East Ruston Cottages

View Business Profile Places To Stay | East Ruston, Norfolk, England | 01692 650083 | eastrustoncottages.co.uk

East Ruston Cottages say:

Very dog friendly holiday accommodation in rural and coastal Norfolk. Properties range from a Shepherd's hut to a large thatched house on the coast with plenty to choose from in between. All have enclosed gardens and great walks nearby. All near sandy, dog friendly beaches. Not an agency, just me, Sue Allen running properties owned by people I know in an area I love and have lived in for over 20 years.

East Ruston Cottages
100% of users rated this business as excellent or very good.
Ranked 1 in Places To Stay in Norfolk
Ranking calculated based on average score and the most reviews. Businesses need more than 5 reviews to feature at the top.
142 reviews

Recent review

1st August 2018
“Running Hare Barn”
Wonderful accommodation. Extremely dog friendly. Caters very well for canines and their companions. The welcome pack (both doggie and human) is a love…

142 people have reviewed East Ruston Cottages


Member ratings

Excellent
139
Very Good
3
Average
0
Poor
0
Terrible
0

Rating summary

Dog Friendly
Standard of accommodation
Value for money
142 reviews (1 page) sorted by
1 review
“Running Hare Barn”
Reviewed 1st August 2018
Wonderful accommodation. Extremely dog friendly. Caters very well for canines and their companions. The welcome pack (both doggie and human) is a lovely touch. Great walks- Barton Woods and Happisburgh Beach were particular favourites.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
4 reviews
“Orchard Cottage Happisburgh ”
Reviewed 22nd July 2018
Our third stay at this perfect Cottage which at's it all really. We love it's homely and welcoming atmosphere and appreciate the owners' attention to detail and high standard of cleanliness. Fabulous welcome treats are always much appreciated too! Everything that you or your dogs could possibly need is provided. We and our dogs love spending time in the gorgeous garden and the dogs also love the cool tiled floor to sleep on in the heat. Happisburgh is a lovely village with lots going on. Having now stayed at 8 East Ruston Cottages, we can thoroughly recommend Sue and ERC.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Perfect dog and human holiday! ”
Reviewed 9th July 2018
Just returned from a week at running hare barn. This barn is perfect in every way. The attention to detail, the cleanliness was spot on. It has everything you would need for your dogs and you. I cannot recommend this barn enough. Will be back for sure. Thank you east ruston!
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“most relaxing holiday in years says my mum”
Reviewed 7th July 2018
Hugo (puggle) and Clay (Spanish sheep dog mix) were kind enough to take my mum and me on their recent holiday to Heather Cottage which they'd booked through East Ruston Cottages. The Cottage was lovely, well equipped and the garden was secure meaning I wasn't constantly worrying about the dogs trying to escape. Even if they could have escaped, I don't think they'd have wanted to, it was so nice. Beds were very comfy. Lovely walk-in shower. Pub not even five minutes away - even better it was holding a beer festival when we were there.
Booking with East Ruston was easy, Sue was very helpful and Hugo and Clay are already trying to decide where we're going next year.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Another fantastic holiday”
Reviewed 2nd July 2018
Just returned from a week at Rooster Barn and what a brilliant place to stay. As always with ERC holidays incredibly dog friendly, an amazing garden and barn was spacious and spotlessly clean so good in fact we booked a week for next year while we were there. Wonderful welcome pack and full of everything you could possibly leave for a holiday
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Mid Thatch .”
Reviewed 24th June 2018
Have returned from a lovely break at Mid Thatch Sea Palling.Place immaculate
on arrival with a welcome pack for the pooches and a delightful mixed basket of goodies for the keepers. Accommodation had every thing you would need for a self catering break.Sea was a 5 minute walk on a public footpath up to the Sandhills.Once on the beach the walk either way were great.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“The old piggery ”
Reviewed 14th June 2018
Just had a fantastic week with our 2 dogs at the old piggery. Very well equipped, lovely comfortable cottage with secure courtyard. Very dog friendly accommodation like the area. Would highly recommend this company who provide holidays where your dog is not just accepted but actively welcomed and provided for even to the point of having a raised bed which our 10 year old Springer loved. Very helpful owners too
