Akela WholePrey

Akela WholePrey say:

Affordable vet-approved 80:20 nutrition. Made in Britain.

Akela WholePrey
99% of users rated this business as excellent or very good.
Ranked 1 in Dog Food
Ranking calculated based on average score and the most reviews. Businesses need more than 5 reviews to feature at the top.
560 reviews

Recent review

10th December 2018
“Akela is my top choice”
Since switching to Akela a few months ago, I can see the change in my Lab. She looks healthier and IS healthier. The reviews are true when they say it…

560 people have reviewed Akela WholePrey


Member ratings

Excellent
538
Very Good
17
Average
3
Poor
2
Terrible
0

Rating summary

Enjoyed by dog
Ingredients
Quality
Value for money
560 reviews (1 page) sorted by
1 review
“Akela is my top choice”
Reviewed 10th December 2018
Since switching to Akela a few months ago, I can see the change in my Lab. She looks healthier and IS healthier. The reviews are true when they say it is the best food to feed your dog. Betty (the Lab) is truly happy on the inside and the outside! I wont change and hope Akela is always there.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Great products! Great support!”
Reviewed 9th December 2018
After stumbling across the Akela range when searching for a quality food for our new french bulldog puppy, all I can say is we are very pleased. We have a very happy pup that loves his food.
I also contacted them via message with some queries and the response was very professional and helpful. Big thumbs up for me!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
Wells, Somerset, South West
2 reviews
“Happy dog!”
Reviewed 28th November 2018
On our 3rd bag now. Keytos is thriving on it and other fussy dogs never turn their noses up when I offer one as a treat! Usually buy Small Paws for my mini schnauzer and a small bag of Medium Paws to use as treats but mixed up this time and bought all Medium Paws but she seems to be managing them ok! Highly recommended!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Salty loves her Akela dog food”
Reviewed 26th November 2018
Salty prefers the duck blend.
We buy this product and follow the feeding guidelines. Salty our English cream golden retriever looks great and her coat feels glorious.
She enjoys this food and has minimal output as good quality food that appears to not have must waste within. Recommend it to all our dog owner friends.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“A very happy Cockapoo”
Reviewed 15th November 2018
Our dog has always been a fussy eater and would rarely eat either of her meals. It got to the point where we were mixing in a bit of our food into hers just so she’d eat something. A visit to the vet for her annual check up and the vet said they’d recently had got a cockapoo and hadn’t believed about dogs being fussy eaters until now. She had recently switched her dogs food to Akela so we gave it a try and have never looked back since. Our dog now cleans her bowl out at both her meals. We use a mixture of dried food and the tins of food and she loves both. No more dodgy tummies for her either which she used to get on a regular basis.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Amazing for sensitive tums!”
Reviewed 9th November 2018
My Cockapoo came to me rescued from a dreadful puppy farm. He was roughly 12 weeks old then, and had the most dreadful wind and runny poos. After trying several different grain free dry and wet foods, and even prescription food- I could find one that cured him....until (after much research) I found Alkela. I started him on the dry Duck food, and what a result! He is free from wind, and has normal poos which are so much easier to pick up! It really works for him. He has been on Akela for about a year now, and I also give him some of their wet food mixed in with his breakfast meal, and buy their dog treats too - all good! I so highly recommend their products.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“A very happy Border Terrier ”
Reviewed 9th November 2018
We have had Mojo on another leading foodmsince bringing her home at 8mths. They monitor her weight and send us a balanced kibble diet. We have tried adding in some of their wet food to stave off boredom , in very small amounts but it is causing bad wind and an upset bum!
We were given a sample of the small paws duck and she has gone mad for it, so much so that we have ordered some. We aim to use up the other food we have and try Akela full time to see how she gets on. In the meanwhile she is having Akela small in her snuffle rug and the large in her big Kong as treats and she is gets really excited when she knows it's coming. Well done!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Amazing dog food!!”
Reviewed 4th November 2018
I have a 2 year old Labradoodle called Woody and I've had him since he was 8 weeks old.
I have had ALOT of problems with him when it comes to his diet. As he has a VERY sensitive tummy. So after ALOT of vet visits, trying about 7 different brands of dog food and talking with a dog nutritionist, we came across Akela (recommended by Woody's agility trainer)
Not only does Woody love the food, but I noticed a change in this appearance, behaviour and health straight away! Wish we had known about Akela from the day he came home and joined the family.
