Akela WholePrey

Akela WholePrey say:

Affordable vet-approved 80:20 nutrition. Made in Britain.

Akela WholePrey
99% of users rated this business as excellent or very good.
Ranked 1 in Dog Food
Ranking calculated based on average score and the most reviews. Businesses need more than 5 reviews to feature at the top.
666 reviews

Recent review

17th May 2021
“Just the BEST!!”
Absolutely fantastic food my 2 springer spaniel puppies are on the chicken medium paws and doing so well poo is solid and a lot lot less than previous…

666 people have reviewed Akela WholePrey


Member ratings

Excellent
641
Very Good
19
Average
3
Poor
2
Terrible
1

Rating summary

Enjoyed by dog
Ingredients
Quality
Value for money
666 reviews (1 page) sorted by
1 review
“Just the BEST!!”
Reviewed 17th May 2021
Absolutely fantastic food my 2 springer spaniel puppies are on the chicken medium paws and doing so well poo is solid and a lot lot less than previous food the quality is fantastic absolutely no dust or crumbs when u get to bottom of bag like so many other’s packaging is top quality and delivery was really quick I will never change highly recommend!!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Excellent quality and service”
Reviewed 13th May 2021
We struggled to find a good quality dry food with a large kibble - for our large German Shepherd who struggles with small biscuit pieces. The Akela range has provided not only the size but the quality is also excellent.
Bear is a big fan and he is looking really good on it. We have just started using the wet food as well and are equally as impressed by the quality and value for money.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“My dogs love Akela food and treats ”
Reviewed 8th May 2021
I have brought Akela 80:20 dry kibble for my St. Bernard since a puppy. Her tummy didn’t agree with the salmon one but since changed to the duck one she has thrived as well as my new Labrador.
They completely go mad for the beef fillet sticks as a treat too
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Happy Dog ”
Reviewed 4th May 2021
Switched to this brand a couple of years ago now & have never regretted it. My dog loved the kibble instantly and since the first order we’ve tried the wet food, treats & the advent calendar which was a real hit! The food quality is excellent, the packaging is also excellent and the customer service is excellent. No complaints from me or my happy healthy dog.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
Pwllheli, Gwynedd, Wales
2 reviews
“Excellent food and reliable dispatch and delivery.”
Reviewed 3rd May 2021
After trying to find a food for my dog, who have several food allergies, I tried Akela
70 : 30 complete working dog wet tinned dog food. In particular the Venison, Kangaroo and Mixed game fitted the bill well. The food is all meat ,no jelly or gravy. My dog eats every morsal and has no more upset tummy through eating the wrong food for her.I also feed a slice of Akela Digestive Pumpkin aid with each twice daily meal , which adds fibre and keeps poo firm .Reasonably priced and excellent delivery service. Highly recommended.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Fantastic wholesome food for my dogs ”
Reviewed 27th April 2021
I have 5 dogs of the complicated kind, British and French bulldogs and a beautiful 12 year old Shsrpei. I researched food for a very long time and tried several before I found Akela. I have fed my bunch 80:20 free range chicken now for over 2 years and all are healthy, wet nosed and shiny coated. Couldn’t ask for a better food.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Inhales his food”
Reviewed 25th April 2021
After lots of research and reading endless reviews I opted for Akela Scottish salmon 80/20. What can I say my dog inhales the food and clearly loves it. Too early to tell if it lives up to the hype re coat condition but he enjoys it and that for me is the main thing. As you feed less than other brands it works out cost effective, although my dog feels a bit hard done by as he's getting less. Very quick delivery. I asked a few questions re how much to feed and Akela support staff replied promptly and were a great help. I would definitely recommend and am now a long term customer.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Excellent, quality dog food. ”
Reviewed 25th April 2021
I have been feeding Akela since February ‘15, after years of searching for a high quality grain-free dog food and trying most of them!
The quality of the biscuit is always excellent and I have fed the Suffolk Duck and Fish Feast from weaned puppies to adulthood and have healthy, happy, dogs (including multiple champions), with great skin and coats.

