Akela WholePrey

Akela WholePrey say:

Affordable vet-approved 80:20 nutrition. Made in Britain.

Akela WholePrey
99% of users rated this business as excellent or very good.
Ranked 1 in Dog Food
Ranking calculated based on average score and the most reviews. Businesses need more than 5 reviews to feature at the top.
614 reviews

Recent review

20th June 2020
“Buffalo ears 6 pack”
Our two dogs loved these. They were all the same size and very large, so no one felt hard done by! Great value for money and of course totally natur…

614 people have reviewed Akela WholePrey


Member ratings

Excellent
591
Very Good
18
Average
3
Poor
2
Terrible
0

Rating summary

Enjoyed by dog
Ingredients
Quality
Value for money
614 reviews (1 page) sorted by
2 reviews
“at last she will eat”
Reviewed 9th November 2015
Found you after a recommendation , my baby has been so fussy from day 1, I constantly had to add treats to her food to get her to eat even a little ....as soon as we tried Akela she has loved it , no more issues and next day delivery ...Thanks so much ...Brenda N.Ireland
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Only food my shih tzu loves!”
Reviewed 9th November 2015
The first time I've fount a food that my shih tzu will sit and wait for. He can't get enough, ask him if he wants his din dins and he's Barking at me for it. He's never been bothered about any other food. His coat is so soft and shiney he's so much healthier, he only needs a little, so.the 10kg bag is going to last forever. So cost effective ,He loves Akela, which makes me love Akela!! Thank you for making my dog healthy and happy.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“2 very happy pugs ”
Reviewed 9th November 2015
My pugs are now on their third bag of akela small paws , they liked the original , but love the fish version . The fish version appears to suit their sensitive tummies perfectly . First time we have had solid poo's !
Very good quality and at a good price . Love the re sealable bags !
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Akela fish feast”
Reviewed 9th November 2015
We found it difficult to find a food that suited our Cairn Terrier puppy. He then got very ill ( not food related) and lost a lost of weight. Fish feast is very digestible and after a couple of weeks on chicken and rice he happily returned to it and put back on all the weight he had lost surprisingly fast. It it quite crunchy which means that he doesn't bolt it down. He also tried the Original which if he could speak I think he would tell us he slightly prefers but that wasn't quite as easy for him to digest, but perfect for treats. He is now on fish feast for mains and original for treats and thriving. Also the customer service was great too. We would definitely recommend and will continue to buy.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Quality food.”
Reviewed 9th November 2015
Very happy with the excellent quality of Akela. I have 2 dogs, one has a sensitive tummy and is older and both are doing well on it. They both eat up their meals too which is always a plus as one is quite fussy!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Great food for my dog”
Reviewed 9th November 2015
I have a boston terrier with quite a sensitive stomach. We had trialled a number of different brands without much improvement. With other foods we also found he was tending to leave his food halfway through and was reluctant to finish. However, since switching to Akela his digestion is much better,, he's gained weight and looks great. He is also sitting by the food bowl ready for mealtimes and gobbling it up in one go. I. Also would say the price is also extremely reasonable for the quality of the food. Subsequently I've just ordered another two 10kg bags and am very happy I've finally found a food which is so suitable for him.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Wolfs it down every time”
Reviewed 9th November 2015
Micah loves his Akela so much I have had to buy him a slow bowl. His coat is soft and shiny, his poo, perfect and his general condition, brilliant.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Best dog food ever.”
Reviewed 8th November 2015
After reading excellent reviews on Akela, we decided to introduce it to our Staffordshire Bull Terrier puppy, Luna. Soon afterwards, we noticed how shiny her coat was becoming and she loves the varieties fish and original. It is so good to know that we are feeding her the very best.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Best food ever”
Reviewed 8th November 2015
Akela fish feast has been transformational for my standard poodle. Not one upset tummy and in boundingly good health. Totally recommend this food.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Top Quality Dog Food”
Reviewed 7th November 2015
Our dogs love Akela! They are in fantastic shape and their coats are gleaming. After trying many brands, we have finally found their food for life!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Perfect Dog Food. ”
Reviewed 7th November 2015
The more flavours added to the range the better. Can't wait for the Duck to be released.

