Akela WholePrey

Akela WholePrey say:

Affordable vet-approved 80:20 nutrition. Made in Britain.

Akela WholePrey
99% of users rated this business as excellent or very good.
Ranked 1 in Dog Food
Ranking calculated based on average score and the most reviews. Businesses need more than 5 reviews to feature at the top.
581 reviews

Recent review

9th April 2019
“Our 4 enjoy this food”
Having tried many kibbles, with one or another dog not getting on so well, this works for all 4 of ours. Currently using the Salmon grain free, with 3…

581 people have reviewed Akela WholePrey


Member ratings

Excellent
558
Very Good
18
Average
3
Poor
2
Terrible
0

Rating summary

Enjoyed by dog
Ingredients
Quality
Value for money
581 reviews (1 page) sorted by
1 review
“Our 4 enjoy this food”
Reviewed 9th April 2019
Having tried many kibbles, with one or another dog not getting on so well, this works for all 4 of ours. Currently using the Salmon grain free, with 3 out of our 4 dogs eating it as soon as put down. Our older girl takes a while to be interested, so will be trying one of the other many options for her.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Fantastic food”
Reviewed 29th March 2019
Really good food. Darcy has been having it since she came off puppy food and she still loves it. The medium is great to use as training treats too. Fab stuff.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Great dog food”
Reviewed 12th March 2019
Introduced to Akela dog food by breeder of latest dog. He was already on Snall Paws, which we continued. Now over a year old and usually has the Medium Paws, but if it is out of stock, he will take the Large Paws. He is thriving on it, and now have our older dog on it too. Noticed big improvement in his digestive system since the change.
Very easy ordering online from Wholeprey with quick delivery. Delighted.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Elsa Loves it!”
Reviewed 4th March 2019
We started with the dry food small paws when Elsa was a puppy. Tried medium paws it took too much chewing for her delicate jaws! So we are back to small paws mixed with wet food. Elsa absolutely loves the wet food pulling it out of the bowl first. If anything is left it’s a little bit of kibble. Good flavours seemingly - great service and excellent quality. Highly recommended will not nay anything else now.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Dogs love it”
Reviewed 20th February 2019
I changed my dogs complete meal about 12 months ago after being told about it by my vet. My white English bull terrier had red sore looking skin and after changing to Akela her face is so much better. They are not so keen on the salmon flavour for some reason but love the duck. Very happy mum
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed 13th February 2019
Akela Dog food is excellent quality.
The bowls of our two terriers are always left clean after each meal.
Our Dogs are in such excellent condition with coats shiny eyes bright & full of energy.
The service from ordering to delivery is so speedy.
I highly recommend this Food as it is the best I have found & Our dogs love it.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
Maidstone, Kent, South East
1 review
“Top quality”
Reviewed 11th February 2019
I have been transitioning my 13 yr old Bearded Collie and 5 month old wirehaired vizsla onto Akela for the last couple of weeks. The Collie has never been food motivated and has always been difficult to keep at her desired weight. This is the first food in 13 years that she actually asks for. She actually ants to be fed. Her weight is stable so far and she is enjoying being fed for the first time ever. However the pup is having to take things much slower, as the food caused diarrheoa. He is currently eatoig a 50/50 mix of Akela and his previous food. The digestive issues seem to be easing gradually with time and I wont increase the amount of Akela until it is resolved. I am hoping he just needs longer to adjust because of his age. On the plus side he loves the food and we have had to feed him in a slow feeding bowl as he is so keen to eat the Akela he bolts it down.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Lovely Food that my dogs all enjoy”
Reviewed 11th February 2019
About 5 years ago I decided to change my feed to be gluten free and still contain things like salmon oil and joint supplements. I also needed a food that all of my girls liked if possible as one is quite fussy. After trying a few others following indepth research, I came across Akela. This has proved exactly what I needed and my girls thrive on it. I am always being commented on how well the girls look and how shiney their coats are. As a whole a very good service, the only occasional annoying thing I have come across when ordering is that the large kibble is not always available and I have had to order medium to tide me over. I have four dogs on this and now provide a friend who I advised to try their dog on it, so I get through a few bags and need to order 3 each time. The other recent thing I only fell upon whilst discussion what weight of food to give and reviewing the chart on the back of the bag, is that it is not clear that the same feed I give to my older dogs can also be given to puppies. When I search the Wholeprey site for puppy options there was nothing on there that really made it clear that the same food can be given to pups. As such I went elsewhere initially for food for my latest pup, I am still not sure as there is no real info as to whether Akela holds all of the relevant ingredients for a growing pup.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Suffolk Duck kibble Big Paw”
