East Ruston Cottages

View Business Profile Places To Stay | East Ruston, Norfolk, England | 077 66665684 | eastrustoncottages.co.uk

East Ruston Cottages say:

Very dog friendly holiday accommodation in rural and coastal Norfolk. Properties range from a Shepherd's hut to a large thatched house on the coast with plenty to choose from in between. All have enclosed gardens and great walks nearby. All near sandy, dog friendly beaches. Not an agency, just me, Sue Allen running properties owned by people I know in an area I love and have lived in for over 20 years.

East Ruston Cottages
99% of users rated this business as excellent or very good.
Ranked 1 in Places To Stay in Norfolk
Ranking calculated based on average score and the most reviews. Businesses need more than 5 reviews to feature at the top.
170 reviews

Recent review

8th September 2019
“East Ruston Cottages can't be faulted”
We have stayed at lots or ERC's cottages, and visited several of them more than once. They are an efficiently run organisation, and this makes booking…

170 people have reviewed East Ruston Cottages


Member ratings

Excellent
166
Very Good
3
Average
0
Poor
1
Terrible
0

Rating summary

Dog Friendly
Standard of accommodation
Value for money
170 reviews (1 page) sorted by
1 review
“Heather Cottage, Happisburgh, Norfolk”
Reviewed 19th June 2016
Fabulously equipped dog-friendly cottage in the heart of a quiet, peaceful coastal village.
It had everything from dishwasher tablets to dog biscuits and is by far the best rental property I have ever stayed in. It was immaculately clean and tidy, but welcoming and comfy with plenty of space for 5 adults and a dog! He loved the secure garden and it was nice to have off street parking too. The area is really dog friendly and we even took our dog boating on the Broads! Highly recommend this picturesque cottage and hope to go back soon.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Convenient Snowdrop”
Reviewed 14th June 2016
Just spent a great week at Snowdrop Cottage, Winterton on Sea. Great little cottage with a lovely open plan layout downstairs and two bedrooms upstairs, and a nice long garden perfect for playing "fetch" . Ideally situated for touring along the coast in either direction or simply walking the dunes or fabulous year round dog friendly beach.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Always a perfect holiday”
Reviewed 12th June 2016
We have stayed, along with our 2 dogs with East Rushtom cottages for the last 3 years. They are incredibly dog friendly with lovely welcoming hosts, welcome packs and plenty of information on places to visit. Really can't praise them enough
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Dog paradise.”
Reviewed 12th June 2016
Just got back from a wonderful relaxing week at Walnut Farmhouse Waxham...weather was good to us which always helps but the house was very spacious and gardens were delightful.. Norfolk is so dog friendly, lovely walks and beaches were practically empty..apart from a colony of seals we came across. ( a sight we will always remember) had a day trip,on a cruiser and rest of holiday spent walking and re,axing, the gardens and house absorbed a family gathering of over thirty people with ease. Highly recommend, dog friendly places like walnut farmhouse are a godsend...many thanks.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Mid Thatch cottage.”
Reviewed 7th June 2016
Beautiful very welcoming cottage, basket of essentials and dog biscuits to welcome you.
Lovely sandy beach very dog friendly, neighbors and local people very friendly and make you feel so at home, did not want to leave. Will definietly be returning.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 6th June 2016
My friend and I visited Holmes house in April 2016 with 10 dogs between us.
The house is friendly and inviting,it doesn't look like a show house that I would be worried about spoiling with with my rabble. The hall is very wet dog friendly with a stone floor. It has a lovely warm comfortable feel,I could've stayed forever. There's a nice big garden with parking for a couple of cars within it,so no need to put dogs on lead when you get back each day,just shut the gate and open the car and they can mooch around to their hearts content.
There is a footpath less than 5 minutes from the door plus of course so many beautiful sandy beaches.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Holmes House”
Reviewed 6th June 2016
I just did not want to leave. This is such an amazing cottage and just perfect for the dogs. We received a lovely welcome and made to feel at home straight away. I can't recommend it enough although a little reluctantly as it may get booked up too much !!
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“The very lovely Daisy Cottage”
Reviewed 31st May 2016
Stayed at Daisy Cottage for a week in May, and it is the most dog friendly cottage we've ever stayed at. A super location, minutes from the beach, a large garden, multiple dog beds, bowls, throws, toys, even home made dog biscuits on arrival, all your dog requires. Add to this, the fact that it's a lovely cottage with all you need, and more, and it makes for a great holiday. The only downside is that we had one very sulky Retriever when we left.
Sea Palling is a tiny place, but everywhere is remarkably dog friendly, in fact I think it's bordering on compulsory to have a dog there.
If you want a relaxing holiday, in a lovely cottage, a stroll away from the beach, in a village where dogs take priority, Daisy Cottage is for you.

