Akela WholePrey

Akela WholePrey say:

Affordable vet-approved 80:20 nutrition. Made in Britain.

Akela WholePrey
99% of users rated this business as excellent or very good.
Ranked 1 in Dog Food
Ranking calculated based on average score and the most reviews. Businesses need more than 5 reviews to feature at the top.
620 reviews

Recent review

11th August 2020
“An Akela dog through and through”
Bill our Border Terrier thrives on the Duck small Kibble and various wet dog food. Very pleased to see the excellent 100% meat snack sticks reintro…

620 people have reviewed Akela WholePrey


Member ratings

Excellent
597
Very Good
18
Average
3
Poor
2
Terrible
0

Rating summary

Enjoyed by dog
Ingredients
Quality
Value for money
620 reviews (1 page) sorted by
1 review
“I love Akela because my dog loves Akela!”
Reviewed 28th May 2015
I love Akela because my dog loves Akela! I've never seen anything devoured with such relish & her sleek coat tells me it's doing her good. Hope she likes the new fish flavour so that we can ring the changes.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Akela dog food ”
Reviewed 28th May 2015
Akela has made a massive difference to my dog. It has all the ingredients needed for her and also helped her loose a bit of weight and stay fit and healthy. She has tried many different brands but when you read the ingrediants and what nutrients are in each brand, nothing compares to Akela.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
East Taphouse, Cornwall, South West
1 review
“Great food for great dog”
Reviewed 28th May 2015
Having tried several types of food for my Newfoundland this is the one he enjoys. Great quality product that not only satisfys his appetite but also reassures me that he is getting evrything he needs to make a quality animal.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Terrific food for my cocker spaniels ”
Reviewed 28th May 2015
My cocker spaniels are nearly 3 years old and have been raw fed since puppies, but for practical reasons I have been looking for a dry food for convenience but without compromising on quality! After a long search I came across Akela and have not looked back since. The dogs love it, they wolf it down at every meal and their coats look fab!! Thanks guys :)
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“He loves it!”
Reviewed 28th May 2015
George can be a fussy eater, but with Akela I've not had any trouble getting him to eat...he loves it!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Eddie loves Akela”
Reviewed 28th May 2015
"Eddie loves Akela, the proof of which is he keeps going back to his bowl to lick it clean.
I love it because I know he is getting what he requires for a well balanced diet. "
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Akela is the best”
Reviewed 28th May 2015
I chose Akela for Elsa as it was highly recommended. The website is easy to use and delivery is brilliant. Elsa loves Akela and I love the fact that it is highly nutritional food with no additives and no mess. Akela is exceptionally good value, I buy the treat too which she loves. The customer care from the firm is second to none. I cannot speak highly enough of the quality.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“top quality food”
Reviewed 28th May 2015
I recently bought Akela and my 4 dogs love it. Being giant breeds they require top quality food, avoiding fillers that can cause more harm than good. I think using Akela will help me to give my dogs the best chances for a good healthy life.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Excellent food at reasonable price”
Reviewed 27th May 2015
When my 10 months old JR cross started going off her premium puppy food, the search was on for its adult replacement (food, not the puppy!). After trialling a couple of 80:20 formulas with little success, it was Akela's turn (thoughtfully, WholePrey allows you to try their product for free before committing to a larger bag). Since she started on it, the puppy -now 12 months old - looks forward to her meals once again. Made in Britain using excellent ingredients and, from the dog's point of view, highly nutritious and very tasty. The re-sealable pack is very convenient too.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Very Happy dogs!!”
Reviewed 27th May 2015
Both my 12 yr old Staffy and 3yr old greyhound absolutely love Akela! It is so good to find a complete food that suits both of their different needs. In a matter of weeks, both of their coats have become really sleek and shiny, their teeth are cleaner and they are just happier healthier dogs! My Staffy has so much more energy! She is brighter and happier and she bounds around the park like a puppy again! My adopted grey's flakey skin has completely gone and she seems calmer and more at home now. They look forward to meal times, they love the taste and always clear the bowl! (They are both usually pretty picky with their food). The best part is I know I am doing the best for them, the results are clear to see! Customer service is excellent too! Thank you Akela for being awesome!
PS: Can't wait for the cat food launch!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
Throckley, Tyne and Wear, North East
1 review
“Akela 80/20”
Reviewed 27th May 2015
Our 12 year old re-homed husky has a very sensitive tummy everything we tried didn;t seem to stay in very long ! so we got a free sample of Akela grain free WoW amazing Akela seems to keep him happy he loves it
looking forward to trying the new fish feast when it becomes available

