Akela WholePrey

Akela WholePrey say:

Affordable vet-approved 80:20 nutrition. Made in Britain.

Akela WholePrey
99% of users rated this business as excellent or very good.
Ranked 1 in Dog Food
Ranking calculated based on average score and the most reviews. Businesses need more than 5 reviews to feature at the top.
623 reviews

Recent review

30th August 2020
“Excellent!!”
My girls are really fussy but they love Akela food. We have the Akela Complete Raw Frozen Working Dog Food and the Akela Original Medium Paws. Their c…

623 people have reviewed Akela WholePrey


Member ratings

Excellent
600
Very Good
18
Average
3
Poor
2
Terrible
0

Rating summary

Enjoyed by dog
Ingredients
Quality
Value for money
623 reviews (1 page) sorted by
1 review
“Excellent!!”
Reviewed 30th August 2020
My girls are really fussy but they love Akela food. We have the Akela Complete Raw Frozen Working Dog Food and the Akela Original Medium Paws. Their coats are amazing!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Delicious food and great service!”
Reviewed 24th August 2020
My dogs love this wholesome food (we buy wet food as a topper for kibble). Quick delivery and I was able to change order after placing it which was very helpful and much appreciated.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Akela Puppy/Scottish Salmon SMALL PAWS 70g Sample”
Reviewed 18th August 2020
My 5 month old puppy is quite fussy with his food. He has been on the same puppy kibble that the breeder put him on, and I haven't thought to change it yet, but I can see he isn't really enjoying it very much, so I decided to look up a new kibble. Akela comes up as on of the best kibbles available and it looks to be made quite locally to me, so I was keen to give it a go, We received the sample, and I am mixing a small amount of it into my puppy's kibble (so as not to upset his stomach) and immediately, he is more interested in his food and eats it in one sitting (normally he would be back and forth 3 or 4 times to finish it). I will certainly be looking into buying this food full time now. Very pleased!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“An Akela dog through and through”
Reviewed 11th August 2020
Bill our Border Terrier thrives on the Duck small Kibble and various wet dog food.