I can't actually recommend this dog food more to people! It's fantastic!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Fantastic service and food”
Reviewed 31st October 2018
I have to border collies pups both now 11 months old, they have had this food since I have brought them home, we have had the dry the wet and now the raw and they love it all. Also their service is excellent. I would definitely recommend them.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Akela dog food ”
Reviewed 31st October 2018
I’ve just reared a litter of puppies on the Akela small paws. I was so pleased with it. Lovely healthy pups with gorgeous coats and bone.
Rosie has now progressed to the medium paws which she loves..
I also use the wet pumpkin mix to add a bit of variety, and she adores the treats.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“a great food”
Reviewed 30th October 2018
Our pup (cocker) is 6 months now and on his second bag. He isn't a greedy dog so does leave some, (I think he preferred the fish feast to the original he's on now. )
Our other two adult dogs are on raw, but I didn't feel confident in switching pup to this until fully grown and so wanted a quality grain free food until then. Akela fits the bill.
My dog trainer recommended this to me, he was on orijen, but this is superior and cheaper too!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“My cavachon Daisy loves this food, ”
Reviewed 19th October 2018
I have finally found a food for my cavachon who is nearly 3 years old that she will eat dry with no hesitation! She is doing really well on it too so full of life! Her coat is beautiful too,
And I think the price is good too! It’s very reasonable for a good food.
I feel so much better knowing I am giving her a good standard of food,
Her poop is so much better too!
Even though I was already feeding her a top brand food before this is so much better,
Love my baby Girl
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Bertie”
Reviewed 15th October 2018
Bertie is a large 12 year old labradoodle who we got from Manchester Dogs Home when he was 3 years- we have fed him with Akela dog food for many years and everyone says the same -he doesn’t look or act his age -so long may that continue.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Happy hound”
Reviewed 13th October 2018
We recently ordered the Akela wet food mixed pack alongside some of their kibble. We started with one 6 can pack and then the 36 can version because our dog just loves it. We ve tried other premium grain free hypoallergenic brands which we mix with kibble and they've met with mixed results. Generally he likes them to start with but gets bored but thus far there is no sign of this with Akela. He wasn't keen on the fishy one in the first pack so when we ordered the 36 can pack we simply skipped that one from our selections. His particular favourite seems to be turkey and duck. That's the great thing about the multipacks, there are 8 or 9 flavour options so you can pick the ones your dog prefers.
I did notice Akela include some ingredients in their recipes that some other hypoallergenic brands avoid (notably eggs) but we ve had no problems with this at all. I've deducted 1 point for this reason as I do think this can be an issue for some.
Last but not least the Akela is actually rather cheaper than some other premium brands we 've bought.
All in all a real winner.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“The best a dog can get. ”
Reviewed 11th October 2018
I looked into many brands of dog food available in pet shops and supermarkets, and couldn’t believe how little meat/protein they contained. They market the high rice/grain/potato content as being beneficial to your dog as a source of energy, but given that a dogs digestive system is ‘designed’ to convert protein into energy this is bunkum.
I searched the Internet looking for something more suitable, and found that there are a number of good quality foods available. I decided on Akela as it has a high protein content, no rice or grains and lots of vitamins and minerals. It was also ranked number 1 on most of the sites I visited.
My dog absolutely loves it, he is in very good condition and has a beautiful coat. Oh, and at £39.00 for a 10 kilo bag the price is great too!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
Dinnington, South Yorkshire, Yorkshire and the Humber
2 reviews
“Spaniel loves this food ”
Reviewed 6th October 2018
Our spaniel never tires of this food
He loves every flavour
Suffolk duck being his favourite
His cost is shiny and he’s a picture of health
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Excellent food for our dogs ”
Reviewed 6th October 2018
Dogs absolutely love it and I can tell the difference in quality just by opening the time of wet food and in their coats and energy since we moved from James wellbeloved kibble and butchers tins (which they came to us on from the rescue) after a bit of research I decided on Akela and not disappointed at all. They are probably eating better than I am !
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Best West and Dry Dog Food Ever!!!!”
Reviewed 3rd October 2018
