Akela WholePrey

Akela WholePrey say:

Affordable vet-approved 80:20 nutrition. Made in Britain.

Akela WholePrey
99% of users rated this business as excellent or very good.
Ranked 1 in Dog Food
Ranking calculated based on average score and the most reviews. Businesses need more than 5 reviews to feature at the top.
603 reviews

Recent review

2nd April 2020
“Excellent!”
This was my first trade order, made three days before lockdown came into effect. Customer service called me to let me know one of the items I wante…

603 people have reviewed Akela WholePrey


Member ratings

Excellent
580
Very Good
18
Average
3
Poor
2
Terrible
0

Rating summary

Enjoyed by dog
Ingredients
Quality
Value for money
603 reviews (1 page) sorted by
1 review
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 2nd April 2020
This was my first trade order, made three days before lockdown came into effect.

Customer service called me to let me know one of the items I wanted was out of stock, they changed my order & quickly refunded the difference.

My delivery came when expected & was well packaged.

I couldn’t be more pleased!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Just too expensive since the price rise”
Reviewed 5th March 2020
I really want to give my pup the absolute best, but There comes a point when its not affordable anymore. We are Beginning retirement and everyone has had to cut their spending even the dog.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Excellent ”
Reviewed 4th March 2020
My dog, a cocker spaniel, has been on the medium paws food for about 6 months now. She absolutely loves it! 100% good for her! If you’re not feeding your dog this food, you should definitely give it a try!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“So glad we found you”
Reviewed 29th February 2020
Our Lab has been on Akela for over a year now and we have found it excellent. Real sausage type poo and no funny tummy any more. Found Akela at a local country show and the lady gave us a free sample. Max is very fussy but he took to this immediately. We purchased a 10 Kg bag to try at home and found it was just right for him. Very rarely does he leave even one biscuit now. Very easy to use website and quick efficient delivery. Bit pricey but worth it for the peace of mind. You get what you pay for in this world. Thank you Akela
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
Knighton/Tref-y-Clawdd, Powys, Wales
2 reviews
“Dogs love it ”
Reviewed 6th February 2020
I have three dogs one of them will eat anything but the other two were very fussy but now they dive into their bowls of akela
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Great dog food”
Reviewed 24th January 2020
Comes in a variety of kibble sizes. Very good quality, suitable blends for dogs with allergies, all round top market product. Only thing is it is a bit pricey especially if you have more than one dog to feed. You get what you pay for though.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“EXCELLENT RANGE OF PRODUCTS”
Reviewed 30th December 2019
We use Akela WholePrey wet and dry dog food as recommended by our breeder.   We have an eight month old Havanese puppy and she is thriving on both the wet and dry dog food.   The quality of her coat and her energy levels are testament to the fact she is getting the very best start in life.  We fully intend to feed our Havanese Akela wet and dry food her whole life through.   It is important for us to know we are doing our best and only providing her with the best quality food we can.  We have no hesitation in recommending Akela WholePrey.   We have also contacted Akela WholePrey for feeding advice on several occasions and they have always replied to us both quickly and comprehensively.   It is important for us to know we are on the right track with her feeding regime as she continues to grow and the advice we have been given is invaluable.   Again, we would highly recommend Akela WholePrey for the interest and care they take.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“excellent company to buy from”
Reviewed 24th December 2019
Since starting our chocolate Labrador on the Suffolk duck dry kibble he has enjoyed all his meals. However, he did start with a grumbly tum and the vet advised a half wet and half dry diet. So we bought the tins of meat to go with the kibble and the variety of choice is excellent. We particularly like the pumpkin digestive aid which appears to help if Fynn who is 11 feels off his food - which does not happen very often. The fact that Akela also provide plastic lids for the open tins keeps the contents fresh and the measuring cups help to keep the portions within his weight parameters.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Great food & great customer service”
Reviewed 19th December 2019
This food has been amazing for all three of my boys.. the ddb had skin issues & we couldn’t find A found to help or sort him until we were recommend akela..
the youngest has a grain allergy & so a chicken allergy but he’s looking amazing from the duck..
& they all actually enjoy the food ..
we also but their treats ( tripe sticks,fish skins etc ) which delights the boys...( two are very fussy Rottweilers )
It’s also a great price,especially for the quality ... so pleased we were recommended them
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Quality”
Reviewed 17th December 2019
I'm a very fussy dog owner and as such am particular when it comes to what I feed my dog I am an avid raw food feeder but when my pooch was put off my favourite brand of raw I turned to Akela moist , and I haven't looked back since.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Desmond's choice ”
Reviewed 11th December 2019
Our English Cocker Spaniel has been enjoying this food since we first started feeding him on it as a result of the breeders recommendation when we first brought him home two years ago as a puppy. We mix the biscuits with various non-rocessed products so he has a varied diet. Ordering has always been easy and delivery prompt. However, on this latest occasion, the courier company delivered to a wrong address. However, Mandie came to the rescue and promptly refunded the additional expense I incurred in having to pick the order up myself and made sure everything was OK. Great customer service, thank you Mandie.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Akela Original BIG PAWS dry food”
Reviewed 7th November 2019
Have been buying this for over five years, initially for my first Old English Sheepdog and now for my second, a one year old rescue. Adores the food, good solid plops, identifiable ingredients, always top rated and above all, British. Ordering process is superb via the new Wholeprey website and plenty of delivery choices to suit your need and urgency. Freya at Akela has always promptly helped when I’ve had any product queries or delivery questions, superb company, staff and product. Thank you for being there for us.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Best food for my GSD's sensitive digestion”
Reviewed 29th August 2019
We adopted our GSD X lab last year and was on a very cheap brand of food and as a result, his bowel movements were not as they should be. We tried 3 other foods before I was recommended Akela by a friend, I was almost to the point of trying a raw diet... This stuff is magic. I can now pick up poop using only one hand in the bag! It was never firm enough for that previously.
As for the taste, he is half Labrador and therefore eats anything and everything. He is still interested when I use it for treats in walks - I order a bag of Medium paws for this. He is always excited to get his meals.
I was looking for something that had a high meat content and low carb for his sensitive digestion and this fit the bill perfectly. Plenty of protein and has much, much smaller meals than when he was on cheaper food! He is energetic, happy and has a lovely shiny coat, 10/10 would recommend for GSDs, thank you Akela!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Fantastic dog food”
Reviewed 15th August 2019
Our two rescue collie cross-breeds were terribly under-weight and suffered consistently from very runny stools when we got them. We tried quite a few other brands without success until, after some research, we switched to Akela 80:20 Original, which they’ve been on for the last eight months. And what a difference! They are now at a good healthy weight with glossy coats and all the digestion problems have disappeared. Most importantly, the dogs love it.

