Banner advert Banner advert Banner advert Banner advert

East Ruston Cottages

View Business Profile Places To Stay | East Ruston, Norfolk, England | 077 66665684 | eastrustoncottages.co.uk

East Ruston Cottages say:

The longest established property dog welcoming holiday agency in rural and coastal Norfolk. Award winning 3 years running. Properties range from a simple seaside chalet to large family houses on the coast with plenty to choose from in between. All have enclosed gardens and great walks nearby. All near sandy, dog friendly beaches and the amazing Norfolk Broads. No charges for dogs, ever. And very flexible limits - from 3 to unlimited!

East Ruston Cottages
99% of users rated this business as excellent or very good.
Ranked 1 in Places To Stay in Norfolk
Ranking calculated based on average score and the most reviews. Businesses need more than 5 reviews to feature at the top.
207 reviews

Recent review

10th June 2022
“East Ruston Cottages -- The Crib”
Spent the week of June 3rd 2022 thru June 10th 2022 at one of the East Ruston Cottages - The Crib. Outstanding location, spotless cottage, completely …

207 people have reviewed East Ruston Cottages


Member ratings

Excellent
203
Very Good
3
Average
0
Poor
1
Terrible
0

Rating summary

Dog Friendly
Standard of accommodation
Value for money
207 reviews (1 page) sorted by
1 review
“East Ruston Cottages -- The Crib”
Reviewed 10th June 2022
Spent the week of June 3rd 2022 thru June 10th 2022 at one of the East Ruston Cottages - The Crib. Outstanding location, spotless cottage, completely dog-friendly with a fab large back garden -- perfect for my to Giant South African Mastiffs. Lots of room indoors, including a fab kitchen that had everything needed to cook a meal -- including a proper Sunday Roast. This was our 4th stay at The Crib, and 5th stay at one of the East Ruston Cottages. Sue and her team are outstanding. Wouldn't stay with anyone else when looking to book a holiday in Norfolk! Already have another week booked at a different cottage for the New Year.... Always feels like home away from home. Even the dogs feel the same way. Highly Recommend! Robin Gennings - Essex UK
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“The Walnut...Absolute Bliss! ”
Reviewed 4th June 2022
We had an amazing stay at The Walnut.
I had high expectations for The Walnut and I can honestly say, it didn’t disappoint.
The barn is stunning, inside and out and very well looked after.

Stella & Paul met us on arrival so we knew where they were if we needed them.  They are a lovely couple, and we enjoyed meeting Mister and Biff too. We had a long journey and asked if we could use the paddock when we arrived as we have a young lab, and this definitely helped burn of some energy- the earlier arrival helped us and our dog settle - so thank you very much for allowing us.

The front porch is brilliant for bags and storing shoes,  beach bags etc, there is plenty room. The outside area is great, enclosed the courtyard with the hot tub and seating area and all fully secure, so you can totally relax knowing your dog is safe. Open the gate and you have access to the paddock outside. The paddock is brilliant, so much space for zoomies and great after a long drive.  Our lab loved it, it was definitely a bonus for us to use.
Our stay was totally private and so peaceful, the only thing you will hear are the birds.
Beautiful views outside each window to be enjoyed and you are not overlooked whatsoever. Outside is so pretty at night too, the lights in the paddock on the tree and outside are lovely and makes it feel so homely.

The hot tub was a real bonus too, we enjoyed relaxing with the beautiful views across the fields. The robes for the tubs were great, nice to have these provided for the stay.

The Walnut is beautiful, its absolutely immaculate inside and so much care has gone into everything inside to make the stay comfortable. There were four of us and our dog and it wasn't cramped at all, it really makes for a comfortable stay.
Plenty of room in the bedrooms and hanging space, drawers etc, and both bathrooms have good showers too.

Stella & Paul & ERC really do get dog holidays, just because you have a dog and want dog friendly accommodation, it doesn't mean you should have to compromise on where you stay or the type of accommodation offered, The Walnut is dog friendly without doubt, but it is beautiful and such care has gone into the detail in the barn and its very clean throughout.
The welcome hamper was fab, plenty of treats for the humans & dog! The flowers, such a lovely and personal touch and nice to sample some local goodies - thank you, they were very much appreciated.

Holiday tags for collars were also provided. Also a dog first aid kit in the property too. Plenty of dog towels, toys, bowls and throws .

Plenty of games and puzzles, cards etc,  to work your way through, when the weather isn't great.  Tesco is a short drive too, which is good. The location is great.

