Akela WholePrey

Akela WholePrey say:

Affordable vet-approved 80:20 nutrition. Made in Britain.

Akela WholePrey
99% of users rated this business as excellent or very good.
Ranked 1 in Dog Food
Ranking calculated based on average score and the most reviews. Businesses need more than 5 reviews to feature at the top.
657 reviews

Recent review

20th April 2021
“Best dog food around”
i have over 20 dogs some with skin conditions and Akela is the only food i will use. all of my dogs coats are gleaming and their health is fantastic …

657 people have reviewed Akela WholePrey


Member ratings

Excellent
632
Very Good
19
Average
3
Poor
2
Terrible
1

Rating summary

Enjoyed by dog
Ingredients
Quality
Value for money
657 reviews (1 page) sorted by
1 review
“Best dog food around”
Reviewed 20th April 2021
i have over 20 dogs some with skin conditions and Akela is the only food i will use.
all of my dogs coats are gleaming and their health is fantastic !. add to that the service is 5 star .
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Amazing quality & value for money”
Reviewed 14th April 2021
My dog has never said no to anything by Akela and we've pretty much tried the lot! Love the varied kibble sizes so I can use the small paws for enrichment activities. She loves the fish skin & kangaroo treats the best.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Luna Loves ... this food!”
Reviewed 13th April 2021
Totally would recommend this food. Good value. Efficient ordering process. Quick delivery. Luna loves it!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Top quality Nutritious dog food!”
Reviewed 18th March 2021
We are breeders of cocker spaniels and we believe that feeding Akela dry dog food gives our puppies the best start in life. Our adult dogs also love it. You cannot skimp on dog food, Akela is well priced and superbly healthy for our dogs. We can fully recommend it to anyone looking for a top quality dog food
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Best food for my boy”
Reviewed 16th March 2021
Fantastic food and although, its an expensive food, you definitely get what you pay for. You pretty much feed half of what you would with any normal food as its condensed so it actually lasts longer than cheaper foods. My border collie loves it and scoffs it down. Firm poos are also a bonus. (Sorry). Delivery direct from akela is top notch even thru brexit and the communications for any info is 2nd to none.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Fabulous food”
Reviewed 15th March 2021
I have been using Akela kibble for my dogs alongside raw for several years now. Akela also do a selection of raw which is fabulous quality.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Bilbo's Favourite”
Reviewed 15th March 2021
Bilbo is very happy with the Akela Suffolk Duck which he has had now for nearly two years, it's mixed with some meat and a slot of fish oil which he enjoys.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Akela wet dog food recipes”
Reviewed 1st March 2021
The customer service at Akela is second to none. I've had to transition my boy - a big and daft Golden Retriever - from his previous dry food after recent illness (when he point blank refused to eat it, which, for a Golden, is a statement!). Due to a mineral imbalance I need to know a lot of food values that are not typically listed for wet recipes. Akela promptly answered every question I asked, even going to the extent of working with their nutrionist and manufacture to do analysis. This gave me the knowledge and confidence in both the product and the company to go ahead and purchase several recipes. My boy absolutely loves all his new Akela food and the difference in him is noticeable. On top of that, the price discount for bulk buying direct from Akela makes it incredible value for such high premium food. Best decision I could have made. John, Manchester UK
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Excellent dog food”
Reviewed 21st February 2021
This food is a life saver for my dog. Bruno is a young Labrador suffering from a bad allergy with runny poo and itchy skin since we moved to Akela Fish Feast, not a single problem has occurred. His coat is beautifully shiny and his poop is nice and firm. Delivery is always super fast. I’m very happy that Akela WholePrey was recommended to me.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Our new puppy was brought up on Fish Feast.”
Reviewed 17th February 2021
Good size packs available of Akela Fish Feast, easily sits on the the worktop, easy to pour/weigh and our puppy loves it. Many thanks WholePrey.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Wholesome, high-quality food”
Reviewed 11th February 2021
We have used Akela 80:20 kibble for the last few years because we like our dog eating the high quality ingredients. Our dog adores the buffalo ears, which helps to clean his teeth and is low in fat.
The staff are also helpful and orders are always received on time.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Top quality food ”
Reviewed 11th February 2021
Our border collie is extremely active, she runs with us miles every day and is an enthusiastic frisbee catcher. So she needs good quality food to keep her in top form. We give her the Akela 80:20 dry food, either original or duck, which keeps her in really good condition. And she loves the taste. Plus Akela is a lot less expensive that many other brands.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Healthy nutritious food and treats ”
Reviewed 31st January 2021
Great choice on the shop, reorder option is great, delivery is always fast and my Shepsky can’t get enough of it.
The ingredients in the dried food reads like a superfood checklist - he eats better than we do!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“THE best kibble ”
Reviewed 30th January 2021
Our 3 year old 53kg male Rhodesian Ridgeback is thriving on Akela Wholeprey, I cannot recommend highly enough. We started him on an expensive Canadian wholeprey product as I wanted a quality feed with no cheap carbohydrate fillers but when I found this British, Suffolk based product and looked into the nutrition and production (I’m trained in medicine and nutrition) I switched immediately. Bo was good on the Canadian product but he is even better on Akela- healthy, happy and for once firmer stools. He has a sensitive digestion but always settled on Akela and loves it. The only thing I add is salmon oil. The company is great to deal with, delivery is prompt and also free for 3 bags at a time. Perfect!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Sydney the Australian Labradoodle”
Reviewed 30th January 2021
We’d had a labradoodle prior to Sydney arriving during Easter lockdown 2019. Sydney came with a trial pack of Akela small paws dry mix and as he’d been weened on it we continued with the feed

