Akela WholePrey

Akela WholePrey say:

Affordable vet-approved 80:20 nutrition. Made in Britain.

Akela WholePrey
99% of users rated this business as excellent or very good.
Ranked 1 in Dog Food
Ranking calculated based on average score and the most reviews. Businesses need more than 5 reviews to feature at the top.
561 reviews

Recent review

17th December 2018
“Great Quality, Great Price”
By far the highest quality dog food I've found, no dodgy ingredients and it's labelled very clearly. It's also an excellent price for the quality. Bes…

561 people have reviewed Akela WholePrey


Member ratings

Excellent
539
Very Good
17
Average
3
Poor
2
Terrible
0

Rating summary

Enjoyed by dog
Ingredients
Quality
Value for money
561 reviews (1 page) sorted by
1 review
“Excellent ”
Reviewed 12th July 2018
Dogs coat and condition have improved since we moved over to Akela. It’s reassuring to know exactly what goes into the food is good quality. My dogs are free feeders so food is always available but they are certainly not overweight in fact both are slightly under (4 years and 3 years). But are very active. I recommend this food mainly order the duck variety but occasionally have the original. Excellent value for money we used to have a cheaper food (well known brand) but found the dogs ate more whereas this brand they eat less but enjoy it more. So glad I found this food
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“The perfect balanced diet ”
Reviewed 30th June 2018
My standard poodle can be quite fussy but he has always loved this dog food - all the flavours. He has boundless energy and the food supplies him with every nutritional need. But, I am not immune to his puppy dog eyes, so I also buy the treats and chew sticks from Akela whole prey. It is excellent value for money, one bag lasts a long time (we buy the 10kg bags) and my dog is in tip top condition. I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend this over any other brand of dog food. We have also bought the canned food in the past which I give him on special occasions, because in all honesty the dry food is so good he doesn’t need anything else.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“The Big Paws option is a Godsend”
Reviewed 29th June 2018
I have 2 rescued GSD's. The long-haired one one is allergic to many foods including Marjoram and Thyme which are both in the Suffolk Duck recipe and caused terrific squits so he cannot have this food. Which is a pity because he loved it. The other shepherd loves it too but chokes on small kibble. So the Big Paws is perfect for her. Since she started on it some long time ago now her coat is noticeably improved and her body is lean and fit. She is 9 years old yet appears half her age with bags of energy to do flyball.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Helping an active puppy gain weight”
Reviewed 28th June 2018
My lovely Labrador/Springer puppy of 71/2 months was not gaining weight as expected. I had him on very good dog food, 30% protein and to try and help him gain weight I increased the amount I was giving him. This is fine, but has a tendency to make him poo more (and so the increased nutrient load went through his system faster and possibly decreased his nutrient intake, or so I reasoned), so increasing the volume of food wasn't going to work. He needed a food of increased nutritional value for the same volume. So I had been recommended Akela Fish Feast by a friend and tried it. I have moved him onto a 60/40% mix of Akela/other over about 10 days. I also give him the fish skins as treats which he really loves. His ribs are now no longer as visible and he has gained weight. I think the high nutritional value of the food per volume is a very strong feature. It's easy to fill dogs up but what effect does that have on their digestion. This food enables you to keep the volume lower for a superior nutritional input and I think that makes a difference to their health and their poo. I also think he is more satiated and jumps up less. Maybe a figment of my imagination, but I think he feels less hungry. All in all, very good stuff. Highly recommended
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
Boncath, Pembrokeshire, Wales
1 review
“Living life to the full”
Reviewed 26th June 2018
Charlie is an Old English Sheepdog x Black Labrador; as such he has a tendency to gain weight. Additionally, he has a sensitive stomach which tolerated rather bland, neutral smelling kibble. Even I, a mere human, can smell the richness of Big Paws and was unsurprised at his enthusiasm to wolf down his new food. In conclusion, thank you Akela Big Paws for refiring his taste buds whilst curbing his tendency to gain weight and leaving me with a leaner, lustrous coated pooch full of vigour and verve for life.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“New Puppy with the Salmon flavour”
Reviewed 19th June 2018
We got a new puppy last weekend, so prior to picking him up we did a lot of research into which food to give him, in the past, we have always used Royal Canin; After reading everything we could about the newer products on the market we decided we would give Akela.
We ordered the new Salmon variety in a 1.5kg pack and a couple of sample bags of the other three flavours along with some training treats and pumpkin digestive aid to use while we move him over from the Beta puppy food he was on with the breeder.
His first meal with us, using the salmon variety mixed with some Beta and pumpkin mix, he was still a little nervous, however, he managed to eat all the food in his dish, each subsequent meal has been like an attack by Piranha every scrap of his food is gone in seconds, he absolutely loves it.
So far we have been using the other varieties as training treats along with the actual training treats. The only item that isn’t perfect at the minute is the fish training treats, he likes them, but they are a little hard for his teeth, so it takes him a long time to crunch up which interrupts his training, but this will resolve its self as he grows he is only eight weeks old after all.
Overall these products have exceeded expectations, and I intend to order 10Kg bags of each flavour for him shortly so he can continue to have a varied and healthy diet.