We  mostly ate out but had a takeaway from Oriental Garden in Bacton, it was really nice.
We also ate at The Star in Lessingham (very dog friendly) and the food was lovely, would definitely recommend, Its a twenty minute walk from The Walnut too!
We also ate in The Swan Inn, in Stalham, nice food and dog friendly.

The beaches are great, so many to choose from and all lovely sandy beaches, plenty of space and dogs!  You can get to the beach in the car under ten minutes or walk, it took us an hour but was a nice walk.
We had such a lovely time, and it was so relaxing. The Walnut is a great base, close to the beaches and pubs and great for our lab who can be a bit reactive to noise, you literally cannot hear a thing outside whatsoever.
We have loved every bit of our stay, if it was available this summer we would have booked to stay again!  We didn't want to leave and neither did the dog.
We have booked for next year and so glad we have that to look forward too.
We would highly recommend The Walnut, you will not be disappointed.
Thank you Stella & Paul, for sharing your beautiful barn and being so accommodating during our stay. We cannot wait to come back next year.
Love Loki & Family.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Cornerways A Unique Property”
Reviewed 21st May 2022
Home from a week at Cornerways. A unique property. I think I noticed something every day, that I hadn't noticed the day before. I loved the beach painting on the wall and the boat above the bathroom door.

Dogs (three Greyhounds) settled in quickly and enjoyed dashing round the cabin from front to back. The outside is very secure, once you have bolted the tall gate. They really loved the big sofa.

We met Lee Ann (the owner), who is lovely.

The coastal path walk was a hit with dogs and us humans. You could get on the walk at Cart Gap, parking in the car park, or walking down. Near there was Small Stix Cafe and their cakes are to die for. We decided to take them back to Cornerways to enjoy them.

