Akela WholePrey

Akela WholePrey say:

Affordable vet-approved 80:20 nutrition. Made in Britain.

Akela WholePrey
99% of users rated this business as excellent or very good.
Ranked 1 in Dog Food
Ranking calculated based on average score and the most reviews. Businesses need more than 5 reviews to feature at the top.
640 reviews

Recent review

22nd January 2021
“Akela. Great food for healthy dogs”
I started feeding my dogs Akela late last summer and the dogs simply love it. Its made with fresh ingredients, looks and smells great. My dogs are fit…

640 people have reviewed Akela WholePrey


Member ratings

Excellent
615
Very Good
19
Average
3
Poor
2
Terrible
1

Rating summary

Enjoyed by dog
Ingredients
Quality
Value for money
640 reviews (1 page) sorted by
1 review
“Partner couldn't believe the price”
Reviewed 2nd June 2020
We made the switch to Akela this month after we found out some rather unflavourful information about our usual supplier and this brand was one named several times by a dog trainer we follow as being of good quality. I've never seen this particular dog so eager to work for food in his life. Not only is the quality of food absolutely astonishing, but the level of care in their customer service is second to none, the company are very easy to deal with and will always keep you in the loop from the moment your order has been recieved to the second it hits the doorstep. Raw food, traditionally, has a notoriety of being inaffordable for most people, this company however, offer a phenomenal price without ever seeming to sacrifice any quality of ingredients which makes their brand inherently great all around, and when placing my first order; my partner thought I was going to be regularly spending at least £200 on just dog food. It didn't even come to half of that for over twice our usual amount.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
3 reviews
“Ask me what to feed your dog? ”
Reviewed 19th May 2020
Review from Marley Roberts (Facebook) Axam102 youtube, so you can see the results. I have two sporting dogs which have a lot of energy but sadly my bitch has a very sensitive tum. I spent months trying out different foods, my vet who is amazing was at his wits end. Eventually I found two that didn't upset her stomach to the point she was pooping gel which was heartbreaking... Akela was recommended by a fellow racer and we haven't looked back since. Both dogs have a nice lean muscle mass and amazing endurance... coats are fantastic... when not all over my stairs (husky crosses and shedding season) They both enjoy the food itself and have small compact stools. The company itself have always been flawless, 99% delivered on time and when not plenty of communication explaining why (covid and people stocking). I always get the feeling that the company cares about the dogs it feeds which speaks volumes about them.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Very pleased with the Suffolk Duck”
Reviewed 19th May 2020
We swapped to Suffolk Duck as we suspected our pup might be sensitive to chicken and she’s really settled onto it brilliantly. She loves it, has nice firm stools and doesn’t seem to pass wind at all. She’s in fabulous condition about we often get compliments about how shiny her coat is.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Amazing product and service!”
Reviewed 9th May 2020
I came across Akela on a dog food comparison site - I was gutted to learn that other dog foods are so low in nutritional value so I feel much better knowing Akela is packed full of goodness! My vizsla loves the salmon - and it's so handy to go from the small bites to medium bites as your dog matures from a puppy. We also order the fish and potato treats which are the perfect size for puppy training! We treated our girl to one of the deer antlers - at first we thought it was tiny for £7 but they last for ages and she adores eating it/flinging it across the room! Delivery is super fast!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
3 reviews
“Happy pugs ”
Reviewed 28th April 2020
My pugs love the duck flavour , I’m hoping they will loose a little weight with this food. I bought some of the trial packs which is a good way of trying new food and not wasting food and money .
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
3 reviews
“High quality food and service ”
Reviewed 27th April 2020
Delivered within 2 days even in pandemic times. Great value for money as it lasts longer because it has no pointless fillers just top quality nutrition. My chow loves it and has never suffered from skin or tummy problems. We take some of his daily rations on our walks - and other dogs enjoy the taste too!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Food even my husband is tempted by! ”
Reviewed 10th April 2020
I have a 6yof Gsd x Lab who has a very sensitive stomach & suffers badly from arthritis in her front elbows. I've tried her on numerous foods over the years and she was often picky. I started her on Akela 80:20 dry kibble in Nov last year & have been very impressed with it. It also suited Tali. Recently I ordered tins of the wet food to mix in & wow, she adores it! Her bowl is empty & her stomach is settled on it. The wet food smells so good that my husband nearly helped himself to a can of the Angus beef! It's not cheap but the quality is fantastic. The kibble is very competitively priced considering the excellent quality (when buying direct from the company).
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 2nd April 2020
This was my first trade order, made three days before lockdown came into effect.

Customer service called me to let me know one of the items I wanted was out of stock, they changed my order & quickly refunded the difference.

My delivery came when expected & was well packaged.