Cost of shipping also recently been reduced, helps a lot!!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“They love it!”
Reviewed 7th November 2015
I have 2 Cavalier King Charles Spaniels..1 is 13 and the other is approx 6, an unknown abandoned ex breeding girl that was in VERY poor condition. I switched to Akela fish after doing my research for a good quality food that would help my rescue dog with her very bad coat and general health. Success! You would not believe the difference in her now!
Both girls love their dinner and my 13 year old has a new lease of life too!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Akela ”
Reviewed 7th November 2015
Great quality food with no rubbish in it. Have been feeding our Labrador puppy this since she was 9 weeks old. Her coat is soft and shiny and at 6 months old now she is thrivingom it.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
5 reviews
“Swapped From Raw”
Reviewed 7th November 2015
I had been feeding Raw to my dogs for close on a decade, but my most recent addition didn't enjoy it.
I was looking for a kibble as close to natural meat for my dogs and this is it.
So easy to order and await delivery
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 7th November 2015
All I can say is fabulous high quality food, great price and value for money. I must also mention the super customer service and support. All my dogs are thriving on this food.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Fantastic quality food.”
Reviewed 7th November 2015
Looked long and had for a good quality, lean protein food for my dog as she had a number of health issues. Akela was spot on in terms of my nutritional requirements for her and she adores the food, has a fabulous coat and less issues with itchy ears etc since being on it. That along with no complications health wise I'm not changing!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Glossiest coat ever!”
Reviewed 7th November 2015
Before getting puppy spent ages researching dog/puppy food and decided to try Akela. Gradually introduced the Fish Feast into the food she came to us with from the breeder, and were so pleased with the result. Her coat became so glossy that people comment on it and the vet said she was in tip top condition.

Would definitely recommend Akela Fish feast.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Top food.”
Reviewed 7th November 2015
My dog loves this. He arrived from a rescue centre on another brand of good quality food, but had soft and frequent stools which just wouldn't settle and was struggling to put on weight. We transitioned to Akela over a few weeks and haven't looked back. His digestion is perfect, his coat is glossy, he's filled out and has bundles of energy, and best of all he loves mealtimes and doesn't leave a scrap.

He's happy and I couldn't be more satisfied. Now, if only they made cat food....
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“part of my dogs raw fed diet now ”
Reviewed 6th November 2015
always fed raw but liked this food so much I now use it alongside my 4 rottweilers raw diet. also great for training rewards and tracking bait . I recommend Akela to all my clients
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
Little Heath, Hertfordshire, East
1 review
“wow!”
Reviewed 6th November 2015
I happened upon the Akela web site by chance - and what a lucky chance that was! I have kept boxers for many years and have used various foods throughout, but never ever have I seen such a difference in such a short space of time, I have a 7 month old puppy and a 3 year old bitch, the puppy has been on Akela since 8 weeks old, and the 3 year old went on it at the same time, the food disappears in under 2 minutes, and the biggest seeable difference and my pride and joy is the condition of the 3 year old's brindle coat - gone are the flakes, the dryness, hello to the shiny, gleaming and soft coat. Stools are firm and regular, I can't praise Akela enough.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Done the trick....”
Reviewed 6th November 2015
After my young gsdxlabx collie started to lose condition/weight, i began to look around for another 'good' feed...after trying another 5 star well known brand, which did nothing to help him gain the nice covering over his ribs and back, i spotted Akela, scanned the ingredients and reviews, bit the bullet and ordered a bag, hey presto after a month, he has a good covering all over, his coat is shiny, eyes bright, poops firm and he positively drools ( yuk) with anticiaption of tea! So I can happily recommend this feed as it does what it says on the bag! We are now on our third bag and I wont be putting him on anything else!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Excellent dog food!”
Reviewed 6th November 2015
I have spent a long time doing a lot of research into dog food and I've always been shocked by how companies can claim that 4% meat and animal derivatives with various cereals, grains, sugars and salts can be "everything your pet needs.” I believe that Akela has filled a gap in the market as all of the other high quality leading dog food brands are very expensive and have to be imported from other countries. Akela is made in the UK, very high quality, affordable, comes in a variety of flavors and contains no nasties. My dogs absolutely love it and never refuse to eat it even after months of the same flavor. They always look forward to their food! When I was using another “natural dog food” their coats were dull, rough and they always seemed hungry even though I was feeding a lot of it. Shortly after moving onto Akela their coats are like silk and they shine. I only have to feed a very small amount of it but they always seem to be full and never begging for food and the vet says their weight is perfect. Its definitely a paws up from us! I always recommend Akela to friends and family as I believe no dog should be eating 4% meat and animal derivatives which in my view is fast food for dogs.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Best food on the market !!”
Reviewed 6th November 2015
Changed my dogs into this food a few months ago and cannot get over how good they are looking on it. There is never a day when they won't eat it (unlike previous food) can't recommend highly enough
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“so pleased i now have my dogs on a wonderful food ”
Reviewed 6th November 2015
i have 5 shih tzu. as a breed fussy eaters ... but i tried them on a trail bag and cannot believe that they all wanted it ...and then lucky a lovely new pet shop right beside was selling it... such a small amount of food is needed to fill them.. i did find the chicken to rich in protein for my dogs made them all itchy ,so changed them to the fish and all is great now... great price .. dogs coats are like silk .. and tiny little poos ..
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Wholesome good food, no added junk!”
Reviewed 6th November 2015
Having hunted around for the best grain-free dog food and been incredibly disappointed with my dog’s reaction to other brands, I spotted the Akela dog food stand at Discover Dogs and decided to take a look and get myself informed about this up and coming food. Almost immediately I was approached by one of the reps and I have to say I was quickly sold!