Annie
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Akela 80/20”
Reviewed 27th May 2015
My two beagles love it!
Beags number one was fed on a well known kibble, slightly tubby, but healthy. On my FB beagle page 'allabout dogfood.co.uk 'was being discussed. Curiosity...3.5 /5 was my old dog food rating. Knew I could better. Found Akela, 5/5, ££ very good, thought I'd order a sample. Never looked back, now on my second 10kg.
Beags number two arrived six wks ago, she loves it.
Both my girls have shiny coats, lost weight, less poos!! And lick their lips.
Yes, I recommend Akela dog food, knowing I am feeding high quality food to my girls is pleasing. Thank you.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“The best dog food my jack has had”
Reviewed 27th May 2015
My German shepherd jack has had skin problems in the past including hot spots and dry flaky skin which itches, but since swapping to Akela all his skin problems are gone and he is a much happier dog. I had tried all the other dog foods but only this one has done the trick. My jack loves this food and always leaves a clean bowl. I can not recommend this food more highly.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“dog delicious”
Reviewed 27th May 2015
as with all foods dogs need to adjust,i have 2 active Shissons they seem very happy with Akela wholeprey they leave the old brand and eat the new.it seems to me they are very happy.i was looking for ingredients best for there health and vitality we will be using again,....... joby and misty can not wait until the new brand comes out .happy days.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Best of both worlds”
Reviewed 27th May 2015
Akela is the best kibble nutnutritionally and at an affordable price its simply the best of both worlds
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Akela dog food”
Reviewed 27th May 2015
Feeding your dogs the best food is a minefield both with quality ingredients and cost. The first and main ingredient for all dogs must be meat not fillers , after lots of research I found Akela . 80/20 composition ( 80% meat 20 veg) My dogs love it and knowing I'm feeding them good quality food with no rubbish in reassures me that I'm giving them the best I can afford.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“2 HAPPY LABS”
Reviewed 27th May 2015
They love this food and don't eat anything else with such enthusiasm, apart from their monthly steak !!!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Vet recommended”
Reviewed 27th May 2015
This is the first decent food that Amber has ever eaten, she's been stuck on Bakers so it is such a relief to get her on to something that's good and nutritious. My vet has highly recommended it too. Thank you....
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Quality Ingredients”
Reviewed 27th May 2015
I love Akela because of the quality ingredients, it's grain free, and a fantastic price for what it is! :)
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
Cheltenham, Gloucestershire, South West
1 review
“Excellent!!”
Reviewed 27th May 2015
Excellent value for money and good quality ingredients from a small local business. My shar pei loves this food and can't wait for his next meal time. Best food he's had and will be sticking with it
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“My dog loves it”
Reviewed 27th May 2015
Tried the regular flavour and I love it that my dog loves it. It is great to find a nutritious food that is loved as much as treats!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Akela Small Paws”
Reviewed 26th May 2015
I have 2 bichons that can be very fussy when it comes to food. In the past (with other 'premium' kibbles) I had to mix meat with every meal to make them eat, without meat they would spit out the kibble and not eat their food. So I tried them with this new food, Akela, and I can honestly say they have never enjoyed their food so much. It takes less than 30 seconds for them to wolf it down followed by a few minutes of licking the bowl looking for more. They love it! They also love it when given as a treat or reward. The small paws kibble is perfect for their small teeth and the price is great compared with other premium foods. I'm really glad I gave it a chance, I definitely won't be changing this food any time soon.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Fussy Bedlington finally eats! ”
Reviewed 22nd May 2015
Previous food was hills science plan, and one portion could last 3 days. (Notoriously fussy dogs that eat like super models). So glad I found this food, and know she is not eating any low quality nasties. She now ears 2 small portions a day, and never leaves a crumb! We ❤️it!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Finally a food that is scoffed!!”
Reviewed 22nd May 2015
Up until this point the many dog foods I have tried just get left in my dogs bowls all day. Many dog foods which have been recommended are just too expensive so when I found Akela I was a little apprehensive - good quality food and a decent price?? Surely not! Boy was I proved wrong. I ordered the sample and it didn't even last 1 minute. My dogs have never eaten that quickly. I have quickly moved into buying the large bags. My dogs have never looked better. They are loosing weight and look healthy despite eating every scrap of food I put down within minutes. Love it and won't ever change again.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Fantastic Food”
Reviewed 21st May 2015
This is the best dog food out there at such a reasonable price for such quality. My GSD is only a year old and spent time back and fro at the vets for loose motions and other related issues but after just two weeks on this food we have turned the corner. My dog used to pick at her food but now she loves her mealtimes. Thanks to WholePrey for producing a fantastic 5* food. My cats look forward to the day they get the same treatment.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Excellent dog food, my old boy loves it!”
Reviewed 21st May 2015
Wish I had found this dog food sooner. My 14 year old boy Roo loves it & actually gets excited at meal times now.
After trying probably most of the top brands of dog food in the country I am delighted to have now discovered Akela.
Roo's coat is shiny & he seems to have less wind. He also seems to have more energy than before I changed his food.
I can definitely recommend Akela
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Great value and does what it is supposed to”
Reviewed 20th May 2015
I now have 4 dogs on Akela - the youngest being 22 weeks. I wanted a very good quality food at a reasonable price and this is just the ticket. The dogs love it. Having 4 dogs other so called top brands were expensive so finding Akela was a godsend.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Yummy”
Reviewed 20th May 2015
My mum say's Akela is amazing value for money. 80/20 at it's best. I love it (I just wish she would feed me more of it!).
My coat is beautiful and gleaming (as commented on by the nice vet man I go to see). The ingredients are wonderful and really good for me so I mum knows I am being fed the best. Get your owners to buy it........you won't regret it and neither will they.
Alfie the Sprollie from Cornwall
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Great food at a great price ”
Reviewed 19th May 2015
I was looking for a cheaper alternative to a well known 80/20 food and found Akela. It was enjoyed even more than the original brand I used and the price can't be beaten. My dog is healthy and lean, his coat is gleaming with health and I even notice a difference in his waste. There is much less of it and it is ways solid. Wish I'd found it sooner!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“just the job”
Reviewed 19th May 2015
I moved 2 my bull terriers to thi food and they love it.
They have lovely shiny coats and nearly fall over each other to get to their
Dinner.
The customer service is good. If only my ddb would eat it but she won't touch dry at all.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
We’re Social! Facebook Facebook Facebook Facebook Connect With Us