East Ruston Cottages

View Business Profile Places To Stay | East Ruston, Norfolk, England | 077 66665684 | eastrustoncottages.co.uk

East Ruston Cottages say:

Very dog friendly holiday accommodation in rural and coastal Norfolk. Properties range from a Shepherd's hut to a large thatched house on the coast with plenty to choose from in between. All have enclosed gardens and great walks nearby. All near sandy, dog friendly beaches. Not an agency, just me, Sue Allen running properties owned by people I know in an area I love and have lived in for over 20 years.

East Ruston Cottages
99% of users rated this business as excellent or very good.
Ranked 1 in Places To Stay in Norfolk
Ranking calculated based on average score and the most reviews. Businesses need more than 5 reviews to feature at the top.
163 reviews

Recent review

27th May 2019
“Heather Cottage ”
Our 2nd visit to the lovely comfortable Heather cottage. Ideally situated in the village with an easy walk to the beach and a stones throw from the pu…

163 people have reviewed East Ruston Cottages


Member ratings

Excellent
159
Very Good
3
Average
0
Poor
1
Terrible
0

Rating summary

Dog Friendly
Standard of accommodation
Value for money
163 reviews (1 page) sorted by
1 review
“The very lovely Daisy Cottage”
Reviewed 31st May 2016
Stayed at Daisy Cottage for a week in May, and it is the most dog friendly cottage we've ever stayed at. A super location, minutes from the beach, a large garden, multiple dog beds, bowls, throws, toys, even home made dog biscuits on arrival, all your dog requires. Add to this, the fact that it's a lovely cottage with all you need, and more, and it makes for a great holiday. The only downside is that we had one very sulky Retriever when we left.
Sea Palling is a tiny place, but everywhere is remarkably dog friendly, in fact I think it's bordering on compulsory to have a dog there.
If you want a relaxing holiday, in a lovely cottage, a stroll away from the beach, in a village where dogs take priority, Daisy Cottage is for you.

Andy
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Daisy Cottage - Sea Palling”
Reviewed 22nd May 2016
Great house for a holiday. Lovely welcome pack for us and the dogs. Well equipped with everything that you would normally have at home. Information pack told us everything we needed for the house and a lot of useful information for surrounding area.
Already booked to go with East Ruston Cottages for next year.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Apethorpe, Northamptonshire, East Midlands
1 review
“Short stay Mid Thatch”
Reviewed 16th May 2016
Stayed at the recently re curb Mid Thatch. Four adults and two dogs. Accommodation was lovely. Welcome basket of local goodies and fresh eggs when we arrived as well as doggie treats for Finn and Mya. Property had all we needed, beds were remarkably comfortable, my husband has a back problem and beds are normally an issue, however the beds were lovely and firm. Spoils with underfloor heating in living room ( it was cold on day we arrived), dogs loved it to. Lovely fleeces for them to snuggle up in to. Good location for getting to Wroxham/Wells etc. Really enjoyable short stay. Owner very accommodating as we could only do 3 very specific days as daughter had travelled from Oz and was trying to fit various other things in, so a big thank you for that.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Mid thatch in sea palling norfolk”
Reviewed 4th May 2016
Beautiful thatched cottage so clean tidy and cosy with such great facilities, big shower, 2 double bedrooms, perfect kitchen, wifi, tv, underfloor heating, the list goes on,, we were greeted with a welcome hamper with eggs apple juice fudge and bread, such a lovely touch. The dogs had toys, spare towels, leads, poo bags a hose in front garden( very useful) the beach is a very short drive or a walk across the field, beautiful golden sands with coffee shop, chip shop amusements and shop all right by.
Very dog friendly we took our 4 dogs with us and everywhere was so welcoming
Would definitely recommend.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Mid thatch cottage, Sea palling. ”
Reviewed 1st May 2016
Absolutely gorgeous cottage, very cosy and welcoming after a long beach walk with our five dogs. Underfloor heating and lovely log burner was much appreciated by all the pooches! Just a short walk to the beach, and a lovely welcome basket of goodies on our arrival. This is our 4th stay with East Ruston Cottages and our 1st time at Mid Thatch, Sue always ensures that every booking is responded too quickly and the cottages are always clean and ready for arrival. Can't wait for our next visit.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Farthing Cottage. Trunch ”
Reviewed 25th April 2016
Spent a wonderful week staying in Farthing Cottage in the village of Trunch.
Cottage lovely and clean, with lots of wonderful treats left for both human and dog.
Well equipped with dog throws, towels, bowls etc. Fully enclosed garden and lots of lovely dog friendly walks from the door.

