Akela WholePrey

Akela WholePrey say:

Affordable vet-approved 80:20 nutrition. Made in Britain.

Akela WholePrey
99% of users rated this business as excellent or very good.
Ranked 1 in Dog Food
Ranking calculated based on average score and the most reviews. Businesses need more than 5 reviews to feature at the top.
680 reviews

Recent review

26th November 2021
“Reliably consistent”
We were put onto this dog food by the breeder of our dog. I am pleased to say that he is now 5 years old and we have never had a single issue of upse…

680 people have reviewed Akela WholePrey


Member ratings

Excellent
655
Very Good
19
Average
3
Poor
2
Terrible
1

Rating summary

Enjoyed by dog
Ingredients
Quality
Value for money
680 reviews (1 page) sorted by
1 review
“Reliably consistent”
Reviewed 26th November 2021
We were put onto this dog food by the breeder of our dog. I am pleased to say that he is now 5 years old and we have never had a single issue of upset stomach or any other digestive disorder which we have encountered with previous brands. The food suits our dog and they never play around with the mixture or add new things which can play havoc with a dogs digestive system. I would recommend this food to anyone.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Hoorah. Wet dog food back in stock”
Reviewed 13th November 2021
My dog is a large rescue lurcher. He is young and a high energy pet. This means he needs quite a lot of food each day( in the early days three meals a day). I feed him on a mixture of kibble and wet food. This makes giving him high quality food affordable as good quality ingredients naturally costs more than a food full of cheap grains and water.
His tummy loves the fish feast kibble( so many foods didn’t suit) and I love how nutritious it is for him.
He doesn’t love the wet food he ADORES it and is so happy it is back in stock. Whilst it has been out of stock he has tried so many other brands and none compare. It smells good and you can see the solid goodness as soon as you open the tin. He particularly likes the beef and the kangaroo and comes to tell me how good they are after he has emptied his bowl.
The delivery is always efficient and is good value.



