfect dog friendly cottage ‘”
Reviewed 10th July 2018
We have just returned from our fourth holiday at Church View Cottage and have booked our fifth!

Our dogs Jack and Bertie are made very welcome and love it there; the garden is large, peaceful and completely secure.

The cottage itself is very dog friendly with bowls, throws for the furniture and homemade dog treats (made by Paula) provided.

All of the local beaches are superb for the dogs to run around on with no dog restrictions. All the cafes and pubs that we visited were also very dog friendly.

We all adore the stunning Norfolk coastline and we walk for miles on the vast and almost deserted beaches. It is always lovely to come back and relax at the cottage after a busy day out.

Paula, Peter and Weasel are very knowledgeable and passionate about the local area and are always on hand to offer advice and suggestions of where to visit.

We are looking forward to our next holiday at Church View Cottage already !

  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
10th July 2018
Thank you Alison for your fabulous review. We really enjoy welcoming you to Cghurch View Cottage and are so pleased that your fourth stay was as equally as wonderful as your other holidays. See you next year. X Paula, Peter and weasel X
1 review
“Superb holiday”
Reviewed 12th May 2018
Church view is truly dog friendly. The owners Paula and Pete and their dog weasel made us feel welcome and right at home from the get go. The cottage was immaculate and had all the home comforts not only for us but for the dogs too! The garden was large and delightful and the home made treats were delicious. Seconded by our dogs who enjoyed their own home baked biscuits. The beds were comfy and the linen and towels were crisp and fresh. We could have stayed for weeks! Thank you so much for an amazing holiday I would highly recommend to anyone thinking about this cottage
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
14th May 2018
What a lovely review Julie. Thank you. We are so pleased you had such a fabulous holiday. You really did pack lots in to your week. Hope to see you again in the future. Paula, Peter and Weasel. X
1 review
“Truly dog friendly”
Reviewed 31st March 2018
We stayed at Church View cottage for 3 nights and found it to be a truly dog friendly place to stay with welcome treats for the dogs as well as the humans. Paula and Peter have thought of everything a dog owner may need including spare beds and bowls.
The cottage itself is lovely with comfortable beds and a log burning stove for those colder evenings. The kitchen has everything you could possibly need.
The local towns and beaches are perfect for a relaxing walk or shop.
We will definitely be going back
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
3rd April 2018
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your short break and that you found the cottage comfortable and well equipped. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
1 review
“Great place to holiday with your dog”
Reviewed 26th March 2018
We have just enjoyed a lovely week at Church View Cottage.

The cottage is very clean, comfortable and well equipped. The owners, Paula and Peter are friendly and welcoming & dog lovers themselves. Spare doggy beds & bowls are available for doggy visitors. There is a safe pet proofed garden for dogs to run around in.

Loads of great walks locally - we particularly enjoyed visiting Bacton Woods and also a fabulous walk on the nearby Blickling Estate. The Weaver's Way is close by too. Great dog friendly beaches only a short drive away and loads and loads of dog friendly pubs and cafes. Our dog even joined us on a small boat on the Broads for a day.

We and our jack russell Punk enjoyed a fabulous week & have already made a booking for next year. Highly recommend.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
27th March 2018
Thank you Punk and your mum and dad for your fabulous review. You visited so many places and had some great walks. Thank you for looking after Church View Cottage and we will see you next year.
1 review
“Great little cottage in a great location!”
Reviewed 21st February 2018
We spent a week here in February 2018 as a family of 4. Although there are only 2 double beds, the children loved sleeping in the one tucked away in the cubby! Plenty of bits & bobs for the dogs (didn't need to bring my own bowls) and lovely homemade treats to welcome both us and the dog. Great enclosed garden for the dog. Our days were spent on the gorgeous beaches, and our evenings were spent enjoying the wood burner in the cottage with a glass of wine, or sampling one of the great nearby pubs.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
22nd February 2018
We are so pleased to read your review and glad to hear you found Church View Cottage both child and dog friendly. The bed is rather special! We are pleased you enjoyed the cottages location too. Thank you. ☺
1 review
“Very relaxing cottage”
Reviewed 5th January 2018
We stayed there over new year period from 29th Dec 2017 to 5th Jan 2018.

We were made to feel so welcomed by Paula, Peter and Weasel, as so friendly. Loved Paula’s rocky road cakes, nice welcome pack of bread, milk, cakes, box of chocolate, home made jam and treats for dogs.