Andy
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Daisy Cottage - Sea Palling”
Reviewed 22nd May 2016
Great house for a holiday. Lovely welcome pack for us and the dogs. Well equipped with everything that you would normally have at home. Information pack told us everything we needed for the house and a lot of useful information for surrounding area.
Already booked to go with East Ruston Cottages for next year.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Apethorpe, Northamptonshire, East Midlands
1 review
“Short stay Mid Thatch”
Reviewed 16th May 2016
Stayed at the recently re curb Mid Thatch. Four adults and two dogs. Accommodation was lovely. Welcome basket of local goodies and fresh eggs when we arrived as well as doggie treats for Finn and Mya. Property had all we needed, beds were remarkably comfortable, my husband has a back problem and beds are normally an issue, however the beds were lovely and firm. Spoils with underfloor heating in living room ( it was cold on day we arrived), dogs loved it to. Lovely fleeces for them to snuggle up in to. Good location for getting to Wroxham/Wells etc. Really enjoyable short stay. Owner very accommodating as we could only do 3 very specific days as daughter had travelled from Oz and was trying to fit various other things in, so a big thank you for that.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Mid thatch in sea palling norfolk”
Reviewed 4th May 2016
Beautiful thatched cottage so clean tidy and cosy with such great facilities, big shower, 2 double bedrooms, perfect kitchen, wifi, tv, underfloor heating, the list goes on,, we were greeted with a welcome hamper with eggs apple juice fudge and bread, such a lovely touch. The dogs had toys, spare towels, leads, poo bags a hose in front garden( very useful) the beach is a very short drive or a walk across the field, beautiful golden sands with coffee shop, chip shop amusements and shop all right by.
Very dog friendly we took our 4 dogs with us and everywhere was so welcoming
Would definitely recommend.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Mid thatch cottage, Sea palling. ”
Reviewed 1st May 2016
Absolutely gorgeous cottage, very cosy and welcoming after a long beach walk with our five dogs. Underfloor heating and lovely log burner was much appreciated by all the pooches! Just a short walk to the beach, and a lovely welcome basket of goodies on our arrival. This is our 4th stay with East Ruston Cottages and our 1st time at Mid Thatch, Sue always ensures that every booking is responded too quickly and the cottages are always clean and ready for arrival. Can't wait for our next visit.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Farthing Cottage. Trunch ”
Reviewed 25th April 2016
Spent a wonderful week staying in Farthing Cottage in the village of Trunch.
Cottage lovely and clean, with lots of wonderful treats left for both human and dog.
Well equipped with dog throws, towels, bowls etc. Fully enclosed garden and lots of lovely dog friendly walks from the door.

