Akela WholePrey

Akela WholePrey say:

Affordable vet-approved 80:20 nutrition. Made in Britain.

Akela WholePrey
99% of users rated this business as excellent or very good.
Ranked 1 in Dog Food
Ranking calculated based on average score and the most reviews. Businesses need more than 5 reviews to feature at the top.
639 reviews

Recent review

19th January 2021
“Growing pup.”
When I got my Old Thyme Bulldog pup he was on a raw diet.He is on his second 10kg mbag of small paws salmon and is thriving having been fully transiti…

639 people have reviewed Akela WholePrey


Member ratings

Excellent
614
Very Good
19
Average
3
Poor
2
Terrible
1

Rating summary

Enjoyed by dog
Ingredients
Quality
Value for money
639 reviews (1 page) sorted by
1 review
“Growing pup.”
Reviewed 19th January 2021
When I got my Old Thyme Bulldog pup he was on a raw diet.He is on his second 10kg mbag of small paws salmon and is thriving having been fully transitioned onto dry food.Not the cheapest but you are getting what you pay for excellent product and fantastic support and back up.
Very impressed having had dogs for 50yrs and so grateful to my daughter Siobhan for the info she gave me having used Akela for her Corgi.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Excellent product ”
Reviewed 17th January 2021
Good wholesome food for my puppy. No hidden preservatives with a good choice of meat/fish. Website is excellent with a handy feeding guide.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“80:40 dry kibble (Suffolk duck)”
Reviewed 17th January 2021
My 7mth old lurcher has been on this from 4mths old and is thriving.
Very good delivery service and it’s British :-)
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Akela Original Small Paws Dog Food”
Reviewed 16th January 2021
Great high quality high protein product that is so much better than Canine. Made from real prime cuts of meat or fish rather than carcass. I changed my puppy up as soon as possible after researching various food brands and their ingredients. It’s shocking how much vet approved brands use grain and ash as large amount of fillers in dried food.
Recommended to me by a friend with same breed that has occasional sensitivity and so far it’s been fantastic.
No reactions, no problem with stools etc.
Great customer service and communication and local agent that volunteered to deliver to my garden during lockdown in lashing rain.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
Pwllheli, Gwynedd, Wales
1 review
“Great Food and Excellent Delivery”
Reviewed 14th January 2021
I feed Akela to one of my rescue dogs Hattie, who has food intolerances and several other allergies.
Hattie, who came from Romania had been starved and was survivng solely on stale bread and bones from the abattoir . This left her gut and immune system in a complete mess. After having a blood test done to establish what she was allergic to I found she was intollerant of most meats apart from Kangaroo, Venison and Wild Game, All of which are not normally fed grain. I also use Digestive Aid Pumpkin Mix which provides fibre to help with her digestion. She has gained weight, her gut health is in pretty good condition.
So it goes without saying that I thoroughly recommend Akela food . I would also praise the swift despatch, delivery and choice of carriers offered . Thank you Akela for being there with a great service before and particularly during the pandemic. A British firm that you can rely on.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Best quality at the best price”
Reviewed 13th January 2021
Since feeding Akela my labradors ear infections have improved hugely & no where near as severe. We stick to the large paws Salmon & fish feast 80:20 as her main kibble. I use the medium paws duck for my pet sitting & dog walking clients & small salmon kibble for enrichment toys. I also use the Apple Cider Vinegar, fish skin treats and some tins (pumpkin & 70:30) for licki mats and other treat enrichment. Cannot fault the quality or price & love how responsibily sourced all their products are. Thank you for supplying a great service!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“My miniature dachshunds love Akela ❤️”
Reviewed 9th January 2021
We transitioned to Akela when we discovered that one of the pups was reacting badly to chicken and the other one kept getting inflamed ears, which we thought it might be down to grains. We wanted a clean, simple but nutritious food that would work for both pups and it was actually a friend who recommended Akela to us, as she was feeding it to her working Cocker Spaniel with great results. We started with the 80:20 Scottish Salmon, initially fed a bit less than you normally would, as per Akela feeding recommendation. It greatly improved their digestion, stools and coats and the itchy, inflamed ears went away. We then tried the 80:20 Fish Feast and it’s still great; the dogs love it and we’ve seen the same amazing results in their overall health. We also buy the Snax Stix and other meat treats and chews, like the Wolf Fish Skins and Lamb Ears, end they are all loved by our hounds. Recently we’ve added Akela goji berries and cranberries to our order for a boost of antioxidants and the dogs love them as a little daily treat. We are very pleased with the quality of the food, the fast delivery and great service we get from Akela and I always recommend them to other dog owners!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Extremely satisfied customer”
Reviewed 6th January 2021
The title of the review refers to Hattie, our 2 year old golden retriever. We've fed her Akela since she was a puppy and she's now a healthy, fit and energetic dog. The food contains top quality ingredients - we feed the dry kibble with some wet food mixed in. Hattie also loves sampling the huge variety of rewards and treats available on the website. The delivery service is always very quick and reliable. We wouldn't feed her anything else.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Great company!”
