East Ruston Cottages

View Business Profile Places To Stay | East Ruston, Norfolk, England | 01692 650083 | eastrustoncottages.co.uk

East Ruston Cottages say:

Very dog friendly holiday accommodation in rural and coastal Norfolk. Properties range from a Shepherd's hut to a large thatched house on the coast with plenty to choose from in between. All have enclosed gardens and great walks nearby. All near sandy, dog friendly beaches. Not an agency, just me, Sue Allen running properties owned by people I know in an area I love and have lived in for over 20 years.

East Ruston Cottages
100% of users rated this business as excellent or very good.
Ranked 1 in Places To Stay in Norfolk
Ranking calculated based on average score and the most reviews. Businesses need more than 5 reviews to feature at the top.
110 reviews

Recent review

16th August 2017
“Rooster Barn ”
Another wonderful ERC stay - this time at Rooster Barn in Trunch. The owners have created a lovely home from home with everything we needed for a rela…

110 people have reviewed East Ruston Cottages


Member ratings

Excellent
107
Very Good
3
Average
0
Poor
0
Terrible
0

Rating summary

Dog Friendly
Standard of accommodation
Value for money
110 reviews (1 page) sorted by
3 reviews
“Rooster Barn ”
Reviewed 16th August 2017
Another wonderful ERC stay - this time at Rooster Barn in Trunch. The owners have created a lovely home from home with everything we needed for a relaxing break. Very clean and well looked after. Our older Jack/Westie cross and Bichon Frise thoroughly enjoyed exploring the sniffs in the large grassed garden and the patio area; both fenced and safe. The welcome pack for both dogs and humans was huge and much appreciated by all. This is a good location with lots of lovely beaches and walks, all within a short drive. Another property we would love to come back to in the future.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Relaxing dog friendly break. ”
Reviewed 14th August 2017
Stayed in Wind in the Willows, a beautifully appointed shepherd's hut. Perfectly situated for dog friendly beaches and pubs.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 14th August 2017
Hidden Gem is gorgeous. Very dog friendly with a secure small garden and access to miles of sand dunes and a dog friendly beach. East Ruston Cottages are for dog lovers and I can't recommend them highly enough. We didn't have to worry about our spoilt, very large fur baby jumping onto the furniture as dog blankets are available for them, as are spare leads, toys and food bowls.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“The Lodge 5star dog friendly”
Reviewed 7th August 2017
A great property perfect for dogs and their humans..lovely secure garden .out in the tranquil countryside.close to so many dog friendly beaches and pubs..Will definitely stay again
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Corner cottage ”
Reviewed 2nd August 2017
Fantastic place to stay - great walks with the dogs, close to beach and when you come back lots of lovely beds for the dogs to rest as well as the humans .
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Orchard Cottage, Happisburgh, Norfolk”
Reviewed 27th July 2017
We have a great break at Orchard Cottage, a very dog friendly, comfortable, well equipped Cottage, with a lovely secure dog friendly private garden. Beach 10 minutes walk. Dog friendly pub 5 minutes walk. Plenty to see and do locally. A great cottage for both dogs and humans alike.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“A real dog friendly cottage! ”
Reviewed 23rd July 2017
We stayed at the piggery 8th July - 22nd July 2017. We have tried many "dog friendly" properties with enclosed gardens, and finally have found one that really is.
Not only does this cottage have a fully enclosed garden to a decent height (my shoulder height so I think 5ft), but there are dog beds -one is a lovely off the floor bed , throws, bowls etc and our girl was so impressed with the doggy hamper waiting for her!
The cottage itself is gorgeous and Sue is very friendly and helpful.
There are lots of very dog friendly eating establishments close by and beautiful beaches which we spent hours walking as well as seal watching!
We loved our week here
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Rooster Barn”
Reviewed 23rd July 2017
Four humans and three dogs have just spent a fabulous week at Rooster Barn. The house has everything we needed and was extremely well catered for our dogs. The garden was perfectly secure so we had no worries let our dogs be outside. There was plenty of choice for things to do that were all dog friendly and the house provided lots of information for us. Our dogs loved all the treats that were left for them as well. Just wish we had had longer to explore more places!