Our 4th visit to an East Ruston cottage and will not be our last.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Sea Pallng .Norfolk Family/dog holiday.”
Reviewed 12th April 2016
First time in a Norfolk holiday cottage. This company recommended by my Vet who had Stayed at one of their properties.Very well run/ proffesional from first queries to last . Also returned emails quickly which is so helpful at planning stage.Website had plenty of details and extra info.Cottage its self was beautiful and more like staying in a 4* hotel with a lot of extra touches like throws on sofa, milk in fridge,a welcome basket with several large and delicious items,plenty of paper towel/bin bags etc.Having brought many extras as so often UK holiday cottages can be disappointing this was a nice surprise. Also really clean but with sensible touches.Just so organised and relaxing.Dogs felt at home as toys/bed/ towels all provided. Not a thing was negative.The best bit ...walk 5 mins and on the beach which we all loved.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Excellent cottage and perfect for pooches ”
Reviewed 9th April 2016
We had a lovely week at Snowdrop Cottage booked through East Ruston Cottages. Winterton-on-sea is perfect for dogs with a lovely beach and fabulous dunes to walk on. The cottage was excellent and very well organised, dogs very welcome and the village has a nice pub and there's a beach side cafe. Would highly recommend.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Absolutely Perfect Doggy Holiday”
Reviewed 13th February 2016
Orchard Cottage is wonderful. It is extremely dog friendly with dog beds, bowls, toys, throws, towels, poo bags and biscuits all provided. It is a 3 minute walk to a dog friendly beach with lots of lovely walks in the area. The cottage itself is extremely clean, well equipped, warm and very comfortable with a secure and safe garden. We really can't fault it and will be returning for a third holiday as soon as possible. Doesn't get any better
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Raising the Dog Friendly bar!”
Reviewed 9th February 2016
Just returned from a 7 night break at the sensational White Cottage in the delightful village of Happisburgh. With two Cairn Terriers, I fell in love with the area, the people, the mesmerising beaches and the scenery. This was my first but certainly not my last stay with the incredibly helpful and knowledgeable East Ruston Cottages, managed by Sue Allen. I was lucky enough to get the last remaining week in 2016 at White Cottage and it certainly didn't disappoint. Lovely welcome pack with locally sourced products for humans and the dogs was a smashing touch, the cleaner Michelle had left the place immaculate - with not a whiff of dogs! Sue has painstakingly developed a brilliant website, a resource centre of everything you need to know about the North Norfolk area, so we visited most of the beautiful beaches for walks. Coming back to the comfort of White Cottage, with a lovely wood burner for the wintery nights, was a pleasure. The style, furnishings, comfortable beds and quality bed linen all added to the restful stay. The kitchen is extremely well equipped, clean and tidy. All dog necessities - from poo bags, bowls, leads, dog beds, throws and towels are provided - what a saving for packing! And the large garden is completely dog proof - a huge relief when you know that inquisitive terriers are safe in the pitch black of night! I cannot praise the excellent pre-planning and organisation enough, Sue really is on top of her game with everything, perfect for a completer-finisher like me! We are already planning our next and our next trip to this wonderful part of the world and won't be going anywhere other than with East Ruston Cottages. Highly recommended - and I have exceptionally big expectations :0)
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“A must for dog owners and their family's”
Reviewed 4th February 2016
This house is simple stunning both in setting and character. There is nothing you could ask for that Helen & Sue do not provide. The house has absolutely everything and is so well stocked with good quality items. Then to be a stone throw away from the pub and a short walk to the beach you couldn't ask for more. The garden is not only huge but 100% secure so you can play with your dogs and know they are safe.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“A beautiful barn”
Reviewed 18th January 2016
A beautifully restored barn. Dogs very welcome and a lovely fenced garden. Walks straight from the door. Very good quality fittings and furnishings, leather sofas and a very comfy bed. Underfloor heating and a wood burner made it really cosy even in the winter.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“A fantastic cottage ”
Reviewed 12th January 2016
Had a great 3 weeks at Christmas here, the cottage was fantastic, well equipped, very clean and homely and we had one very tired pooch on our return home, Cakes, dog biscuits were a lovely touch too. The village is great with a lovely pub, a local fish shop and the beach down the lane.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Extremely Dog Friendly Accommodation”
Reviewed 12th January 2016
Beautiful property in lovely quiet location with several beaches just a short drive away.
Welcome goodies for us & the dogs were very much appreciated.
Everything we could possibly need was provided and the dogs were well looked after too, lots of toys, bedding, towels etc and a safe enclosed courtyard area for them to be outside when they wanted.
The heating is provided by a ground source heat pump and was very efficient, and also a log burner ( logs provided) gave a lovely cosy atmosphere & extra warmth if needed.
We will certainly be booking again.
If you are looking for dog friendly accommodation this is the place for you, and it's great for humans too ☺

