Banner advert Banner advert Banner advert Banner advert

Akela WholePrey

Akela WholePrey say:

Affordable vet-approved 80:20 nutrition. Made in Britain.

Akela WholePrey
99% of users rated this business as excellent or very good.
Ranked 1 in Dog Food
Ranking calculated based on average score and the most reviews. Businesses need more than 5 reviews to feature at the top.
689 reviews

Recent review

4th May 2022
“One of the best you can buy”
I reviewed lots of dog foods before settling on Akela for my GSD X. She thrives on this food and has a healthy glossy coat.

689 people have reviewed Akela WholePrey


Member ratings

Excellent
664
Very Good
19
Average
3
Poor
2
Terrible
1

Rating summary

Enjoyed by dog
Ingredients
Quality
Value for money
689 reviews (1 page) sorted by
1 review
“One of the best you can buy”
Reviewed 4th May 2022
I reviewed lots of dog foods before settling on Akela for my GSD X. She thrives on this food and has a healthy glossy coat.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
3 reviews
“The Lurchers love it!”
Reviewed 28th April 2022
Been ordering the dried food for years, I do mix with a wet food, but it all gets eaten. We've tried all the flavours but the Original seems favourite. My lurchers love it as did my greyhound.
Great service and good value.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
3 reviews
“Food”
Reviewed 23rd April 2022
My Lab as been on this for the last 3 years he loves it and he doesn’t get a upset stomach anymore .
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Best dry food”
Reviewed 7th April 2022
Both my Northern Inuit and Husky dogs are fed on Akeka and thriving on it shiny coats good weights
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Excellent food”
Reviewed 23rd March 2022
My 4 working cockers and elderly border collie are all fed on Akela, and they are thriving on it, shiny coats and good weight maintenance.

I also raise our puppies on the raw and kibble
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Girl with allergies ”
Reviewed 21st March 2022
One of my dogs has bad allergies. Had to find a food with no chicken, rice or peas in any form. This food has been fantastic and although she’s also a fussy eater she and my other dog really enjoy it
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Healthy food”
Reviewed 11th March 2022
Our Manchester Terrier has skin allergies that are often triggered by processed food and our Cairn Terrier has a sensitive digestive system which resulted in frequent bouts of Colitis. Our dog trainer suggested we put them both on Akela kibble. They enjoy any of the varieties especially when thrown around the garden which stops the tendency to eat fast and the ‘hunt’ gives the an occupation for half an hour.
The change in the Cairn was quite marked. He immediately lost the lethargy that had troubled us and no more Colitis.
The service from Whole Prey has been excellent with the deliveries arriving within two days of placing an order.
We seldom make recommendations but we would with this product and company.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Great food”
Reviewed 1st March 2022
We are licensed breeders and breed English bulldogs and pugs. We raise all of our dogs on this, our pregnant girls stay on it and we raise the puppies on it. All of our dogs have lovely skin, coat and teeth.

Mabenbullies
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
Black Pill, Swansea, Wales
3 reviews
“No 1 choice for our 2 dogs”
Reviewed 14th December 2021
I have tried other foods but have gone back to Akela grain free kibble and their marvellous choice if tinned wet food.
Yes I do love the Akela lids for the tins, extremely good idea.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Reliably consistent”
Reviewed 26th November 2021
We were put onto this dog food by the breeder of our dog. I am pleased to say that he is now 5 years old and we have never had a single issue of upset stomach or any other digestive disorder which we have encountered with previous brands. The food suits our dog and they never play around with the mixture or add new things which can play havoc with a dogs digestive system. I would recommend this food to anyone.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Hoorah. Wet dog food back in stock”
Reviewed 13th November 2021
My dog is a large rescue lurcher. He is young and a high energy pet. This means he needs quite a lot of food each day( in the early days three meals a day). I feed him on a mixture of kibble and wet food. This makes giving him high quality food affordable as good quality ingredients naturally costs more than a food full of cheap grains and water.
His tummy loves the fish feast kibble( so many foods didn’t suit) and I love how nutritious it is for him.
He doesn’t love the wet food he ADORES it and is so happy it is back in stock. Whilst it has been out of stock he has tried so many other brands and none compare. It smells good and you can see the solid goodness as soon as you open the tin. He particularly likes the beef and the kangaroo and comes to tell me how good they are after he has emptied his bowl.
The delivery is always efficient and is good value.



