East Ruston Cottages

View Business Profile Places To Stay | East Ruston, Norfolk, England | 077 66665684 | eastrustoncottages.co.uk

East Ruston Cottages say:

VERY dog welcoming holiday accommodation in rural and coastal Norfolk. Properties range from a simple chalet to a large thatched house on the coast with plenty to choose from in between. All have enclosed gardens and great walks nearby. All near sandy, dog friendly beaches. Now able to offer guaranteed and inclusive cancellation insurance!

East Ruston Cottages
99% of users rated this business as excellent or very good.
Ranked 1 in Places To Stay in Norfolk
Ranking calculated based on average score and the most reviews. Businesses need more than 5 reviews to feature at the top.
180 reviews

Recent review

14th September 2020
“Best dog friendly holiday company ever!”
As a multi-dog household, finding this company has quite literally changed our lives. It’s felt too hard to holiday with the dogs as I’ve just nev…

180 people have reviewed East Ruston Cottages


Member ratings

Excellent
176
Very Good
3
Average
0
Poor
1
Terrible
0

Rating summary

Dog Friendly
Standard of accommodation
Value for money
180 reviews (1 page) sorted by
2 reviews
“Myrtle Cottage 3rd - 10th Sept 2016”
Reviewed 15th September 2016
Had a lovely stay at Myrtle Cottage. Enjoyed the goodies left for all of us. Loved walking on the beaches and around Rollesby . Winterton on sea great for the dogs. So nice to find a holiday property so dog friendly. Having huskies its quite a challenge to find somewhere with space and security. Thankyou Jean and Neal you have thought of it all.
Karen, Dave. Diesel, Lunar, Suki , Kato and Stark
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“A great place for a doggie friendly vacation”
Reviewed 6th September 2016
We have just returned from yet another great holiday booked with East Ruston Cottages. This time we stayed in Heather Cottage which is ideally situated for walks on the lovely beach & even closer to the local pub which serves really good food. I would definitely recommend to anyone looking to spend some time in Norfolk.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“The old piggery”
Reviewed 30th August 2016
This is the second year of having a holiday through east Ruston cottages and the first time at the old piggery, what can I say ! It was fantastic, with 4 Spaniels it was their ideal setting ,lovely walks just outside the front door ,10 minuets from the very dog friendly cart gap beach or happisburgh beach, the cottage has everything a dog could wish for and therefore a very relaxing time for us humans and to cap it all we had such good weather so I booked another holiday for next year.

Sally and 4 spaniels
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Running Hare Barn”
Reviewed 18th August 2016
Many houses advertised as dog friendly actually only pay lip service to that statement. With East Ruston Cottages you can be assured they mean what they say. Staying at Running Hare Barn I was aware of the considerable thought, love and attention to detail the owners have shown. This is not a typical holiday house, no skimping here. On the contrary a determined effort to produce a first class experience at the same time incorporating features to reduce the demand on our natural resources. Dogs are catered for in every respect from the pretty, enclosed yard , including warm dog shower to the indoor dog safety zone enabling your pet to be left securely should the need arise, also plenty of accessories from water bowls to beds, large and small.
A wonderful house allowing you and your dogs to feel relaxed in a welcoming environment with the added bonus of rural walks and superb beaches on your doorstep. What more do you need!
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Corner Cottage, Lessingham”
Reviewed 13th August 2016
We (7 humans ranging from 10 months to 63 years and 4 dogs from 11 weeks to 3 years!) have just returned from a wonderful week's holiday at Corner Cottage. Super holiday home, great standards throughout: kitchen equipment, beds/bedding, goodies - home made jam and victoria sponge and dog treats - and great attention to small details. Super location: dog friendly beaches; seal watching; lovely walks and secure gardens for small children and canine friends.
We are happy to highly recommend East Ruston Cottages; all queries answered quickly and helpfully, just a pleasure from first contact to the very end. We look forward to returning to this, or another of the properties, in the future.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“White Cottage, Happisburgh”
Reviewed 11th August 2016
On our second visit to White Cottage we had a really relaxing break. A lovely cottage very near the beach, very well equipped and clean, both for humans and dogs! Totally enclosed garden, so you can relax with the family and enjoy a BBQ or two. A short walk to the village pub which welcomes dogs. Plenty to see and do in the area from stately homes, beaches, pubs, gardens, watching the wildlife, or just relaxing with a good book.