Reviewed 7th February 2019
We were recommended this Akela Suffolk Duck kibble from another owner of a golden doodle after comparing their ways and diet etc and thought we’d give it a try as our 2yr old goldendoodle was not eating his other food like he was he would graze on it . Now you only have to mention the word breakfast or dinner and he’s there waiting for it. I highly recommend Akela Suffolk Duck big paw kibble and hopefully Woody will be loving it for years to come.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Old boy with few Teeth Devours Small Paws”
Reviewed 4th February 2019
I have tried many kibbles, (4 others), to tempt my recent addition. A 12 yr young Lhasa. He has dropped a fair amount of weight. Needed something tempting, nutritious, small bite & affordable. A friend sent me a sample.
Well he loves it, as does my allergy ridden 5 yr old Shih Tzu. Both will happily devour a bowl on its own! After months of lacing kibble with gravy, Chicken, Turkey, this is enjoyed as it is.
They have it dry AM & PM with wet food.
Delighted, will be ordering a regular supply. Super quick Delivery & well packaged.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Itching & Paw Biting Stopped. Now Happy Dogs”
Reviewed 31st January 2019
We have a 2 year old American Bully XL Rescue dog named Odes and a 7 month old English Bulldog Martha. The XL Bully came to us in a very poor condition with red weeping eyes, reddish brown paw and facial stains, sore feet from constant biting at his feet and sores from his constant itching. He was taking antihistamines to give some relief but he was a very sad, depressed dog who just didn't want to play or be touched due to his sore body. We tried various dog foods over 6 months, some he ate quickly others he ate reluctantly and while some foods helped a bit nothing was giving him total relief. Then we tried Akela 80:20 Suffolk Duck Big Paws. He loved the food and within 48 hours he'd stopped itching. 6 months on he is a different dog and has stopped his antihistamines completely. He now loves his walks, absolutely loves being stroked, plays happily with Martha and other dogs AND his Itching Has totally Stopped, Eye Redness has Gone, His Skin has Healed, No More Paw Biting and brown stains have also gone. His overall appearance has changed drastically for the better. He has a shiny coat & his muscle tone is good but the best change is seeing him totally relaxed and happy. When we got our English Bulldog Martha we put her straight onto Akela and she is thriving, people comment on how healthy and active she is for a bulldog ! Akela dog food is Worth Every Penny To See Our Healthy & Happy Dogs !!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Highly recommended ”
Reviewed 26th January 2019
This is the first food that I have found that my 5 year old English Springer Spaniel loves. He was always a fussy eater would never eat 2 meals a day. Quite often I would put food down for him and it was still there when I returned a few hours later. With this he is waiting for me to feed him, the bowl is cleared in minutes and I now have a dog that loves his dinner.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Best Dog food full of natural ingredients”
Reviewed 24th January 2019
I had no problem changing over from the old food as this food is so gentle on her stomach. My dog is 9 years old and the difference in her energy levels increased after a week on Akela. We look after our neighbour's dog and he is 1 year old, he has been on this food since he was 6 months old. I like the fact that it has natural ingredients and no additives. Would thoroughly recommend it.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Big Paw Kibble (original) - excellent product”
Reviewed 18th January 2019
We feed our Siberian Husky predominantly premium kibble with a small amount of cooked chicken. We switched from another premium brand to Akela, mainly because we could not get his gut settled properly on the original brand. On Akela his gut has been much better - more consistent and he likes it better (finishing his bowl more often then not). The big paw size of pellet is also a real plus - we were unable to get this for the other brand. Finally the service has been excellent - ordering from the website is easy, and the communication (re: dispatch and delivery) is also excellent.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Well eaten and lots of variety”
Reviewed 17th January 2019
We feed our boy predominantly kibble but add a small amount of wet food as he isn't keen on dry alone.
We have tried other brands, all premium, some he's liked initially but got bored of some he's persistently refused. We tried Akela since it was possible to buy a mixed 6 can tray and it went down a treat. Now we buy 6 x 6 tray packs as it's possible to choose which flavours make up the selection. There are plenty of varieties to choose from ( Mr fussy dog doesn't like them all) so we just pick the ones he prefers.
All varieties look good with good obvious meat content.
Even better is that at £50 for 36 cans its in comparatively economical in comparison to some brands we'd tried.
Orders have arrived promptly.
All in all very happy.

