East Ruston Cottages

View Business Profile Places To Stay | East Ruston, Norfolk, England | 077 66665684 | eastrustoncottages.co.uk

East Ruston Cottages say:

VERY dog welcoming holiday accommodation in rural and coastal Norfolk. Properties range from a simple chalet to a large thatched house on the coast with plenty to choose from in between. All have enclosed gardens and great walks nearby. All near sandy, dog friendly beaches. All Covid cleaned. Book with confidence that you will be refunded if Govt Covid measures mean your holiday with us has to be cancelled.

East Ruston Cottages
99% of users rated this business as excellent or very good.
Ranked 1 in Places To Stay in Norfolk
Ranking calculated based on average score and the most reviews. Businesses need more than 5 reviews to feature at the top.
193 reviews

Recent review

17th June 2021
“Perfect High Barn”
We've just had a week at High Barn with East Ruston Cottages and it was lovely. It was so easy to book and the area was great for the dogs. We could …

193 people have reviewed East Ruston Cottages


Member ratings

Excellent
189
Very Good
3
Average
0
Poor
1
Terrible
0

Rating summary

Dog Friendly
Standard of accommodation
Value for money
193 reviews (1 page) sorted by
1 review
“Perfect High Barn”
Reviewed 17th June 2021
We've just had a week at High Barn with East Ruston Cottages and it was lovely.
It was so easy to book and the area was great for the dogs. We could walk from the cottage to the Costal Path and hardly met a soul just a few seals in the sea.
The hospitality was great with cake, dog treats & wine!
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“The perfect relaxing get away ”
Reviewed 8th June 2021
Firstly, booking with East Ruston Cottages was so straight forward and easy. Great communication throughout with handy information. I would definitely book via East Ruston again and highly recommend to others.

The accommodation, Wag-Tail cottage, was perfect for dogs and humans alike. It felt like home from the moment we walked in. It was spotless, welcoming and had everything we could have wished for. The welcome hamper was such a lovely touch. The location of the cottage was also fantastic. We have a fear reactive dog, so the walks that were literally on the door step were great for us. We didn't see another dog the whole time we were walking and there was so much to explore. The garden is secure, not over looked at all and very relaxing. I couldn't recommend this cottage enough, we will definitely be back, just perfect, thank you!
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Beautiful Brian’s Cottage”
Reviewed 31st May 2021
We arrived to a very warm welcome from Liz and Tim, a gorgeous welcome pack also awaited us, with loads of delicious homemade goodies.

Brian’s Cottage was lovely, with an amazing garden that both ourselves and the dogs loved, we got to see loads of wildlife across the field and it was very quiet.

The cottage is very well equipped and provided everything we needed for us and the dogs, there were loads of bowls, towels, spare beds etc.

There is a great walk straight from the back gate, where you can join the Weavers Way which runs for miles.

