Akela WholePrey

Akela WholePrey say:

Affordable vet-approved 80:20 nutrition. Made in Britain.

Akela WholePrey
99% of users rated this business as excellent or very good.
Ranked 1 in Dog Food
Ranking calculated based on average score and the most reviews. Businesses need more than 5 reviews to feature at the top.
657 reviews

Recent review

20th April 2021
“Best dog food around”
i have over 20 dogs some with skin conditions and Akela is the only food i will use. all of my dogs coats are gleaming and their health is fantastic …

657 people have reviewed Akela WholePrey


Member ratings

Excellent
632
Very Good
19
Average
3
Poor
2
Terrible
1

Rating summary

Enjoyed by dog
Ingredients
Quality
Value for money
657 reviews (1 page) sorted by
2 reviews
“Well eaten and lots of variety”
Reviewed 17th January 2019
We feed our boy predominantly kibble but add a small amount of wet food as he isn't keen on dry alone.
We have tried other brands, all premium, some he's liked initially but got bored of some he's persistently refused. We tried Akela since it was possible to buy a mixed 6 can tray and it went down a treat. Now we buy 6 x 6 tray packs as it's possible to choose which flavours make up the selection. There are plenty of varieties to choose from ( Mr fussy dog doesn't like them all) so we just pick the ones he prefers.
All varieties look good with good obvious meat content.
Even better is that at £50 for 36 cans its in comparatively economical in comparison to some brands we'd tried.
Orders have arrived promptly.
All in all very happy.