On previous ERC holidays we have visited Veras and this time enjoyed using the voucher for a lunch out. Treated ourselves to raspberries and cream to have for tea that day. Went to Sea Palling and tried the hot donuts, which were scrummy.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Lovely dog friendly cottage in Ingham Corner”
Reviewed 18th March 2022
We had a great holiday with our two dogs in the Wag-tail Cottage in Ingham Corner (one of the East Ruston Cottages). The cottage is very comfortable with everything one might need (the wood burner, dishwasher, dog beds, crates…). The garden is really nice and secure, and there are plenty of walks straight from the cottage to explore the countryside if one doesn't want to drive to the beach (which is very close). The area is very quiet and peaceful. Very much recommend the place and would love to return one day.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Properly Dog Friendly”
Reviewed 4th February 2022
We spent a week at Beachcomber cottage in Winterton on Sea and loved it so much we have already rebooked for the same time next year, we only got home 4 hours ago.
The booking process was easy and you get a digital handbook for the cottage and the surrounding area which makes finding dog friendly places when you’re out and about so much easier.
I would definitely recommend this company to anybody who wants a holiday with their dogs without a list of do’s & don’ts as long as your arm.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Heather cottage Happisburgh”
Reviewed 13th October 2021
Never visited Norfolk before ! What a gem . Found East Ruston cottages from Labrador UK site.
We chose Heather cottage as we liked the location and we were not disappointed. The cottage was stunning very pretty and everything we needed. Lovely and clean and so dog friendly. Very well designed and homely.
We loved the area so dog friendly everywhere we went. Beaches impeccable and beautiful, we visited many in our week. We also rented a day boat from Wroxham our young Labrador Toby's first trip. We also loved Bacton woods so peaceful.
Some wonderful memories we will be back .
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Stay at Cornerways”
Reviewed 13th October 2021
Fantastic place to stay so close to the beach. Everything a dog owner could need is catered for. It's so nice to stay somewhere that is happy to cater for & actually welcomes dogs.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“A wonderful holiday from East Ruston Cottages”
Reviewed 13th October 2021
We had a great four night stay at Wag Tail Cottage, Ingham, found on the East Ruston Cottages website.
The cottage is about 2 miles away from the nearest beach and on a minute away from a footpath into the surrounding countryside.
Communication was excellent, with an App that gives all the information that you could possibly want before you arrive. A goody basket, including treats for our dog, awaited us on arrival. The cottage was spotlessly clean, cosy yet spacious and very well appointed with absolutely everything you could possibly want. The garden was totally secure and there is off road parking for two vehicles.
We explored the beaches and the broads, found recommended cafes and pubs and had a thoroughly good time.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Pawfect”
Reviewed 10th October 2021
This was our second year booking with East Ruston Cottages and we booked a third holiday with them before we had even come home this year. We stayed at White Cottage this year which has a lovely large enclosed garden and nice, spacious, well equipped, comfortable and spacious interior. The view of the lighthouse and proximity to the beach makes White Cottage very special indeed and we really appreciated the lovely cake, marshmallows, crips, bread, chocolate and doggy treats when we arrrived and the app was very useful as well. Sue Allen makes booking and enquiries seamless and I have greatly enjoyed her video's on face book on her travels with Pogo. We wouldn't book with anyone else and our happy poochies and us highly recommend East Ruston Cottages, White Cottage and also Brian's cottage (haven't tried the rest yet but give us time!)
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Barnsley, South Yorkshire, Yorkshire and the Humber
1 review
“Thatch Cottage”
Reviewed 28th August 2021
I really don't know where to start; this house is amazing! There were 8 adults and 5 dogs in our party and there was plenty of room for us all. The kitchen has everything you need: more than enough plates, cutlery, glasses etc; plenty of pans and utensils and even a Tassimo coffee machine. The utility room was a great place to store all our doggy equipment and the snug was lovely to sit and read in. All the beds were comfortable and each room included hairdryers. There are lots of DVDs, books and games to keep you occupied and also lots of spare dog leads, dishes and beds (there is even a separate bin in the shed for the dog poo!) Our dogs had a ball! They loved the garden and, with a footpath straight over the road that led directly to the beach, it was ideal for our energetic spaniels. We will miss our walks to Sea Palling and Happisburgh! Overall, a fantastic time was had by all, infact the dogs' tails didn't stop wagging all week!
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Doggy satisfaction guarenteed!”
Reviewed 28th August 2021
Third year on the trot with East Ruston Cottages. Still fab service.. stayed at the ‘Crib’ this year and both humans and dogs really relaxed and enjoyed what is a great cottage with fab size garden. Clean and tidy with lots of doggy extras: beds, towels and toys etc.. great interior decor that makes you feel relaxed. Re Booked into Manor Barn for next year but will definitely be back to the Crib.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
5 reviews
“East Ruston Cottages Rule!”
Reviewed 27th August 2021
ERC, and in particular Sue Allen, always do everything possible to make certain that you and your dogs have a terrific holiday. We've booked cottages many times through them and love the trouble free breaks we have in Norfolk. Their places are spotlessly clean, very well equipped and dogs are treated as honoured guests. Well done Sue. We will be back!
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Thank you White Cottage”
Reviewed 23rd August 2021
Another great holiday at White Cottage. Perfect place for the dogs and our young grandson with the lovely secure garden and just a short walk to the beach. Love the snug with its own conservatory and table tennis in the games room!
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
7 reviews
“Brian's Cottage 31st July to 7th August ”
Reviewed 10th August 2021
We have thoroughly enjoyed our second stay at Brian's Cottage. The welcome from Liz and Tim is exceptional - they are the perfect hosts. We were lucky enough to be there when they hosted a owner's get together and were invited to join them. It was a lovely evening with very tasty food - we can recommend booking a meal prepared by Liz whilst on holiday!! Also the extensive welcome pack again has gems made by Liz including cake, brownies, ciabatta, jam and marmalade, all of which are delicious. The cottage is very well equipped with everything you could possibly need, both for in the cottage and days out if you've forgotten anything eg leads, cooler bag, ice blocks etc etc. There is a very comfortable king-size bed - perfect for a good night's sleep. It's also in a great location - walks from the door and a short drive to the beach and many other attractions. We again enjoyed the sunsets from the garden and watching the birds in the front garden in the mornings. All in all a perfect week.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Perfect High Barn”
Reviewed 17th June 2021
We've just had a week at High Barn with East Ruston Cottages and it was lovely.
It was so easy to book and the area was great for the dogs. We could walk from the cottage to the Costal Path and hardly met a soul just a few seals in the sea.
The hospitality was great with cake, dog treats & wine!
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“The perfect relaxing get away ”
Reviewed 8th June 2021
Firstly, booking with East Ruston Cottages was so straight forward and easy. Great communication throughout with handy information. I would definitely book via East Ruston again and highly recommend to others.

The accommodation, Wag-Tail cottage, was perfect for dogs and humans alike. It felt like home from the moment we walked in. It was spotless, welcoming and had everything we could have wished for. The welcome hamper was such a lovely touch. The location of the cottage was also fantastic. We have a fear reactive dog, so the walks that were literally on the door step were great for us. We didn't see another dog the whole time we were walking and there was so much to explore. The garden is secure, not over looked at all and very relaxing. I couldn't recommend this cottage enough, we will definitely be back, just perfect, thank you!
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Beautiful Brian’s Cottage”
Reviewed 31st May 2021
We arrived to a very warm welcome from Liz and Tim, a gorgeous welcome pack also awaited us, with loads of delicious homemade goodies.

