Banner advert Banner advert Banner advert Banner advert

Akela WholePrey

Akela WholePrey say:

Affordable vet-approved 80:20 nutrition. Made in Britain.

Akela WholePrey
99% of users rated this business as excellent or very good.
Ranked 1 in Dog Food
Ranking calculated based on average score and the most reviews. Businesses need more than 5 reviews to feature at the top.
701 reviews

Recent review

11th August 2022
“Dogs love it!”
One of my dogs had been ill due to a chicken intolerance and so I’d searched for a suitable good quality grain and chicken free food and found small…

701 people have reviewed Akela WholePrey


Member ratings

Excellent
676
Very Good
19
Average
3
Poor
2
Terrible
1

Rating summary

Enjoyed by dog
Ingredients
Quality
Value for money
701 reviews (1 page) sorted by
1 review
“Dogs love it!”
Reviewed 11th August 2022
One of my dogs had been ill due to a chicken intolerance and so I’d searched for a suitable good quality grain and chicken free food and found small paws duck dry food from Akela. My dogs have never been keen on dry food but they all really enjoy this so it must be tasty. The pieces are very small, the smallest dry food I’ve ever seen and are suitable for the tiniest of dogs but they also do bigger sized kibble so all breeds are catered for.
I’ve also bought the wet food tins and they love that, there’s a good selection of flavours all with a large percentage of meat with fruit, vegetables, botanicals and broth completing the ingredients. Much to my surprise their favourite is the fish feast even though they’ve always ignored previous fishy foods.
Website is easy to use and delivery was super quick.
I’ll just add that since switching to Akela my previously poorly boy with little appetite is now a happy and much healthier dog so I suspect as well as removing chicken from his diet he’s benefitting from a higher quality dog food. I couldn’t be happier!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“You can teach an old dog new tricks!”
Reviewed 4th August 2022
I recently inherited a 9 yr old toy poodle from a friend whose wife has M S and he’d been diagnosed with a terminal illness and wanted to know she would be looked after. Her diet consisted of chicken chews called ,”Munchies”. She ate them as and when it pleased her. Her poo was an awful runny ,mucus ,mustard colour consistency so I knew I had to change her diet. I tried cooked chicken,fish,sausage and even raw food but she just stuck her little nose in the air and looked for the chews. While out walking one day( she’d never been out for walks either so sits down after about 10 mins and wants carried, like a true princess),I met a fellow walker who told me about Akela, so I went online and placed an order for mixed samples. Perfect size for her little mouth and the few teeth she has left. Was a battle of wills for a few days then but I held out and now she eats every piece of kibble in her dish .Her poo is normal ,her breath is better and she and I are very happy ,well almost lol. A healthy, well balanced kibble that I would recommend every fussy pet owner to try. Thank you Akela!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Healthy dog food and delicious healthy treats”
Reviewed 30th July 2022
I've been feeding my dog Akela since she was 6 months old and she loves it. I've started buying her treats from them too as she put on weight after spaying and their treats are natural. She loves the Snax Stixs in all flavours and the buffalo ears which keep her busy for a while.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Scrumptious food ”
Reviewed 25th July 2022
Yummy , natural and nutrition food for my gorgeous boy. Bruno has a few allergies and Akela Wholeprey is perfect for him. Nice firm poo and no more itchy bum.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Akela Original 80:20”
Reviewed 16th July 2022
My 5 month old Cockapoo loves Akela dry kibble. I stressed about providing my best mate with the best food I could find at a price I could afford. I found it with Akela, great ingredients at an affordable price. The bag is resealable for keeping the food fresh. Check it out on Allaboutdogfood.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Akela Lung Bite Treats”
Reviewed 7th July 2022
Our two dogs need something a bit more special to get their attention and the lung bites do the trick! They get them as a special reward when training and they absolutely love them.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