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 9th July 2017
We stayed at Hidden Gem one of East Ruston Cottages. They are so dog friendly, thinking of everything you could need for your pampered pooches with a little bag of homemade dog biscuits to welcome them on arrival.
Humans are well catered for too with a comfy bed, well equipped kitchen, bath and separate shower, conservatory, ( which the dogs loved!). We were blessed with wonderful weather which helped us to take advantage of the walks and stunning beach right from the back door. We wouldn't hesitate to visit again!!!
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Corner Cottage - Lessingham”
Reviewed 24th June 2017
Everything was perfect from the beginning. From booking to arrival and the holiday itself was fantastic. More than dog friendly!! I think dogs are more welcome than the humans
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“White Cottage - Another fabulous week”
Reviewed 24th June 2017
A wonderful week spent at White Cottage & our second holiday with East Ruston Cottages. Dogs are priority at ERC & White Cottage was no exception. A beautiful house, fantastic weather, great walks from the door, what more could you ask! Thank you
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Corner cottage”
Reviewed 19th June 2017
Recently stayed at Corner Cottage, very dog friendly, everything you need for your dog on holiday is there for you, it is also a lovely cottage for you too! Extremely clean and comfortable, thoroughly recommend it as a great place to stay in a lovely area.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“RUNNING HARE BARN - A MAGICAL STAY!”
Reviewed 17th June 2017
Going on our previous experiences with East Ruston Cottates, we booked Running Hare Barn BEFORE it was completed! So confident of a brilliant stay, we booked it for Christmas, and we were not disappointed. From the moment we entered, with the smell of the real Christmas Tree to the fairy lights entwined up the staircase we knew we were in for one fantastic Christmas. With walks for our dogs just outside the door, every possible gadget etc Running Hare Barn is really a home from home. The only reason we haven't booked it again this year is because we have booked Thatchers! This is in our diary to come back to for sure!
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“OAK COTTAGE”
Reviewed 16th June 2017
Oak Cottage was our first East Ruston Cottage stay, and what a stay! Everything you could possibly want, although calling this beautifully kept and welcoming home a cottage is slightly wrong. A large front room, with an equally large dining area, lovely kitchen with seating area, open fire, comfy settees. A really large downstairs double bedroom on the ground floor with an attached shower room, mean that if you have older or less mobile holiday makers with you, everything they need is on the ground floor. A beautiful upstairs, with one of the biggest baths you have ever seen! A lovely garden, a pub less than 200 yards away (very dog friendly) and just a few minutes drive from some lovely dog friendly beaches too!
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Corner cottage”
Reviewed 6th June 2017
Have stayed at quite a few if the cottages, last one being corner cottage which is absolutely gorgeous, extremely dog friendly, secure garden and short walk to beach - can't wait to go again - have recommended east ruston cottages to all family and friends with furry babies
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“The Old Piggery”
Reviewed 6th June 2017
Perfect! Spotlessly clean, well equipped for both 2 and 4 legged guests
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Daisy Cottage Holiday”
Reviewed 6th June 2017
Stayed at Daisy Cottage last September and loved every minute. Felt most welcome and happy. The 5 dogs enjoyed their holiday together and loved their beach walks. Daisy cottage was lovely and cosy and I think they had thought of everything. Can't wait for this September when we are trying out Heather Cottage.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“White Cottage”
Reviewed 7th May 2017
Just returned from a lovely week at White Cottage in Happisburgh. Beautiful cottage, well equipped, a few minutes walk from the dog friendly beach and Happisburgh lighthouse can be seen from the large garden. Our 4 dogs loved it.
We have been using East Ruston Cottages for the last 7 years and would highly recommend them.