We needed a week break and the cottage was perfect n easy location to base yourself in and travel around. Garden just right n safe. It felt like home right in the countryside. Can not fault the cottage. Parking was easy. Highly recommended
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
6th January 2018
Thank you for your 5
Breedon on the Hill, Leicestershire, East Midlands
1 review
“Wonderful Winter Break”
Reviewed 2nd December 2017
We have just spent our first week at Church View Cottage (Nov 17) and have booked to come again in March. The property is truly dog friendly, the garden is secure, dog bowls, throws, dog towels, poo bags etc are all provided, together with a welcome hamper for dogs and humans. We brought our own bed linen with us as our dogs sleep on the bed at home. The local beaches are brilliant for dog walking, our personal favourite is Sea Palling, but we also visited Happisburgh (where the lighthouse is), Cart Gap, and Horsey Gap where we observed dozens of seals on the beach from the dunes above. Church View Cottage is very rural but several supermarkets deliver groceries, and Stalham and North Walsham are close by. The property is centrally heated and also benefits from a wood burner (first basket of logs included), it is comfortably furnished, WIFI is included, and the kitchen has everything you need to cook, if you don't want to eat out. Paula and Peter are excellent hosts, and we felt at home straightaway.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
2nd December 2017
Thank you both for your glowing review. We are so pleased you had a great Winter holiday and that you enjoyed the log burner. See you in March.
Crawley, West Sussex, South East
2 reviews
“Doggy Heaven 2”
Reviewed 6th November 2017
This was our second visit to Church View Cottage...we couldn't wait to return
From the moment you arrive you can relax knowing that your dogs will be happy & safe
Us humans could relax in the warm & comfortable accommodation too
With fantastic dog friendly beaches,pubs, cafes & restaurants all within easy reach of Church View
As ever our hosts Paula & Peter were as helpful as always ...really enjoyed the homemade scones & homemade jam...yum! ...lovely to see Weasel again
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
12th November 2017
It was lovely to welcome you all back to Church View Cottage and to meet the gorgeous Finn. So pleased your second stay was just as good as the first. See you in 2018.
2 reviews
“Church View Cottage East Ruston”
Reviewed 20th October 2017
Fantastic place to stay, owners cannot help you enough. Its tidy, comfortable and well situated to travel to the many fabulous sights in North Norfolk. Its VERY DOG FRIENDLY, the owners left us a wonderful hamper, full of goodies for humans and dogs alike. Would definstely recommend this a place to stay.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
20th October 2017
Thank you for your review Jenny. We are thrilled you enjoyed your holiday so much and that Church View gets the big thumbs up for dog friendliness. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
3 reviews
“Lovely dog friendly cottage”
Reviewed 18th October 2017
Had a lovely week, cottage is very comfortable and well equipped. Truly dog friendly, great welcome basket for dogs and humans alike. Lovely secure garden, peaceful location. Paula and Peter are perfect hosts. Love this part of Norfolk, lovely beaches and great walk. We booked for next year as soon as we left! Thank you
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
19th October 2017
It was lovely to welcome you all and we are so pleased you found Church View so dog friendly. We look forward to seeing you again next summer.
1 review
“Sarah”
Reviewed 18th October 2017
Another great week at Church View Cottage. Hamper of goodies provided for both Humans and dogs, fully enclosed secure garden. Very dog friendly run by a lovely couple and Weasel the dog. Thoroughly recommended. Lots of dog friendly local beaches and cafes.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
18th October 2017
Thank you Sarah for your fabulous review. We look forward to seeing you all next year.
1 review
“Lovely dog friendly cottage”
Reviewed 8th October 2017
We received a warm welcome along with some homemade goodies, chocolate brownies, cucumber pickle and honey and peanut butter dog cakes! We had everything we needed and a perfect secure garden for our GSD, Bella to run around in. The local beaches are great for walking, such a peaceful area. It's lovely to find accommodation that is so dog friendly, we'll be back as soon as we can. Paula and Pete are a great couple and Weasel is soooo cute.
A perfect place to stay. Deb and Dave, Redditch
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
8th October 2017
Thank you for your review Deb and Dave. We are really pleased you found Church View Cottage so dog friendly. Hope to see you again in the future.
1 review
“Be back soon”
Reviewed 18th August 2017
What can I say apart from perfect.
Lovely welcome and made to feel part of the family.
The cottage was great for us with two retired greyhounds,plenty of room
The goody basket was great after a long drive, a cup of tea and homemade jam on a local bread lurrrrvly.
Local beeches are great for walking and if you ask Paula or Pete (the owners)they'll point you in the right direction .
Paula and Pete... thanks c u soon
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
8th October 2017
So pleased you had a fabulous holiday and enjoyed your welcome goodies on arrival. We hope to see you all again in the future.
Great Baddow, Essex, East
1 review
“Summer break with Bailey the basset hound ”
Reviewed 13th August 2017
From the moment we arrived at Church View Cottage we knew we were in for a relaxing and enjoyable stay. The owners; Paula and Peter were helpful, friendly and knowledgable about the local area. The welcome pack which included a delicious Victoria sandwich cake, homemade jam and treats for Bailey was lovely. The cottage and secure garden were perfect for both us (my husband and I plus our adult daughter) and Bailey. We had everything we needed for a peaceful break, including games and jigsaws for the one day when the weather let us down. The proximity to the beautiful dog friendly beach at Happisburgh (5 min drive) and dog friendly pubs was excellent. I highly recommend this cottage. Michelle A, Chelmsford, Essex.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
14th August 2017
Thank you Michelle for your wonderful review. It was lovely to hear that you found staying here so relaxing and peaceful. It was lovely to meet you all.
1 review
“Fully recommended”
Reviewed 6th August 2017
Quaint well eqipped cottage, perfect location for the sights and sounds of Norfolk. Very disabled friendly for folks and pooches. Paula and Pete are a lovely couple, beautiful homemade welcome goodies for humans and our doggie pals provided. Safe secure garden. Fully recommend to all ages. Oh and guest book and welcome book are packed with ideas on places to visit
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
14th August 2017
It was lovely to meet you all and we are very pleased you had a great holiday in Norfolk. H
1 review
“Super dog friendly cottage”
Reviewed 17th July 2017
Paula and Peter are the lovely owners of Church View Cottage. Totally dog friendly garden that is very secure and great size for dogs to have a good play. Paula also makes super biscuits for your dogs ours got peanut butter ones. The Cottage is so clean and the beds let you have the best nights sleep. Great welcome basket with lots of nice things. Both Paula and Peter are very helpful and knowledgeable of the area and nothing is to much trouble. Beautiful walks, scenery and lots of nice places to eat.