We will return...
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Running Hare Barn”
Reviewed 11th August 2016
Where do I begin,, from start to finish we have had the most fantastic family holiday in accommodation to die for, space to spread ourselves , facilities that were beyond any of our expectations, well equipped with everything you could possibly need and a lovely welcome pack for humans and dogs. The attention to detail was brilliant, where can you get a warm dog shower in the garden after a day at the beach and somewhere for them to dry off without the worry they were on the couch as a dog room is included, they really have thought of everything. Our grandson is till telling people about the room with the big telly and Wow that's a big tv not that we had time for watching it . A truly amazing place to stay, we have had many holidays in The UK ,(Norfolk many times )with our dogs and have struggled to find somewhere to stay that was anywhere near the high standard that we managed to find here, i had actually given up and it was our son that found East Ruston cottages and we are so thankful he did. We hope to be back next year in another of East Ruston Cottages now we know the exceptional standard they have achieved in Running Hare Barn. Thank you Sue and Dermot from all the Heath's.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Rooster Barn- Surpassed all expectations!”
Reviewed 8th August 2016
We had an amazing week at Rooster Barn. The welcome goodies were such a thoughtful touch for us & our lab. The standard of the barn is very high, its beautiful, clean and yet homely. We felt very relaxed. The huge garden was such a bonus for our children & dog. They could explore their surroundings safely which made us feel at ease. The ERC dog tag & holiday collar such a good idea. The added extras all made our stay extra special. We were very sad to leave & already booking for next year! Highly recommend. Thank you ERC
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Running Hare Barn”
Reviewed 28th June 2016
As the first guests in the newly converted Running Hare Barn we could hardly pass up the chance to write a review.
The barn is splendid and is a real tribute to to the painstaking design and workmanship which Dermot and Sue have carried out. The building has a lovely friendly feel to it and is fitted out very luxuriously, equipped with everything you could possibly need , even a warm shower for dogs, which I was not aware I needed until I tried it! Works well for children too. The accommodation is spacious and the feeling of interior space and height has been preserved by the 'open to the rafters' central area of the barn. There is a a very attractive and sheltered courtyard garden and lovely walks on the doorstep. Our three lively spaniels were welcomed and the open pen area inside the front door was a perfect place for the dogs to dry off and sleep .
We would certainly recommend this as a charming and unique place to stay in one of the nicest areas of rural Norfolk.

Chris H and family
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Just as promised and more besides”
Reviewed 28th June 2016
Fabulous stay at Wind in the Willows part of East Ruston Cottages. A cosy Shepherds Hut full of charm and everything you could possibly need for a tranquil get away . A week with no TV or internet but with games and a radio and a warm welcome and a lot more besides. Just perfect.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Heather Cottage, Happisburgh, Norfolk”
Reviewed 19th June 2016
Fabulously equipped dog-friendly cottage in the heart of a quiet, peaceful coastal village.
It had everything from dishwasher tablets to dog biscuits and is by far the best rental property I have ever stayed in. It was immaculately clean and tidy, but welcoming and comfy with plenty of space for 5 adults and a dog! He loved the secure garden and it was nice to have off street parking too. The area is really dog friendly and we even took our dog boating on the Broads! Highly recommend this picturesque cottage and hope to go back soon.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Convenient Snowdrop”
Reviewed 14th June 2016
Just spent a great week at Snowdrop Cottage, Winterton on Sea. Great little cottage with a lovely open plan layout downstairs and two bedrooms upstairs, and a nice long garden perfect for playing "fetch" . Ideally situated for touring along the coast in either direction or simply walking the dunes or fabulous year round dog friendly beach.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Always a perfect holiday”
Reviewed 12th June 2016
We have stayed, along with our 2 dogs with East Rushtom cottages for the last 3 years. They are incredibly dog friendly with lovely welcoming hosts, welcome packs and plenty of information on places to visit. Really can't praise them enough
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Dog paradise.”
Reviewed 12th June 2016
Just got back from a wonderful relaxing week at Walnut Farmhouse Waxham...weather was good to us which always helps but the house was very spacious and gardens were delightful.. Norfolk is so dog friendly, lovely walks and beaches were practically empty..apart from a colony of seals we came across. ( a sight we will always remember) had a day trip,on a cruiser and rest of holiday spent walking and re,axing, the gardens and house absorbed a family gathering of over thirty people with ease. Highly recommend, dog friendly places like walnut farmhouse are a godsend...many thanks.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Mid Thatch cottage.”
Reviewed 7th June 2016
Beautiful very welcoming cottage, basket of essentials and dog biscuits to welcome you.
Lovely sandy beach very dog friendly, neighbors and local people very friendly and make you feel so at home, did not want to leave. Will definietly be returning.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 6th June 2016
My friend and I visited Holmes house in April 2016 with 10 dogs between us.
The house is friendly and inviting,it doesn't look like a show house that I would be worried about spoiling with with my rabble. The hall is very wet dog friendly with a stone floor. It has a lovely warm comfortable feel,I could've stayed forever. There's a nice big garden with parking for a couple of cars within it,so no need to put dogs on lead when you get back each day,just shut the gate and open the car and they can mooch around to their hearts content.
There is a footpath less than 5 minutes from the door plus of course so many beautiful sandy beaches.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Holmes House”
Reviewed 6th June 2016
I just did not want to leave. This is such an amazing cottage and just perfect for the dogs. We received a lovely welcome and made to feel at home straight away. I can't recommend it enough although a little reluctantly as it may get booked up too much !!
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“The very lovely Daisy Cottage”
Reviewed 31st May 2016
Stayed at Daisy Cottage for a week in May, and it is the most dog friendly cottage we've ever stayed at. A super location, minutes from the beach, a large garden, multiple dog beds, bowls, throws, toys, even home made dog biscuits on arrival, all your dog requires. Add to this, the fact that it's a lovely cottage with all you need, and more, and it makes for a great holiday. The only downside is that we had one very sulky Retriever when we left.
Sea Palling is a tiny place, but everywhere is remarkably dog friendly, in fact I think it's bordering on compulsory to have a dog there.
If you want a relaxing holiday, in a lovely cottage, a stroll away from the beach, in a village where dogs take priority, Daisy Cottage is for you.