Reviewed 10th December 2020
Our 9 week cockerpoo just loves the Small Paws kibble, we are using Original with a little wet food for her main meals and the Puppy Salmon for tasty and healthy ‘training’ treats. Easy to order on line and great delivery service.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Beef Scalp Dog Chew”
Reviewed 2nd December 2020
Our Labrador absolutely loved this. She could smell it as soon as the delivery arrived. I only gave her half as it is huge! But it lasted several hours of constant chewing so it definitely lived up to its description of long lasting chew. I’m always sceptical as she’s an eating machine and normally goes through most chews within minutes. This is definitely worth the money and I will buy again. Happy dog, happy owner!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“If Carlsberg made dog food...”
Reviewed 22nd November 2020
I am hobby breeder with over 13 years experience breeding dogs. We always get great comments from vets as to the condition our puppies are in at 8 weeks old when they have gone off to their new homes and visited the new owners vet. It is nice to see ongoing innovation with the introduction of new products and although the market is becoming crowded Akela more than holds it own.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Excellent food, terrible packaging ”
Reviewed 19th November 2020
We love Akela, from their dry 80/20 kibble, their natural treats and their frozen raw range. Our dogs look and feel great. We order on a very regular basis as it the only food we would feed our dogs.
One thing that could be changed if they wanted to is the packaging the frozen raw food is delivered in. Inside the delivery box is a large amount of polystyrene rather than recyclable matting. Surrounding the polystyrene is meters upon meters of non recyclable shrink wrap. Then covering the product itself is frozen water filled plastic.
Surely there is a better way? If companies that supply frozen ready meals direct can be more environmentally friendly with their packaging then surely Akela can be too?
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
““Personalised” Advent Calendar ”
Reviewed 10th November 2020
My dog absolutely loved Akela 80:20 and all the treats, so I thought I would get her the “personalised” advent calendar ready for Christmas. How disappointed was I to find the personalised aspect was a sticker with her name stuck to the OUTSIDE of the packaging. Once I open this, all personalised elements are gone. I ask Akela Wholeprey what is the point of this? I can’t believe you would lower yourselves to this level. Your products are usually outstanding. ????
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Happy puppy”
Reviewed 4th November 2020
I recently bought the trial raw food as my k7 month old puppy began to refuse his kibble (tried 2 different kinds) and I'd heard of Akela as I'd bought their tinned pumpkin to try and sort out his digestive problems.
He absolutely loved this food and so I've gone for half raw and half kibble as he'll eat it in his raw food.
His digestive problem (very sloppy poo) has drastically reduced and his coat is softer already. Both of us are really happy with this product and after trying their trial pack kibble, I'll probably switch to this too for half and half.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“akela wet dog food”
Reviewed 28th October 2020
My boxer has become very fussy and off his food. My colleague at work advised me to try a sample of Akela kibble which i did and he ate it all straight away. I then ordered the wet food which He loves and eats it all up. Thank you I have one happy dog again.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Akela wet dog food ”
Reviewed 9th October 2020
My dog has become an only dog for the first time in his
Life, and had stopped eating. Bought a selection of Akela tined food and chew sticks! For the first time in three weeks he is clearing his bowl again thank you
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Excellent!!”
Reviewed 30th August 2020
My girls are really fussy but they love Akela food. We have the Akela Complete Raw Frozen Working Dog Food and the Akela Original Medium Paws. Their coats are amazing!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Delicious food and great service!”
Reviewed 24th August 2020
My dogs love this wholesome food (we buy wet food as a topper for kibble). Quick delivery and I was able to change order after placing it which was very helpful and much appreciated.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Akela Puppy/Scottish Salmon SMALL PAWS 70g Sample”
Reviewed 18th August 2020
My 5 month old puppy is quite fussy with his food. He has been on the same puppy kibble that the breeder put him on, and I haven't thought to change it yet, but I can see he isn't really enjoying it very much, so I decided to look up a new kibble. Akela comes up as on of the best kibbles available and it looks to be made quite locally to me, so I was keen to give it a go, We received the sample, and I am mixing a small amount of it into my puppy's kibble (so as not to upset his stomach) and immediately, he is more interested in his food and eats it in one sitting (normally he would be back and forth 3 or 4 times to finish it). I will certainly be looking into buying this food full time now. Very pleased!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“An Akela dog through and through”
Reviewed 11th August 2020
Bill our Border Terrier thrives on the Duck small Kibble and various wet dog food.

