Akela WholePrey

Akela WholePrey say:

Affordable vet-approved 80:20 nutrition. Made in Britain.

Akela WholePrey
99% of users rated this business as excellent or very good.
Ranked 1 in Dog Food
Ranking calculated based on average score and the most reviews. Businesses need more than 5 reviews to feature at the top.
560 reviews

Recent review

10th December 2018
“Akela is my top choice”
Since switching to Akela a few months ago, I can see the change in my Lab. She looks healthier and IS healthier. The reviews are true when they say it…

560 people have reviewed Akela WholePrey


Member ratings

Excellent
538
Very Good
17
Average
3
Poor
2
Terrible
0

Rating summary

Enjoyed by dog
Ingredients
Quality
Value for money
560 reviews (1 page) sorted by
1 review
“First Class”
Reviewed 27th September 2017
We recently got two new Cavachon Pups, and after extensive research into diet etc we decided that Akela 80/20 was the best choice by some way.
It was definitely the right decision, our dogs love it, the price is right and the service from ordering to delivering is first class.
We have given our Dogs, what we consider to be the very best start in life and we look forward to many years of good feeding habits with Akela.
I would highly recommend the products, your Dog deserves the best.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Good food and good service”
Reviewed 27th September 2017
Over the years we've tried various foods with our dogs and not really found anything that's both nutritious, grain free and our dogs enjoy. It was always two of the three but not all three. Usually we'd need to add a taste supplement for the dog to actually eat it. Even then it felt like they were only eating after giving up hope on anything else being offered to them.

We tried Akela Whole Prey with our current dog, a Bouvier des Flandres, to see if we could get her on a healthier whole prey diet without any grain - we'd tried most of the other options. She loves the 80:20 Suffolk Duck. We even use it as a training treat as she enjoys it so much. We did also try both the Chicken and Lamb teasers which she'll do pretty much anything for! We also sometimes add the Salmon oil, as she's not keen on the Fish Feast as much as the Suffolk Duck. As the contents are higher quality, she's not eating huge quantities to fill her up either so it works out fairly economical.

I'd certainly recommend this for owners of large breed, working stock dogs.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Brilliant Akela”
Reviewed 27th September 2017
Recommended by breeder we eventually got around to trying with our Parsons after eighteen months. Great value for the best quality food - and he loves it!! Cannot recommend enough.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Happy fusspot”
Reviewed 24th September 2017
I have an incredibly picky Jack-Chi and she will not eat anything except Akela wet food original (except chicken, cheese and most things she finds on the floor!) we were lucky enough to discover Akela at Bakewell 'Dogs Unleashed' event where they gave us a sample tin. Thank you Akela!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Changed dog. ”
Reviewed 18th September 2017
Our Border Collie developed an allergy. After vets recommended science menu foods we read so many blogs and information pages I happened upon your site. Fabulous recommendations which I followed and we changed to the duck 80/20 diet. Expensive but you don't feed much. Now Reggie has the most gorgeous deep red coat and no itching. His small sister has gone on to the small paws variety and she too loves it...even being the picky eater she was. Dried food. No waste and both tummy and skin are spot on! Thank you.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Excellent for a fussy pup!”
Reviewed 10th September 2017
I have a small Cockapoo who came to use on a poor quality dog food witch was all he knew. Through my own slow research I ended up trying him on 2 other foods which he completely rejected before, finally finding Akela and we haven't looked back sins. He has gone form not eating more than a few mouth full a day to completely clean bowls every time. He also loves the range of meat based treats Akela do as well. Could not be happier I have a happy health 9 month old puppy now and could not recommend them enough.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
Reply from Akela WholePrey
20th September 2017
Thank you so much for your lovely review - you obviously have a dog with good taste :-)
1 review
“Excellent dog food and customer service.”
Reviewed 2nd September 2017
Akela WholePrey dog food has been excellent. We are very satisfied with the product the quality of the ingredients they use making it very nutritious for our dog charlie. Not only is it really good for him he seems to love it. We were surprised how reasonable the food was considering the quality it was not more expensive compared to other brands of a high quality. When we found out we were moving to Singapore we instantly asked the company if they export and we promptly got a response saying that they just had sent it out. Furthermore they gave us the details of the store selling it. It is very comforting to know that when everything is going to be new and strange for Charlie when we move he can still have the same food. Couldn't be happier with the company!!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Excellent product”
Reviewed 24th August 2017
Our cocker spaniel has thrived since being on Akela with a senitive stomach but abundance of energy it takes care of all her dietary needs, the customer service is exceptional having relocated to the highlands with no local supplier the team were happy to arrange delivery, outstanding all round highly recommend
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Wonderful, nutitious food”
Reviewed 4th July 2017
We love for our Shih szhu Akela Fish Small Paws. However, since our dog is quite a small dog, and we would like to sometime mix with something else than fish food, the big bags in which the food is being delivered are too big for us to store. Our dog thus wishes for smaller (half the size of what we have bought) units. We live in DK, and this means that there is no local store, where we can buy the very good dogs food.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Love it and the treats”
Reviewed 3rd July 2017
My westie has been free of ear problems since being on Akela.
My 2 cockapoos, one a fussy eater love the fish option.
All 3 enjoy the treats as well.
Excellent delivery service with DPD, time slot means i know when delivery is arriving
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“My dog, and I, are converts!”
Reviewed 19th June 2017
We rehomed an adolescent bitch just before Christmas last year (yes, I know; it was planned but happened more quickly than expected). She came to us on a commercial diet; her skin was flaky and itchy, her coat poor, underweight, and her pooh was very loose and smelly. I gradually shifted her into another, Canadian, grain free kibble which was very effective but costly and, well, not British. A little research later and I'd found Akela: comparable in composition to the other kibble but more cost-effective and British. Our dog loves it; her coat is thicker, her skin smoother, and her poo solid and (pretty much) odour-free. I do add salmon oil and, after a nasty stomach bug, a pre/pro-biotic blend but Akela's food is the clean base in a very effective dietary plan that keeps her healthy and weight-appropriate. Packaging and delivery is good. Overall, a company and products I am happy to recommend.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Just superb all round”
Reviewed 15th June 2017
I ordered weds late afternoon,and by 12.30 the next day,my food was here,couldn't believe it,fantastic.
SO pleased with this company,they are so helpful,the quality is superb,and great communication too.
I cannot recommend this company and their food highly enough.
The service is outstanding.
100% pure,and so good for the dogs.
I'll keep feeding this as my dogs adore it.