We will definitely be returning.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Manor Barn Happisburgh - beautiful place to stay”
Reviewed 27th May 2021
We stayed at Manor Barn in Happisburgh for the last week. There are great walks Cross the fields or to Happisburgh beach straight from the door.
The barn is beautifully decorated and well equipped with lovely bathrooms and comfy beds and bedrooms.
The kitchen is gorgeous and there is plenty of space.
The family do live next door but are very friendly and helpful and are hands off unless asked for something. Our Greek rescue dog was made to feel very welcome and the lovely goodie basket had treats for her as well as us.
The weather wasn't great but there is so much to do in the area and lots is dog friendly.
We had lovely meals at the poachers pocket, the lighthouse Inn and Poppylands, where our Greek rescue was made to feel very welcome.
A great holiday and will definitely be back.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
5 reviews
“HIGH BARN - HIGH COMFORT!”
Reviewed 24th May 2021
Our first stay at High Barn, hopefully not the last! We have been on several ERC holidays, REALLY dog friendly - not just, one small dog £25, but AS MANY AS YOU LIKE - FREE! Not once have we gone to a cottage and it smelt 'doggy'. Always high standard of cleanliness and friendliness! High Barn is at the end of an unmade road with magical views across the countryside and sea. Well thought out, seating all around this detached property, to catch the sun as it works it's way around. Walks straight from the property, and easy waking/driving distance to many of the lovely Norfolk beaches. Only downside, so popular is it solidly booked for 2021/22, but we will be keeping an eye open for any cancellations. Thank you to Sue (ERC) and Leonie (owner of High Barn) for making our first 'post Covid' holiday one to remember!
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Perfectly dog-friendly in a stunning location!”
Reviewed 17th May 2021
Not particularly modern or flashy, Redroofs is an old & quirky property with a fabulous outlook in a quiet and stunning location. On a private road overlooking one of Norfolk’s quietest and most beautiful Broads it’s a real family home.
Such a relief to be able to leave the back doors open knowing the dogs can run around the huge dog-safe rear garden without doing any damage or getting lost. Lots of outdoor seating for the sunny times in the gardens maintained by the lovely Jimmy.
The kitchen is full of quality equipment, should you need it. There are carpets! This is great if your dog doesn’t like hard floors (like ours). It really is a home from home and that’s why we just keep on coming back...
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Lovely dog friendly cottage with extras ”
Reviewed 8th May 2021
Victoria Cottage had everything you could want and more. Lovely location, very helpful owners and really comfortable with a great atmosphere and lots of little extra touches that made us and our dog feel really welcome.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“1 Chapel Cottage, Norfolk”
Reviewed 30th January 2021
We stayed at 1 Chapel Cottage in Norfolk in August 2020 as a last minute break and were so happy with our choice. The cottage was lovely and clean with everything we needed on arrival. Our 4 dogs loved the garden, especially paddling in the pond at the back to cool down.

Location was great, 5 minute drive to a lovely beach with restaurants and arcade. Local pub few minutes drive or 20 mins walk did lovely food and dog friendly too. Large supermarket 10 minutes drive away too to get everything you need if you want to cook in the cottage which we did most days. Brilliant, quiet farm walks straight behind the cottage too.

We had a fantastic week and really enjoyed ourselves, thank you!
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Very impressed ”
Reviewed 29th October 2020