We got fed up with our golden retriever having an upset stomach on general branded food sold at the local supermarket and pet shops that we went in search of a good quality food brand. We found Akela and have never looked back. Our dog loves the wet and dry food and its fantastic quality. We recommend this food to all our pet loving family and friends.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Amazing!!!”
Reviewed 29th September 2018
I foster boxer dogs for Boxer Welfare Scotland and we feed dogs in our care Akela fish 80:20. An amazing food suitable for any age. Dogs love it and look fantastic on it. Coats, breath and toileting improve within 24hrs. Would not go past this food and let me tell you we have tried many.
The picture is of 2 oldies in our care. They came into our care very underweight. Akela is helping these boys everyday.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Finally a food that suits!”
Reviewed 19th September 2018
My dog has numerous allergies. Finding Akela has been the best thing for my dog. He’s not a fussy eater at all so finding a food he will eat is no issue. But due to his allergies, my choices have been limited. We’ve tried wet, raw and dry all with varying degrees of success and all have been high quality food. But none have been able to cure his dry flaky skin. That is none other than Akela. His skin is no longer dry and his fur is so soft and shiny. Even his groomer was amazed by the change and she asked for the name of the food so she could tell other clients who’s dogs suffer like mine. If you aren’t sure whether to try it, what have you got to lose? The food is competitively priced, I’ve had no problems with delivery and communication with Akela is excellent.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Akela medium paws duck”
Reviewed 18th September 2018
Very good product. My whippet is in great condition on this diet. High meat content and no fillers is great for a wheat intolerant dog. Arrives very quickly after ordering too.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Akela for senior dogs”
Reviewed 13th September 2018
I have tried many foods over the years for my pugs, some of which have varying problems and requirements. My elderly pug , now 10, has an oesophageal pouch and requires his food to be made into a thick soup. I tried the Akela tinned food and he is a new dog. He has lost weight and is full of energy, bright and alert. ~The difference in him is marked. I also use the Akela dry on one of my other pugs who is unable to tolerate raw. This together with pumpkin digestive aid is a perfect food for her. She has gained weight from the undernourished puppy (rescue) that she was. I cannot recommend Akela enough.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Outstanding service and nutrition.”
Reviewed 17th August 2018
I think we’re all far more aware about checking the ingredients in our own food these days, and it’s surprising as well as worrying just what rubbish goes into human food.
My dog is an incredibly important member of my family, and it stands to reason that I want the best for him too.
It was a shock, then, to find out that his tinned dog food had more rubbish in it than my own pre-packed stuff.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed 11th August 2018
Bought Small Paws for my Fell Terrier. Started off with the trial sample packs and she seemed to like Original and Suffolk Duck but not so keen on the Fish Feast ( just her personal preference). So bought in the 1.5 kg bags of the two she liked and a mix pack of the tinned wet food to try her with.
All orders were received a few days after ordering with no problems and there's plenty of information on the company website about portion amounts and mixed feeding.
The dog has finished the Suffolk Duck bag and is just started the bigger bag of Original and still seems to be enjoying the food. I have been adding a small amount of the tinned wet food and the only one she's not been keen on is again the fish but again I think this is just her preference as all the tinned food has looked and smelled absolutely delicious.
Once I finish the 1.5kg bags I'll be going for the bigger bags. No point buying cheap food they won't eat as that's just a waste of money better burying something reasonably priced that will be eaten and no waste of food or money.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Akela medium paws”
Reviewed 9th August 2018
I have always struggles to get my 5year intact male Husky to eat let alone gain any kind of weight. I have always used James wellbeloved grain free dry complete but had to add things to encourage him to eat which was hit and miss apart from with my 10 year old Labradoodle that loved all the extras and had no problem in gaining the extra pounds! Added to the mix a new 1 year old greedy Frenchbulldog whine I recently acquired and finding something that would nourish them all took some research. Which is when I came across Akela. Huskynhas gone from Eating barley one meal a day to sometimes 3 bowls (its not every day) and is gaining weight. Labradoodle is trimming down and my Frenchbulldog is thriving gaining a glossy coat. His once dull dark coat is now looking more lilac. I didn’t think I would find a food that would interest my strange Husky and 5 bags in he’s still eating.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Akela all the way”