Our 4th visit to an East Ruston cottage and will not be our last.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Sea Pallng .Norfolk Family/dog holiday.”
Reviewed 12th April 2016
First time in a Norfolk holiday cottage. This company recommended by my Vet who had Stayed at one of their properties.Very well run/ proffesional from first queries to last . Also returned emails quickly which is so helpful at planning stage.Website had plenty of details and extra info.Cottage its self was beautiful and more like staying in a 4* hotel with a lot of extra touches like throws on sofa, milk in fridge,a welcome basket with several large and delicious items,plenty of paper towel/bin bags etc.Having brought many extras as so often UK holiday cottages can be disappointing this was a nice surprise. Also really clean but with sensible touches.Just so organised and relaxing.Dogs felt at home as toys/bed/ towels all provided. Not a thing was negative.The best bit ...walk 5 mins and on the beach which we all loved.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Excellent cottage and perfect for pooches ”
Reviewed 9th April 2016
We had a lovely week at Snowdrop Cottage booked through East Ruston Cottages. Winterton-on-sea is perfect for dogs with a lovely beach and fabulous dunes to walk on. The cottage was excellent and very well organised, dogs very welcome and the village has a nice pub and there's a beach side cafe. Would highly recommend.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Absolutely Perfect Doggy Holiday”
Reviewed 13th February 2016
Orchard Cottage is wonderful. It is extremely dog friendly with dog beds, bowls, toys, throws, towels, poo bags and biscuits all provided. It is a 3 minute walk to a dog friendly beach with lots of lovely walks in the area. The cottage itself is extremely clean, well equipped, warm and very comfortable with a secure and safe garden. We really can't fault it and will be returning for a third holiday as soon as possible. Doesn't get any better
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Raising the Dog Friendly bar!”
Reviewed 9th February 2016
Just returned from a 7 night break at the sensational White Cottage in the delightful village of Happisburgh. With two Cairn Terriers, I fell in love with the area, the people, the mesmerising beaches and the scenery. This was my first but certainly not my last stay with the incredibly helpful and knowledgeable East Ruston Cottages, managed by Sue Allen. I was lucky enough to get the last remaining week in 2016 at White Cottage and it certainly didn't disappoint. Lovely welcome pack with locally sourced products for humans and the dogs was a smashing touch, the cleaner Michelle had left the place immaculate - with not a whiff of dogs! Sue has painstakingly developed a brilliant website, a resource centre of everything you need to know about the North Norfolk area, so we visited most of the beautiful beaches for walks. Coming back to the comfort of White Cottage, with a lovely wood burner for the wintery nights, was a pleasure. The style, furnishings, comfortable beds and quality bed linen all added to the restful stay. The kitchen is extremely well equipped, clean and tidy. All dog necessities - from poo bags, bowls, leads, dog beds, throws and towels are provided - what a saving for packing! And the large garden is completely dog proof - a huge relief when you know that inquisitive terriers are safe in the pitch black of night! I cannot praise the excellent pre-planning and organisation enough, Sue really is on top of her game with everything, perfect for a completer-finisher like me! We are already planning our next and our next trip to this wonderful part of the world and won't be going anywhere other than with East Ruston Cottages. Highly recommended - and I have exceptionally big expectations :0)
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“A must for dog owners and their family's”
Reviewed 4th February 2016
This house is simple stunning both in setting and character. There is nothing you could ask for that Helen & Sue do not provide. The house has absolutely everything and is so well stocked with good quality items. Then to be a stone throw away from the pub and a short walk to the beach you couldn't ask for more. The garden is not only huge but 100% secure so you can play with your dogs and know they are safe.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“A beautiful barn”
Reviewed 18th January 2016
A beautifully restored barn. Dogs very welcome and a lovely fenced garden. Walks straight from the door. Very good quality fittings and furnishings, leather sofas and a very comfy bed. Underfloor heating and a wood burner made it really cosy even in the winter.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“A fantastic cottage ”
Reviewed 12th January 2016
Had a great 3 weeks at Christmas here, the cottage was fantastic, well equipped, very clean and homely and we had one very tired pooch on our return home, Cakes, dog biscuits were a lovely touch too. The village is great with a lovely pub, a local fish shop and the beach down the lane.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Extremely Dog Friendly Accommodation”
Reviewed 12th January 2016
Beautiful property in lovely quiet location with several beaches just a short drive away.
Welcome goodies for us & the dogs were very much appreciated.
Everything we could possibly need was provided and the dogs were well looked after too, lots of toys, bedding, towels etc and a safe enclosed courtyard area for them to be outside when they wanted.
The heating is provided by a ground source heat pump and was very efficient, and also a log burner ( logs provided) gave a lovely cosy atmosphere & extra warmth if needed.
We will certainly be booking again.
If you are looking for dog friendly accommodation this is the place for you, and it's great for humans too ☺