  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Grain free quality dry food”
Reviewed 3rd November 2021
I feed a range of food to my dogs, but the only dry food I feed is Akela. I have weaned puppies on it, and my adults enjoy it. Delivery is always amazingly fast and I will continue to feed Akela.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Excellence at it's best.”
Reviewed 31st October 2021
We have two Australian Labradoodles and have an Akela Customer since 2019. Our dogs were weaned on Akela Dry Food along with Akela Wet Food and they simply love it. One has Salmon dry along with Duck
and Turkey wet tinned, the other Chicken dry along with Wild Game wet tinned. Both dry and wet foods are of an excellent quality and of a price I would expect to pay for our dogs to be healthy and happy.
The service of this company matches the quality of the products - excellent communication, speed of delivery and always on hand for any questions you may have.
This company value your custom and you feel part of an extended family. We wouldn't go anywhere else.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Excellent product from and excellent company ”
Reviewed 19th September 2021
I have been using Akela for about 4 years. We have a black lab, a Jack and parsons terrier. They all thrive on the dried Akela food. The delivery is first class and their communication with me fast and efficient. I really recommend this young British company. Give them a try.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
Hemsby, Norfolk, East
3 reviews
“Best dog food I have ever used.”
Reviewed 9th September 2021
I have been using this food for over 5 years now & my dogs love it just as much now as the first time they ate it. It has good quality ingredients, based on a dogs natural diet in the wild. No cereals, grains or fillers to bulk it out so very little waste. My dogs stools are perfect, they are in good heath & I have recommended this food to so many people, none of whom have switched back once they have used it.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“The only food for our dog”
Reviewed 25th August 2021
After years of dietary problems and vets testing for food allergies - we have arrived at Akela Wholeprey Fish Feast- and this is the perfect food for Flapjack our Golden Retriever - we were expecting that we would end up on some horrendously expensive prescription diet - but not so Wholeprey is very reasonably priced for a product of it's quality, I would not hesitate to recommend it to others.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Puppy chicken ”
Reviewed 15th August 2021
We started on the fish one whicb he loved - the breeder gave it to us - seemed to give him a runny tummy so on Akela advice we switched to chicken (slowly) which we were sent free of charge and his tummy issues went away
Great brand, great customer service
Very happy :)
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“1 fussy dog”
Reviewed 30th July 2021
At 5 years old we had our dog tested for allergies as he had all sorts of issues. Mainly itchy eyes, licking paws and bad stomach. After looking at ingredients thoroughly and reading independently written reviews we started our dog with Akela 80/20 duck small kibble. We haven't looked back, he loves them, never wastes them and it's lucky he loves this flavour as it's the perfect healthy food combination for him which won't trigger his allergies. We still feed him the treats and cooked meats but Akela is his daily food. He's 10 in August and we will be buying him this for years to come. Did I mention Akela customer services? Exemplary by the way, both as advisers and helpful regarding diet, weight, product and feeding guidelines. Offering samples of new products when you buy and genuinely interested in the wellbeing of you and your pet. I will stick with them and advise my friends to do the same.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
Fishponds, Bristol, South West
3 reviews
“Great for GSD's with sensitive stomachs”
Reviewed 28th July 2021
After trying many well known brands (rated by pet shops & vet promoted) we still had a skinny GSD pup with cowpat stools/diarrhea. Vet recommendation of chicken & rice just made the situation worse & he got so upset when he didn't quite make it outside to go. Searching the internet for answers I came across this site & after careful consideration I chose AKELA duck/salmon dry kibble. From the 3rd day his stools were fully formed for the first time in over 12 months, within a few weeks his body gained weight & looked completely healthy, happy & had the energy a pup should have. As he's got older & we've got wiser, an allergy/DNA test confirms he is highly allergic to chicken, plus turkey, grain & a whole list of other foods, so we have eliminated any chicken etc & grain from his diet. We have introduced raw duck/beef/lamb to his dry kibble which he absolutely devours. We also feed our Scottie guests same kibble although he's not keen on the raw foods lol. Highly recommend this brand.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Kangaroo strips ”
Reviewed 24th July 2021
My dog Fletcher has recently been diagnosed with multiple allergies so I was looking for some treats that were made up of a meat that he has never been exposed to. After a quick search I found very little but Akela came up trumps with their strips of 100% dried kangaroo. They are a great size for him (he weighs 44kg so likes big treats!) but they can be easily snapped into smaller bits. The good news is that Fletcher loves them and so far hasn’t had a bad reaction!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Great product ”
Reviewed 18th July 2021