  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
3 reviews
“Daisy Cottage, a wonderful cozy cottage ”
Reviewed 29th December 2015
Daisy Cottage lived up to the standard of all the East Ruston Cottages that we have so far stayed at (7 visits in 4 years!). We were delighted with the levels of comfort, attention to detail and the lovely Christmas decorations that made our stay so much more festive. Despite a disability, the stairs were absolutely fine when managed carefully and it was lovely to know that Molly, our dog, was welcome upstairs too and able to sleep in the bed. We had everything we needed for her stay too and it's clear that the owners love dogs. The details on the website clearly told us that part of the garden wasn't fully enclosed so we made sure our dog was on lead here. But the space next to the house was very safe for her.

Palling was a lovely location, clearly very popular with dog walkers but enjoyable out of season. The little pub gave us a warm welcome, a little cafe proudly declares it is open 364 days of the year (true, we enjoyed a huge takeaway hot chocolate on Boxing Day!) and there is a small shop for essentials.

Thank you for a lovely, welcoming stay and the wonderful welcome pack.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“White cottage - fabulous”
Reviewed 13th December 2015
Our first holiday with East ruston cottages but very much hope it won't be the last. From the beginning couldn't fault the service, helped us select a cottage based on our requirements and have to say the recommendation was perfect.
Having travelled 8 hours with 8 dogs to be able to park safely off road in the enclosed parking area and let the dogs straight out into the garden was amazing. Dogs ranged from 2 small terriers to 2 large lurchers but no way anyone was going to escape (took me a day or 2 to relax and believe this!) but they loved doing laps of the garden. Also no immediate.neighbours to worry about. Inside the house was beatiful - lots of lovely bits and pieces, very homely and welcoming.
Good walks on quiet beach (great for the young lurcher who is still learning how to behave!) and a great lunch at the recommended star inn at lessingham.
Almost don't want to recommend as its already well booked up and we want to come back!
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Superb cottage”
Reviewed 5th December 2015
We were lucky to have chosen such a lovely cottage for our holiday to Happisburgh. We stayed in Orchard cottage. There were 5 adults and 2 dogs so we had plenty of room. The cottage is a home from home with lots of added extra special touches with cakes and biscuits for the dogs and lovely flowers to welcome us. The garden is fantastic I know my dogs certainly miss all the extra space for zoomies! The beach is lovely and close but not ideal for anyone with mobility problems as the slope to beach is incredibly steep. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will certainly recommend it.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Orchard Cottage, super dog friendly accomodation”
Reviewed 29th November 2015
We have just returned from our 2nd visit to this beautiful dog friendly cottage. This time there were 4 adults, 1 child & 8 dogs and there was plenty of room for us all. The cottage is fully equipped, the owners have thought of everything. There were lovely cakes & dog biscuits waiting for us on arrival along with tea, coffee & milk for a much needed drink after a long journey! The large, fully enclosed garden is perfect for dogs, as are the hard floors which are easy to clean with 32 muddy/sandy paws!! The location of the property is great-the beach & pub just on the doorstep. The Hill House pub serves a very good Sunday Roast & ales which they brew on site. The staff & locals are very friendly. Happisburgh is also a great base to explore the North Norfolk area
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Lovely break at Neds Nest”
Reviewed 16th November 2015
We have just had a 4 night stay at Neds Nest. After a long journey it was lovely to find fresh milk, coffee,tea, bread, jam, eggs and oh such a delicious cake! The dogs also had lovely biscuits! The accommodation was so warm and spotlessly clean. It was open plan design being a converted stable and beautifully done. Everything was top quality and so well equipped. There were throws, dog bowls, poo bags and spare leads provided.