  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Solved all our problems!”
Reviewed 16th January 2019
Our 16 month working cocker spaniel has lots of food intolerances which made the first 8 months of his life a real challenge for us all as he experienced related behavioural issues that we couldn’t understand. When the vet recommended we had him allergy tested, he come out high intolerancy for all of the carbs including potato, rice and wheat - 40% of the ‘natural’ high quality kibble we were feeding him! An owner of one of his litter mates recommended Akela and it’s made the world of difference! Before we had to bribe him to eat even a little food, now he wolfs down his meals so quickly that half of each portion goes into kong balls etc. We’ve had 6 months on Akela duck now and while he occasionally still has digestive problems (sandwiches foraged in hedgerows and kindly dog walkers offering cheap dog biscuits!), we know that his food is the best thing for him.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Very Happy”
Reviewed 4th January 2019
I was looking for a high quality dry food for my Springer Spaniel who suffers from problems with anal glands and loos pooh and my elderly boxer dog. I was looking for a tasty food that I could use for training to avoid using too many treats. The Akela Suffolk Duck has ticked all the boxes, they both love the food and the medium paws fits into the Treat and Train food dispenser which I use in my training.
The customer service is second to none, I placed an order shortly before Christmas containing a number of items including frozen sprats. I had a call from the company letting me know that I would not receive the order until after Christmas as it contained frozen items and checking that I had enough dry food to last until then. In fact the order was delivered on 24th December and I was kept informed so that I could arrange to be at home-Brilliant! Recommended.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Very happy”
Reviewed 31st December 2018
I have recently changed over to Adela from frozen raw. To be honest this was purely for convenience. I spoke to my vet nurse about this and she recommended Akela. Her dogs thrive on it and it is 80/20 split. I held my breath and took the plunge. I needn’t have worried. My dogs love it, they woof it down. More important their tummies are fine and coats are still shiny. They have healthy poos and more frequent and drink more but I expected this. Very happy dogs so happy all round.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Brilliant!”
Reviewed 26th December 2018
I have been buying Akela for three months now, having come across the brand while researching dog food for our two rescues - a four year old Lab and a two year old Springer. Both had problems with digestion and very loose tummies, despite being fed on good quality wet and dry food from a UK-based producer. I can honestly say that switching the dogs to a mix of wet/dry food for breakfast and raw for their evening meal has been a godsend. They both do a happy dance at mealtimes and there’s never a scrap of food left. Their coats are beautiful and it’s a revelation to pick up solid poo rather than a cowpat (sorry!)
I’ve spoken to various staff in customer services, particularly Mandie and Donna, who have worked out precisely what amounts of each I need to feed and always been happy to offer advice. It makes me happy to support a UK-based company and I’ve raved about Akela to a number of dog-owning friends. I really can’t recommend the brand highly enough and wouldn’t choose to feed my dogs anything else.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Great company great food”
Reviewed 21st December 2018
I have 3 dogs including one difficult to feed GSD/husky. He suffers low weight and acid sickness and has a very low appetite. We compete in canicross and I was looking for a quality kibble with high meat content. Akela has certainly ticked all the boxes. All my questions regarding nutritional content were answered clearly and I believe Akela went over and above my expections. My fussy dog actually loves this food! It is really exceptional value for money compared with the other high meat content feeds on the market. I was previously feeding a Canadian brand but now I’m using a product produced in the UK I feel I have also made a sound environmental choice because the food isn’t been flown half way across the world to me.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Great Quality, Great Price”
Reviewed 17th December 2018
By far the highest quality dog food I've found, no dodgy ingredients and it's labelled very clearly. It's also an excellent price for the quality. Best of all, my fussy dog loves it. She's always eager to eat it and she loves all the different flavours. Since changing her onto Akela her coat has become shinier and softer too. Would highly recommend this dog food to anyone.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Akela is my top choice”
Reviewed 10th December 2018
Since switching to Akela a few months ago, I can see the change in my Lab. She looks healthier and IS healthier. The reviews are true when they say it is the best food to feed your dog. Betty (the Lab) is truly happy on the inside and the outside! I wont change and hope Akela is always there.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Great products! Great support!”
Reviewed 9th December 2018
After stumbling across the Akela range when searching for a quality food for our new french bulldog puppy, all I can say is we are very pleased. We have a very happy pup that loves his food.
I also contacted them via message with some queries and the response was very professional and helpful. Big thumbs up for me!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
Wells, Somerset, South West
2 reviews
“Happy dog!”
Reviewed 28th November 2018