  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Solved all our problems!”
Reviewed 16th January 2019
Our 16 month working cocker spaniel has lots of food intolerances which made the first 8 months of his life a real challenge for us all as he experienced related behavioural issues that we couldn’t understand. When the vet recommended we had him allergy tested, he come out high intolerancy for all of the carbs including potato, rice and wheat - 40% of the ‘natural’ high quality kibble we were feeding him! An owner of one of his litter mates recommended Akela and it’s made the world of difference! Before we had to bribe him to eat even a little food, now he wolfs down his meals so quickly that half of each portion goes into kong balls etc. We’ve had 6 months on Akela duck now and while he occasionally still has digestive problems (sandwiches foraged in hedgerows and kindly dog walkers offering cheap dog biscuits!), we know that his food is the best thing for him.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Very Happy”
Reviewed 4th January 2019
I was looking for a high quality dry food for my Springer Spaniel who suffers from problems with anal glands and loos pooh and my elderly boxer dog. I was looking for a tasty food that I could use for training to avoid using too many treats. The Akela Suffolk Duck has ticked all the boxes, they both love the food and the medium paws fits into the Treat and Train food dispenser which I use in my training.
The customer service is second to none, I placed an order shortly before Christmas containing a number of items including frozen sprats. I had a call from the company letting me know that I would not receive the order until after Christmas as it contained frozen items and checking that I had enough dry food to last until then. In fact the order was delivered on 24th December and I was kept informed so that I could arrange to be at home-Brilliant! Recommended.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Very happy”
Reviewed 31st December 2018
I have recently changed over to Adela from frozen raw. To be honest this was purely for convenience. I spoke to my vet nurse about this and she recommended Akela. Her dogs thrive on it and it is 80/20 split. I held my breath and took the plunge. I needn’t have worried. My dogs love it, they woof it down. More important their tummies are fine and coats are still shiny. They have healthy poos and more frequent and drink more but I expected this. Very happy dogs so happy all round.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Brilliant!”
Reviewed 26th December 2018
I have been buying Akela for three months now, having come across the brand while researching dog food for our two rescues - a four year old Lab and a two year old Springer. Both had problems with digestion and very loose tummies, despite being fed on good quality wet and dry food from a UK-based producer. I can honestly say that switching the dogs to a mix of wet/dry food for breakfast and raw for their evening meal has been a godsend. They both do a happy dance at mealtimes and there’s never a scrap of food left. Their coats are beautiful and it’s a revelation to pick up solid poo rather than a cowpat (sorry!)
I’ve spoken to various staff in customer services, particularly Mandie and Donna, who have worked out precisely what amounts of each I need to feed and always been happy to offer advice. It makes me happy to support a UK-based company and I’ve raved about Akela to a number of dog-owning friends. I really can’t recommend the brand highly enough and wouldn’t choose to feed my dogs anything else.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Great company great food”
Reviewed 21st December 2018
I have 3 dogs including one difficult to feed GSD/husky. He suffers low weight and acid sickness and has a very low appetite. We compete in canicross and I was looking for a quality kibble with high meat content. Akela has certainly ticked all the boxes. All my questions regarding nutritional content were answered clearly and I believe Akela went over and above my expections. My fussy dog actually loves this food! It is really exceptional value for money compared with the other high meat content feeds on the market. I was previously feeding a Canadian brand but now I’m using a product produced in the UK I feel I have also made a sound environmental choice because the food isn’t been flown half way across the world to me.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Great Quality, Great Price”
Reviewed 17th December 2018
By far the highest quality dog food I've found, no dodgy ingredients and it's labelled very clearly. It's also an excellent price for the quality. Best of all, my fussy dog loves it. She's always eager to eat it and she loves all the different flavours. Since changing her onto Akela her coat has become shinier and softer too. Would highly recommend this dog food to anyone.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Akela is my top choice”
Reviewed 10th December 2018