Our dog was fed this as a puppy , we have carried on with it as it’s a reasonable price if bought in quantity. She has a bowl of kibble with a couple of teaspoons of the wet food mixed in. She is a Australian labradoodle and particularly likes the kangaroo , probably just coincidence lol .
Easy to order always here within a few days , buying the 36 tins is good value and I would say looks good quality with bits of veg in it !
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed 25th June 2021
I got my mastiff/ GSD from Battersea who thought his loose stools was due to the stress of being there but it continued. The vet said to try rice & chicken, it got worse. I tried at least 5 different dog foods all claiming to be anti allergy but none made any difference . I then came across Akela when looking on line & thought I'd try that. Within a couple of days his stools were solid and he actually loved the food so much I wrote to WholePrey to complain my dog was turning into a pig. He's now been on it for 4 years. The vet commented on how good his coat & condition is for a 10 yr old. My sister just got a puppy & on my recommendation also gives her dog Akela & he loves it. I would definitely recommend Akela especially if your dog has a sensitive stomach . I order on line which is easy & the service is excellent .
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Long term success.”
Reviewed 18th June 2021
We struggled for a couple of years to find food which was healthy and suitable for our Golden retriever, Poppy. She became quite picky over what she was being fed and we found out that she had an intolerance to chicken. It must be about three years ago that it was suggested that we should try Akela grain-free Suffolk duck Kibble. To say "we have never looked back" would be an understatement, Poppy absolutely loves the food and being in Golden just can't get enough! We are able to feed her three meals a day of just the right quantity and use some kibble held back for treats. This helps to control her weight. Poppy is healthy, happy and full of energy. Both Poppy and us are grateful to Akela. We order online, delivery is prompt and fits in well with our routine.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Just the BEST!!”
Reviewed 17th May 2021
Absolutely fantastic food my 2 springer spaniel puppies are on the chicken medium paws and doing so well poo is solid and a lot lot less than previous food the quality is fantastic absolutely no dust or crumbs when u get to bottom of bag like so many other’s packaging is top quality and delivery was really quick I will never change highly recommend!!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Excellent quality and service”
Reviewed 13th May 2021
We struggled to find a good quality dry food with a large kibble - for our large German Shepherd who struggles with small biscuit pieces. The Akela range has provided not only the size but the quality is also excellent.
Bear is a big fan and he is looking really good on it. We have just started using the wet food as well and are equally as impressed by the quality and value for money.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
3 reviews
“My dogs love Akela food and treats ”
Reviewed 8th May 2021
I have brought Akela 80:20 dry kibble for my St. Bernard since a puppy. Her tummy didn’t agree with the salmon one but since changed to the duck one she has thrived as well as my new Labrador.
They completely go mad for the beef fillet sticks as a treat too
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Happy Dog ”
Reviewed 4th May 2021
Switched to this brand a couple of years ago now & have never regretted it. My dog loved the kibble instantly and since the first order we’ve tried the wet food, treats & the advent calendar which was a real hit! The food quality is excellent, the packaging is also excellent and the customer service is excellent. No complaints from me or my happy healthy dog.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
Pwllheli, Gwynedd, Wales
2 reviews
“Excellent food and reliable dispatch and delivery.”
Reviewed 3rd May 2021
After trying to find a food for my dog, who have several food allergies, I tried Akela
70 : 30 complete working dog wet tinned dog food. In particular the Venison, Kangaroo and Mixed game fitted the bill well. The food is all meat ,no jelly or gravy. My dog eats every morsal and has no more upset tummy through eating the wrong food for her.I also feed a slice of Akela Digestive Pumpkin aid with each twice daily meal , which adds fibre and keeps poo firm .Reasonably priced and excellent delivery service. Highly recommended.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Fantastic wholesome food for my dogs ”
Reviewed 27th April 2021
I have 5 dogs of the complicated kind, British and French bulldogs and a beautiful 12 year old Shsrpei. I researched food for a very long time and tried several before I found Akela. I have fed my bunch 80:20 free range chicken now for over 2 years and all are healthy, wet nosed and shiny coated. Couldn’t ask for a better food.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Inhales his food”
Reviewed 25th April 2021
After lots of research and reading endless reviews I opted for Akela Scottish salmon 80/20. What can I say my dog inhales the food and clearly loves it. Too early to tell if it lives up to the hype re coat condition but he enjoys it and that for me is the main thing. As you feed less than other brands it works out cost effective, although my dog feels a bit hard done by as he's getting less. Very quick delivery. I asked a few questions re how much to feed and Akela support staff replied promptly and were a great help. I would definitely recommend and am now a long term customer.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
We’re Social! Facebook Facebook Facebook Facebook Connect With Us