  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
4th August 2017
Thank you for your lovely review and we are so pleased you enjoyed a great nights sleep. It was lovely to meet you all and see you next year.
Crawley, West Sussex, South East
2 reviews
“Doggy Heaven”
Reviewed 22nd June 2017
Trying to find any sort of dog friendly holiday accommodation is not always easy. So when you come across somewhere as brilliant as Church View Cottage it is a real pleasure. With a well fenced and secure garden you can truly relax and not worry about your four legged friends getting out and running away. Paula and Peter have worked hard to make this a cosy and comfortable little cottage which was very much appreciated. On arrival and throughout our stay they made us all feel very welcome and provided us with much valued information regarding the local beaches sites and pubs (dog friendly) to visit. We had a great holiday and hope to be returning to Church View Cottage on many more occasions.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
4th August 2017
We really enjoyed meeting you all . I can see from your review that you thoroughly enjoyed your holiday and you have already booked to come back late Autumn to experience our wonderful beaches during the chillier months. You are more than welcome back any time.
1 review
“Superb Dog Friendly Cottage”
Reviewed 19th June 2017
So great to stay in a really dog friendly cottage who provides everything that you could wish for, including home made treats for humans and their dogs! The Cottage is so comfortable - a real home from home. The area has such lovely dog friendly local beaches to spend days walking on and and then spend the evenings with a tired dog curled up in front of the wood burner. I have stayed 3 times so far and have already booked next years holiday! The cottage is so clean that last time I had a friend stay who has asthma and she couldn't tell that cottage had ever had dogs in it - so really friendly for all humans and dogs alike. I have would have not hesitation in recommending this cottage to anyone.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
4th August 2017
You have now stayed with us three times Diane with Poppy and it's always lovely to welcome you both back. It's great that you see Church View as a real home from home. That is exactly what we like to hear. See you next year. X
2 reviews
“So much to do we just have to go back!”
Reviewed 16th June 2017
We had a wonderful week with Paula and Pete at Church View Cottage and can't wait to go back. The cottage is beautifully decorated and immaculate. Paula and Pete were great hosts, lots of really useful local information and a lovely welcome pack. We did quite a bit of antique hunting but loved the dog friendly beaches and places to eat. There is so much more we want to do and although we were without a dog for our first visit we know Plum, our new addition, will have a perfect break when we next take a trip to East Rushton.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
4th August 2017
Looking forward to having you stay with Plum in the future. It's interesting to hear that you still have so much more that you want to do in this area. Norfolk has so much to offer. Thank you for this fabulous review and see you soon.
1 review
“Church view cottage”
Reviewed 16th June 2017
Absolutely superb accommodation,the minute you arrive you are wellcomed with a variety of treats for yourself and our lovely dogs.surrounding areas are lovely with a dog friendly beech mins away.a very tidy and comfy cottage to stay in .allready booked to come again in sept 17 ,and for many years to come i hope
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
4th August 2017
Thank you for your fantastic review Andy and we are looking forward to seeing you this September. Pleased that you have fallen for our fabulous dog friendly County too.
1 review
“A little bit of dog heaven in Norfolk”
Reviewed 16th June 2017
From the minute you arrive you, and your canine friends are made really welcome. Some places claim to be pet friend but Church View is REALLY dog friendly. There are no silly restrictions about where the dogs are allowed in the cottage, covers are provided for the chairs and even dog beds if needed. The garden is secure and poo bags are provided for you to clean up after your pet. The accommodation is good, clean and everything you may need is provided. There is also a great welcome pack of necessities such as milk, bread and eggs and a special treat of cake for the humans and goodies for your dog. Just the place for a relaxing holiday for the family and your dogs.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
4th August 2017
Thank you penny for your excellent review and we really do enjoy having you stay. So pleased to hear that you find Church View REALLY dog friendly and a place you can all come to relax.
Flixton, Greater Manchester, North West
1 review
“Fantastic Dog Friendly Cottage”
Reviewed 13th June 2017