Brian’s Cottage was lovely, with an amazing garden that both ourselves and the dogs loved, we got to see loads of wildlife across the field and it was very quiet.

The cottage is very well equipped and provided everything we needed for us and the dogs, there were loads of bowls, towels, spare beds etc.

There is a great walk straight from the back gate, where you can join the Weavers Way which runs for miles.

We will definitely be returning.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Manor Barn Happisburgh - beautiful place to stay”
Reviewed 27th May 2021
We stayed at Manor Barn in Happisburgh for the last week. There are great walks Cross the fields or to Happisburgh beach straight from the door.
The barn is beautifully decorated and well equipped with lovely bathrooms and comfy beds and bedrooms.
The kitchen is gorgeous and there is plenty of space.
The family do live next door but are very friendly and helpful and are hands off unless asked for something. Our Greek rescue dog was made to feel very welcome and the lovely goodie basket had treats for her as well as us.
The weather wasn't great but there is so much to do in the area and lots is dog friendly.
We had lovely meals at the poachers pocket, the lighthouse Inn and Poppylands, where our Greek rescue was made to feel very welcome.
A great holiday and will definitely be back.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
5 reviews
“HIGH BARN - HIGH COMFORT!”
Reviewed 24th May 2021
Our first stay at High Barn, hopefully not the last! We have been on several ERC holidays, REALLY dog friendly - not just, one small dog £25, but AS MANY AS YOU LIKE - FREE! Not once have we gone to a cottage and it smelt 'doggy'. Always high standard of cleanliness and friendliness! High Barn is at the end of an unmade road with magical views across the countryside and sea. Well thought out, seating all around this detached property, to catch the sun as it works it's way around. Walks straight from the property, and easy waking/driving distance to many of the lovely Norfolk beaches. Only downside, so popular is it solidly booked for 2021/22, but we will be keeping an eye open for any cancellations. Thank you to Sue (ERC) and Leonie (owner of High Barn) for making our first 'post Covid' holiday one to remember!
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Perfectly dog-friendly in a stunning location!”
Reviewed 17th May 2021
Not particularly modern or flashy, Redroofs is an old & quirky property with a fabulous outlook in a quiet and stunning location. On a private road overlooking one of Norfolk’s quietest and most beautiful Broads it’s a real family home.
Such a relief to be able to leave the back doors open knowing the dogs can run around the huge dog-safe rear garden without doing any damage or getting lost. Lots of outdoor seating for the sunny times in the gardens maintained by the lovely Jimmy.
The kitchen is full of quality equipment, should you need it. There are carpets! This is great if your dog doesn’t like hard floors (like ours). It really is a home from home and that’s why we just keep on coming back...
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Lovely dog friendly cottage with extras ”
Reviewed 8th May 2021
Victoria Cottage had everything you could want and more. Lovely location, very helpful owners and really comfortable with a great atmosphere and lots of little extra touches that made us and our dog feel really welcome.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“1 Chapel Cottage, Norfolk”
Reviewed 30th January 2021
We stayed at 1 Chapel Cottage in Norfolk in August 2020 as a last minute break and were so happy with our choice. The cottage was lovely and clean with everything we needed on arrival. Our 4 dogs loved the garden, especially paddling in the pond at the back to cool down.

Location was great, 5 minute drive to a lovely beach with restaurants and arcade. Local pub few minutes drive or 20 mins walk did lovely food and dog friendly too. Large supermarket 10 minutes drive away too to get everything you need if you want to cook in the cottage which we did most days. Brilliant, quiet farm walks straight behind the cottage too.