  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Tilly loved Akela”
Reviewed 15th June 2018
I was feeding Tilly a vet approved food but then found out that it only has a rating of 2 out of 10. My friend recommended Akela. Tilly loved the food and I know I’m doing the best for her with this quality product. Very easy to order and rapid delivery, thank you
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Raw lamb”
Reviewed 7th June 2018
My Vizsla had developed allergy related ear problems caused possibly by chicken , my vet advised raw feeding although I was sceptic as he had previously turned his nose up to other proprietary raw brands.
The Akela raw complete lamb is going down a storm , he loves it and the ingredients are really good so everything is in one pack no messy mixing to be done .
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“By far the best food we have fed our dogs”
Reviewed 7th June 2018
We started using Akela in 2015 for our GSP who had a rare autoimmune disease that meant his claws started to deteriorate. He needed a high fish oil intake so as well as suppliments we put him on Akela and have never looked back. We get constant comments about how incredible his coat is and how healthy he looks. Our 9 month old Cocker is now on it too and she loves it!
We have tried a lot of different foods and this is by far the best we have found as well as being affordable!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
West Monkseaton, Tyne and Wear, North East
1 review
“Akela Fish Feast Puppy/Original 80/20”
Reviewed 3rd June 2018
AMAZING! My Cockapoo was a real food grazer on her last well named dry food, but after product packaging changed and maybe the incredients? Her stools changed drastically, so I decided to do some further research and came across AKELA myself and puppy are totally impressed too! She now loves her food and it is gone within seconds of placing her bowl down. Delivery is quick and cost is good too. Love the option that you can buy small samples to try before buying larger bags. I would certainly recommend to others. Well done!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
Lisburn, Lisburn, Northern Ireland
2 reviews
“Akela Duck - 10kg - Working Dog”
Reviewed 27th May 2018
We bought a little bag to check our 2.5yr old Rottweiler bitch would do OK on it.
She eats pretty much anything but I wanted to make sure her stools were OK with a new diet (no problems) and as we have had problems with her ears blocking up I wanted to try her on a formula that had less allergens.
She seems OK with it, always clears her bowl and as for the ears time will tell.
Delivery was prompt and contents were properly packed, the little bag had a really neat way of resealing it.
Price is excellent compared to major brands with dodgy ingredients.
There is no reason not to try Akela the little bags are a good way to see how they do on it.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
Chorley, Lancashire, North West
5 reviews
“Best dog food I’ve come across”
Reviewed 27th May 2018
Changed our dogs feed from James Wellbeloved to Harringtons as we could no longer afford to feed him it and he started to starve himself he wouldn’t touch it was getting worried but as soon as I started mixing in Akela he started to eat again he loves the fish flavour now every time I place his feed bowl down it’s gone straight away! Am very happy, such a great price as you don’t have to feed very much.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Basset's delight”
Reviewed 17th May 2018
I have three Basset Hounds that are currently on SYMPLY kibble which is a hypoallergenic food with all natural ingredients.
All my girls are quite happy but it is time to switch to a "senior" food so I done some research.
I noticed that AKELA was suitable for all ages and had lots more fruit and veg in it than my current brand so I ordered 3 trial packs, one of each flavour.
Now anyone who has a Basset knows that they eat just about anything and are very greedy.
I put a few pieces of the old and the trial pack in 2 separate piles and let them choose.
They all ate AKELA first so I will be ordering 3 large packs (different flavours) to start our changeover.
They were definitely more enthusiastic with this brand.
So glad we are making the change!