  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Grain free quality dry food”
Reviewed 3rd November 2021
I feed a range of food to my dogs, but the only dry food I feed is Akela. I have weaned puppies on it, and my adults enjoy it. Delivery is always amazingly fast and I will continue to feed Akela.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Excellence at it's best.”
Reviewed 31st October 2021
We have two Australian Labradoodles and have an Akela Customer since 2019. Our dogs were weaned on Akela Dry Food along with Akela Wet Food and they simply love it. One has Salmon dry along with Duck
and Turkey wet tinned, the other Chicken dry along with Wild Game wet tinned. Both dry and wet foods are of an excellent quality and of a price I would expect to pay for our dogs to be healthy and happy.
The service of this company matches the quality of the products - excellent communication, speed of delivery and always on hand for any questions you may have.
This company value your custom and you feel part of an extended family. We wouldn't go anywhere else.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Excellent product from and excellent company ”
Reviewed 19th September 2021
I have been using Akela for about 4 years. We have a black lab, a Jack and parsons terrier. They all thrive on the dried Akela food. The delivery is first class and their communication with me fast and efficient. I really recommend this young British company. Give them a try.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
3 reviews
“Best dog food I have ever used.”
Reviewed 9th September 2021
I have been using this food for over 5 years now & my dogs love it just as much now as the first time they ate it. It has good quality ingredients, based on a dogs natural diet in the wild. No cereals, grains or fillers to bulk it out so very little waste. My dogs stools are perfect, they are in good heath & I have recommended this food to so many people, none of whom have switched back once they have used it.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“The only food for our dog”
Reviewed 25th August 2021
After years of dietary problems and vets testing for food allergies - we have arrived at Akela Wholeprey Fish Feast- and this is the perfect food for Flapjack our Golden Retriever - we were expecting that we would end up on some horrendously expensive prescription diet - but not so Wholeprey is very reasonably priced for a product of it's quality, I would not hesitate to recommend it to others.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Puppy chicken ”
Reviewed 15th August 2021
We started on the fish one whicb he loved - the breeder gave it to us - seemed to give him a runny tummy so on Akela advice we switched to chicken (slowly) which we were sent free of charge and his tummy issues went away
Great brand, great customer service
Very happy :)
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“1 fussy dog”
Reviewed 30th July 2021
At 5 years old we had our dog tested for allergies as he had all sorts of issues. Mainly itchy eyes, licking paws and bad stomach. After looking at ingredients thoroughly and reading independently written reviews we started our dog with Akela 80/20 duck small kibble. We haven't looked back, he loves them, never wastes them and it's lucky he loves this flavour as it's the perfect healthy food combination for him which won't trigger his allergies. We still feed him the treats and cooked meats but Akela is his daily food. He's 10 in August and we will be buying him this for years to come. Did I mention Akela customer services? Exemplary by the way, both as advisers and helpful regarding diet, weight, product and feeding guidelines. Offering samples of new products when you buy and genuinely interested in the wellbeing of you and your pet. I will stick with them and advise my friends to do the same.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
Fishponds, Bristol, South West
3 reviews
“Great for GSD's with sensitive stomachs”
Reviewed 28th July 2021
After trying many well known brands (rated by pet shops & vet promoted) we still had a skinny GSD pup with cowpat stools/diarrhea. Vet recommendation of chicken & rice just made the situation worse & he got so upset when he didn't quite make it outside to go. Searching the internet for answers I came across this site & after careful consideration I chose AKELA duck/salmon dry kibble. From the 3rd day his stools were fully formed for the first time in over 12 months, within a few weeks his body gained weight & looked completely healthy, happy & had the energy a pup should have. As he's got older & we've got wiser, an allergy/DNA test confirms he is highly allergic to chicken, plus turkey, grain & a whole list of other foods, so we have eliminated any chicken etc & grain from his diet. We have introduced raw duck/beef/lamb to his dry kibble which he absolutely devours. We also feed our Scottie guests same kibble although he's not keen on the raw foods lol. Highly recommend this brand.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Kangaroo strips ”
Reviewed 24th July 2021
My dog Fletcher has recently been diagnosed with multiple allergies so I was looking for some treats that were made up of a meat that he has never been exposed to. After a quick search I found very little but Akela came up trumps with their strips of 100% dried kangaroo. They are a great size for him (he weighs 44kg so likes big treats!) but they can be easily snapped into smaller bits. The good news is that Fletcher loves them and so far hasn’t had a bad reaction!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Great product ”
Reviewed 18th July 2021
Our dog was fed this as a puppy , we have carried on with it as it’s a reasonable price if bought in quantity. She has a bowl of kibble with a couple of teaspoons of the wet food mixed in. She is a Australian labradoodle and particularly likes the kangaroo , probably just coincidence lol .
Easy to order always here within a few days , buying the 36 tins is good value and I would say looks good quality with bits of veg in it !
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed 25th June 2021
I got my mastiff/ GSD from Battersea who thought his loose stools was due to the stress of being there but it continued. The vet said to try rice & chicken, it got worse. I tried at least 5 different dog foods all claiming to be anti allergy but none made any difference . I then came across Akela when looking on line & thought I'd try that. Within a couple of days his stools were solid and he actually loved the food so much I wrote to WholePrey to complain my dog was turning into a pig. He's now been on it for 4 years. The vet commented on how good his coat & condition is for a 10 yr old. My sister just got a puppy & on my recommendation also gives her dog Akela & he loves it. I would definitely recommend Akela especially if your dog has a sensitive stomach . I order on line which is easy & the service is excellent .
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Long term success.”
Reviewed 18th June 2021
We struggled for a couple of years to find food which was healthy and suitable for our Golden retriever, Poppy. She became quite picky over what she was being fed and we found out that she had an intolerance to chicken. It must be about three years ago that it was suggested that we should try Akela grain-free Suffolk duck Kibble. To say "we have never looked back" would be an understatement, Poppy absolutely loves the food and being in Golden just can't get enough! We are able to feed her three meals a day of just the right quantity and use some kibble held back for treats. This helps to control her weight. Poppy is healthy, happy and full of energy. Both Poppy and us are grateful to Akela. We order online, delivery is prompt and fits in well with our routine.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Just the BEST!!”
Reviewed 17th May 2021
Absolutely fantastic food my 2 springer spaniel puppies are on the chicken medium paws and doing so well poo is solid and a lot lot less than previous food the quality is fantastic absolutely no dust or crumbs when u get to bottom of bag like so many other’s packaging is top quality and delivery was really quick I will never change highly recommend!!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Excellent quality and service”
Reviewed 13th May 2021
We struggled to find a good quality dry food with a large kibble - for our large German Shepherd who struggles with small biscuit pieces. The Akela range has provided not only the size but the quality is also excellent.
Bear is a big fan and he is looking really good on it. We have just started using the wet food as well and are equally as impressed by the quality and value for money.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
3 reviews
“My dogs love Akela food and treats ”
Reviewed 8th May 2021
I have brought Akela 80:20 dry kibble for my St. Bernard since a puppy. Her tummy didn’t agree with the salmon one but since changed to the duck one she has thrived as well as my new Labrador.
They completely go mad for the beef fillet sticks as a treat too
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Happy Dog ”
Reviewed 4th May 2021
Switched to this brand a couple of years ago now & have never regretted it. My dog loved the kibble instantly and since the first order we’ve tried the wet food, treats & the advent calendar which was a real hit! The food quality is excellent, the packaging is also excellent and the customer service is excellent. No complaints from me or my happy healthy dog.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
Pwllheli, Gwynedd, Wales
2 reviews
“Excellent food and reliable dispatch and delivery.”
Reviewed 3rd May 2021
After trying to find a food for my dog, who have several food allergies, I tried Akela
70 : 30 complete working dog wet tinned dog food. In particular the Venison, Kangaroo and Mixed game fitted the bill well. The food is all meat ,no jelly or gravy. My dog eats every morsal and has no more upset tummy through eating the wrong food for her.I also feed a slice of Akela Digestive Pumpkin aid with each twice daily meal , which adds fibre and keeps poo firm .Reasonably priced and excellent delivery service. Highly recommended.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Fantastic wholesome food for my dogs ”
Reviewed 27th April 2021
I have 5 dogs of the complicated kind, British and French bulldogs and a beautiful 12 year old Shsrpei. I researched food for a very long time and tried several before I found Akela. I have fed my bunch 80:20 free range chicken now for over 2 years and all are healthy, wet nosed and shiny coated. Couldn’t ask for a better food.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Inhales his food”
Reviewed 25th April 2021
After lots of research and reading endless reviews I opted for Akela Scottish salmon 80/20. What can I say my dog inhales the food and clearly loves it. Too early to tell if it lives up to the hype re coat condition but he enjoys it and that for me is the main thing. As you feed less than other brands it works out cost effective, although my dog feels a bit hard done by as he's getting less. Very quick delivery. I asked a few questions re how much to feed and Akela support staff replied promptly and were a great help. I would definitely recommend and am now a long term customer.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Excellent, quality dog food. ”
Reviewed 25th April 2021
I have been feeding Akela since February ‘15, after years of searching for a high quality grain-free dog food and trying most of them!
The quality of the biscuit is always excellent and I have fed the Suffolk Duck and Fish Feast from weaned puppies to adulthood and have healthy, happy, dogs (including multiple champions), with great skin and coats.