  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
3 reviews
“Daisy Cottage, a wonderful cozy cottage ”
Reviewed 29th December 2015
Daisy Cottage lived up to the standard of all the East Ruston Cottages that we have so far stayed at (7 visits in 4 years!). We were delighted with the levels of comfort, attention to detail and the lovely Christmas decorations that made our stay so much more festive. Despite a disability, the stairs were absolutely fine when managed carefully and it was lovely to know that Molly, our dog, was welcome upstairs too and able to sleep in the bed. We had everything we needed for her stay too and it's clear that the owners love dogs. The details on the website clearly told us that part of the garden wasn't fully enclosed so we made sure our dog was on lead here. But the space next to the house was very safe for her.

Palling was a lovely location, clearly very popular with dog walkers but enjoyable out of season. The little pub gave us a warm welcome, a little cafe proudly declares it is open 364 days of the year (true, we enjoyed a huge takeaway hot chocolate on Boxing Day!) and there is a small shop for essentials.

Thank you for a lovely, welcoming stay and the wonderful welcome pack.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“White cottage - fabulous”
Reviewed 13th December 2015
Our first holiday with East ruston cottages but very much hope it won't be the last. From the beginning couldn't fault the service, helped us select a cottage based on our requirements and have to say the recommendation was perfect.
Having travelled 8 hours with 8 dogs to be able to park safely off road in the enclosed parking area and let the dogs straight out into the garden was amazing. Dogs ranged from 2 small terriers to 2 large lurchers but no way anyone was going to escape (took me a day or 2 to relax and believe this!) but they loved doing laps of the garden. Also no immediate.neighbours to worry about. Inside the house was beatiful - lots of lovely bits and pieces, very homely and welcoming.
Good walks on quiet beach (great for the young lurcher who is still learning how to behave!) and a great lunch at the recommended star inn at lessingham.
Almost don't want to recommend as its already well booked up and we want to come back!
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Superb cottage”
Reviewed 5th December 2015
We were lucky to have chosen such a lovely cottage for our holiday to Happisburgh. We stayed in Orchard cottage. There were 5 adults and 2 dogs so we had plenty of room. The cottage is a home from home with lots of added extra special touches with cakes and biscuits for the dogs and lovely flowers to welcome us. The garden is fantastic I know my dogs certainly miss all the extra space for zoomies! The beach is lovely and close but not ideal for anyone with mobility problems as the slope to beach is incredibly steep. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will certainly recommend it.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Orchard Cottage, super dog friendly accomodation”
Reviewed 29th November 2015
We have just returned from our 2nd visit to this beautiful dog friendly cottage. This time there were 4 adults, 1 child & 8 dogs and there was plenty of room for us all. The cottage is fully equipped, the owners have thought of everything. There were lovely cakes & dog biscuits waiting for us on arrival along with tea, coffee & milk for a much needed drink after a long journey! The large, fully enclosed garden is perfect for dogs, as are the hard floors which are easy to clean with 32 muddy/sandy paws!! The location of the property is great-the beach & pub just on the doorstep. The Hill House pub serves a very good Sunday Roast & ales which they brew on site. The staff & locals are very friendly. Happisburgh is also a great base to explore the North Norfolk area
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Lovely break at Neds Nest”
Reviewed 16th November 2015
We have just had a 4 night stay at Neds Nest. After a long journey it was lovely to find fresh milk, coffee,tea, bread, jam, eggs and oh such a delicious cake! The dogs also had lovely biscuits! The accommodation was so warm and spotlessly clean. It was open plan design being a converted stable and beautifully done. Everything was top quality and so well equipped. There were throws, dog bowls, poo bags and spare leads provided.
The welcome by Jane and Mark was warm and they even washed our dog bed as one had been travel sick on the way down. There were walks from the door and beaches to drive to that were just stunning. Everywhere we went people chatted to us and even small cafes allowed dogs in. There is nothing worse than being asked to sit out in a cold beer garden if we have the dogs. This didn't happen in Norfolk they went everywhere with us. The most dog friendly county I have been to and would highly recommend this accommodation and a visit to Holkham Beach and Sea Palling Beach. Just gorgeous
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
3 reviews
“Orchard Cottage, We Didn't Want to Leave. ”
Reviewed 4th November 2015
A beautiful 3 bedroom cottage which makes a perfect base for a group of adults and dogs to explore this wonderful part of the country. Truly dog friendly - dog treats left for enjoying on arrival (along with cakes, milk, tea, coffee & sugar for the humans, very welcome after the drive), and a store of items such as dog bowls, bed, holiday collars, poo bags and even ball chuckers. Also supplied were throws for the sofas and towels - a place that acknowledges that a lot of dogs like to sit on the sofas with their owners in front of the wood burning stove. Hard flooring makes keeping on top of paw prints easy - don't worry there is a rug in front of the fire for relaxing on. The garden is a beautiful, sunny, safe place - securely fenced and the gates even have warning signs about dogs running free inside - and door bell to ring to get the attention of those staying - minimising the risk of dogs slipping out past callers. The great thing is that the house is as comfortable for humans as it is for dogs. 3 good sized bedrooms - no dreaded bunk beds, so a group of adult friends were all happily accommodated. Two bathrooms so no queue for the loo. Free wifi an added bonus. Beware that mobile phone signals in the area aren't great - but it was quite nice to be slightly out of touch. So many places to visit that are dog friendly - we even took the dogs on a seal watching boat trip from Blakeney. Bure Valley Railway was another great trip with the dogs, followed by a boat trip around the Broads. The Hill House Inn a few minutes walk away is a great place - good food and friendly people. Beaches are all stunning. Every place we visited seemed to be dog friendly - so good not to be forced to sit outside to eat, especially in October. The only place that had a no dogs inside rule was the restaurant on Cromer Pier, but as it was a nice day we were happy to sit outside, but several places we passed had dogs inside so we had options. All the cottages seem to get booked up quickly, so if you want to visit pkan ahead, or join the mailing list to receive news of cancellations etc. We have already booked for next year.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Wonderful, genuinely dog-friendly accomodation”