Best regards

Tina Spear
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Taste Trial”
Reviewed 11th May 2018
After feeding my dog another 80/20 dog food brand, I found Akela while doing some more product research. I bought 3 trial packs in the 3 flavours available (at a very reasonable price) Gave 1 taste test per day & he devoured them all. I did make the mistake of ordering the small kibble which is ideal for pups, so next order will be for the medium size. I am satisfied with the quality & found it is equal to the other premium priced brand I used but at a more reasonable cost. Fantastic product.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Akela Whole Prey Fish Feast Puppy Pack”
Reviewed 9th May 2018
An excellent introduction to Akela Whole Prey dog food, also includes a feeding and nutrition guide.
I have a 10 month old GSD an incredibly fussy eater, she has shown very little interest in other "Premium" complete dry dog food which needed to be mixed with a small amount of wet food to get her interested.
When I introduced her to the 80-20 Fish Feast she eats it straight away without any encouragement or additions.
This is a truly excellent dog food, just read the list of quality ingedients and do a little research you will I'm sure see why I have chosen to feed my puppy Akela Whole Prey.
The Puppy pack provides a perfect way of finding out if this brand is the one for your dog, a choice of Fish, Original or Duck in small medium or large kibble.



  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“First Class Product”
Reviewed 6th May 2018
My Australian Labradoodle would not eat other dry dog food unless I soaked it in water. She just loves this one and eats it dry. I am happy feeding her this as it is all natural ingredients.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
Christchurch, Dorset, South West
1 review
“Akela wet food”
Reviewed 30th April 2018
My dog Bess (black labrador) just loves these tins of meat.she has akela original kibble in the morning and the wet meat for her evening meal, she is in tip top condition with a beautiful coat and full of energy. I would not dream of feeding her anything other than Akela
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Won’t eat anything else”
Reviewed 23rd April 2018
My labradoodle has been fed akela 80-20 in kibble and wet food since she was 3 months old. She’s now two and a half and won’t eat anything else. I like the fact that there is no filler in the ingredients, so know she’s having a well balanced diet and her general condition proves this. Price wise Akela is very competitive with other premium dog foods and the website is excellent with delivery generally next day.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Nutmeg says a Thank You.”
Reviewed 22nd April 2018
I knew when I started toniwner train my assistance dog I wanted the best food for her. She needed something she loved and would give her all the nutrients she’d need to be a working dog. Then I discovered 80:20 original and we haven’t looked back. Nutmeg LOVES this food so much we can even use it for training treats!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
Dyce, Aberdeen City, Scotland
3 reviews
“Alice loves it and I love the 80/20 aspect”
Reviewed 20th April 2018
I’ve been purchasing the small paws 1.5kg bags for roughly 3 years and never looked back. I particularly like the 80/20 aspect so I can trust Alice is eating healthily and I feel compared to other brands the price is unbeatable. Very fast delivery and it lasts Alice for 2 months. I mix with wet food and she devours it especially with a littl gravy on top. She doesn’t like big crunchiest so the size is perspective for her. I will continue to purchase Akela.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Very good”
Reviewed 1st April 2018
My 3 1/2 year old neutered male Golden Retriever has been fed on Akela 80:20 Original Big Paws for two years and people always comment on his exceptional condition. Good quality food, fairly priced. Easy to order and quick and efficient service. My only criticism would be the packaging because the company recently changed the fastening and it does not close as easily, potentially leading to the product going stale before the bag is finished.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
3 reviews
“New wonder dog food?”
Reviewed 26th March 2018
I have just started using Akela dry complete food(original) and find it to be excellent and my 14 week old border collie loves it. However, I am amazed at places that don’t sell it( Pets at home/ Pets corner) to name but two, and at least one dog food comparison site that doesn’t mention it at all!!
It looks excellent, dog loves it and quite rightly it gets 5stars in another comparison website. The price varies widely, from £38 for 10kg on Akela website to £49 on Amazon!!
I am presuming this is a relatively new food, and I am looking round as I obviously want to give my dog the best!
Interested to know how it compares with McAdams complete food,and what other people thought , thanks DaveH
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire, West Midlands
1 review
“Perfect food for my litter ”
Reviewed 25th March 2018