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Great place to stay - very dog friendly!”
Reviewed 28th May 2018
Restored our faith in holidays with two lively Labradors in tow. We all had a wonderful time at The Lodge which was perfect both in facilities and location.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Orchard Cottage”
Reviewed 20th May 2018
We have had a wonderful week at Orchard Cottage, greeted by cakes, strawberries and doggie treats, I can honestly say that both cottage and area are the most dog friendly we have ever stayed in. Every desire both human and canine are catered for within the cottage and a huge secure garden to sit out and play in. Beautiful dog friendly beaches and pub/restaurants, one being just a couple of minutes walk away with biscuits at the ready for the girls !! Can't recommend East Ruston Cottages highly enough, especially for multi dog families.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Midthatch Sea Palling”
Reviewed 29th April 2018
This is a very quaint , comfortable and cute cottage. The location is perfect for Beach walks. There are lots of dog friendly eateries, which can be reached by car in just a few minutes. Safe secure garden for dogs. Disappointed with welcome pack compared to other ERC properties. No treats left for the dogs. Already got another holiday booked with ERC, at another cottage.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Lovely Stay at Running Hare Barn”
Reviewed 28th April 2018
What a fabulous place! Sue and Dermot have certainly catered for everything a dog or their human could need! Even the doggie treats from the welcome pack were mistaken by my father for a human biscuit lol!
The barn itself is simply amazing and has been very sensitively restored with all the mod cons you could possibly need (including a huge screen tv that was an instant hit with our 5 year old). Great walks as soon as you step out of the barn, but the best bit for us was the fact that we could truly relax in the knowledge that the area that surrounds the barn was totally escape proof, even for our 4 Houdini terriers!
Would definitely recommend both East Ruston Cottages (Sue and Dermot are really lovely and very attentive) and also Running Hare Barn.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Very dog friendly beautiful Cottage!”
Reviewed 13th April 2018
Need to recommend White Cottage at Happisburgh - what a beautiful home from home with everything you could possibly need for your stay, clean and cosy with lots of homely touches! Secure and lovely garden which our Greyhounds enjoyed hooning around! Weather bit hit and miss but the 2 conservatory’s stayed warm and the dogs enjoyed them. Some lovely beaches, boat trips and good eateries nearby, highly recommended!
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“The Old Piggery - AWESOME!”
Reviewed 25th March 2018
Just come back from a week in The Old Piggery in East Rushton. I can not say enough good stuff about this barn. When it is advertised as Dog Friendly, it TRUELY is. The dogs are absolutely welcome and so well catered for; dog bed, dog bowls, dog towels, dog toys, dog treats and pooh bags. There is an enclosed yard and walks from the door step.
As for the humans, they are catered for too! It is very well equipped in the kitchen, there are a few goodies upon arrival (lovely), all towels are nice and linens. There is plenty of literature within the barn to keep you entertained but there are also more DVD's than Sky Store!
The weather had been a little problematic prior to our arrival (do we all remember the "Beast from the East"?), but when we got there, the barn was lovely and warm and stayed that way the whole time. We were never cold.
I would love to come back to this barn and this part of the UK again.
Thank you Sue.
Sarah, Brian, Marcia and Dexter and Morgan (the doggies!)
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Patikipa Potter Heigham”
Reviewed 24th March 2018
Despite the awful weather we had a good time in this little chalet by the river. The use of a boat to get about on the broads (at extra cost ) was a plus. Chalet was clean and cosy. Ideal size if you are a couple with a small or one medium size dog. Service provided by everyone was friendly and efficient. Will use again .
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Lovely weekend break”
Reviewed 20th February 2018
Running Hare Barn is a stunning property, very well equipped, very clean and very dog friendly. There were 10 adults and 6 dogs and we all had plenty of space. The only down side is the grassed area is small but with a choice of lovely beaches all close this isn't a problem. We have stay at other East Ruston properties and would highly recommend them.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Roosters Barn, Trunch”