Very pleased to see the excellent 100% meat snack sticks reintroduced recently and in generous 100g bags. These are great high value treats that can be broken or cut into small pieces, and the Kangaroo and Venison versions are big favourites.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Fantastic products ”
Reviewed 10th August 2020
Excellent natural products that my dogs love and very good value for money. I wouldn't buy anything else again.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
Leysdown-on-Sea, Kent, South East
1 review
“Good quality ”
Reviewed 24th July 2020
I have brought both wet & dry and am very pleased with both. My labrador loves it! He has a renewed interest in his meals again. Would definitely recommend.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Great service and products!”
Reviewed 19th July 2020
Needing to find a novel single source protein diet for my 1 year old Cavapoo -Akela Kangaroo wet has been fantastic and the dried Kangaroo sticks are great as treats!The service is fast and efficient and the food excellent so I am really happy that I am feeding my dog a great quality product that she actually loves!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Consistently great”
Reviewed 10th July 2020
I have ordered from these guys quite a few times now and I can honestly say I’ve always been really happy with their food and speed of delivery.
Our two Golden Retrievers aged 3 Yrs and 6 Months love the food. (They have the dry. )
Even throughout lockdown their delivery times were speedy. A great brand I would recommend. Thankyou
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Top quality food”
Reviewed 6th July 2020
I buy dry food for my Cavachon but tins of wet to go with the dried for my daughter's (most handsome) long-haired Weimaraner . Delivery has been an extremely smooth process on every occasion.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Buffalo ears 6 pack”
Reviewed 20th June 2020
Our two dogs loved these. They were all the same size and very large, so no one felt hard done by!
Great value for money and of course totally natural.
I would definitely recommend them as healthy tasty treat for your dogs
The dry dog food is also very good, our GSD tends to get quite an upset stomach, but hasn’t had any problems since being on their dry food.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Salmon dry food”
Reviewed 17th June 2020
We have eight medium - large dogs, some are very fussy eaters. Yesterday evening we had a trial run of the salmon food (before committing to buying a large bag) only one didn’t eat her meal. She had been scared by thunder and not even a digestive biscuit could tempt her to eat. I bought the large paws which is a reassuringly large size for my greyhounds, lurchers and staffy as I have always been worried about a choking hazard with the gobblers amongst them. We are changing from a wet to dry food and so far, so good. Trying the duck this morning so fingers crossed that it goes well!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Loved by both my dogs”
Reviewed 11th June 2020
I have changed my dogs to this food and they love it, even the cat tries to steal it so may need to try the cat food too!
I also got the veal ears for them to try and they were another hit. I think I have food a new company to purchase my dogs food and treats from. And I can't even fault the price or delivery. 100% all round
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Snax Stix - 100% pure single protein round sticks”
Reviewed 5th June 2020
I am delighted with my box full of 100% pure kangaroo sticks from Akela, (snax stix) at a very reasonable price. I am so glad to have found them, as my dogs have allergies and colitis and we had been relying on another supplier whose sky high prices became unaffordable. I told this supplier we'd found someone with the same product but better price and they insisted they were the only supplier. Not so, the Akela 100% pure meat single protein treats are very high high quality and look almost identical. It's so important that dogs with allergies etc can still have treats and keeping them affordable means more dogs with these special needs can enjoy them. So I am very grateful to Akela for their ethical business model, putting animals and owners first. Thank You!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Partner couldn't believe the price”
Reviewed 2nd June 2020
We made the switch to Akela this month after we found out some rather unflavourful information about our usual supplier and this brand was one named several times by a dog trainer we follow as being of good quality. I've never seen this particular dog so eager to work for food in his life. Not only is the quality of food absolutely astonishing, but the level of care in their customer service is second to none, the company are very easy to deal with and will always keep you in the loop from the moment your order has been recieved to the second it hits the doorstep. Raw food, traditionally, has a notoriety of being inaffordable for most people, this company however, offer a phenomenal price without ever seeming to sacrifice any quality of ingredients which makes their brand inherently great all around, and when placing my first order; my partner thought I was going to be regularly spending at least £200 on just dog food. It didn't even come to half of that for over twice our usual amount.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
We’re Social! Facebook Facebook Facebook Facebook Connect With Us