Very pleased to see the excellent 100% meat snack sticks reintroduced recently and in generous 100g bags. These are great high value treats that can be broken or cut into small pieces, and the Kangaroo and Venison versions are big favourites.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Fantastic products ”
Reviewed 10th August 2020
Excellent natural products that my dogs love and very good value for money. I wouldn't buy anything else again.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
Leysdown-on-Sea, Kent, South East
1 review
“Good quality ”
Reviewed 24th July 2020
I have brought both wet & dry and am very pleased with both. My labrador loves it! He has a renewed interest in his meals again. Would definitely recommend.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Great service and products!”
Reviewed 19th July 2020
Needing to find a novel single source protein diet for my 1 year old Cavapoo -Akela Kangaroo wet has been fantastic and the dried Kangaroo sticks are great as treats!The service is fast and efficient and the food excellent so I am really happy that I am feeding my dog a great quality product that she actually loves!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Consistently great”
Reviewed 10th July 2020
I have ordered from these guys quite a few times now and I can honestly say I’ve always been really happy with their food and speed of delivery.
Our two Golden Retrievers aged 3 Yrs and 6 Months love the food. (They have the dry. )
Even throughout lockdown their delivery times were speedy. A great brand I would recommend. Thankyou
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Top quality food”
Reviewed 6th July 2020
I buy dry food for my Cavachon but tins of wet to go with the dried for my daughter's (most handsome) long-haired Weimaraner . Delivery has been an extremely smooth process on every occasion.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Buffalo ears 6 pack”
Reviewed 20th June 2020
Our two dogs loved these. They were all the same size and very large, so no one felt hard done by!
Great value for money and of course totally natural.
I would definitely recommend them as healthy tasty treat for your dogs
The dry dog food is also very good, our GSD tends to get quite an upset stomach, but hasn’t had any problems since being on their dry food.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Salmon dry food”
Reviewed 17th June 2020
We have eight medium - large dogs, some are very fussy eaters. Yesterday evening we had a trial run of the salmon food (before committing to buying a large bag) only one didn’t eat her meal. She had been scared by thunder and not even a digestive biscuit could tempt her to eat. I bought the large paws which is a reassuringly large size for my greyhounds, lurchers and staffy as I have always been worried about a choking hazard with the gobblers amongst them. We are changing from a wet to dry food and so far, so good. Trying the duck this morning so fingers crossed that it goes well!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Loved by both my dogs”
Reviewed 11th June 2020
I have changed my dogs to this food and they love it, even the cat tries to steal it so may need to try the cat food too!
I also got the veal ears for them to try and they were another hit. I think I have food a new company to purchase my dogs food and treats from. And I can't even fault the price or delivery. 100% all round
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Snax Stix - 100% pure single protein round sticks”
Reviewed 5th June 2020
I am delighted with my box full of 100% pure kangaroo sticks from Akela, (snax stix) at a very reasonable price. I am so glad to have found them, as my dogs have allergies and colitis and we had been relying on another supplier whose sky high prices became unaffordable. I told this supplier we'd found someone with the same product but better price and they insisted they were the only supplier. Not so, the Akela 100% pure meat single protein treats are very high high quality and look almost identical. It's so important that dogs with allergies etc can still have treats and keeping them affordable means more dogs with these special needs can enjoy them. So I am very grateful to Akela for their ethical business model, putting animals and owners first. Thank You!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Partner couldn't believe the price”
Reviewed 2nd June 2020
We made the switch to Akela this month after we found out some rather unflavourful information about our usual supplier and this brand was one named several times by a dog trainer we follow as being of good quality. I've never seen this particular dog so eager to work for food in his life. Not only is the quality of food absolutely astonishing, but the level of care in their customer service is second to none, the company are very easy to deal with and will always keep you in the loop from the moment your order has been recieved to the second it hits the doorstep. Raw food, traditionally, has a notoriety of being inaffordable for most people, this company however, offer a phenomenal price without ever seeming to sacrifice any quality of ingredients which makes their brand inherently great all around, and when placing my first order; my partner thought I was going to be regularly spending at least £200 on just dog food. It didn't even come to half of that for over twice our usual amount.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
3 reviews
“Ask me what to feed your dog? ”
Reviewed 19th May 2020
Review from Marley Roberts (Facebook) Axam102 youtube, so you can see the results. I have two sporting dogs which have a lot of energy but sadly my bitch has a very sensitive tum. I spent months trying out different foods, my vet who is amazing was at his wits end. Eventually I found two that didn't upset her stomach to the point she was pooping gel which was heartbreaking... Akela was recommended by a fellow racer and we haven't looked back since. Both dogs have a nice lean muscle mass and amazing endurance... coats are fantastic... when not all over my stairs (husky crosses and shedding season) They both enjoy the food itself and have small compact stools. The company itself have always been flawless, 99% delivered on time and when not plenty of communication explaining why (covid and people stocking). I always get the feeling that the company cares about the dogs it feeds which speaks volumes about them.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Very pleased with the Suffolk Duck”
Reviewed 19th May 2020
We swapped to Suffolk Duck as we suspected our pup might be sensitive to chicken and she’s really settled onto it brilliantly. She loves it, has nice firm stools and doesn’t seem to pass wind at all. She’s in fabulous condition about we often get compliments about how shiny her coat is.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Amazing product and service!”
Reviewed 9th May 2020
I came across Akela on a dog food comparison site - I was gutted to learn that other dog foods are so low in nutritional value so I feel much better knowing Akela is packed full of goodness! My vizsla loves the salmon - and it's so handy to go from the small bites to medium bites as your dog matures from a puppy. We also order the fish and potato treats which are the perfect size for puppy training! We treated our girl to one of the deer antlers - at first we thought it was tiny for £7 but they last for ages and she adores eating it/flinging it across the room! Delivery is super fast!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Happy pugs ”
Reviewed 28th April 2020
My pugs love the duck flavour , I’m hoping they will loose a little weight with this food. I bought some of the trial packs which is a good way of trying new food and not wasting food and money .
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
3 reviews
“High quality food and service ”
Reviewed 27th April 2020
Delivered within 2 days even in pandemic times. Great value for money as it lasts longer because it has no pointless fillers just top quality nutrition. My chow loves it and has never suffered from skin or tummy problems. We take some of his daily rations on our walks - and other dogs enjoy the taste too!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Food even my husband is tempted by! ”
Reviewed 10th April 2020
I have a 6yof Gsd x Lab who has a very sensitive stomach & suffers badly from arthritis in her front elbows. I've tried her on numerous foods over the years and she was often picky. I started her on Akela 80:20 dry kibble in Nov last year & have been very impressed with it. It also suited Tali. Recently I ordered tins of the wet food to mix in & wow, she adores it! Her bowl is empty & her stomach is settled on it. The wet food smells so good that my husband nearly helped himself to a can of the Angus beef! It's not cheap but the quality is fantastic. The kibble is very competitively priced considering the excellent quality (when buying direct from the company).
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 2nd April 2020
This was my first trade order, made three days before lockdown came into effect.