I can't speak highly enough of this food! I used the Fish Feast for my litter of 10 Golden Retriever puppies & Mum & it was fabulous. Everyone ate it up quickly, no upset tummies, fabulous coat condition, no flaky skin....superb. The other bonus is that Mum could eat plenty of food & had maximum nutrition without getting full too quickly which happens with other kibble which swells so much when wet. Akela stays the same size so I know digestion must be excellent. I would definitely use it again & if you like the idea of raw feeding but can't face the practical side, this is the perfect alternative. Thank you Akela!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
Uttoxeter, Staffordshire, West Midlands
3 reviews
“So far so good....”
Reviewed 24th March 2018
A friend recommended Akela for our two dogs as the one seems to have a delicate stomach. Ordering was easy and delivery quick (I like their auto re-ordering as well). Both dogs love it and lap it up. I use it as a training treat as well. So far so good with the dogs.....
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
3 reviews
“I feed raw but this is the closest thing in kibble”
Reviewed 23rd March 2018
I actually feed both my dogs a raw diet, but i give my boys a little handful of Akela kibble as a bedtime snack. I also use the natural treats for rewarding my dogs on walks etc. I spent months researching and comparing dog foods, Akela was the clear winner. Price and quality is spot on.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Maisie would eat this food all day long! ”
Reviewed 16th March 2018
Researched via Allaboutdogfood in the first weeks of having Maisie, our Cockapoo. She is now 18 months with a thick shiny, soft curly coat; has never had any tummy upsets. She loves all the flavours and certainly knows when it's time for a feed! We have the medium paws kibble 1.5 kg in different flavours as easier to store. Would prefer say 5kg bags as 10kg too big and 1.5 kg rather small!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Great switch from Royal Canin to Akela”
Reviewed 14th March 2018
My breeder recommended wetted Royal Canin Junior for our Shetland Sheepdog puppy and was very generous with advice and a gift pack. All worked well, but his stools were a little orange, slightly smelly and quite soft. This led the puppy to regular eat what he pooed. The Kennel Club and other sites implied over-feeding, but also advised that the stools should be firm and reasonably dark. I researched various reviews and looked at 80:20 food options. Akela came out well and claimed the small paws kibble would work for puppies. We decided to give it a try. Upon arrival, the puppy was curious and took the kibble dry. Unfortunately this lasted just one feed. I cut the Royal Canin Junior 50:50 with a general reduction to less than 10% RCJ and the rest Akela. During the first week, I found myself hand feeding from the bowl with a spoon and a wetted feed. Finally, the puppy ate on his own again with no intervention and has wetted kibble in the morning and dry in the evening. The results have been excellent. Firstly his stools dried up, barely any smell and he rarely goes near them, and secondly, his coat sheens more and has a softer texture than before. The best pricing was direct from Akela, but with a decent amount to get the benefit of free shipping. I pay around 25% more, but it is worth it. I would not turn people away from Royal Canin, as it worked well, however, Akela works really well for my puppy and I will continue with Akela and recommend it.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
Penicuik, Midlothian, Scotland
1 review
“good dog food”
Reviewed 13th March 2018
Our 2yr old Border Terrier is very happy and healthy eating Akela, Original Medium Paws dog food. She's fit as a fiddle on it and her coat is in good condition too. She's been on this food for several months and loves it. It's great to find a food that's not full of fillers and ingredients un-natural for a dog to eat. She also enjoys the various treats by Akela, especially the venison sticks which can be chopped into little bits to use as training treats. Also, thanks for the hassle- free service and deliveries.

Shirley Wemyss, Midlothian
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Excellent company - Excellent food.”
Reviewed 12th March 2018
After trying various foods recommended by shop and vet to cure our cockapoos constant sickness and diarrhoea we found this excellent kibble. The improvement was almost immediate. After 18 months she is still on 80:20 original medium paws and we have a fit and healthy dog. Always order online and delivery is fast and efficient. Only once had a missing delivery but Wholeprey responded immediately and delivered a replacement next day. Price is good for a quality food made from good ingredients.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Simply the best”
Reviewed 12th March 2018
I switched my six year old cockapoo onto Akela after listening to advice from family members and checking some dog food comparison websites. Bella had no particular health issues but I have no doubt that she is better off on Akela than the popular brands she was eating previously. I have no doubt that this was a good move and will help Bella to keep healthy as she ages. The main difference is that her waste is much easier and less unpleasant to deal with. I started her on the Fish Feast but she seems to prefer the Original.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
We’re Social! Facebook Facebook Facebook Facebook Connect With Us