On our 3rd bag now. Keytos is thriving on it and other fussy dogs never turn their noses up when I offer one as a treat! Usually buy Small Paws for my mini schnauzer and a small bag of Medium Paws to use as treats but mixed up this time and bought all Medium Paws but she seems to be managing them ok! Highly recommended!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Salty loves her Akela dog food”
Reviewed 26th November 2018
Salty prefers the duck blend.
We buy this product and follow the feeding guidelines. Salty our English cream golden retriever looks great and her coat feels glorious.
She enjoys this food and has minimal output as good quality food that appears to not have must waste within. Recommend it to all our dog owner friends.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“A very happy Cockapoo”
Reviewed 15th November 2018
Our dog has always been a fussy eater and would rarely eat either of her meals. It got to the point where we were mixing in a bit of our food into hers just so she’d eat something. A visit to the vet for her annual check up and the vet said they’d recently had got a cockapoo and hadn’t believed about dogs being fussy eaters until now. She had recently switched her dogs food to Akela so we gave it a try and have never looked back since. Our dog now cleans her bowl out at both her meals. We use a mixture of dried food and the tins of food and she loves both. No more dodgy tummies for her either which she used to get on a regular basis.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Amazing for sensitive tums!”
Reviewed 9th November 2018
My Cockapoo came to me rescued from a dreadful puppy farm. He was roughly 12 weeks old then, and had the most dreadful wind and runny poos. After trying several different grain free dry and wet foods, and even prescription food- I could find one that cured him....until (after much research) I found Alkela. I started him on the dry Duck food, and what a result! He is free from wind, and has normal poos which are so much easier to pick up! It really works for him. He has been on Akela for about a year now, and I also give him some of their wet food mixed in with his breakfast meal, and buy their dog treats too - all good! I so highly recommend their products.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“A very happy Border Terrier ”
Reviewed 9th November 2018
We have had Mojo on another leading foodmsince bringing her home at 8mths. They monitor her weight and send us a balanced kibble diet. We have tried adding in some of their wet food to stave off boredom , in very small amounts but it is causing bad wind and an upset bum!
We were given a sample of the small paws duck and she has gone mad for it, so much so that we have ordered some. We aim to use up the other food we have and try Akela full time to see how she gets on. In the meanwhile she is having Akela small in her snuffle rug and the large in her big Kong as treats and she is gets really excited when she knows it's coming. Well done!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Amazing dog food!!”
Reviewed 4th November 2018
I have a 2 year old Labradoodle called Woody and I've had him since he was 8 weeks old.
I have had ALOT of problems with him when it comes to his diet. As he has a VERY sensitive tummy. So after ALOT of vet visits, trying about 7 different brands of dog food and talking with a dog nutritionist, we came across Akela (recommended by Woody's agility trainer)
Not only does Woody love the food, but I noticed a change in this appearance, behaviour and health straight away! Wish we had known about Akela from the day he came home and joined the family.
I can't actually recommend this dog food more to people! It's fantastic!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Fantastic service and food”
Reviewed 31st October 2018
I have to border collies pups both now 11 months old, they have had this food since I have brought them home, we have had the dry the wet and now the raw and they love it all. Also their service is excellent. I would definitely recommend them.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Akela dog food ”
Reviewed 31st October 2018
I’ve just reared a litter of puppies on the Akela small paws. I was so pleased with it. Lovely healthy pups with gorgeous coats and bone.
Rosie has now progressed to the medium paws which she loves..
I also use the wet pumpkin mix to add a bit of variety, and she adores the treats.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“a great food”
Reviewed 30th October 2018
Our pup (cocker) is 6 months now and on his second bag. He isn't a greedy dog so does leave some, (I think he preferred the fish feast to the original he's on now. )
Our other two adult dogs are on raw, but I didn't feel confident in switching pup to this until fully grown and so wanted a quality grain free food until then. Akela fits the bill.
My dog trainer recommended this to me, he was on orijen, but this is superior and cheaper too!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“My cavachon Daisy loves this food, ”
Reviewed 19th October 2018
I have finally found a food for my cavachon who is nearly 3 years old that she will eat dry with no hesitation! She is doing really well on it too so full of life! Her coat is beautiful too,
And I think the price is good too! It’s very reasonable for a good food.
I feel so much better knowing I am giving her a good standard of food,
Her poop is so much better too!
Even though I was already feeding her a top brand food before this is so much better,
Love my baby Girl
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Bertie”
Reviewed 15th October 2018
Bertie is a large 12 year old labradoodle who we got from Manchester Dogs Home when he was 3 years- we have fed him with Akela dog food for many years and everyone says the same -he doesn’t look or act his age -so long may that continue.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Happy hound”
Reviewed 13th October 2018