Stayed at the Lodge for 4 nights, and was very impressed with everything.
The booking of the accommodation was easy, and would highly recommended.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Red Roofs at Hickling”
Reviewed 26th October 2020
our second stay at Red Roofs this year, already booked for 2021 as well, we love it here, well appointed and roomy home, perfect base for lots of great Norfolk beaches, 5 minutes from Sea Palling, recent makeover in the kitchen means you want for nothing, a new addition this year a stable door internally so you can wipe paws before entering the house from the garden. enter into a very large living room with great views of the boating house's and broad a real fire, for the chillier nights. the huge garden is great and recent improvements to the fence means no rabbits (malteasers) so now no snacking from my two thank goodness, in the garden you have a table with plenty of chairs and a new BBQ. out front you see the broad and the private road has a public footpath for exploring.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from East Ruston Cottages
27th October 2020
Thank you so much Andrew! I am really pleased you enjoyed your holiday again at lovely Red Roofs!
1 review
“Holmes House”
Reviewed 14th October 2020
Just had a lovely relaxing holiday at Holmes House. Well equipped, comfortable and very dog friendly with lovely walks straight from the door. Couldn't have been nicer, even the weather tried hard.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Wonderful cottage”
Reviewed 12th October 2020
Heather Cottage is a wonderful, cosy cottage in the heart of Happisburgh village. Quiet location, just a 15 minute stroll to the beach down a country lane (no pavement) and only 2 minutes walk from the local pub serving good food. Also not far by car from many other pubs, cafes, small local shops, beaches and country parks which are perfect for dog walking. A perfect retreat to get away from it all as the cottage itself is just lovely; beautifully presented, modern country style and immaculately kept with comfortable furnishings and everything you could possibly need during your stay. It was cosy and comfortable for just two of us, plus our dogs, but is also spacious enough for a larger family. The small garden was totally secure for our two terriers so we did not have to worry about them escaping. North Norfolk is a lovely place to visit and we would highly recommend this cottage as a base for exploring. Book with East Ruston Cottages and have a simply great holiday.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
6 reviews
“Brian's Cottage - August 2020”
Reviewed 1st October 2020
We were lucky enough to stay at Brian's Cottage in August and can thoroughly recommend this lovely cottage. We were greeted on arrival by Liz and Tim who are perfect hosts, helpful and friendly but not intrusive. As well as the yummy welcome pack (including homemade ciabatta and cake!), Tim gave us some fresh produce from their garden too. A card and some fizz for a special birthday was also a lovely touch. The cottage is set in an extremely quiet area which made sitting in the garden whilst listening and watching the wildlife, and the ever changing skies, absolute bliss. Being able to watch the birds in the front garden whilst enjoying our morning cuppa was also a highlight - the robins and a woodpecker were our favourites. The cottage itself is perfect with everything needed for a relaxing holiday. Our elderly Bichon loved the outdoor K9 bed too and was happy to snooze away on it.  Unfortunately, due to a family emergency, we had to leave early, and extremely swiftly - I cannot stress enough what a difference Liz's calm, helpful and caring manner made in a very hectic 40 minutes of throwing everything in the car, and afterwards as well. This really showed the dedication to looking after their guests in every way. We would return in a heartbeat.