Reviewed 19th February 2018
Can't speak highly enough of this converted barn. It's so cosy & welcoming with a load of interesting features. Loved my stay here and so did the dogs. What I liked was that it was so dog friendly with eveything you needed both for humans & dogs. I shall definitely be visiting again
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Happy dogs in Happisburgh ”
Reviewed 11th February 2018
What a find. Orchard Cottage in Happisburgh exceeded expectations. Allowed us to take six dogs on a super holiday. The cottage is large and very well equipped, warm and comfortable. The garden is large and totally secure. Every thing has been thought of to ensure everyone has a great time . Extra touches included fresh homemade cakes , milk and fresh flowers on arrival, dog beds, throws, dog bowls, crate if required, local hand made dog biscuits and even a ball thrower. Everything we could of hoped for and more. Highly recommended holiday home. The area is lovely and advise a Sunday carvery at Happisburgh Halt. All the beaches are great but Holkham for a long walk and Happisburgh itself for some seal company on your early morning walk. Take time to visit Happisburgh Owls - fantastic experience. A great cottage in a great location.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Fantastic from start to finish!”
Reviewed 31st January 2018
They were exceptionally helpful considering I booked 2 days before our break. We stayed in The Crib cottage. It was absolutely beautiful, spotless and also provided leads, holiday tags, bowls, blankets and much more! I will be recommending to all if my friends and family and can't wait to go back!
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“East Ruston Cottages - Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 17th November 2017
We have just spent a long weekend at Hidden Gem, the 4th East Ruston cottage we have stayed at with our dogs. What can you say, once you've stayed East Ruston, you'll never look anywhere else. SUPER dog-friendly, they genuinely make dogs feel as welcome as you.
Hidden Gem is beautiful, recently refurbished and a PERFECT location for the beach and a fab café, both a 5 minute walk over the dunes from the cottage! We saw seals every day.
The cottage has everything for humans and dogs alike and is spotless. Brenda the housekeeper left us some home made goodies and a lovely welcome note. We've already booked another East Ruston cottage for next year.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Another great week at Badgers Retreat”
Reviewed 24th October 2017
We had a great time in the East Ruston area, using it as a good base to walk weavers way, go to stalham, wroxham, happisburgh and horsey gap. The location and accommodation are great and the has everything you need to make you feel welcomed in this country cottage and Craig and Susan alway give you a warm welcome. We visited Burgers at the Beach after seeing the posts on the East Ruston Cottages Facebook page and would recommend a visit, as well as trip to poppyfields after seeing the seals at horsey gap.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Daisy Cottage Sea Palling”
Reviewed 24th October 2017
Ideal cottage for a holiday with our two dogs. Dog beds, towels, bowls, treats provided. The cottage is larger than it looks from the outside and is very comfortable. I can imagine parking could be an issue in the height of holiday season although there is a pay and display car park close by.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 18th October 2017
Had a great weeks stay at this lovely terraced cottage backing up onto the miles of brilliant sand dunes of Winterton-on-Sea. The cottage was very clean, welcoming and tastefully decorated throughout and the layout comfortably accommodated 4 adults and 3 dogs. As part of the East Ruston cottages portfolio these cottages are really dog friendly with everything thoughtfully included for an enjoyable stay for both humans and dogs. With dog suitable floors and miles of walks on the sand dunes and beaches, local shops, a dog friendly pub a couple of minutes away and the Broads close-by, this is definitely a welcoming Gem of a place to stay. Highly recommend.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Milldene”
Reviewed 17th October 2017
Had a fantastic stay at milldene with our dog and baby. Jan, the owner, could not have been more helpful. The cottage was extremely clean and we were even greeted with a cake! Recommend the fish and chips from down the road too!