Andy
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Daisy Cottage - Sea Palling”
Reviewed 22nd May 2016
Great house for a holiday. Lovely welcome pack for us and the dogs. Well equipped with everything that you would normally have at home. Information pack told us everything we needed for the house and a lot of useful information for surrounding area.
Already booked to go with East Ruston Cottages for next year.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Apethorpe, Northamptonshire, East Midlands
1 review
“Short stay Mid Thatch”
Reviewed 16th May 2016
Stayed at the recently re curb Mid Thatch. Four adults and two dogs. Accommodation was lovely. Welcome basket of local goodies and fresh eggs when we arrived as well as doggie treats for Finn and Mya. Property had all we needed, beds were remarkably comfortable, my husband has a back problem and beds are normally an issue, however the beds were lovely and firm. Spoils with underfloor heating in living room ( it was cold on day we arrived), dogs loved it to. Lovely fleeces for them to snuggle up in to. Good location for getting to Wroxham/Wells etc. Really enjoyable short stay. Owner very accommodating as we could only do 3 very specific days as daughter had travelled from Oz and was trying to fit various other things in, so a big thank you for that.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Mid thatch in sea palling norfolk”
Reviewed 4th May 2016
Beautiful thatched cottage so clean tidy and cosy with such great facilities, big shower, 2 double bedrooms, perfect kitchen, wifi, tv, underfloor heating, the list goes on,, we were greeted with a welcome hamper with eggs apple juice fudge and bread, such a lovely touch. The dogs had toys, spare towels, leads, poo bags a hose in front garden( very useful) the beach is a very short drive or a walk across the field, beautiful golden sands with coffee shop, chip shop amusements and shop all right by.
Very dog friendly we took our 4 dogs with us and everywhere was so welcoming
Would definitely recommend.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Mid thatch cottage, Sea palling. ”
Reviewed 1st May 2016
Absolutely gorgeous cottage, very cosy and welcoming after a long beach walk with our five dogs. Underfloor heating and lovely log burner was much appreciated by all the pooches! Just a short walk to the beach, and a lovely welcome basket of goodies on our arrival. This is our 4th stay with East Ruston Cottages and our 1st time at Mid Thatch, Sue always ensures that every booking is responded too quickly and the cottages are always clean and ready for arrival. Can't wait for our next visit.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Farthing Cottage. Trunch ”
Reviewed 25th April 2016
Spent a wonderful week staying in Farthing Cottage in the village of Trunch.
Cottage lovely and clean, with lots of wonderful treats left for both human and dog.
Well equipped with dog throws, towels, bowls etc. Fully enclosed garden and lots of lovely dog friendly walks from the door.