  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Best dog friendly holiday company ever!”
Reviewed 14th September 2020
As a multi-dog household, finding this company has quite literally changed our lives. It’s felt too hard to holiday with the dogs as I’ve just never found anywhere to accommodate us, let alone in decent accommodation. We have now had 3 holidays with this company and wouldn’t bother looking at anywhere else, why would I when they have such fabulous properties in wonderful locations and are so helpful! Thank you Sue and all your owners!
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Holmes House Home from home for hounds and humans”
Reviewed 14th September 2020
Many places say they are dog friendly but turn out to be just dog tolerant but this cannot be said for Holmes House truly kitted out for all hounds and humans including hand made dog treats in welcome pack a large fresh bowl of water on arrival throws for settees and towels for mucky pups, Holmes house is ideally situated near so many walks a two minute walk away from Weavers way which is a lovely walk and not too far from dog friendly beaches. Lovely welcome from the owner and everywhere very dog friendly we loved it so much booked twice for next year!
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Wonderful High Barn!”
Reviewed 11th September 2020
After all that 2020 has given us so far, a stay in High Barn & the lovely Norfolk was just what was needed! We stayed as a large family group with 2 dogs and had a brilliant week. High Barn is a wonderful place with everything you could need for your holiday. The hot tub was an added bonus and we would definitely recommend you book this to use during your stay. The views from the balcony were stunning and watching the sunrise over the sea is something special. The dogs loved the secure garden, snoozing by the log burner and running on the ‘secret beach’. The welcome pack was great with loads of ideas of things to do. Between us, we did a lot in a week but highlights were a visit to Happisburgh Owls (book ahead) a visit to Horsey beach to see the seals and a boat trip on the broads. Other trips out included breakfast at Smallsticks Café, walks in Bacton Woods, Winterton beach, Cart Gap, Sea Palling, East Ruston Old Vicarage Garden, Meales garden centre and a meal out at the Lighthouse Inn in Walcott. We also ordered meals in from The Ingham Swan and The Mermaid’s Slipper which were delicious. Thank you Sue & Leonie for a very special family holiday with lots of memories to treasure. None of us wanted to come home! We hope to be back again soon.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Loved loved loved our stay”
Reviewed 12th August 2020
We stayed in Victoria cottage and loved it. So clean. So well equipped. And most importantly sooooo dog friendly.
The owners were so lovely , friendly and helpful, even lent us cooling coats for the pups as the weather got so hot.
Will re book to stay again in the future.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Most dog friendly business we have come across”
Reviewed 9th August 2020
Absolutely brilliant holiday. The cottage was lovely, the owners were so welcoming. East Ruston Cottages are an amazing company. So dog friendly, the best we have come across. We have booked another holiday with them later this year. I cannot recommend them highly enough.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“I could have stayed forever ”
Reviewed 12th July 2020
My first holiday with my dogs. The cottage was perfect, great enclosed garden space and super walks around the fields nearby. From a human point of view the cottage was clean, cosy, comfy and well equipped.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
4 reviews
“Thatchers @ Happisburgh ”
Reviewed 22nd March 2020
Thankyou very much for allowing us to have a fantastic week in thatchers, it really is a wonderful house set in a truly fantastic place. We had a lovely time relaxing in the HUGE garden, the dogs have loved it as well! It was super handy being so close to the beach as well, we went twice everyday. From the moment we pulled into the drive our jaws hit the floor, we couldn’t believe the sheer size of the house and it left us smiling all week. The house suited us all perfectly, there was plenty of space for us all to do our own things when we wanted and the kitchen/dinner/snug area worked really well when we all wanted to be together, the true hub of the house!
The dogs had an absolute joy of a time in that massive garden, running around it for as long as they desired and just having a good old time, the weather was lovely for a few days during our stay so we got to sit out in it and just relax. It’s so nice being able to hear the sea in the distance as well, it just makes you truly relax and forget about everything else that’s happening in the world.
A big thankyou for the welcome cake as well, it was delicious! We’d all love to come and stay again, so hopefully that can happen sooner rather than later.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
6 reviews
“Victoria cottage”
Reviewed 11th December 2019
A beautiful little cottage ,attached to the owners house. Everything you could wish for was in there. Very warm cosy and comfortable. A real home from home. The owners of the cottage were always on hand , if you needed anything, and gave great information for walking the dogs locally. Would give it 10 paws if I could.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Perfect stay!”
Reviewed 20th November 2019
We have just returned from a long weekend at Thatchers. We had the most wonderful time!
The house is HUGE, as is the garden! There was plenty of space for the 10 of us.
The location is great - walking distance to a very welcoming pub and the beautiful beach and lighthouse.
We had fish and chips from Bacton which were really tasty and didn’t cost much at all either.
We visited nearby Horsey Gap (approx 30 minute drive away) where we saw the seals and their pups on the beach! (185 pups born this season so far!) well worth a visit.
We also went to Blickling Hall for a long dog walk/tea and cake. Also about 30 mins away and worth a trip.
We really appreciated all the extras at the house (dog bowls, beds, leads etc; children’s toys - outdoor and indoor, dvds, stair gate, cot, high chair; welcome cake and birthday Prosecco for the adults).
We had afternoon tea delivered to our door (see photo) and we also had a local beautician come by to give us facials and do our nails!
Some of us visited Felbrigg and others went swimming (private hire of the whole pool) - both recommended!
Sue from ERC made booking and organising a trip for so many people/dogs so easy! Thank you.
We can not fault the place!
We hope to return to Thatchers soon. Thank you for such a wonderful holiday!
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“This place really is a Hidden Gem!”
Reviewed 20th November 2019
Hidden Gem is a very special hideaway from all the stresses of the world. This property is just gorgeous and so lovely that everything for the dogs is also taken into account too with plenty of throws and dog towels provided.