Jenny
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Feeds all of my dogs from 15 wks to 14 yrs”
Reviewed 28th May 2017
I moved to Akela 18 months ago and my dogs love it. I breed Golden Retrievers and have just weaned my last litter onto it. The coats of this litter were the best coats we have ever had and it can only be the food. Everything else was the same, even the parents as it was a repeat mating. I would recommend it to anyone.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Happy dog, happy owners.”
Reviewed 26th May 2017
My one year old miniature poodle Reuben was very picky with food and only ate enough to take the edge of his hunger, he was being fed natures menu Country Hunter canned wet food. He was also prone to stomach upsets from time to time. I read the reviews about Akela and decided to change Reuben on to the canned wet food and am so glad I did, he wolves (sorry about the pun)! the food down and is doing very well on one can divided into breakfast and supper daily, the quality is excellent for a very reasonable price of £10 for six assorted cans in a tray. I don't have to worry about giving him extra vitamins etc as the food is complete and is not bulked out with grains.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Quality Product, Dog Thriving. Excellent.”
Reviewed 16th May 2017
We became puppy owners in January this year, having had a Labrador til he ran out of happiness aged 13. For our new addition, we wanted a quality pet food, high in all the nutrients and ingredients that are great for your pooch, low or nil in all the nasties that big brand foods seem to pack in.

The mission grew upon discovering there were 1700 different pet foods to choose from. Review sites, like this one, helped enormously. So having reviewed many and then discovering that the one we like was rated 5/5 was excellent news.

At £38 per 10kg bag, it seemed more expensive than most, but less than many "premium price" but seemingly inferior product. However, you get what you pay for. The average gram weight per feed per day is significantly lower than the mass market brands masquerading as Vet approved. So we feed our pup less, but he doesn't need more than that. He wolfs it down but then he seems replete.

The labelling and weight to feed table on the pack is very easy to follow - for either puppies or adult dogs.

His "daily constitutional" is compact and um, dry. His coat is fabulously black and shiny and he is in great health. Plenty of energy and he is free (touch wood) of any dietary gremlins that seem to beset many dog owners.