He’s now 12 months old and has thrived on the kibble. The training has been aided by using the dog treats - certainly a winner

He’s now discovered the extra hard beef scalp which we use after a long walk and wash down to calm and settle him

The Akela range is certainly different and we’ve yet to find something which he doesn’t like! We tried loads of the treats on offer because the range is all natural and that’s important to us

Well done Akela ????????

  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 29th January 2021
Have been ordering from this company Akela for a few years now, great products, dog food is high quality and not rubbish or fillers, perfect, having lost 2 dogs with cancer i decided to completely change what i feed my dogs and i find this one of the best on the market, prices are great and delivery is fast, superb company
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“My dogs love Akela and are thriving on it”
Reviewed 25th January 2021
My 4 cockapoos aged 3 years, 2 1/2 years, 1 year and 6 month old all love Akela and have been on it since we have had them at 8 weeks old, they all are a very healthy weight, and have absolutely no digestion problems.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Akela. Great food for healthy dogs”
Reviewed 22nd January 2021
I started feeding my dogs Akela late last summer and the dogs simply love it. Its made with fresh ingredients, looks and smells great. My dogs are fit, healthy with lovely shiny coats. I only wish I’d known about Akela years ago.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Growing pup.”
Reviewed 19th January 2021
When I got my Old Thyme Bulldog pup he was on a raw diet.He is on his second 10kg mbag of small paws salmon and is thriving having been fully transitioned onto dry food.Not the cheapest but you are getting what you pay for excellent product and fantastic support and back up.
Very impressed having had dogs for 50yrs and so grateful to my daughter Siobhan for the info she gave me having used Akela for her Corgi.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Excellent product ”
Reviewed 17th January 2021
Good wholesome food for my puppy. No hidden preservatives with a good choice of meat/fish. Website is excellent with a handy feeding guide.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“80:40 dry kibble (Suffolk duck)”
Reviewed 17th January 2021
My 7mth old lurcher has been on this from 4mths old and is thriving.
Very good delivery service and it’s British :-)
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Akela Original Small Paws Dog Food”
Reviewed 16th January 2021
Great high quality high protein product that is so much better than Canine. Made from real prime cuts of meat or fish rather than carcass. I changed my puppy up as soon as possible after researching various food brands and their ingredients. It’s shocking how much vet approved brands use grain and ash as large amount of fillers in dried food.
Recommended to me by a friend with same breed that has occasional sensitivity and so far it’s been fantastic.
No reactions, no problem with stools etc.
Great customer service and communication and local agent that volunteered to deliver to my garden during lockdown in lashing rain.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
Pwllheli, Gwynedd, Wales
1 review
“Great Food and Excellent Delivery”
Reviewed 14th January 2021
I feed Akela to one of my rescue dogs Hattie, who has food intolerances and several other allergies.
Hattie, who came from Romania had been starved and was survivng solely on stale bread and bones from the abattoir . This left her gut and immune system in a complete mess. After having a blood test done to establish what she was allergic to I found she was intollerant of most meats apart from Kangaroo, Venison and Wild Game, All of which are not normally fed grain. I also use Digestive Aid Pumpkin Mix which provides fibre to help with her digestion. She has gained weight, her gut health is in pretty good condition.
So it goes without saying that I thoroughly recommend Akela food . I would also praise the swift despatch, delivery and choice of carriers offered . Thank you Akela for being there with a great service before and particularly during the pandemic. A British firm that you can rely on.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Best quality at the best price”
Reviewed 13th January 2021