3 reviews
“brilliantly healthy and my dog agrees”
Reviewed 21st June 2022
Switched to Akela straight after puppy food. Puppy food always left him with a slightly soggy stool, within a day of going on akela his bowels had firmed up, his eyes were shining, his coat was glossy. Now his coat is super shiny, he's got great muscle tone, and he loves Akela so much, that I use it as treats on a walk. I'm constantly recommending Akela to others. Without doubt the best dog food I've every given to any dogs I've had before. And very surprisingly, doesn't break the bank! I'd pay double for this quality of food for my best friend.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Great dog food”
Reviewed 15th June 2022
My 7 year old Miniature Schnauzer had gone off her food after her sibling died. She would only eat human food and became overweight as a result. I started her on Akela and she loves it. Over 3 months she has lost 2.5kg and is back to her ideal weight. Also she eats her meal right up, whereas before she used to graze. Her coat is lovely and she is more energetic. Definitely a happier dog now.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Great food & local Delivery”
Reviewed 15th June 2022
Our terrier has been on Akela product for best part of 3 years and loves it, was a fussy eater but no issues since we switched to Akela. delivery is alway quick and imfromation on delivery tracking updated regular
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Wet food”
Reviewed 29th May 2022
We have a beautiful 8 year old staffordshire bull terrier with loads of environmental allergies. I was recommended to give this tinned food a try and scrap her kibble diet.
Shes been on this food for just over two months, and cleans her bowl every time we put her food down . Summer has never done this before, so lovely to see she is enjoying her food. ????
Was given some helpful advise when I telephoned in prior ordering . Introduced the kangaroo, then the wild game, both flavours she loves. Also purchased the kangaroo strips as her healthy snack.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Loved by our Patterjack”
Reviewed 27th May 2022
We started by getting the sample packs and actually used them as treats instead of the main meal as we had her on James Wellbeloved, which she liked. But towards the end of that bag, she started wanting the Akela more than the JW. So we've now ordered the 5 bag bundle to double-check which variety she likes best. Although buying in bulk is much less expensive, the smaller bags also have a really great closure rather than a normal Ziploc and it keeps them all fresh and easy to open/close. We'll stick with Akela for sure because, as well as excellent food, the customer service is top notch.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Yum yum yum ”
Reviewed 23rd May 2022
Excellent food. My Westie loves it. Human grade fish, grain free, fruit, veg and botanicals. None of this animal derivatives and cereals rubbish and it’s cooked at lower temperatures as well. I’ll probably keep my dog on Akela all her life.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“One of the best you can buy”
Reviewed 4th May 2022
I reviewed lots of dog foods before settling on Akela for my GSD X. She thrives on this food and has a healthy glossy coat.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
3 reviews
“The Lurchers love it!”
Reviewed 28th April 2022
Been ordering the dried food for years, I do mix with a wet food, but it all gets eaten. We've tried all the flavours but the Original seems favourite. My lurchers love it as did my greyhound.
Great service and good value.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
3 reviews
“Food”
Reviewed 23rd April 2022
My Lab as been on this for the last 3 years he loves it and he doesn’t get a upset stomach anymore .
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Best dry food”
Reviewed 7th April 2022
Both my Northern Inuit and Husky dogs are fed on Akeka and thriving on it shiny coats good weights
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Excellent food”
Reviewed 23rd March 2022
My 4 working cockers and elderly border collie are all fed on Akela, and they are thriving on it, shiny coats and good weight maintenance.

