Akela WholePrey

Akela WholePrey say:

Affordable vet-approved 80:20 nutrition. Made in Britain.

Akela WholePrey
99% of users rated this business as excellent or very good.
Ranked 1 in Dog Food
Ranking calculated based on average score and the most reviews. Businesses need more than 5 reviews to feature at the top.
560 reviews

Recent review

10th December 2018
“Akela is my top choice”
Since switching to Akela a few months ago, I can see the change in my Lab. She looks healthier and IS healthier. The reviews are true when they say it…

560 people have reviewed Akela WholePrey


Member ratings

Excellent
538
Very Good
17
Average
3
Poor
2
Terrible
0

Rating summary

Enjoyed by dog
Ingredients
Quality
Value for money
560 reviews (1 page) sorted by
2 reviews
“One very happy puppy and owner”
Reviewed 6th March 2018
Switched my Labrador Retriever puppy to 80:20 Original at about 12 weeks after reading the reviews. I have a happy and healthy dog - no medicals issues so far. Her coat is beautiful - no itching or skin problems - and she spins in anticipation at meal times! I have rung Akela a couple of times now and the customer service is fantastic and the delivery is super fast. Thank you x
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Great food- good value. ”
Reviewed 23rd February 2018
I ordered the working dog wet food because I have a dog with Megaesophagus. He needs food that is tasty, can be easily puréed and has a high protein content. This was recommend.
Danny loves it, and also seems to tolerate it very well. All in all very pleased with the quality and variety.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Excellent ”
Reviewed 22nd February 2018
I switched to Akela after reasearch and being impressed with the reviews. Ordered the samples to start but my young lab was so disappointed that was all there was I have been purchasing the Fish. With no grain thiscreally suits him.
Accidentally ordered the original this time and he cannot get enough of it. Must have a great taste as he has never left any. Impressed with ingredients- great service.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Can’t recommend it enough ”
Reviewed 21st February 2018
I switched from my vet recommended brand to Akela fish feast when my cockerpoo puppy was around 10 months old. She had always had soft grainy stool which was really difficult to pick up! I wish I had discovered it earlier, as it has also reduced the amount of wind she produces. Before Akela she was uninterested in food but now can’t wait for feeding time. She is so keen on her food now that we have to use maze bowl to slow her down.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
Dinnington, South Yorkshire, Yorkshire and the Humber
2 reviews
“No problems here ”
Reviewed 20th February 2018
I ordered Akela after it was recommended by a dog trainer. My puppy jasper had constant tummy upset and runny poops with the foods we were using. This is now improving after 1 week on Akela.
Jasper gets so excited when his food is put down and really enjoys it. The only downside is he whines for more :)
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Approved by fussy eater who needs a specific diet ”
Reviewed 19th February 2018
I have been using 80:20 Akela fish feast for around a year, my Saint Bernard is a very fussy eater and she also has food allergies. This food suits her very well - Shiny coat, happy tummy and a dog who is full of life. Before starting her on Akela she was half bald, itchy and very quiet... not herself at all. I can't recommend this food enough it has worked absolute wonders for her.