Reviewed 26th October 2015
I have just spent a week at The Lodge - a very cosy and comfortable cottage. The Lodge was the perfect size for us and had everything we needed, including spare towels for the dog. A lovely welcome basket got the holiday off to a great start and The Lodge is quiet and peaceful, with a nice secure garden. A great location - walks along Weavers Way on our doorstep and within easy reach of lots of lovely dog-friendly beaches and woods.
What sets East Ruston cottages apart from other dog-friendly places I have stayed is that dogs are genuinely welcome rather than just tolerated!
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Dog Friendly Place to Stay”
Reviewed 19th October 2015
This is a wonderful little cottage with a lovely long back garden for the dogs to play in. Also just a very short walk to the dunes and the beach.
This cottage is very comfortable for both the family and the dogs, it also has a wood burner for those chilly evenings, washing machine and dish washer.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Perfect for dogs and their owners.”
Reviewed 1st October 2015
Our first stay with East Rushton.We booked Myrtle cottage,a beautiful old cottage,spotlessly clean and very well equiped.we were looking for somewhere that would accomodate 3 dogs and were lucky enough to find this gem.a very safe enclosed garden,even spare leads,dog bowls and throws for the furniture made for a very relaxing week.it's in a lovely area, with only short drives to the dog friendly beaches.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“The best dog friendly house and garden”
Reviewed 23rd September 2015
This is our second holiday at Thatcher's booked East Ruston Cottages, a comfortable and spacious house with a beautiful huge garden which is completely secure and so perfect for our three greyhounds who don't often get so much opportunity to stretch their legs.
A beautiful house with all home comforts, and the loveliest garden. Lots of interesting places to visit, walks on the doorstep and plenty of pubs and restaurants within a short drive.
A really dog friendly place to stay which is of a high quality and very comfortable. If you want to be lord and lady of the manor for the week this is the place for you. Can't recommend it highly enough.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Truly dog-friendly”
Reviewed 21st September 2015
This was our second holiday booked through East Ruston Cottages, and we will be booking again! The properties listed on East Ruston Cottages are truly dog-friendly; they are positively welcomed and their needs and comfort are catered for. This year we stayed at The Lodge in East Ruston, which was well equipped and very comfortable. There are lovely walks all around and it's an ideal base for visiting local villages and the coast.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Fabulous Cottage”
Reviewed 18th September 2015
We stayed at Farthing Cottage in Trunch in September. This was the first time we had stayed in a self catering cottage and were not disappointed. The cottage had everything you could possibly need and more but best of all was very dog friendly with a small but fully secure garden. Lots of places to visit nearby and The Crown pub a couple of minutes walk away. We loved it so much we have booked it again for November/December
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Wow what a beautiful place to stay”
Reviewed 21st August 2015
Thatchers is a wonderful 5 bedroomed house set in Happisburgh, just a short distance from the beach. It is completely dog friendly and with just over an acre of garden to the house, there is plenty to keep your dog happy as well as being so quiet and peaceful to just sit in and chill! The silence was broken by just the sounds of cricket practise across the road and bell ringing on Thursday night and the sounds of the waves wafting across from the adjoining field. The facilities in the house were excellent, it was clean and airy and well maintained. The owners were friendly and approachable. The fresh home made cake waiting for our arrival was much appreciated. I always worry about where the dogs are allowed access in a holiday home and I was not disappointed here. The downstairs lobby and courtyard outside the back door was perfect for night time. There was even a purpose built kennel tucked away in the garden if required. Within the house they pretty much had access downstairs although not allowed on the furniture in the living room. However the snug adjoining the kitchen was a lovely room too and we actually ended up taking root in there with the dogs. This room also benefits from underfloor heating so I imagine would be cosy in the winter too! Would I come back again? You bet I would! If only I could live in a house like this permanently
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Holiday stay at Myrtle Cottage ”
Reviewed 21st August 2015
We enjoyed a really lovely holiday at Myrtle Cottage with our two dogs. It is in a picturesque location and is very dog friendly. Most local beaches are accessible with dogs and there are lots of places to go. The cottage had everything we needed and would definitely consider returning again. We have included a picture of the sunset from the cottage window, absolutely beautiful.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
4 reviews
“Orchard Cottage, Happisburgh, Norfolk”
Reviewed 19th August 2015
We had a brilliant holiday at the totally dog friendly Orchard Cottage. On arrival at the spotless cottage we were greeted with flowers, cakes and strawberries. There was also milk in the fridge, tea coffee and sugar and of course treats for the dogs - all of which was a lovely touch and much appreciated after our journey.