We had a fantastic week and really enjoyed ourselves, thank you!
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Very impressed ”
Reviewed 29th October 2020
Stayed at the Lodge for 4 nights, and was very impressed with everything.
The booking of the accommodation was easy, and would highly recommended.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Red Roofs at Hickling”
Reviewed 26th October 2020
our second stay at Red Roofs this year, already booked for 2021 as well, we love it here, well appointed and roomy home, perfect base for lots of great Norfolk beaches, 5 minutes from Sea Palling, recent makeover in the kitchen means you want for nothing, a new addition this year a stable door internally so you can wipe paws before entering the house from the garden. enter into a very large living room with great views of the boating house's and broad a real fire, for the chillier nights. the huge garden is great and recent improvements to the fence means no rabbits (malteasers) so now no snacking from my two thank goodness, in the garden you have a table with plenty of chairs and a new BBQ. out front you see the broad and the private road has a public footpath for exploring.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from East Ruston Cottages
27th October 2020
Thank you so much Andrew! I am really pleased you enjoyed your holiday again at lovely Red Roofs!
1 review
“Holmes House”
Reviewed 14th October 2020
Just had a lovely relaxing holiday at Holmes House. Well equipped, comfortable and very dog friendly with lovely walks straight from the door. Couldn't have been nicer, even the weather tried hard.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Wonderful cottage”
Reviewed 12th October 2020
Heather Cottage is a wonderful, cosy cottage in the heart of Happisburgh village. Quiet location, just a 15 minute stroll to the beach down a country lane (no pavement) and only 2 minutes walk from the local pub serving good food. Also not far by car from many other pubs, cafes, small local shops, beaches and country parks which are perfect for dog walking. A perfect retreat to get away from it all as the cottage itself is just lovely; beautifully presented, modern country style and immaculately kept with comfortable furnishings and everything you could possibly need during your stay. It was cosy and comfortable for just two of us, plus our dogs, but is also spacious enough for a larger family. The small garden was totally secure for our two terriers so we did not have to worry about them escaping. North Norfolk is a lovely place to visit and we would highly recommend this cottage as a base for exploring. Book with East Ruston Cottages and have a simply great holiday.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
7 reviews
“Brian's Cottage - August 2020”
Reviewed 1st October 2020
We were lucky enough to stay at Brian's Cottage in August and can thoroughly recommend this lovely cottage. We were greeted on arrival by Liz and Tim who are perfect hosts, helpful and friendly but not intrusive. As well as the yummy welcome pack (including homemade ciabatta and cake!), Tim gave us some fresh produce from their garden too. A card and some fizz for a special birthday was also a lovely touch. The cottage is set in an extremely quiet area which made sitting in the garden whilst listening and watching the wildlife, and the ever changing skies, absolute bliss. Being able to watch the birds in the front garden whilst enjoying our morning cuppa was also a highlight - the robins and a woodpecker were our favourites. The cottage itself is perfect with everything needed for a relaxing holiday. Our elderly Bichon loved the outdoor K9 bed too and was happy to snooze away on it.  Unfortunately, due to a family emergency, we had to leave early, and extremely swiftly - I cannot stress enough what a difference Liz's calm, helpful and caring manner made in a very hectic 40 minutes of throwing everything in the car, and afterwards as well. This really showed the dedication to looking after their guests in every way. We would return in a heartbeat.

  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Best dog friendly holiday company ever!”
Reviewed 14th September 2020
As a multi-dog household, finding this company has quite literally changed our lives. It’s felt too hard to holiday with the dogs as I’ve just never found anywhere to accommodate us, let alone in decent accommodation. We have now had 3 holidays with this company and wouldn’t bother looking at anywhere else, why would I when they have such fabulous properties in wonderful locations and are so helpful! Thank you Sue and all your owners!
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Holmes House Home from home for hounds and humans”
Reviewed 14th September 2020
Many places say they are dog friendly but turn out to be just dog tolerant but this cannot be said for Holmes House truly kitted out for all hounds and humans including hand made dog treats in welcome pack a large fresh bowl of water on arrival throws for settees and towels for mucky pups, Holmes house is ideally situated near so many walks a two minute walk away from Weavers way which is a lovely walk and not too far from dog friendly beaches. Lovely welcome from the owner and everywhere very dog friendly we loved it so much booked twice for next year!
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Wonderful High Barn!”
Reviewed 11th September 2020
After all that 2020 has given us so far, a stay in High Barn & the lovely Norfolk was just what was needed! We stayed as a large family group with 2 dogs and had a brilliant week. High Barn is a wonderful place with everything you could need for your holiday. The hot tub was an added bonus and we would definitely recommend you book this to use during your stay. The views from the balcony were stunning and watching the sunrise over the sea is something special. The dogs loved the secure garden, snoozing by the log burner and running on the ‘secret beach’. The welcome pack was great with loads of ideas of things to do. Between us, we did a lot in a week but highlights were a visit to Happisburgh Owls (book ahead) a visit to Horsey beach to see the seals and a boat trip on the broads. Other trips out included breakfast at Smallsticks Café, walks in Bacton Woods, Winterton beach, Cart Gap, Sea Palling, East Ruston Old Vicarage Garden, Meales garden centre and a meal out at the Lighthouse Inn in Walcott. We also ordered meals in from The Ingham Swan and The Mermaid’s Slipper which were delicious. Thank you Sue & Leonie for a very special family holiday with lots of memories to treasure. None of us wanted to come home! We hope to be back again soon.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
We’re Social! Facebook Facebook Facebook Facebook Connect With Us