We have stayed at Church View Cottage on a number of occasions and have always found it to be of a very high standard. The accommodation is always spotlessly clean, well equipment with comfortable beds and furnishings, the log burner provides that extra cosiness during colder evenings. The garden is totally dog friendly so there is no need to worry about possible escapes. A fabulous Welcome Basket is provided with goodies for both humans and canines. Paula and Peter are ideal hosts and are great at recommending places to eat and visit. The cottage is well placed for lovely sandy, dog friendly beaches and local pubs and shops.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
4th August 2017
Thank you Mrs G for your great review and it's always a pleasure to welcome you back to Church View. See you soon X
2 reviews
“Superb dog friendly cottage ”
Reviewed 13th June 2017
*****We have stayed at Church View Cottage a few times now; it is perfectly located for exploring the area. The nearby beaches are superb and our little dogs walk for miles ! The cottage is very well equipped, spotlessly clean and has a great garden for us and the dogs to relax in at the end of the day. The basket of goodies on arrival is always a lovely treat.
Paula, Peter and Weasel are the perfect hosts and are always on hand for tips and advice on where to visit.
We are so glad we have found such a wonderful dog friendly cottage *****
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
4th August 2017
Thank you Alison for your excellent review. We are so glad you have found us too! See you next year. X
1 review
“Dog friendly cottage”
Reviewed 12th June 2017
We stayed at this lovely cottage beginning of may for a week, excellent location, fantastic hosts, Paula & Peter, excellent knowledge of the surrounding areas, couldn't ask for a more home from home cottage, especially as it allows dogs, lovely personal welcome, fantastic dog friendly beaches and pubs, would highly recommend for exploring Norfolk.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
4th August 2017
Thank you for your excellent review and pleased you would highly recommend Church View Cottage.
1 review
“Church View Cottages ”
Reviewed 12th June 2017
Church View Cottages is an absolute gem of a location, 100% dog friendly, myself and my wife love the place, we spent Christmas week there last year 2016 and it was perfect, could not have been better. Lovely dog walks practically from the front door along the public foot paths, plus Cart Gap and Happisburgh beaches are only a five minute drive away. Paula and Pete and Weasel are lovely and are always very welcoming and friendly, and are always ready to help. Church View is a hidden gem of a place and is ideal for a peaceful break whatever time of year. (Don't forget to visit the Star Inn, Lessingham great food and a good pint of ale)
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
4th August 2017
Thank you for your fantastic review and description "hidden gem of a place" love that. So pleased you Christmas here was perfect too. Hope to see you again.
1 review
“Perfect cottage”
Reviewed 12th June 2017
We have stayed at Church View Cottage 3 times now, and always receive a great welcome from Paula, Peter and Weasel, the perfect hosts. Very high standard accommodation, very dog friendly, with a door into the fantastic enclosed garden. Appreciate the welcome basket which always includes cake, jam, and dog biscuits; Ailsa particularly likes the peanut butter flavoured ones. The cottage is a short drive from many dog friendly beaches; and North Norfolk offers so many places that welcome dogs. We will be back soon!
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
4th August 2017
Thank you Pat for your Perfect Cottage review. You and Ailsa are always welcome here at Church View and so pleased to hear they you love returning here. Hope to see you for the fourth time soon.
1 review
“Great little find”
Reviewed 11th June 2017
27.8.2016 Who needs Spain? ( Our normal destination in the summer) when you have had glorious weather and stay as we have had this week, this is our 3rd time here and love it more each time we visit. e have manged to fit in a few places during this visit, Mundesley, Cart Gap and even a boat trip from Horning. Paula and Peter are great hosts and we have enjoyed their company, we think Dotty and Weasel have made great friends! As always we have really enjoyed ourselves and Dotty has had the luxury of beach and woodland walks every day, can't wait to come back next year! Paula, Gordon, Harry and Dotty.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from Church View Cottage
4th August 2017
Thank you for you wonderful review and we are always thrilled to hear they you would like to book with us again. Looking forward to seeing you in August for your fourth stay here. Weasel is looking forward to spending time with the gorgeous Dotty.
We’re Social! Facebook Facebook Facebook Facebook Connect With Us