I’d also like to highlight the fantastic service I’ve had from the company on the couple of times I contacted them with some minor enquiries about delivery. The response was quick and efficient and on the last occasion particularly, the help given was over and beyond what I could have expected.

I’d whole-heartedly recommend Akela - they produce great products backed up by a great team.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Great British dog food!”
Reviewed 13th August 2019
Our 16 week old mini Dachshund pup was being fed what we thought was a 'Premium' brand kibble, I stumbled across a dog food nutrition review website to find that in actual fact, it was far from 'premium' as far as nutrition goes. Akela dry 80:20 food scored over 90% so I quickly contacted their customer services department who very kindly sent me a sample pack, my pup loved it from the start! I ordered some more straight away and it was quickly delivered, she's been on it for nearly 2 weeks now, she now eats all her food in one sitting whereas she only used to pick at it, she is thriving, her coat looks amazing and she seems more content after meals. We are so glad we found Akela Wholeprey, a British company doing a very good job indeed! Thankyou.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“AKELA WET AND DRY FOOD”
Reviewed 7th August 2019
We currently have a 14 week old Havanese puppy and are feeding her a mixture of wet and dry Akela food. She loves it and is always so excited at meal times. The quality of the food is excellent and this is borne out by the health of our little Havanese. Her coat is shining and she is putting on weight at a gradual rate. We are happy she is getting an all-round balance in her diet and intend to carry on with Akela for the rest of her life. We were recommended Akela by our Breeder and we would, in turn, recommend Akela to everyone who wants to give their pet the best pure ingredients in their food.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Fantastic quality dog food”
Reviewed 31st July 2019
I've been feeding my English springer spaniel Akela for the last year and a half he's never looked better his coat is glossy, he loves the taste and everyone comments on how good he looks. Thank you for providing such a great quality food!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
3 reviews
“Top of all Dog Food.”
Reviewed 15th July 2019
I got my Rescue - a small Bichon Frise x Maltese - just before he was 7. He’ll be 11 this year.
He’d been fed on a cheap and nasty tinned dog food with no nutrition whatsoever.
A friend had recommended Akela smlal Paw dried biscuits, but he had quite a few teeth missing when he arrived here os I subsequently plumped for a wet, cooked, tinned food.
Easy to store and a 400 g tin lasts him for five meals of 80g per meal.
He isn’t particularly discerning when it comes to his food - he loves all food, just like his owner - but he positively wolfs this down and I’ve had to buy slow feeder bowls in an effort to stop him eating it so quickly.
He gets so excited at his meal times that he prances around like a ballerina and races me to his feeding mat
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Suitable for all breeds!!”
Reviewed 10th June 2019
My 3 year old Toy Poodle has been fed on Akela dry food since she was 12 weeks old she is a bundle of endless energy so not just for working dogs great for big and small breeds!!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Excellent food, firm favourite ”
Reviewed 7th June 2019
Hugo has been on this food for over 2 years now and is still so excited for EVERY meal! His favourite is the fish feast and It suits his sensitive stomach perfectly. His coat is shiny all year round and he always gets compliments on his condition. We know he is getting the best quality a dry food can offer and are hoping the new addition will love it as much as he does!⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Gave our Puppy a Great Start”
Reviewed 31st May 2019
I switched to Akela when we got our cocker puppy taking time to switch very slowly. He loved the Scottish Salmon so much we used it for treats too. I was confident we were giving him the best possible nutrition in kibble form. He put and weight and thrived. Unfortunately he has since developed pancreatitis and this food is no longer suitable for hi and I am so disappointed. Researching lots of other foods it became obvious that Akela is a superior dog food.He is still struggling but have switched to a low fat diet and I hope this improves his situation. The staff at Wholeprey have been great, they have refunded the cost of my unopened bag which I returned and their communication has been brilliant. Thank you Mandie.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Sorted our Dogs' Digestion Issues”
Reviewed 17th May 2019
We feed Akela Fish Feast along with raw meat to our Bull Lurcher and Staffy, and it is by far the best food we've tried (and we've tried a lot!). The Bull Lurcher had onging digestion problems for the first two years we had him. Previously, the only food that prevented him having the runs was pure raw meat, but this was impracticle a lot of the time (freezer space!) and meant he wasn't getting additional nutients. All dry foods we tried mixing in with the meat immediately caused the runs to return. Akela was recommended to us to try, so although dubious we gave it a go... No issues whatsoever and we are even able to feed pure dry when away on holiday or if we run out of meat. Thank you Akela!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Our 4 enjoy this food”