I couldn’t be more pleased!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Just too expensive since the price rise”
Reviewed 5th March 2020
I really want to give my pup the absolute best, but There comes a point when its not affordable anymore. We are Beginning retirement and everyone has had to cut their spending even the dog.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Excellent ”
Reviewed 4th March 2020
My dog, a cocker spaniel, has been on the medium paws food for about 6 months now. She absolutely loves it! 100% good for her! If you’re not feeding your dog this food, you should definitely give it a try!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“So glad we found you”
Reviewed 29th February 2020
Our Lab has been on Akela for over a year now and we have found it excellent. Real sausage type poo and no funny tummy any more. Found Akela at a local country show and the lady gave us a free sample. Max is very fussy but he took to this immediately. We purchased a 10 Kg bag to try at home and found it was just right for him. Very rarely does he leave even one biscuit now. Very easy to use website and quick efficient delivery. Bit pricey but worth it for the peace of mind. You get what you pay for in this world. Thank you Akela
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
Knighton/Tref-y-Clawdd, Powys, Wales
2 reviews
“Dogs love it ”
Reviewed 6th February 2020
I have three dogs one of them will eat anything but the other two were very fussy but now they dive into their bowls of akela
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Great dog food”
Reviewed 24th January 2020
Comes in a variety of kibble sizes. Very good quality, suitable blends for dogs with allergies, all round top market product. Only thing is it is a bit pricey especially if you have more than one dog to feed. You get what you pay for though.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“EXCELLENT RANGE OF PRODUCTS”
Reviewed 30th December 2019
We use Akela WholePrey wet and dry dog food as recommended by our breeder.   We have an eight month old Havanese puppy and she is thriving on both the wet and dry dog food.   The quality of her coat and her energy levels are testament to the fact she is getting the very best start in life.  We fully intend to feed our Havanese Akela wet and dry food her whole life through.   It is important for us to know we are doing our best and only providing her with the best quality food we can.  We have no hesitation in recommending Akela WholePrey.   We have also contacted Akela WholePrey for feeding advice on several occasions and they have always replied to us both quickly and comprehensively.   It is important for us to know we are on the right track with her feeding regime as she continues to grow and the advice we have been given is invaluable.   Again, we would highly recommend Akela WholePrey for the interest and care they take.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“excellent company to buy from”
Reviewed 24th December 2019
Since starting our chocolate Labrador on the Suffolk duck dry kibble he has enjoyed all his meals. However, he did start with a grumbly tum and the vet advised a half wet and half dry diet. So we bought the tins of meat to go with the kibble and the variety of choice is excellent. We particularly like the pumpkin digestive aid which appears to help if Fynn who is 11 feels off his food - which does not happen very often. The fact that Akela also provide plastic lids for the open tins keeps the contents fresh and the measuring cups help to keep the portions within his weight parameters.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Great food & great customer service”
Reviewed 19th December 2019
This food has been amazing for all three of my boys.. the ddb had skin issues & we couldn’t find A found to help or sort him until we were recommend akela..
the youngest has a grain allergy & so a chicken allergy but he’s looking amazing from the duck..
& they all actually enjoy the food ..
we also but their treats ( tripe sticks,fish skins etc ) which delights the boys...( two are very fussy Rottweilers )
It’s also a great price,especially for the quality ... so pleased we were recommended them
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Quality”
Reviewed 17th December 2019
I'm a very fussy dog owner and as such am particular when it comes to what I feed my dog I am an avid raw food feeder but when my pooch was put off my favourite brand of raw I turned to Akela moist , and I haven't looked back since.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Desmond's choice ”
Reviewed 11th December 2019
Our English Cocker Spaniel has been enjoying this food since we first started feeding him on it as a result of the breeders recommendation when we first brought him home two years ago as a puppy. We mix the biscuits with various non-rocessed products so he has a varied diet. Ordering has always been easy and delivery prompt. However, on this latest occasion, the courier company delivered to a wrong address. However, Mandie came to the rescue and promptly refunded the additional expense I incurred in having to pick the order up myself and made sure everything was OK. Great customer service, thank you Mandie.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Akela Original BIG PAWS dry food”
Reviewed 7th November 2019
Have been buying this for over five years, initially for my first Old English Sheepdog and now for my second, a one year old rescue. Adores the food, good solid plops, identifiable ingredients, always top rated and above all, British. Ordering process is superb via the new Wholeprey website and plenty of delivery choices to suit your need and urgency. Freya at Akela has always promptly helped when I’ve had any product queries or delivery questions, superb company, staff and product. Thank you for being there for us.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Best food for my GSD's sensitive digestion”
Reviewed 29th August 2019
We adopted our GSD X lab last year and was on a very cheap brand of food and as a result, his bowel movements were not as they should be. We tried 3 other foods before I was recommended Akela by a friend, I was almost to the point of trying a raw diet... This stuff is magic. I can now pick up poop using only one hand in the bag! It was never firm enough for that previously.
As for the taste, he is half Labrador and therefore eats anything and everything. He is still interested when I use it for treats in walks - I order a bag of Medium paws for this. He is always excited to get his meals.
I was looking for something that had a high meat content and low carb for his sensitive digestion and this fit the bill perfectly. Plenty of protein and has much, much smaller meals than when he was on cheaper food! He is energetic, happy and has a lovely shiny coat, 10/10 would recommend for GSDs, thank you Akela!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Fantastic dog food”
Reviewed 15th August 2019
Our two rescue collie cross-breeds were terribly under-weight and suffered consistently from very runny stools when we got them. We tried quite a few other brands without success until, after some research, we switched to Akela 80:20 Original, which they’ve been on for the last eight months. And what a difference! They are now at a good healthy weight with glossy coats and all the digestion problems have disappeared. Most importantly, the dogs love it.