My only suggestion to improve it further would be more choice of flavours, something like just lamb or just venison, as the original and duck flavours my girl can't eat due to her allergies, it would be nice to have more choice.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Amazing food, amazing results!”
Reviewed 19th February 2018
We started using Akela over a year ago for our bulldog Watson.
He had suffered various allergies (constant ear infections, loss of fur on his head etc) and after endless visits to the vet for antibiotics and steroids creams without success we decided to look at his diet and after putting him on Akela the results were incredible. Within two weeks the ear problems had gone and the fur on his head started to grow back!
We haven’t been back to the vets since! His coat is shiny and he’s one happy bulldog!
We highly recommend Akela!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“My dog loves it”
Reviewed 17th February 2018
I have a Cyprus rescue dog who has thrived on this dry food. Put on weight , now has thick shiny coat and loves this food. For a rescue she was a bit picky with what she would eat. Have three flavour for bit of variety, fish being her favourite.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Best food yet”
Reviewed 13th February 2018
I’m on my 3rd 10kg bag of fish feast and my dog loves it, I’ve always used grain free food but Akela tops them all, good ingredients without all the fillers, price is very good too, I’ve done alot of research into dog food and this is the one I’m sticking with, I’ve tried a few , my dogs poops are firm and he doesn’t get sick as he has with some of the previous brands.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Very happy and my dog is too”
Reviewed 11th February 2018
Finally I have found a food that my German Shepherd likes the taste of , that is good quality and that agrees with his allergies. He is prone to itchy skin being allergic to all sorts of proteins. With this food his coat is in great condition and licks his bowl clean too .
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Excellent quality food that dogs love.”
Reviewed 7th February 2018
I'v always been very fussy about the food I feed my dogs - if it doesn't contain ingredients that meet the grade that I would eat, then I don't want to feed it to my dogs. I've literally spent hours researching quality dog foods and I have to say, Akela is one of the best. But my fussiness of quality comes combined with my Saluki-cross' fussiness of eating food. I have never known such a fussy eater. I tried her on quite a few brands of food and she would always go off them after a week or two. Akela is the only brand that she has stuck with and enjoys. I also have a Spanish Podenco that was referred to as a "grazer" by the rescue we got her from. With Akela, it's like she is in a race to finish first. The whole meal disappears in a couple of minutes. I love the fact that there are three different varieties to choose from too. We rotate them so that the dogs don't get bored of the same meals.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Great food and quality. Very happy.”
Reviewed 6th February 2018
Although I've only been feeding my Staff/Ridgeback Luis Akela Fish feast for only a week difference in his behaviour and coat is amazing. I always thought he was a little hyper, scatterbrain even but he 's become so much better behaved, more responsive and alert and seems to be altogether in a much happier place than he was. he's not so jumpy either. He still has a mixed diet and I use Akela as a 50/50 mix with wet food, normally Forthglade adjusting the amounts accordingly. His stools are far more solid, less smelly and less often as before. Also the kibble is a good for him, we use the Big Paws, I did try him on a few other brands but the kibble was very small for a dog his size, just altogether a great feed from a company who deliver what they say, fast delivery too. So far so good.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Two very happy dogs”
Reviewed 5th February 2018
We moved our Staffords onto Akela 3 months ago, Previously they were on a local per store designed food that was 50% meat content and grain free, 12kg bags were between £41 and £45 and each bag would last about 3 and half weeks. I discovered Akela on all about dogfood and as it was rated 5 out of 5 across the whole range I decided to look into it. The meat content is 80%, grain free and although the bags are 10kg you feed less. I was £78 for 2 bags of the fish this time round which is slightly more expensive than the original but still less than our previous brand. The girls look great on it, lovely shiney coats, good muscle, and although we felt like we may of been under feeding them as there meals now are much smaller they actually put on weight and we had to cut them back slightly more! Poos are greatly reduced and much more solid, not as many stinky Staffy farts either! And this is all improvements when they were orginally on a very good quality food, cant recommend it enough and neither can the girls. Only negative is they are now harrassing us for dinner an hour before its due!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Great choice”
Reviewed 29th January 2018
We have recently transferred our 12 week puppy over onto Akela as we read so many positive reviews about it and were impressed with its high 'quality' meat content. Our puppy took to it straight away and always eats her dinner. We will be staying on Akela as it's good and nutricious for the puppy and its good on the pocket too!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Probably a very good dog food”
Reviewed 24th January 2018
I say "probably" because I have yet to get my extremely fussy dog to try it. Akela has certainly got some very good reviews which is why I thought I would give it a go. I'm sure it is a very good food. I've explained to Freddi how nice it is and how good it is for him, but will he listen - NO. However, I will persevere. He is a 2 year old Cockapoo. I am not going to give up. I'm sure it is worth a try for most people, but unfortunately my dog doesn't live to eat or eat to live - he just doesn't like to eat!!!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
Reply from Akela WholePrey
5th August 2018
I would recommend trying our raw or wet foods if your dog is a very fussy eater
Dolgellau, Gwynedd, Wales
1 review
“Excellent dog food”
Reviewed 22nd January 2018
Great food for our growing Westie pup. We soak it first to make it moist and mix with a little beef or chicken. Will reduce the meat over time. Nice to know this is an 80/20 mix. Top nutrition we will stay with as he grows up.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“What A Find ”
Reviewed 20th January 2018
After doing much research decided to Charlie on Akela dog food due to other reviews and the the ingredients in the food. We decided on a mix of kibble and wet food mix as Charlie was only 12 weeks old and thought kibble may be a bit difficult on its own. Bought the sample packs and Charlie loves it but what surprised me was how he loved the kibble and like others we have used it for treats also. The customer service was great and no problems with deliver :-)
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Excellent food”
Reviewed 18th January 2018
I switched my german shepherd puppy, Polo, onto Akela as soon as I got him. I spent quite a lot of time researching different foods and Akela looked like the best option in terms of quality and price. The food is quite "rich" so I add fresh vegetables to his diet to provide a little extra fibre. He eats a combination of the dry, wet and raw food, in all the different varieties and he LOVES it. He jumps up and down excitedly at mealtimes. He also gets some of the "treats" on the site. The chicken and fish training treats are great.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Happy, healthy dogs ”