Since feeding Akela my labradors ear infections have improved hugely & no where near as severe. We stick to the large paws Salmon & fish feast 80:20 as her main kibble. I use the medium paws duck for my pet sitting & dog walking clients & small salmon kibble for enrichment toys. I also use the Apple Cider Vinegar, fish skin treats and some tins (pumpkin & 70:30) for licki mats and other treat enrichment. Cannot fault the quality or price & love how responsibily sourced all their products are. Thank you for supplying a great service!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“My miniature dachshunds love Akela ❤️”
Reviewed 9th January 2021
We transitioned to Akela when we discovered that one of the pups was reacting badly to chicken and the other one kept getting inflamed ears, which we thought it might be down to grains. We wanted a clean, simple but nutritious food that would work for both pups and it was actually a friend who recommended Akela to us, as she was feeding it to her working Cocker Spaniel with great results. We started with the 80:20 Scottish Salmon, initially fed a bit less than you normally would, as per Akela feeding recommendation. It greatly improved their digestion, stools and coats and the itchy, inflamed ears went away. We then tried the 80:20 Fish Feast and it’s still great; the dogs love it and we’ve seen the same amazing results in their overall health. We also buy the Snax Stix and other meat treats and chews, like the Wolf Fish Skins and Lamb Ears, end they are all loved by our hounds. Recently we’ve added Akela goji berries and cranberries to our order for a boost of antioxidants and the dogs love them as a little daily treat. We are very pleased with the quality of the food, the fast delivery and great service we get from Akela and I always recommend them to other dog owners!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Extremely satisfied customer”
Reviewed 6th January 2021
The title of the review refers to Hattie, our 2 year old golden retriever. We've fed her Akela since she was a puppy and she's now a healthy, fit and energetic dog. The food contains top quality ingredients - we feed the dry kibble with some wet food mixed in. Hattie also loves sampling the huge variety of rewards and treats available on the website. The delivery service is always very quick and reliable. We wouldn't feed her anything else.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Great company!”
Reviewed 10th December 2020
Our 9 week cockerpoo just loves the Small Paws kibble, we are using Original with a little wet food for her main meals and the Puppy Salmon for tasty and healthy ‘training’ treats. Easy to order on line and great delivery service.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Beef Scalp Dog Chew”
Reviewed 2nd December 2020
Our Labrador absolutely loved this. She could smell it as soon as the delivery arrived. I only gave her half as it is huge! But it lasted several hours of constant chewing so it definitely lived up to its description of long lasting chew. I’m always sceptical as she’s an eating machine and normally goes through most chews within minutes. This is definitely worth the money and I will buy again. Happy dog, happy owner!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“If Carlsberg made dog food...”
Reviewed 22nd November 2020
I am hobby breeder with over 13 years experience breeding dogs. We always get great comments from vets as to the condition our puppies are in at 8 weeks old when they have gone off to their new homes and visited the new owners vet. It is nice to see ongoing innovation with the introduction of new products and although the market is becoming crowded Akela more than holds it own.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Excellent food, terrible packaging ”
Reviewed 19th November 2020
We love Akela, from their dry 80/20 kibble, their natural treats and their frozen raw range. Our dogs look and feel great. We order on a very regular basis as it the only food we would feed our dogs.
One thing that could be changed if they wanted to is the packaging the frozen raw food is delivered in. Inside the delivery box is a large amount of polystyrene rather than recyclable matting. Surrounding the polystyrene is meters upon meters of non recyclable shrink wrap. Then covering the product itself is frozen water filled plastic.
Surely there is a better way? If companies that supply frozen ready meals direct can be more environmentally friendly with their packaging then surely Akela can be too?
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
We’re Social! Facebook Facebook Facebook Facebook Connect With Us