My only feedback would be, I wished they produced bags bigger than 10kg as, with multiple dogs, there is a lot of packaging waste.
Other than that I cannot fault the food or the service from Akela and I would highly recommend to anyone looking for a high quality, grain-free dog food.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“FANTASTIC ALL ROUND!!! the best. ”
Reviewed 22nd April 2021
Fantastic food, service and kindly sponsor our assistance dogs. Perfect all round. FASD Dogs UK
Thank you akela
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Best dog food around”
Reviewed 20th April 2021
i have over 20 dogs some with skin conditions and Akela is the only food i will use.
all of my dogs coats are gleaming and their health is fantastic !. add to that the service is 5 star .
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Amazing quality & value for money”
Reviewed 14th April 2021
My dog has never said no to anything by Akela and we've pretty much tried the lot! Love the varied kibble sizes so I can use the small paws for enrichment activities. She loves the fish skin & kangaroo treats the best.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Luna Loves ... this food!”
Reviewed 13th April 2021
Totally would recommend this food. Good value. Efficient ordering process. Quick delivery. Luna loves it!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Top quality Nutritious dog food!”
Reviewed 18th March 2021
We are breeders of cocker spaniels and we believe that feeding Akela dry dog food gives our puppies the best start in life. Our adult dogs also love it. You cannot skimp on dog food, Akela is well priced and superbly healthy for our dogs. We can fully recommend it to anyone looking for a top quality dog food
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Best food for my boy”
Reviewed 16th March 2021
Fantastic food and although, its an expensive food, you definitely get what you pay for. You pretty much feed half of what you would with any normal food as its condensed so it actually lasts longer than cheaper foods. My border collie loves it and scoffs it down. Firm poos are also a bonus. (Sorry). Delivery direct from akela is top notch even thru brexit and the communications for any info is 2nd to none.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Fabulous food”
Reviewed 15th March 2021
I have been using Akela kibble for my dogs alongside raw for several years now. Akela also do a selection of raw which is fabulous quality.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Bilbo's Favourite”
Reviewed 15th March 2021
Bilbo is very happy with the Akela Suffolk Duck which he has had now for nearly two years, it's mixed with some meat and a slot of fish oil which he enjoys.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Akela wet dog food recipes”
Reviewed 1st March 2021
The customer service at Akela is second to none. I've had to transition my boy - a big and daft Golden Retriever - from his previous dry food after recent illness (when he point blank refused to eat it, which, for a Golden, is a statement!). Due to a mineral imbalance I need to know a lot of food values that are not typically listed for wet recipes. Akela promptly answered every question I asked, even going to the extent of working with their nutrionist and manufacture to do analysis. This gave me the knowledge and confidence in both the product and the company to go ahead and purchase several recipes. My boy absolutely loves all his new Akela food and the difference in him is noticeable. On top of that, the price discount for bulk buying direct from Akela makes it incredible value for such high premium food. Best decision I could have made. John, Manchester UK
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Excellent dog food”
Reviewed 21st February 2021
This food is a life saver for my dog. Bruno is a young Labrador suffering from a bad allergy with runny poo and itchy skin since we moved to Akela Fish Feast, not a single problem has occurred. His coat is beautifully shiny and his poop is nice and firm. Delivery is always super fast. I’m very happy that Akela WholePrey was recommended to me.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Our new puppy was brought up on Fish Feast.”
Reviewed 17th February 2021
Good size packs available of Akela Fish Feast, easily sits on the the worktop, easy to pour/weigh and our puppy loves it. Many thanks WholePrey.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Wholesome, high-quality food”
Reviewed 11th February 2021
We have used Akela 80:20 kibble for the last few years because we like our dog eating the high quality ingredients. Our dog adores the buffalo ears, which helps to clean his teeth and is low in fat.
The staff are also helpful and orders are always received on time.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Top quality food ”
Reviewed 11th February 2021
Our border collie is extremely active, she runs with us miles every day and is an enthusiastic frisbee catcher. So she needs good quality food to keep her in top form. We give her the Akela 80:20 dry food, either original or duck, which keeps her in really good condition. And she loves the taste. Plus Akela is a lot less expensive that many other brands.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Healthy nutritious food and treats ”
Reviewed 31st January 2021
Great choice on the shop, reorder option is great, delivery is always fast and my Shepsky can’t get enough of it.
The ingredients in the dried food reads like a superfood checklist - he eats better than we do!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“THE best kibble ”
Reviewed 30th January 2021
Our 3 year old 53kg male Rhodesian Ridgeback is thriving on Akela Wholeprey, I cannot recommend highly enough. We started him on an expensive Canadian wholeprey product as I wanted a quality feed with no cheap carbohydrate fillers but when I found this British, Suffolk based product and looked into the nutrition and production (I’m trained in medicine and nutrition) I switched immediately. Bo was good on the Canadian product but he is even better on Akela- healthy, happy and for once firmer stools. He has a sensitive digestion but always settled on Akela and loves it. The only thing I add is salmon oil. The company is great to deal with, delivery is prompt and also free for 3 bags at a time. Perfect!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Sydney the Australian Labradoodle”
Reviewed 30th January 2021
We’d had a labradoodle prior to Sydney arriving during Easter lockdown 2019. Sydney came with a trial pack of Akela small paws dry mix and as he’d been weened on it we continued with the feed

He’s now 12 months old and has thrived on the kibble. The training has been aided by using the dog treats - certainly a winner

He’s now discovered the extra hard beef scalp which we use after a long walk and wash down to calm and settle him

The Akela range is certainly different and we’ve yet to find something which he doesn’t like! We tried loads of the treats on offer because the range is all natural and that’s important to us

Well done Akela ????????

  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 29th January 2021
Have been ordering from this company Akela for a few years now, great products, dog food is high quality and not rubbish or fillers, perfect, having lost 2 dogs with cancer i decided to completely change what i feed my dogs and i find this one of the best on the market, prices are great and delivery is fast, superb company
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“My dogs love Akela and are thriving on it”
Reviewed 25th January 2021
My 4 cockapoos aged 3 years, 2 1/2 years, 1 year and 6 month old all love Akela and have been on it since we have had them at 8 weeks old, they all are a very healthy weight, and have absolutely no digestion problems.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Akela. Great food for healthy dogs”
Reviewed 22nd January 2021
I started feeding my dogs Akela late last summer and the dogs simply love it. Its made with fresh ingredients, looks and smells great. My dogs are fit, healthy with lovely shiny coats. I only wish I’d known about Akela years ago.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Growing pup.”
Reviewed 19th January 2021
When I got my Old Thyme Bulldog pup he was on a raw diet.He is on his second 10kg mbag of small paws salmon and is thriving having been fully transitioned onto dry food.Not the cheapest but you are getting what you pay for excellent product and fantastic support and back up.
Very impressed having had dogs for 50yrs and so grateful to my daughter Siobhan for the info she gave me having used Akela for her Corgi.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Excellent product ”
Reviewed 17th January 2021
Good wholesome food for my puppy. No hidden preservatives with a good choice of meat/fish. Website is excellent with a handy feeding guide.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“80:40 dry kibble (Suffolk duck)”
Reviewed 17th January 2021
My 7mth old lurcher has been on this from 4mths old and is thriving.
Very good delivery service and it’s British :-)
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
We’re Social! Facebook Facebook Facebook Facebook Connect With Us