Reviewed 28th December 2017
Finding a dry kibble and treats to suit both dogs has proved difficult. One has colitis and the other has allergies. The Suffolk Duck dry food is especially suitable for allergy dogs and being high quality ingredients with no added gunk, it also suits our colitis dog. Both have shiny coats, improved stool quality and plenty of energy. We order online, it’s easy. Delivery is quick and products are always well packaged.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Good quality food, fast delivery.”
Reviewed 28th December 2017
My Labrador was on Hills prescription which I would imagine is a bit bland (hypothyroid. So his wait is a bit of an issue), but as soon as I gave him this food he had a renewed keenness for dinner time. He is 45kg and I am giving him 350g a day which seems a good amount at the moment. It's also tasty enough that I can use a handful for training/reward when we're walking. Delivery was quick. The website advised 5-10 working days, but it came within a few days. It's grain free too!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Just what we needed”
Reviewed 26th December 2017
My young lurcher - already on a grain-free diet - developed serious diarrhoea for no apparent reason; all tests proved negative. I decided to try whole prey, and the problem resolved itself almost immediately. My dog enjoys her feeds too.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Quality feed and service”
Reviewed 24th December 2017
I started feeding my Border Collie trials bitch 80:20 feed when she was 1 year old because of a skin problem and it did the trick...no more scratching! I was using an imported feed (from Canada) but when the value of the pound fell, after Brexit, it became quite expensive so I shopped around on the internet and found the Akela brand. The protein level is high which is important as she is a working sheepdog so requires a high level of fitness and stamina. I feed twice daily and when I introduced the Akela Whole Prey Original into her diet there was no discernible difference in her appetite, the bowl is cleaned up as soon as it is set down! As I found with the previous 80:20 feed her coat stays immaculate and the itching has completely disappeared so I would not take the risk of changing back to any other type of feed. Another bonus of changing to Akela is the excellent delivery service offered. I live on the Shetland Islands and was pleasantly surprised when I ordered three 10kg bags of Whole Prey that the delivery (by Yodel) was free! I am totally satisfied with Akela's feed...and service.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Excellent Food & Excellent Service ”
Reviewed 22nd December 2017
Having been through a lot of the ‘popular’ brands I eventually discovered Akela, I have to commend the company for their excellent service and their excellent quality food. I’ve been feeding Akela for over 2 years now which is probably the longest I’ve kept them on the same brand & I wouldn’t be in a hurry to change. IMO this is the best quality dry food on the market my show dogs love it.... they are all in superb condition, shiny coats and excellent muscle tone which is extremely important in my Breed, I have only rared one litter on this food, my bitch was in immaculate condition throughout her pregnancy and even while feeding the litter she never lost any condition, the puppies were weaned onto Akela and are all still been fed it 10 months on. I’m sure we will continue to use this food for the foreseeable future!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Best dog food with the best customer service”
Reviewed 20th December 2017
We have a picky dog and have tried literally every food option.; meat, kibble, mixtures, raw, cheap-expensive. ...... Ted, my dog, would go three days sometimes without eating. He liked nothing. It was a very distressing and anxious time as he was so thin. We were at a show and came across the Akela Wholeprey stand. It was the best thing from the start. The chap on the stand gave us samples, which we tried Ted on. He ate them up. We placed an order for a sack of feed and meat continue to do so. We have been happy customers for around 18 months now. Ted totally loves this food. He eats two good meals a day. He's in fabulous condition, gained weight, so fit and handsome. People stop their cars to see him! We are so happy to have found Akela and have recommended it to others.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Akela ”
Reviewed 18th December 2017
I like feeding my Belgium Malinois/Husky Akela dog food because if the amazing ingredients. He looks great and is very healthy. My son introduced me to it as he feeds his lovely Belgium Malinois the same. I highly recommend.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Happy, Healthy Dogs”
Reviewed 13th December 2017
Great food really glad I read the reviews and decided to give it a try. One of my dogs used to suffer from itchy skin and on recommendation I had changed to another grain free food but although there was an improvement it didn't solve the problem entirely. Decided to try Akela and about a year down the line, I realised I can't remember the last time she scratched !!
The dogs love it, bowls are cleared every meal, and the vet comments how lean and fit they both are. Very happy with prompt delivery service too.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Best ever ”
Reviewed 7th December 2017
After spending years drifting from one to another, always wanting the best for my dogs, I eventually found Akela. I cannot praise this kibble highly enough, my dogs love it and it’s really economical, as it has such high quality ingredients, the quantity needed tends to be less than you think. Don’t hesitate change your dog to Akela, you won’t regret it.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Excellent Customer Service”
Reviewed 6th December 2017
It is a delight in these times to find an organisation that does what it says it will. This company does exactly what is written on the tin!
Food is of very high quality and completely devoured by the dog, every time. Resulting in plenty of energy, a good glossy coat and well balanced weight. Thank you.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Great food for sensitive Boston”
Reviewed 6th December 2017
We were struggling to find a good that would suit or Boston terrier. All other food tried left him with very loose poops until we changed to Akela 80:20 original which not only solved that problem but our dog wolfed it down thoroughly enjoying every feed. I also love the fact we were able to change the kibble size to take him from puppy to the medium sized kibble he's on now. We've also changed our Shih Tzu over to the same food now and she loves it just as much! The feed calculator is also a great help and at a recent check up the vet remarked on thier perfect weight and coat condition. Would and have recommended to all.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
Gosforth, Tyne and Wear, North East
1 review
“Puppy LOVES this food”
Reviewed 28th November 2017
My 10 month old Cockapoo LOVES this food. He has the Fish Feast as he is sensitive to eggs and this one does not contain egg. We have tried a several different brands but were recommended this by a few people as he has a sensitive tummy and often had loose stools. But since starting this his stools have been normal! He gets really excited at meal times whereas with other brands he wasn't all that bothered. He used to be quite hyper but since changing to Akela he has also calmed down considerably. His coat is soft and shiny and he is the picture of health.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
We’re Social! Facebook Facebook Facebook Facebook Connect With Us