It's a class product, manufactured by an excellent company. They are producing the top rated product on this site, yet are small, locally owned and deserving of pet owner support. It delivers what it says which in the world of pet food, is a rarity.

  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“happy days on WholePrey”
Reviewed 26th April 2017
I have a rescue collie spitz (nearly 4, male) and a female Samoyed cross (just 3, newly neutered and only with me 4 months). We discovered Akela from a boutique pet shop nearby in Brighton (Niche is lovely for grooming too!) Both dogs are shedding less, pooing better and have a ton of spirit - the protein levels are enviable. We take wet, dry and treat orders as a matter of routine now. For bad tums after a seperation the digestive aid tin is a fast remedy. They are mad on the pressed tripe bones and wolf fish chewies. Love it that I can spoil them without doing harm to their health, or my wallet!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Doggy delicious.”
Reviewed 24th April 2017
I can only review the free samples of kibble I received as that's all I've had.
My Border Terrier loved this food and I was impressed with it too. I intended switching him over to Akela permanently but unfortunately when I tried to order, hardly anything was in stock so I abandoned it and put him on Aatu instead.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Akela”
Reviewed 24th April 2017
All three of my dogs are rescue and they all love it especially the duck flavor even our latest edition who is 4 months old , it keeps them on top form
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Excellent food at an affordable price”
Reviewed 24th April 2017
Both of my dogs are fed on Akela 80-20 and thoroughly enjoy the food. They are both in very good condition, muscular with glossy coats and bright eyes.
As a dog trainer I know only too well how low quality dog food can badly affect the condition and behaviour of a dog and Akela is recommended to any of our canine trainee's handlers if they are experiencing any problems with their dogs.
Within one or two weeks I will be thanked for the recommendation as the behaviour of the dogs always improves dramatically.
For such a high quality food the price of Akela is also very reasonable, allowing more people to benefit from this excellent product.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Our dog likes this food”
Reviewed 24th April 2017
We switched from raw food to Akela mainly because we could no longer afford to keep our dog on raw food. Our dog Frankie likes Akela and seems to be healthy on it. We find it to be competitively priced and like the fact that it does not have additives.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Wild Game a hit”
Reviewed 24th April 2017
My eleven month old German bred Dachshund from hunting stock loves blood scent tracking and adores the Wild Game wet food. She proved allergic to the Akela duck kibble, which made it an expensive mistake, but really loves the wet food, which I use as "dessert" after she's eaten her kibble (from another producer, with a lower protein level). The wet food is pretty expensive, and with postage on top, it puts it on the very limit of what I can afford - but boy, does she love it. Service is great, very helpful if you need to call them, and delivery is swift.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
Andover, Hampshire, South East
2 reviews
“Have changed most of my dogs to it”
Reviewed 24th April 2017
I changed to this food after receiving reccommnendations from friends running Rescues and reading the reviews on the allaboutdogfood web site. I can't say my dogs prefer this to the previous food as they eat both as well. But reading the reviews I know the composition is far better so initally changed all my dogs over to it, but had to change my Wesite back to her Burns Duck Sensitive as her allergies started to flare even when I tried to change her to the Duck WholePrey. I do have to be careful not to give them the same amount in volume as it is far denser and weighs more, so they actually need less to keep the same condition. When I am short of cash I do sometimes revert back to using Burns but where ever possible I feed them WholePrey.
Delivery is also very prompt.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“My labrador loves this food!”
Reviewed 24th April 2017
I first started using Akela Big Paws original in September 2016 and have never looked back. I am impressed by the quality of the ingredients and my 19-month old labrador loves it. Other foods were causing her stomach problems and she even refused to eat some others - unheard of for a greedy labrador!! By ordering 3 x 10 kg bags in one order, I am able to save money and also obtain free shipping. Would highly recommend.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“An excellent affordable food”
Reviewed 24th April 2017
I was initially given a sample of this food at a gun dog fair, I took it but thought that it wouldn't be any good for my three chihuahuas, I couldn't have been more wrong as soon as I put it in the bowl all three of them were jostling to eat it, the bowl was emptied in no time. I bought the wrong size the first time I order and was told it was fine to return it which I was going to do but decided to give it to my daughter for her springer. My dogs are usually fussy but I've not had any problems since using Akela whole prey, the ingredients are excellent for my dog that has a delicate stomach. I wouldn't buy anything else now because I've found the perfect food for my dogs. If you're not sure ask for a sample.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Our Sprocker loves it!”
Reviewed 24th April 2017
Great food that our Sprocker loves after trying several. He previous food was full of cereal which gave her very loose motions. Akala changed that in two weeks!
So tasty i can even use it for dog training!
Particularly loves the Duck and Fish. You feed less per helping as it t so nutritious so if you do the sums it is actually about the same cost as may lower quality.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Brilliant!”
Reviewed 24th April 2017
I moved our Golden Retriever onto Akela dry dog food 6 months ago - it has suited her very well. In the past few months I have started to mix in Akela wet dog food with the dry kibble - she loves this. The food is excellent quality and ordering/delivery couldn't be easier with an excellent service provided from the company. Highly recommended.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Yet another company to be ruined by greediness.”
Reviewed 24th April 2017
I've used Akela for my miniature schnauzer for over a year and both me and my dog were happy with it. He seem to like it enough to clean his plate every time and he's been healthy weight and otherwise.