We recently ordered the Akela wet food mixed pack alongside some of their kibble. We started with one 6 can pack and then the 36 can version because our dog just loves it. We ve tried other premium grain free hypoallergenic brands which we mix with kibble and they've met with mixed results. Generally he likes them to start with but gets bored but thus far there is no sign of this with Akela. He wasn't keen on the fishy one in the first pack so when we ordered the 36 can pack we simply skipped that one from our selections. His particular favourite seems to be turkey and duck. That's the great thing about the multipacks, there are 8 or 9 flavour options so you can pick the ones your dog prefers.
I did notice Akela include some ingredients in their recipes that some other hypoallergenic brands avoid (notably eggs) but we ve had no problems with this at all. I've deducted 1 point for this reason as I do think this can be an issue for some.
Last but not least the Akela is actually rather cheaper than some other premium brands we 've bought.
All in all a real winner.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“The best a dog can get. ”
Reviewed 11th October 2018
I looked into many brands of dog food available in pet shops and supermarkets, and couldn’t believe how little meat/protein they contained. They market the high rice/grain/potato content as being beneficial to your dog as a source of energy, but given that a dogs digestive system is ‘designed’ to convert protein into energy this is bunkum.
I searched the Internet looking for something more suitable, and found that there are a number of good quality foods available. I decided on Akela as it has a high protein content, no rice or grains and lots of vitamins and minerals. It was also ranked number 1 on most of the sites I visited.
My dog absolutely loves it, he is in very good condition and has a beautiful coat. Oh, and at £39.00 for a 10 kilo bag the price is great too!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
Dinnington, South Yorkshire, Yorkshire and the Humber
2 reviews
“Spaniel loves this food ”
Reviewed 6th October 2018
Our spaniel never tires of this food
He loves every flavour
Suffolk duck being his favourite
His cost is shiny and he’s a picture of health
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Excellent food for our dogs ”
Reviewed 6th October 2018
Dogs absolutely love it and I can tell the difference in quality just by opening the time of wet food and in their coats and energy since we moved from James wellbeloved kibble and butchers tins (which they came to us on from the rescue) after a bit of research I decided on Akela and not disappointed at all. They are probably eating better than I am !
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Best West and Dry Dog Food Ever!!!!”
Reviewed 3rd October 2018
We got fed up with our golden retriever having an upset stomach on general branded food sold at the local supermarket and pet shops that we went in search of a good quality food brand. We found Akela and have never looked back. Our dog loves the wet and dry food and its fantastic quality. We recommend this food to all our pet loving family and friends.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Amazing!!!”
Reviewed 29th September 2018
I foster boxer dogs for Boxer Welfare Scotland and we feed dogs in our care Akela fish 80:20. An amazing food suitable for any age. Dogs love it and look fantastic on it. Coats, breath and toileting improve within 24hrs. Would not go past this food and let me tell you we have tried many.
The picture is of 2 oldies in our care. They came into our care very underweight. Akela is helping these boys everyday.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Finally a food that suits!”
Reviewed 19th September 2018
My dog has numerous allergies. Finding Akela has been the best thing for my dog. He’s not a fussy eater at all so finding a food he will eat is no issue. But due to his allergies, my choices have been limited. We’ve tried wet, raw and dry all with varying degrees of success and all have been high quality food. But none have been able to cure his dry flaky skin. That is none other than Akela. His skin is no longer dry and his fur is so soft and shiny. Even his groomer was amazed by the change and she asked for the name of the food so she could tell other clients who’s dogs suffer like mine. If you aren’t sure whether to try it, what have you got to lose? The food is competitively priced, I’ve had no problems with delivery and communication with Akela is excellent.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Akela medium paws duck”
Reviewed 18th September 2018
Very good product. My whippet is in great condition on this diet. High meat content and no fillers is great for a wheat intolerant dog. Arrives very quickly after ordering too.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Akela for senior dogs”
Reviewed 13th September 2018
I have tried many foods over the years for my pugs, some of which have varying problems and requirements. My elderly pug , now 10, has an oesophageal pouch and requires his food to be made into a thick soup. I tried the Akela tinned food and he is a new dog. He has lost weight and is full of energy, bright and alert. ~The difference in him is marked. I also use the Akela dry on one of my other pugs who is unable to tolerate raw. This together with pumpkin digestive aid is a perfect food for her. She has gained weight from the undernourished puppy (rescue) that she was. I cannot recommend Akela enough.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
3 reviews
“Outstanding service and nutrition.”
Reviewed 17th August 2018
I think we’re all far more aware about checking the ingredients in our own food these days, and it’s surprising as well as worrying just what rubbish goes into human food.
My dog is an incredibly important member of my family, and it stands to reason that I want the best for him too.
It was a shock, then, to find out that his tinned dog food had more rubbish in it than my own pre-packed stuff.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
We’re Social! Facebook Facebook Facebook Facebook Connect With Us