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Badgers retreat”
Reviewed 10th October 2017
Just back from a lovely week at badgers retreat. Very welcoming and friendly would recommend to anyone but most especially someone with dogs, a great area to stay in, so dog friendly. Beaches are gorgeous and really close by, with lots of dog friendly pubs to visit as well
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Farthing Cottage - Trunch”
Reviewed 3rd October 2017
We have just returned from a wonderful week at Farthing Cottage in Trunch - our second stay at this lovely cottage. It really is a home from home and was absolutely perfect for us. The cottage is well equipped and completely dog friendly, with beds, bowls and toys on hand. It's just perfect for sharing with your hounds for a week. We have two sighthounds and the garden is secure which gave us complete peace of mind and meant that we could relax whilst the dogs sat in the sun!
We were well placed for trips to all the local gorgeous Norfolk beaches, including Mundesley, Sea Palling and the beautiful Winterton. We also enjoyed many of the dog friendly cafes and pubs that are nearby...the Dunes Cafe at Winterton was a firm favourite!
The extra touches like the treats that welcomed us on day one were really appreciated - nothing like a cup of tea and a freshly baked scone after a long drive!
Another wonderful holiday and we will definitely be back again! Thank you
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
3 reviews
“COUNTRY HOUSE LIVING FOR YOU AND YOUR DOGS!”
Reviewed 27th September 2017
Our stay at Thatchers was quite wonderful, from the beautiful arts and crafts house, with it's thatched roof (hence the name!) to the acre garden with hidden seating places and lovely apple trees, the sound of the sea and occasionally the church bells ringing in the background, Large and airy, a big bedroom with en suite downstairs to the upstairs bedrooms with another two bathrooms. As for the dogs, they are made very welcome and with the pub, fantastic fresh fish shop just yards away and the post office (order your papers the day before) along with the tea room at Cart Gap, just a great place to stay!
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Rooster Barn - Trunch”
Reviewed 20th September 2017
Have just spent a week at Rooster Barn in Trunch with my 2 dogs and quite honestly, you'd be hard pressed to find a more stunning holiday cottage. The owners have thought of everything to make your stay wonderful - well equipped cottage, private and secure garden for the dogs, a fabulous welcome pack for humans and dogs too ! Lots of information on where to go & what to do (if you've not been to Norfolk before). Couldn't recommend both East Ruston Cottages and Rooster Barn highly enough.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 18th September 2017
We stayed in Running Hare Barn from 9th-16th September 2017, 4 adults and four dogs. This is simply a unique property near several beaches, The Broads and also Forestry Commission Bacton Woods, so absolutely ideal for dog walking. We were all made to feel so welcome, the Barn itself was spacious and yet so cosy and inviting to return to after a busy day out. Taking five years to build it is an absolute work of art, the sympathetic use of all the materials used and to be very eco friendly is wonderful and yet there is every mod con you could want on holiday. A real home from home (we wish!) and we can't wait to return.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Perfection!”
Reviewed 11th September 2017
We've just returned from our holiday at Running Hare Barn with family and friends. It really is the most amazing property we have ever stayed in and so dog friendly. We took our 9 sighthounds with us, it's so big you didn't notice them all, so much space for them to spread out. Everything has been done to such a high standard but it's so homely and comfortable. Throws provided, no problem if you have a dog who insists on sleeping on your bed with you. Even an extra fridge and freezer outside but under cover, great when you raw feed your dogs. We really didn't want to come home.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Dog heaven a beautiful cottage on the dunes”
Reviewed 9th September 2017
Hidden Gem is beautiful, quiet, wonderfully equipped and the most perfect location for dogs (and owners) who love to be able to walk straight from the back door on dog friendly, open space with no traffic, fencing to worry about. There's even a dog friendly cafe that serves delicious food all day.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
We’re Social! Facebook Facebook Facebook Facebook Connect With Us