Our 4th visit to an East Ruston cottage and will not be our last.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Sea Pallng .Norfolk Family/dog holiday.”
Reviewed 12th April 2016
First time in a Norfolk holiday cottage. This company recommended by my Vet who had Stayed at one of their properties.Very well run/ proffesional from first queries to last . Also returned emails quickly which is so helpful at planning stage.Website had plenty of details and extra info.Cottage its self was beautiful and more like staying in a 4* hotel with a lot of extra touches like throws on sofa, milk in fridge,a welcome basket with several large and delicious items,plenty of paper towel/bin bags etc.Having brought many extras as so often UK holiday cottages can be disappointing this was a nice surprise. Also really clean but with sensible touches.Just so organised and relaxing.Dogs felt at home as toys/bed/ towels all provided. Not a thing was negative.The best bit ...walk 5 mins and on the beach which we all loved.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Excellent cottage and perfect for pooches ”
Reviewed 9th April 2016
We had a lovely week at Snowdrop Cottage booked through East Ruston Cottages. Winterton-on-sea is perfect for dogs with a lovely beach and fabulous dunes to walk on. The cottage was excellent and very well organised, dogs very welcome and the village has a nice pub and there's a beach side cafe. Would highly recommend.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Absolutely Perfect Doggy Holiday”
Reviewed 13th February 2016
Orchard Cottage is wonderful. It is extremely dog friendly with dog beds, bowls, toys, throws, towels, poo bags and biscuits all provided. It is a 3 minute walk to a dog friendly beach with lots of lovely walks in the area. The cottage itself is extremely clean, well equipped, warm and very comfortable with a secure and safe garden. We really can't fault it and will be returning for a third holiday as soon as possible. Doesn't get any better
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Raising the Dog Friendly bar!”
Reviewed 9th February 2016
Just returned from a 7 night break at the sensational White Cottage in the delightful village of Happisburgh. With two Cairn Terriers, I fell in love with the area, the people, the mesmerising beaches and the scenery. This was my first but certainly not my last stay with the incredibly helpful and knowledgeable East Ruston Cottages, managed by Sue Allen. I was lucky enough to get the last remaining week in 2016 at White Cottage and it certainly didn't disappoint. Lovely welcome pack with locally sourced products for humans and the dogs was a smashing touch, the cleaner Michelle had left the place immaculate - with not a whiff of dogs! Sue has painstakingly developed a brilliant website, a resource centre of everything you need to know about the North Norfolk area, so we visited most of the beautiful beaches for walks. Coming back to the comfort of White Cottage, with a lovely wood burner for the wintery nights, was a pleasure. The style, furnishings, comfortable beds and quality bed linen all added to the restful stay. The kitchen is extremely well equipped, clean and tidy. All dog necessities - from poo bags, bowls, leads, dog beds, throws and towels are provided - what a saving for packing! And the large garden is completely dog proof - a huge relief when you know that inquisitive terriers are safe in the pitch black of night! I cannot praise the excellent pre-planning and organisation enough, Sue really is on top of her game with everything, perfect for a completer-finisher like me! We are already planning our next and our next trip to this wonderful part of the world and won't be going anywhere other than with East Ruston Cottages. Highly recommended - and I have exceptionally big expectations :0)
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“A must for dog owners and their family's”
Reviewed 4th February 2016
This house is simple stunning both in setting and character. There is nothing you could ask for that Helen & Sue do not provide. The house has absolutely everything and is so well stocked with good quality items. Then to be a stone throw away from the pub and a short walk to the beach you couldn't ask for more. The garden is not only huge but 100% secure so you can play with your dogs and know they are safe.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“A beautiful barn”
Reviewed 18th January 2016
A beautifully restored barn. Dogs very welcome and a lovely fenced garden. Walks straight from the door. Very good quality fittings and furnishings, leather sofas and a very comfy bed. Underfloor heating and a wood burner made it really cosy even in the winter.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“A fantastic cottage ”
Reviewed 12th January 2016
Had a great 3 weeks at Christmas here, the cottage was fantastic, well equipped, very clean and homely and we had one very tired pooch on our return home, Cakes, dog biscuits were a lovely touch too. The village is great with a lovely pub, a local fish shop and the beach down the lane.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
We’re Social! Facebook Facebook Facebook Facebook Connect With Us