  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Dogs truly are welcome”
Reviewed 7th May 2017
What a fantastic holiday we have had at Running Hare Barn.
One of the most relaxing holidays, from the point of view of the dogs knowing the whole set up had dogs an number 1 priority
Nothing to take regarding dog towels,throws, beds and bowls. Dogs allowed to sit on furniture just made life easy.
Lovely beaches, seals, places to visit and to eat. Loads of lovely recommendations.
Sue keeps the FB pages updated and interesting and is really helpful and responsive to questions etc
Highly recommend
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Farthing cottage 25th -1st April ”
Reviewed 28th April 2017
What a lovely dog friendly cottage. Really warm and cosy. Loved all the goodies left for all of us. So nice to find somewhere with lovely walks from the front door. Was great not to have to get in the car all the time to take the dogs out. Lovely secure garden so could relax knowing the dogs were safe. Nice to have a lovely little corner shop in the village. This cottage had it all.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Corner Cottage Lessingham”
Reviewed 3rd April 2017
We have not long returned from staying at Corner Cottage. This isn't the first time we have used East Ruston Cottages for our holidays, and once again, we weren't disappointed.

The cottage was immaculate, and was literally just like a home from home. All the facilities that you need/want are in the house.

The cottage is also ideally situated for travelling around Norfolk, and is only a very short drive to Happisburgh Lighthouse and beach.

We went with two friends and three dogs, and having a secure garden meant we could leave the dogs at the cottage and go down to the very lovely Star Inn for our food and refreshments.

We would thoroughly recommend using East Ruston Cottages for your holiday, and they are just so dog friendly.

Garvan and Heather
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Relaxing holidays for dog lovers”
Reviewed 3rd April 2017
What can I say? At last! Truly dog friendly holiday cottages! Having spent far too many holidays unable to let my dogs off lead except when in the cottage due to the so-called secure garden being anything but, it was refreshing to be able to relax and not have to worry about this. And no more restrictions - we've 4 dogs, which pretty much rules out just about every other 'dog friendly' cottage holiday company we've ever come across, so to be able to take all ours with us has been fabulous and how it should be. After all, if we had children, no one would be expecting us to restrict our numbers! And what a charming area - we'd never holidayed there before and it's beautiful. A fab dog-friendly beach at Happisburgh and lovely walks 100 yards from Holmes Cottage along Weavers Way. Bliss - thank you. We've already booked for the next couple of years!
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Brockford Street, Suffolk, East
1 review
“The Old Piggery, East Ruston Cottages”
Reviewed 3rd April 2017
Have just returned from a week at the Old Piggery and we couldn't fault it. Equipped to a high standard for both humans and hounds, it had a wonderful homely feel. The welcome pack is such a lovely idea, again catering for hounds and humans alike.

It's so lovely to find a holiday home that doesn't just tolerate dogs, but positively welcomes them with the provision of an enclosed garden space, toys, beds, throws for furniture, spare lead, poo bags, feeding bowls, etc, and doesn't charge extra, however many dogs you bring.

The underfloor heating made for a constantly cosy feel, and although firewood is provided for the wood burner, we didn't need to light it once. The situation is rural and peaceful, despite being on a 'junction' as the roads are quiet country lanes.

This eco-friendly property is particularly suited to dog owners, especially those with some mobility issues as it is all on one level once inside. There are, however, a couple of steps down to the back door entrance and one out to the enclosed courtyard garden, but no stairs or raised thresholds within.

All in all a wonderfully welcoming, greyhound(and other dog)-friendly property where no extra charge is made for canine family members, however many you bring - doggy holiday heaven!
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Rooster Barn, East Ruston Cottages”
Reviewed 30th March 2017
It's not easy to relax when you are travelling with a spaniel who thinks she is human and is anxious of other dogs, a Romanian rescue dog who has trust issues with strangers and a very excitable terrier. East Ruston gave us a little oasis of peace and time to enjoy quality time as a family. From my first e-mail, Sue was very reassuring and rather than present me with rules and regulations she assured me that the dogs would be welcome and then patiently managed my disorganised approach to booking! Rooster Barn was the perfect choice for us and beautifully presented. We felt completely at home and had everything we needed plus a whole lot more.....the beds were super comfortable to! We cannot thank you enough for the thoughtful little extras, especially the welcome pack containing not only the essentials but also delicious homemade treats for us and the dogs. The local information was very helpful to, we came with no plan but loved exploring this unspoilt part of the country. Our first visit but certainly not our last, we were very sad to leave. Thank you to everyone involved I'm making it such a lovely break.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Another brilliant holiday”
Reviewed 28th March 2017
We love East Rushton Cottages - they are genuinely dog-friendly. We have stayed at three of the properties on their list and they are consistently good. We have just got home from a return visit to The Lodge which is really comfortable, cosy and ideally located for walking on local beaches and in the woods. We have booked a week later this year in another of the ERC properties and are already planning our doggie holidays with ERC next year.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Farthing Cottage, Trunch”
Reviewed 6th March 2017
We have just spent 4 glorious days at Farthing Cottage in Trunch, what a wonderful dog friendly property. everything was dog orientated. Hard floors downstairs (easy cleaning) toys/blankets/throws/bowls provided.
A welcome pack and the heating was on ready for our arrival (February!!) Secure garden.
Recommended to anyone with dogs, we wish there were more places like this.
Excellent beaches within 3 miles, we can recommend Mundersley and Overstrand.
Sue at East Ruston Cottages was very helpful.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
3 reviews
“White Cottage, Happisburgh”
Reviewed 6th March 2017
We have been staying with East Ruston Cottages since we adopted our rescue dog 5 years ago. Having enjoyed a long stay over Christmas, we were delighted to return to White Cottage for a pre-birthday celebration as a result of a last minute cancellation (a rare event!)