Reviewed 8th August 2018
Scamp is a Cocker, now 2.5yrs, after he came off his puppy starter pack from the breeder, we started him on a similar brand concept to Akela, as I'd read a really bad rewiew of the big named brands about the carbs (which I try to keep low myself) but he would get bored and he was on wet food for breakfast with the other for supper. At 1 he was on virtually the same but more expensive Canadian food, which was much better but he wasn't too excited ...... This time last year almost to the week we were given a sample bag of Akela mini size at The Game Fair, Scamp doesn't like any old dog biscuit on offer - always drops or refuses them, but at lunch that day we opened the bag and he ate the lot. After further research we ordered trial packs of the mini and medium, fish and original. A year on he is still eating them both in Medium - odd days he has a refusal but he's in great shape, very happy and healthy - one big poo a day like clockwork. I'm very interested to see that the Duck has a good review and I will be buying a small bag to see if this is a winner with him too.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Outstanding high-quality food!”
Reviewed 1st August 2018
After rescuing my GSD a few years ago, he was on a couple of different mediocre branded foods before I finally switched him to Akela after thorough research. The results have been nothing short of fantastic; a beautiful coat, healthy teeth, consistent stools and many more benefits have all stemmed from this high-quality diet. There's plenty of variety in their kibble and wet foods too, meaning dogs with unfortunate allergies to common ingredients may find a solution in the wide variety of novelty ingredients Akela has to offer. In regards to price, Akela costs less than one would expect for such a good quality food-when compared to the likes of James Wellbeloved or Royal Canin (both of which are rather poor quality), you are paying far less per day/month, especially if you follow the feeding guides. I promote Akela whenever and wherever I can, as it not only benefits the dogs who are put on it but it also allows the Akela brand to grow and offer an even better service. Though Akela's high, rich meat content doesn't sit well with all dogs, it is definitely worth trying; should your dog agree with it, the benefits are plentiful and both you and the dog will be more than satisfied with your choice.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“The best a pup can get! ”
Reviewed 23rd July 2018
We have changed our mini dachshund puppy from another dry food to Akela Small Paws Orginal. I spent ages researching dry food and raw food. We decided that a good quality dry food was best for us and our puppy, so after much digging, gave Akela a go. Ordered on line- the food arrived quickly. Our puppy wasn’t eating his original dry food at all and as soon as we offered Akela his tale was wagging and he was really tucking in. We use the salmon/fish/Suffolk duck sample packs as training treats (weighing out to make up his daily allowance) and the Original as his usual feed. We have noticed an improvement in his coat, energy, general appearance. The high protein content means his poops take a little longer to appear after food but they are much smaller (and less smelly!). He had absolutely no gastric upset from the switch- which took place over a 10 day period. It is a pleasure to watch him really enjoy his meals. Furthermore, as it is a highly and densely nutritious food, he needs much less of it than the original feed we were using so he is less likely to suffer from bloat (and good value for money). All in all, we have been delighted with the food and cannot wait to try some of the other treats on offer. Our sausage will stay on Akela into adulthood!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Fantastic food highly recommended!”
Reviewed 15th July 2018
We changed over to Akela for a few reasons, but mainly for the meat content. We have 2 spaniels who thrive on the food, their coats are shiney, they have lovely poos (gross I know) but they are ! They are very happy and content and I know I am feeding them the best dry food they could have.
The eldest had trouble with his anal gland and a funny tummy, bit Akela stopped it ! No problems anymore. We use the fish feast and Suffolk duck ! I highly recommend Akela, staff are really helpful, delivery is fast, the food is fantastic !!
I would never feed them anything else.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Excellent ”
Reviewed 12th July 2018
Dogs coat and condition have improved since we moved over to Akela. It’s reassuring to know exactly what goes into the food is good quality. My dogs are free feeders so food is always available but they are certainly not overweight in fact both are slightly under (4 years and 3 years). But are very active. I recommend this food mainly order the duck variety but occasionally have the original. Excellent value for money we used to have a cheaper food (well known brand) but found the dogs ate more whereas this brand they eat less but enjoy it more. So glad I found this food
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
We’re Social! Facebook Facebook Facebook Facebook Connect With Us