I’d also like to highlight the fantastic service I’ve had from the company on the couple of times I contacted them with some minor enquiries about delivery. The response was quick and efficient and on the last occasion particularly, the help given was over and beyond what I could have expected.

I’d whole-heartedly recommend Akela - they produce great products backed up by a great team.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Great British dog food!”
Reviewed 13th August 2019
Our 16 week old mini Dachshund pup was being fed what we thought was a 'Premium' brand kibble, I stumbled across a dog food nutrition review website to find that in actual fact, it was far from 'premium' as far as nutrition goes. Akela dry 80:20 food scored over 90% so I quickly contacted their customer services department who very kindly sent me a sample pack, my pup loved it from the start! I ordered some more straight away and it was quickly delivered, she's been on it for nearly 2 weeks now, she now eats all her food in one sitting whereas she only used to pick at it, she is thriving, her coat looks amazing and she seems more content after meals. We are so glad we found Akela Wholeprey, a British company doing a very good job indeed! Thankyou.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“AKELA WET AND DRY FOOD”
Reviewed 7th August 2019
We currently have a 14 week old Havanese puppy and are feeding her a mixture of wet and dry Akela food. She loves it and is always so excited at meal times. The quality of the food is excellent and this is borne out by the health of our little Havanese. Her coat is shining and she is putting on weight at a gradual rate. We are happy she is getting an all-round balance in her diet and intend to carry on with Akela for the rest of her life. We were recommended Akela by our Breeder and we would, in turn, recommend Akela to everyone who wants to give their pet the best pure ingredients in their food.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Fantastic quality dog food”
Reviewed 31st July 2019
I've been feeding my English springer spaniel Akela for the last year and a half he's never looked better his coat is glossy, he loves the taste and everyone comments on how good he looks. Thank you for providing such a great quality food!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
3 reviews
“Top of all Dog Food.”
Reviewed 15th July 2019
I got my Rescue - a small Bichon Frise x Maltese - just before he was 7. He’ll be 11 this year.
He’d been fed on a cheap and nasty tinned dog food with no nutrition whatsoever.
A friend had recommended Akela smlal Paw dried biscuits, but he had quite a few teeth missing when he arrived here os I subsequently plumped for a wet, cooked, tinned food.
Easy to store and a 400 g tin lasts him for five meals of 80g per meal.
He isn’t particularly discerning when it comes to his food - he loves all food, just like his owner - but he positively wolfs this down and I’ve had to buy slow feeder bowls in an effort to stop him eating it so quickly.
He gets so excited at his meal times that he prances around like a ballerina and races me to his feeding mat
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Suitable for all breeds!!”
Reviewed 10th June 2019
My 3 year old Toy Poodle has been fed on Akela dry food since she was 12 weeks old she is a bundle of endless energy so not just for working dogs great for big and small breeds!!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Excellent food, firm favourite ”
Reviewed 7th June 2019
Hugo has been on this food for over 2 years now and is still so excited for EVERY meal! His favourite is the fish feast and It suits his sensitive stomach perfectly. His coat is shiny all year round and he always gets compliments on his condition. We know he is getting the best quality a dry food can offer and are hoping the new addition will love it as much as he does!⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Gave our Puppy a Great Start”
Reviewed 31st May 2019
I switched to Akela when we got our cocker puppy taking time to switch very slowly. He loved the Scottish Salmon so much we used it for treats too. I was confident we were giving him the best possible nutrition in kibble form. He put and weight and thrived. Unfortunately he has since developed pancreatitis and this food is no longer suitable for hi and I am so disappointed. Researching lots of other foods it became obvious that Akela is a superior dog food.He is still struggling but have switched to a low fat diet and I hope this improves his situation. The staff at Wholeprey have been great, they have refunded the cost of my unopened bag which I returned and their communication has been brilliant. Thank you Mandie.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Sorted our Dogs' Digestion Issues”
Reviewed 17th May 2019
We feed Akela Fish Feast along with raw meat to our Bull Lurcher and Staffy, and it is by far the best food we've tried (and we've tried a lot!). The Bull Lurcher had onging digestion problems for the first two years we had him. Previously, the only food that prevented him having the runs was pure raw meat, but this was impracticle a lot of the time (freezer space!) and meant he wasn't getting additional nutients. All dry foods we tried mixing in with the meat immediately caused the runs to return. Akela was recommended to us to try, so although dubious we gave it a go... No issues whatsoever and we are even able to feed pure dry when away on holiday or if we run out of meat. Thank you Akela!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Our 4 enjoy this food”
Reviewed 9th April 2019
Having tried many kibbles, with one or another dog not getting on so well, this works for all 4 of ours. Currently using the Salmon grain free, with 3 out of our 4 dogs eating it as soon as put down. Our older girl takes a while to be interested, so will be trying one of the other many options for her.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
We’re Social! Facebook Facebook Facebook Facebook Connect With Us