The welcome by Jane and Mark was warm and they even washed our dog bed as one had been travel sick on the way down. There were walks from the door and beaches to drive to that were just stunning. Everywhere we went people chatted to us and even small cafes allowed dogs in. There is nothing worse than being asked to sit out in a cold beer garden if we have the dogs. This didn't happen in Norfolk they went everywhere with us. The most dog friendly county I have been to and would highly recommend this accommodation and a visit to Holkham Beach and Sea Palling Beach. Just gorgeous
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
3 reviews
“Orchard Cottage, We Didn't Want to Leave. ”
Reviewed 4th November 2015
A beautiful 3 bedroom cottage which makes a perfect base for a group of adults and dogs to explore this wonderful part of the country. Truly dog friendly - dog treats left for enjoying on arrival (along with cakes, milk, tea, coffee & sugar for the humans, very welcome after the drive), and a store of items such as dog bowls, bed, holiday collars, poo bags and even ball chuckers. Also supplied were throws for the sofas and towels - a place that acknowledges that a lot of dogs like to sit on the sofas with their owners in front of the wood burning stove. Hard flooring makes keeping on top of paw prints easy - don't worry there is a rug in front of the fire for relaxing on. The garden is a beautiful, sunny, safe place - securely fenced and the gates even have warning signs about dogs running free inside - and door bell to ring to get the attention of those staying - minimising the risk of dogs slipping out past callers. The great thing is that the house is as comfortable for humans as it is for dogs. 3 good sized bedrooms - no dreaded bunk beds, so a group of adult friends were all happily accommodated. Two bathrooms so no queue for the loo. Free wifi an added bonus. Beware that mobile phone signals in the area aren't great - but it was quite nice to be slightly out of touch. So many places to visit that are dog friendly - we even took the dogs on a seal watching boat trip from Blakeney. Bure Valley Railway was another great trip with the dogs, followed by a boat trip around the Broads. The Hill House Inn a few minutes walk away is a great place - good food and friendly people. Beaches are all stunning. Every place we visited seemed to be dog friendly - so good not to be forced to sit outside to eat, especially in October. The only place that had a no dogs inside rule was the restaurant on Cromer Pier, but as it was a nice day we were happy to sit outside, but several places we passed had dogs inside so we had options. All the cottages seem to get booked up quickly, so if you want to visit pkan ahead, or join the mailing list to receive news of cancellations etc. We have already booked for next year.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Wonderful, genuinely dog-friendly accomodation”
Reviewed 26th October 2015
I have just spent a week at The Lodge - a very cosy and comfortable cottage. The Lodge was the perfect size for us and had everything we needed, including spare towels for the dog. A lovely welcome basket got the holiday off to a great start and The Lodge is quiet and peaceful, with a nice secure garden. A great location - walks along Weavers Way on our doorstep and within easy reach of lots of lovely dog-friendly beaches and woods.
What sets East Ruston cottages apart from other dog-friendly places I have stayed is that dogs are genuinely welcome rather than just tolerated!
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Dog Friendly Place to Stay”
Reviewed 19th October 2015
This is a wonderful little cottage with a lovely long back garden for the dogs to play in. Also just a very short walk to the dunes and the beach.
This cottage is very comfortable for both the family and the dogs, it also has a wood burner for those chilly evenings, washing machine and dish washer.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Perfect for dogs and their owners.”
Reviewed 1st October 2015
Our first stay with East Rushton.We booked Myrtle cottage,a beautiful old cottage,spotlessly clean and very well equiped.we were looking for somewhere that would accomodate 3 dogs and were lucky enough to find this gem.a very safe enclosed garden,even spare leads,dog bowls and throws for the furniture made for a very relaxing week.it's in a lovely area, with only short drives to the dog friendly beaches.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
We’re Social! Facebook Facebook Facebook Facebook Connect With Us