Reviewed 9th April 2019
Having tried many kibbles, with one or another dog not getting on so well, this works for all 4 of ours. Currently using the Salmon grain free, with 3 out of our 4 dogs eating it as soon as put down. Our older girl takes a while to be interested, so will be trying one of the other many options for her.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Fantastic food”
Reviewed 29th March 2019
Really good food. Darcy has been having it since she came off puppy food and she still loves it. The medium is great to use as training treats too. Fab stuff.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Great dog food”
Reviewed 12th March 2019
Introduced to Akela dog food by breeder of latest dog. He was already on Snall Paws, which we continued. Now over a year old and usually has the Medium Paws, but if it is out of stock, he will take the Large Paws. He is thriving on it, and now have our older dog on it too. Noticed big improvement in his digestive system since the change.
Very easy ordering online from Wholeprey with quick delivery. Delighted.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Elsa Loves it!”
Reviewed 4th March 2019
We started with the dry food small paws when Elsa was a puppy. Tried medium paws it took too much chewing for her delicate jaws! So we are back to small paws mixed with wet food. Elsa absolutely loves the wet food pulling it out of the bowl first. If anything is left it’s a little bit of kibble. Good flavours seemingly - great service and excellent quality. Highly recommended will not nay anything else now.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Dogs love it”
Reviewed 20th February 2019
I changed my dogs complete meal about 12 months ago after being told about it by my vet. My white English bull terrier had red sore looking skin and after changing to Akela her face is so much better. They are not so keen on the salmon flavour for some reason but love the duck. Very happy mum
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed 13th February 2019
Akela Dog food is excellent quality.
The bowls of our two terriers are always left clean after each meal.
Our Dogs are in such excellent condition with coats shiny eyes bright & full of energy.
The service from ordering to delivery is so speedy.
I highly recommend this Food as it is the best I have found & Our dogs love it.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
Maidstone, Kent, South East
1 review
“Top quality”
Reviewed 11th February 2019
I have been transitioning my 13 yr old Bearded Collie and 5 month old wirehaired vizsla onto Akela for the last couple of weeks. The Collie has never been food motivated and has always been difficult to keep at her desired weight. This is the first food in 13 years that she actually asks for. She actually ants to be fed. Her weight is stable so far and she is enjoying being fed for the first time ever. However the pup is having to take things much slower, as the food caused diarrheoa. He is currently eatoig a 50/50 mix of Akela and his previous food. The digestive issues seem to be easing gradually with time and I wont increase the amount of Akela until it is resolved. I am hoping he just needs longer to adjust because of his age. On the plus side he loves the food and we have had to feed him in a slow feeding bowl as he is so keen to eat the Akela he bolts it down.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Lovely Food that my dogs all enjoy”
Reviewed 11th February 2019
About 5 years ago I decided to change my feed to be gluten free and still contain things like salmon oil and joint supplements. I also needed a food that all of my girls liked if possible as one is quite fussy. After trying a few others following indepth research, I came across Akela. This has proved exactly what I needed and my girls thrive on it. I am always being commented on how well the girls look and how shiney their coats are. As a whole a very good service, the only occasional annoying thing I have come across when ordering is that the large kibble is not always available and I have had to order medium to tide me over. I have four dogs on this and now provide a friend who I advised to try their dog on it, so I get through a few bags and need to order 3 each time. The other recent thing I only fell upon whilst discussion what weight of food to give and reviewing the chart on the back of the bag, is that it is not clear that the same feed I give to my older dogs can also be given to puppies. When I search the Wholeprey site for puppy options there was nothing on there that really made it clear that the same food can be given to pups. As such I went elsewhere initially for food for my latest pup, I am still not sure as there is no real info as to whether Akela holds all of the relevant ingredients for a growing pup.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
We’re Social! Facebook Facebook Facebook Facebook Connect With Us