White Cottage and East Ruston Cottages sets a high standard of care and consideration to dogs and their owners that other cottage owners should take note of. We self cater at least three times a year in the UK in different areas and this place is one of the most dogs welcome we've been to. One of the most frustrating elements of booking a holiday is checking that it’s dog friendly with a secure garden and then arriving to find that the garden has gaps or the fence is 3ft at best, or the dog has to stay downstairs. This is not the case in this cottage and I have always appreciated the honest details that Sue provides on her website about all the houses she manages. Agencies need to learn from East Ruston Cottages and I constantly cite them as a great example of a trustworthy company.

The garden is very secure with two sets of gates from the roadway to keep dogs extra safe, there are no rules about dogs not being allowed upstairs or on furniture – providing you use a throw it’s all okay and even better, throws are provided! Dog bowls are also supplied if you them, plus a crate and spare leads.

What we loved was that although Storm Doris had struck the week before and blown down a fence panel, this had been fixed with strong high wire fencing which was much appreciated. We've booked again for Christmas 2018 and are returned to another cottage on our grand tour of East Ruston Cottages. Thank you.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Regular Visitor ”
Reviewed 20th February 2017
This is our 8th year holidaying with East Ruston Cottages most recently at Mid Thatch. This company is truly dog friendly with great walks from the door of most properties and dog friendly local beaches. All properties are wonderfully clean and and furnished to a very high standard but at the same time the dogs are made an integral part of the holiday with treats and throws provided for them (the treats for the humans are pretty good too) Our four dogs love it and we wouldn't take them anywhere else
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Highly Recommended”
Reviewed 18th February 2017
Every year we book with East Ruston Cottages. We have stayed at The Old Piggery, Rooster Barn and White Cottage. The properties are beautiful, clean and fully equipped with more than what you would have at home! Dog friendly is an understatement! Not the usual 'one well behaved dog' or 'max 2 small dogs allowed' having 4 dogs we found it difficult to find somewhere that would accommodate them. Everything has been thought of... bowls, beds, leads, poo bags, toys and more! Our dogs love East Ruston Cottages as much as we do. We were hesitant to leave a review as we didn't want everyone to know how good it is as the word spreads the properties book fast! On our 1st visit we rebooked for the next year within an hour of being there! Totally in love with Norfolk and hoping to more there eventually. Well done East Ruston Cottages!, so glad we found you. Angela, Dave, Riley, Roxy, Vinnie and Skye xx
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Dog friendly holiday ”
Reviewed 12th February 2017
2nd year using East Ruston Cottages and its the 2nd year we have thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. I cant speak highly enough of this company. Highly recommend them and do. This year we stayed at Holmes House. The owner was there to meet and greet us and say goodbye. And was only a phone call away if we needed anything. The House was clean to a very high standard. And the garden was totally dog proof which was excellent for our 6 dogs to wonder around without ant worry. Now going on the website to book next years lol.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
We’re Social! Facebook Facebook Facebook Facebook Connect With Us