Since switching to Akela a few months ago, I can see the change in my Lab. She looks healthier and IS healthier. The reviews are true when they say it is the best food to feed your dog. Betty (the Lab) is truly happy on the inside and the outside! I wont change and hope Akela is always there.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Great products! Great support!”
Reviewed 9th December 2018
After stumbling across the Akela range when searching for a quality food for our new french bulldog puppy, all I can say is we are very pleased. We have a very happy pup that loves his food.
I also contacted them via message with some queries and the response was very professional and helpful. Big thumbs up for me!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
Wells, Somerset, South West
2 reviews
“Happy dog!”
Reviewed 28th November 2018
On our 3rd bag now. Keytos is thriving on it and other fussy dogs never turn their noses up when I offer one as a treat! Usually buy Small Paws for my mini schnauzer and a small bag of Medium Paws to use as treats but mixed up this time and bought all Medium Paws but she seems to be managing them ok! Highly recommended!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Salty loves her Akela dog food”
Reviewed 26th November 2018
Salty prefers the duck blend.
We buy this product and follow the feeding guidelines. Salty our English cream golden retriever looks great and her coat feels glorious.
She enjoys this food and has minimal output as good quality food that appears to not have must waste within. Recommend it to all our dog owner friends.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“A very happy Cockapoo”
Reviewed 15th November 2018
Our dog has always been a fussy eater and would rarely eat either of her meals. It got to the point where we were mixing in a bit of our food into hers just so she’d eat something. A visit to the vet for her annual check up and the vet said they’d recently had got a cockapoo and hadn’t believed about dogs being fussy eaters until now. She had recently switched her dogs food to Akela so we gave it a try and have never looked back since. Our dog now cleans her bowl out at both her meals. We use a mixture of dried food and the tins of food and she loves both. No more dodgy tummies for her either which she used to get on a regular basis.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Amazing for sensitive tums!”
Reviewed 9th November 2018
My Cockapoo came to me rescued from a dreadful puppy farm. He was roughly 12 weeks old then, and had the most dreadful wind and runny poos. After trying several different grain free dry and wet foods, and even prescription food- I could find one that cured him....until (after much research) I found Alkela. I started him on the dry Duck food, and what a result! He is free from wind, and has normal poos which are so much easier to pick up! It really works for him. He has been on Akela for about a year now, and I also give him some of their wet food mixed in with his breakfast meal, and buy their dog treats too - all good! I so highly recommend their products.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“A very happy Border Terrier ”
Reviewed 9th November 2018
We have had Mojo on another leading foodmsince bringing her home at 8mths. They monitor her weight and send us a balanced kibble diet. We have tried adding in some of their wet food to stave off boredom , in very small amounts but it is causing bad wind and an upset bum!
We were given a sample of the small paws duck and she has gone mad for it, so much so that we have ordered some. We aim to use up the other food we have and try Akela full time to see how she gets on. In the meanwhile she is having Akela small in her snuffle rug and the large in her big Kong as treats and she is gets really excited when she knows it's coming. Well done!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Amazing dog food!!”
Reviewed 4th November 2018
I have a 2 year old Labradoodle called Woody and I've had him since he was 8 weeks old.
I have had ALOT of problems with him when it comes to his diet. As he has a VERY sensitive tummy. So after ALOT of vet visits, trying about 7 different brands of dog food and talking with a dog nutritionist, we came across Akela (recommended by Woody's agility trainer)
Not only does Woody love the food, but I noticed a change in this appearance, behaviour and health straight away! Wish we had known about Akela from the day he came home and joined the family.
I can't actually recommend this dog food more to people! It's fantastic!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Fantastic service and food”
Reviewed 31st October 2018
I have to border collies pups both now 11 months old, they have had this food since I have brought them home, we have had the dry the wet and now the raw and they love it all. Also their service is excellent. I would definitely recommend them.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
We’re Social! Facebook Facebook Facebook Facebook Connect With Us