My only feedback would be, I wished they produced bags bigger than 10kg as, with multiple dogs, there is a lot of packaging waste.
Other than that I cannot fault the food or the service from Akela and I would highly recommend to anyone looking for a high quality, grain-free dog food.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“FANTASTIC ALL ROUND!!! the best. ”
Reviewed 22nd April 2021
Fantastic food, service and kindly sponsor our assistance dogs. Perfect all round. FASD Dogs UK
Thank you akela
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Best dog food around”
Reviewed 20th April 2021
i have over 20 dogs some with skin conditions and Akela is the only food i will use.
all of my dogs coats are gleaming and their health is fantastic !. add to that the service is 5 star .
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Amazing quality & value for money”
Reviewed 14th April 2021
My dog has never said no to anything by Akela and we've pretty much tried the lot! Love the varied kibble sizes so I can use the small paws for enrichment activities. She loves the fish skin & kangaroo treats the best.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Luna Loves ... this food!”
Reviewed 13th April 2021
Totally would recommend this food. Good value. Efficient ordering process. Quick delivery. Luna loves it!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Top quality Nutritious dog food!”
Reviewed 18th March 2021
We are breeders of cocker spaniels and we believe that feeding Akela dry dog food gives our puppies the best start in life. Our adult dogs also love it. You cannot skimp on dog food, Akela is well priced and superbly healthy for our dogs. We can fully recommend it to anyone looking for a top quality dog food
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Best food for my boy”
Reviewed 16th March 2021
Fantastic food and although, its an expensive food, you definitely get what you pay for. You pretty much feed half of what you would with any normal food as its condensed so it actually lasts longer than cheaper foods. My border collie loves it and scoffs it down. Firm poos are also a bonus. (Sorry). Delivery direct from akela is top notch even thru brexit and the communications for any info is 2nd to none.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Fabulous food”
Reviewed 15th March 2021
I have been using Akela kibble for my dogs alongside raw for several years now. Akela also do a selection of raw which is fabulous quality.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Bilbo's Favourite”
Reviewed 15th March 2021
Bilbo is very happy with the Akela Suffolk Duck which he has had now for nearly two years, it's mixed with some meat and a slot of fish oil which he enjoys.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
We’re Social! Facebook Facebook Facebook Facebook Connect With Us