I also raise our puppies on the raw and kibble
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Girl with allergies ”
Reviewed 21st March 2022
One of my dogs has bad allergies. Had to find a food with no chicken, rice or peas in any form. This food has been fantastic and although she’s also a fussy eater she and my other dog really enjoy it
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Healthy food”
Reviewed 11th March 2022
Our Manchester Terrier has skin allergies that are often triggered by processed food and our Cairn Terrier has a sensitive digestive system which resulted in frequent bouts of Colitis. Our dog trainer suggested we put them both on Akela kibble. They enjoy any of the varieties especially when thrown around the garden which stops the tendency to eat fast and the ‘hunt’ gives the an occupation for half an hour.
The change in the Cairn was quite marked. He immediately lost the lethargy that had troubled us and no more Colitis.
The service from Whole Prey has been excellent with the deliveries arriving within two days of placing an order.
We seldom make recommendations but we would with this product and company.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Great food”
Reviewed 1st March 2022
We are licensed breeders and breed English bulldogs and pugs. We raise all of our dogs on this, our pregnant girls stay on it and we raise the puppies on it. All of our dogs have lovely skin, coat and teeth.

Mabenbullies
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
Black Pill, Swansea, Wales
4 reviews
“No 1 choice for our 2 dogs”
Reviewed 14th December 2021
I have tried other foods but have gone back to Akela grain free kibble and their marvellous choice if tinned wet food.
Yes I do love the Akela lids for the tins, extremely good idea.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Reliably consistent”
Reviewed 26th November 2021
We were put onto this dog food by the breeder of our dog. I am pleased to say that he is now 5 years old and we have never had a single issue of upset stomach or any other digestive disorder which we have encountered with previous brands. The food suits our dog and they never play around with the mixture or add new things which can play havoc with a dogs digestive system. I would recommend this food to anyone.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Hoorah. Wet dog food back in stock”
Reviewed 13th November 2021
My dog is a large rescue lurcher. He is young and a high energy pet. This means he needs quite a lot of food each day( in the early days three meals a day). I feed him on a mixture of kibble and wet food. This makes giving him high quality food affordable as good quality ingredients naturally costs more than a food full of cheap grains and water.
His tummy loves the fish feast kibble( so many foods didn’t suit) and I love how nutritious it is for him.
He doesn’t love the wet food he ADORES it and is so happy it is back in stock. Whilst it has been out of stock he has tried so many other brands and none compare. It smells good and you can see the solid goodness as soon as you open the tin. He particularly likes the beef and the kangaroo and comes to tell me how good they are after he has emptied his bowl.
The delivery is always efficient and is good value.



  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Grain free quality dry food”
Reviewed 3rd November 2021
I feed a range of food to my dogs, but the only dry food I feed is Akela. I have weaned puppies on it, and my adults enjoy it. Delivery is always amazingly fast and I will continue to feed Akela.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Excellence at it's best.”
Reviewed 31st October 2021
We have two Australian Labradoodles and have an Akela Customer since 2019. Our dogs were weaned on Akela Dry Food along with Akela Wet Food and they simply love it. One has Salmon dry along with Duck
and Turkey wet tinned, the other Chicken dry along with Wild Game wet tinned. Both dry and wet foods are of an excellent quality and of a price I would expect to pay for our dogs to be healthy and happy.
The service of this company matches the quality of the products - excellent communication, speed of delivery and always on hand for any questions you may have.
This company value your custom and you feel part of an extended family. We wouldn't go anywhere else.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Excellent product from and excellent company ”
Reviewed 19th September 2021
I have been using Akela for about 4 years. We have a black lab, a Jack and parsons terrier. They all thrive on the dried Akela food. The delivery is first class and their communication with me fast and efficient. I really recommend this young British company. Give them a try.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
Hemsby, Norfolk, East
3 reviews
“Best dog food I have ever used.”
Reviewed 9th September 2021
I have been using this food for over 5 years now & my dogs love it just as much now as the first time they ate it. It has good quality ingredients, based on a dogs natural diet in the wild. No cereals, grains or fillers to bulk it out so very little waste. My dogs stools are perfect, they are in good heath & I have recommended this food to so many people, none of whom have switched back once they have used it.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“The only food for our dog”
Reviewed 25th August 2021
After years of dietary problems and vets testing for food allergies - we have arrived at Akela Wholeprey Fish Feast- and this is the perfect food for Flapjack our Golden Retriever - we were expecting that we would end up on some horrendously expensive prescription diet - but not so Wholeprey is very reasonably priced for a product of it's quality, I would not hesitate to recommend it to others.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Puppy chicken ”
Reviewed 15th August 2021
We started on the fish one whicb he loved - the breeder gave it to us - seemed to give him a runny tummy so on Akela advice we switched to chicken (slowly) which we were sent free of charge and his tummy issues went away
Great brand, great customer service
Very happy :)
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“1 fussy dog”
Reviewed 30th July 2021
At 5 years old we had our dog tested for allergies as he had all sorts of issues. Mainly itchy eyes, licking paws and bad stomach. After looking at ingredients thoroughly and reading independently written reviews we started our dog with Akela 80/20 duck small kibble. We haven't looked back, he loves them, never wastes them and it's lucky he loves this flavour as it's the perfect healthy food combination for him which won't trigger his allergies. We still feed him the treats and cooked meats but Akela is his daily food. He's 10 in August and we will be buying him this for years to come. Did I mention Akela customer services? Exemplary by the way, both as advisers and helpful regarding diet, weight, product and feeding guidelines. Offering samples of new products when you buy and genuinely interested in the wellbeing of you and your pet. I will stick with them and advise my friends to do the same.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
We’re Social! Facebook Facebook Facebook Facebook Connect With Us