A highlight for me was that the back double bedroom overlooks the dunes and just having the windows open and listening to the sound of the wind through the grasses combined with the sound of the sea is magical both in the day and at night to drift off to sleep to. The house has everything thought of for you and is very nicely decorated throughout. We all adored walking straight out onto the dunes from morning through to night for our dog walks and being so close to the sea is a bonus for those long, leisurely beach walks.

Lovely to have a cafe, tearoom and pub all in the village itself and all accepting and accommodating dogs whilst providing some gorgeous food too!

Nearby villages are easy to get to both by foot and car (depending on how energetic you're feeling).

This holiday had everything we could have wanted and more, so nice to also have a little welcome tray on arrival. Ours had jam, bread, apple juice, a jam roly-poly sponge and some Nero dog biscuits (which ours loved) as well as a pint of milk in the fridge and tea and coffee to get you started. It's so wonderful to walk in somewhere, instantly feel at home and to be able to have a cake and cuppa before unpacking.

Sue at East Ruston Cottages was brilliant to deal with throughout (not that we needed her whilst we were away but I'm sure if we had have she would have helped out without hesitation). The feeling we got was that Sue at East Ruston Cottages (and the cottage owners) go out of their way to make sure you have the most amazing holiday possible.

We will certainly be returning customers and will recommend to everyone we know

Hayley & David (Ansel and Ernie) :-)
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
4 reviews
“East Ruston Cottages can't be faulted”
Reviewed 8th September 2019
We have stayed at lots or ERC's cottages, and visited several of them more than once. They are an efficiently run organisation, and this makes booking very easy. If there are any problems at all, and this happens very infrequently, they are fixed very quickly. Their portfolio of cottages is unrivalled for real dog lovers. All of the ones at which we have stayed have been brilliant.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Fantastic holiday for the dog (and for us)”
Reviewed 19th August 2019
We loved the cottage we hired from East Ruston Cottages. So many places are dogs tolerated rather than dogs welcomed, but this is definitely the latter. Such a refreshing change to be able to allow him in the bedroom and to be able to let him in the garden which we were confident was secure. Will definitely book again.
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Thatch Cottage”
Reviewed 11th August 2019
We stayed at Thatch Cottage as a large family group. It is a stunning cottage in a quiet location. A huge, dog safe garden with beautiful views. Walks from the door and so many places to visit nearby including Eccles beach, Cart Gap, Happisburgh, Horsey, Winterton-On-Sea, Sea Palling & East Ruston Old Vicarage Gardens to name just a few! We would recommend The Star Inn Pub, Smallsticks cafe and Poppylands cafe. Sue was brilliant at helping us find the right property for our needs. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend and already looking to book again. Thank you :-)
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
1 review
“Manor Barn new letting”
Reviewed 10th August 2019
Excelled all expectations, beautiful renovated barn, perfect family, dog friendly home . Highest standard of renovation and equipment, beds superb, linen top quality. Enclosed garden and a large yard with lovely loungers, hammock. Tracey and Dan the owners are so friendly but not intrusive
Beaches uncrowded and every cafe/pub we visited were great
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from East Ruston Cottages
10th August 2019
Delighted you enjoyed your stay at our Manor Barn! Tracey and Dan have put a huge amount of love and care into setting it up to make it beautiful, welcoming and truly dog friendly too! So pleased you enjoyed it and the local area.
Sue of East Ruston Cottages
6 reviews
“Holmes House July 2019”
Reviewed 5th August 2019
Another excellent East Ruston Cottages stay from 27th July to 3rd August - our second visit to Holmes House. We thoroughly enjoyed our week with plenty of countryside walks direct from cottage and beach walks within a few minutes drive. Holmes House has everything you need for a great week away and in a fabulously quiet setting.
We've been visiting beautiful Norfolk with our dogs since 2014 and have stayed with varying family members, or just the two of us, at I think 8 East Ruston Cottages on all 12 occasions - and have a further two visits booked for this year. I think this says it all for the quality and diversity of the cottages Sue manages, her enthusiasm and hard work, and of course that of all the owners. We can't wait for our next stay!
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
4 reviews
“Another great holiday courtesy of ERC”
Reviewed 1st July 2019
We stayed at I Chapel Cottage in Lessingham, which is near Happisburgh. It's a lovely comfortable cottage and very well equipped. The location is really peaceful and there are lots of good eateries, and many fab beaches near to the cottage. The stairs are challenging - K2 next year!
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
Reply from East Ruston Cottages
3rd July 2019
Thank you John! So pleased you loved the cottage and the area too - I know you ate out lots and I am glad that gave Mrs Bobin time out of the kitchen LOL! The stairs are a bit steep - it's how they built them in Norfolk back in the day but I think everyone must have been smaller and more agile then! You will be pleased to know that the owners are getting some sticky treads fitted to them when they come and stay in a couple of weeks. Good luck with K2! :)
1 review
“The Perfect Dog Friendly Holiday”
Reviewed 28th June 2019
I have been using East Ruston Cottages for 4 years now and have never been disappointed with the properties we have stayed in.
If your're looking for truly dog friendly accomodation, this is the company to book through, plus they are real, live human beings that you can talk to!
  • Dog Friendly
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Value for money
We’re Social! Facebook Facebook Facebook Facebook Connect With Us