However for my last order I had to pay £40 per 10kg bag instead of £35 that I paid 5 months ago. That is over 10% price increase in such a short time. To my mind this is just greediness as now they have more sale they up their prices hoping it'll stick and increase their profits. Sorry but I will be shopping for a different brand next time rather than just reorder. You can continue increasing your prices but you will potentially lose customers.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
Reply from Akela WholePrey
5th August 2018
We had not had a price increase for over two years and continue to subsidise raw material cost prices increases. Your first order was just before our price increase. We are still almost half the price of our nearest Canadian competitor.
Fishponds, Bristol, South West
1 review
“Our saviour ”
Reviewed 24th April 2017
Absolutely love the dry food! Our GSD has suffered with loose bowels since we got him, even after continuing breeders guide. Tried several pet shop approved (canin, james well beloved, beta, raw food etc) to no avail. After a really bad episode vet suggested plain chicken & rice for a week to clear his system as he wasn't gaining weight. Unfortunately this seemed to make it worse & instead of cow pacs I ended up with liquid squirts! I decided to do some online research about the best food & came across a recommendation for Akela. I thought I'd give it a last attempt before having the vet do some costly investigation. By now my poor GSD was nearly 2 & skinny! His toilet motions were switching from softly formed to cow pac on a weekly basis plus he was so fussy even turning his nose up at a piece of steak! So I put Akela in his bowl & at first he turned his nose away & my hopes deflated, but an hour later the bowl was empty. A week later & he had fully formed solid poo for the first time ever, I wanted to celebrate! He is now almost 4yrs & so healthy, his coat is glossy & his body weight is perfect & no more cow pacs but fully formed & solid. So I changed both my chesty (westie/chihuahua) & scottie over to Akela too & they both seem healthier too. I wouldn't use anything else now I have 3 healthy happy dogs.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
Moira, Lisburn, Northern Ireland
1 review
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 22nd April 2017
I have a large male Labradoodle ,when we got him as a pup his breeders where feeding him Royal Canin as their vet sold and recommended this brand so we kept him on this food but found his skin was very sensitive and would sores round tummy area so I did a lot of research and found this food was over priced and not that great .I tried another grain free 80/20 food which gets great reviews but found his poo too soft while on it so tried Akela and haven't looked back .As I live in N. Ireland I cannot purchase it locally so have to purchase over 30kilos or pay a hefty delivery charge but my big boy is thriving and he is constantly admired while out on his walks so will be keeping him Akela .
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Astronomical Price Increase”
Reviewed 28th March 2017
My labrador age 7 years enjoys all food put before her and whatever she has eaten she has always been very healthy and full of life. She loved her Akela biscuits but sadly the cost of her regular consignment of Akela rose from £59 in January to £82 in March. As much as I love my dog I do not intend to feed her on overpriced dog biscuits any longer and have found a much cheaper brand which makes similar claims about it's ingredients and quality. How Akela can increase it's price by 35% and hope to retain customers I cannot understand.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
Reply from Akela WholePrey
5th August 2018
I think you must have been comparing pet dog food with working dog food (20% VAT difference). Our price increase was not that significant and necessary to raw material cost price increases. We are still nearly half the price of our nearest Canadian competitor.
We’re Social! Facebook Facebook Facebook Facebook Connect With Us