Customer service called me to let me know one of the items I wanted was out of stock, they changed my order & quickly refunded the difference.

My delivery came when expected & was well packaged.

I couldn’t be more pleased!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Just too expensive since the price rise”
Reviewed 5th March 2020
I really want to give my pup the absolute best, but There comes a point when its not affordable anymore. We are Beginning retirement and everyone has had to cut their spending even the dog.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Excellent ”
Reviewed 4th March 2020
My dog, a cocker spaniel, has been on the medium paws food for about 6 months now. She absolutely loves it! 100% good for her! If you’re not feeding your dog this food, you should definitely give it a try!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“So glad we found you”
Reviewed 29th February 2020
Our Lab has been on Akela for over a year now and we have found it excellent. Real sausage type poo and no funny tummy any more. Found Akela at a local country show and the lady gave us a free sample. Max is very fussy but he took to this immediately. We purchased a 10 Kg bag to try at home and found it was just right for him. Very rarely does he leave even one biscuit now. Very easy to use website and quick efficient delivery. Bit pricey but worth it for the peace of mind. You get what you pay for in this world. Thank you Akela
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
Knighton/Tref-y-Clawdd, Powys, Wales
2 reviews
“Dogs love it ”
Reviewed 6th February 2020
I have three dogs one of them will eat anything but the other two were very fussy but now they dive into their bowls of akela
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Great dog food”
Reviewed 24th January 2020
Comes in a variety of kibble sizes. Very good quality, suitable blends for dogs with allergies, all round top market product. Only thing is it is a bit pricey especially if you have more than one dog to feed. You get what you pay for though.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“EXCELLENT RANGE OF PRODUCTS”
Reviewed 30th December 2019
We use Akela WholePrey wet and dry dog food as recommended by our breeder.   We have an eight month old Havanese puppy and she is thriving on both the wet and dry dog food.   The quality of her coat and her energy levels are testament to the fact she is getting the very best start in life.  We fully intend to feed our Havanese Akela wet and dry food her whole life through.   It is important for us to know we are doing our best and only providing her with the best quality food we can.  We have no hesitation in recommending Akela WholePrey.   We have also contacted Akela WholePrey for feeding advice on several occasions and they have always replied to us both quickly and comprehensively.   It is important for us to know we are on the right track with her feeding regime as she continues to grow and the advice we have been given is invaluable.   Again, we would highly recommend Akela WholePrey for the interest and care they take.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“excellent company to buy from”
Reviewed 24th December 2019
Since starting our chocolate Labrador on the Suffolk duck dry kibble he has enjoyed all his meals. However, he did start with a grumbly tum and the vet advised a half wet and half dry diet. So we bought the tins of meat to go with the kibble and the variety of choice is excellent. We particularly like the pumpkin digestive aid which appears to help if Fynn who is 11 feels off his food - which does not happen very often. The fact that Akela also provide plastic lids for the open tins keeps the contents fresh and the measuring cups help to keep the portions within his weight parameters.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Great food & great customer service”
Reviewed 19th December 2019
This food has been amazing for all three of my boys.. the ddb had skin issues & we couldn’t find A found to help or sort him until we were recommend akela..
the youngest has a grain allergy & so a chicken allergy but he’s looking amazing from the duck..
& they all actually enjoy the food ..
we also but their treats ( tripe sticks,fish skins etc ) which delights the boys...( two are very fussy Rottweilers )
It’s also a great price,especially for the quality ... so pleased we were recommended them
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Quality”
Reviewed 17th December 2019
I'm a very fussy dog owner and as such am particular when it comes to what I feed my dog I am an avid raw food feeder but when my pooch was put off my favourite brand of raw I turned to Akela moist , and I haven't looked back since.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
We’re Social! Facebook Facebook Facebook Facebook Connect With Us