The cottage itself is lovely (we all agreed we could quite happily stay forever!) and very well equipped - it had everything we needed for a relaxing family break. The garden was great for the dogs and for us - having the sun loungers in the shed as well as the table and chairs was really good as it meant after a day out we could really relax in the garden especially as it got the sun all day. Also the chimnea is good - we spent most evenings in the garden and were lucky enough to see the meteor shower whilst there too.

The cottage is in a great position in the village with the beach, small shop and pub both only five minute' walk away. We found the food, drink and welcome at the Hill House Inn to be excellent. We also enjoyed a stroll along the cliff path to Smallsticks cafe for breakfast and then walked it off back along the beach - the dogs loved it too. Would also recommend Nelson's Head at Horsey for food and drink after a walk to see the seals - husband and eldest daughter's boyfriend recommend several of the beers!

All in all we had a brilliant week and have no hesitation in recommending Orchard Cottage as a fantastic place to stay whether you have dogs or not. Hopefully we will be visiting again.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Doggy heaven”
Reviewed 18th July 2015
We stayed at Badger's Retreat for a few days. Perfect little annex beautifully decorated and well equipped throughout. Extremely comfy bed and sofas to relax after a hard day at the beach. Throws for the dogs were provided but we had also taken our own. We were made to feel really welcome by Craig and Susan

The property itself is close to great walks, wonderful beaches and dog friendly pubs in abundance. The Butcher's Arms is within walking distance but also visited The Pleasure Boat Inn which has fantastic fishcakes. We loved Happisburgh beach (see photo) and a seal even popped by to say hello. Further up the coast is Sheringham which I fell in love with and also the Red Hart Inn at Bodham is worth a stop.

But wherever you went there was a warm welcome, will definately be back!
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
We’re Social! Facebook Facebook Facebook Facebook Connect With Us