The people there were incredibly helpful, taking plenty of time to chat and explain the food’s benefits and how it could help my dog, and I was impressed at how friendly they were even when they seemed rushed off their feet.

It’s still early days, but so far my dog’s reaction to the food has been the best, his coat is as shiny and healthy as I’ve ever seen it, his energy levels are much higher and his stool is much firmer (TMI I know but not having to scoop up runny upset tummy poos on walks is a big enough bonus its worth mentioning, believe me!)

This dog food is definitely worth every penny and I would recommend it to anyone.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Start to finish - excellent”
Reviewed 6th November 2015
I researched dried food for my new pup extensively and Akela came up again and again. So I went the site and was pleased to have so much information available. Not just product information but FAQs that were detailed and always helpful in a friendly, enthusiastic and confident manner. The option to purchase a small bag is fantastic for someone like me who was still learning what her puppy both liked and could digest. That was a success and I have since bought the full size bag and more recently a small bag of a different flavour just to keep things interesting for the pup!

I'm no working dog owner/trainer nor do I claim to know everything about dogs in general. What I can say is that my puppy clears her bowl every single day, she has energy, clean teeth and firm poos (sorry but its an important fact!) so I am very satisfied with the product. She also LOVES the fish food treats and they have been perfect for training.

Almost as important as the product itself for me is the customer service. I have found this to be excellent. The order process is simple and delivery both incredibly fast as well as high quality. It's also lovely to receive informative emails and not an incessant bombardment of offers and pushy sales.

I have recommended Akela to all my friends and will continue to do so. Thank you team - you are doing a great job.

Lisa, mum to 7 month old French Bulldog - Dolly
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
3 reviews
“Recommend this”
Reviewed 5th November 2015
This food gets 5/5 on allaboutdog food. co.uk so I had no hesitating in sending for the free sample for my dog to try. He loved it. His previous food was also a 5/5 one but where this food wins over and why he likes it better is because there are a choice of kibble sizes and he likes the small paws. Looking forward to getting a sample of the new duck variety for him next.
Why buy rubbish with a so called good name and expensive price tag when you can buy this, a dog food that is genuinely good. Recommend this to everyone wholeheartedly .
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
2 reviews
“Akela Fish Feast”
Reviewed 5th November 2015
Excellent food, my dogs love it they can't get enough of it! I would highly recommend this food to everyone and it's not that expensive to buy that's what makes it even more attractive! My dogs coats are shiny too!
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
3 reviews
“Our Allergic Dog”
Reviewed 1st November 2015
We have three Border Terriers and one of them has a hot ear. We have just had tests done at the vets for allergies and it appears he is allergic to all grains, chicken, all red meat, soya and house dust mites. It has been a nightmare trying to find something that doesn't flair up his ear and cause him wet excema on his skin. We have been very careful to eliminate grains from his diet and worked our way through all the meats to find something he can eat that he will be ok with. We were feeding a salmon and potato dog food with no grains in it but it turns out there is poultry fat in it so we have had to dis-continue that one. I am in the process of switching all three boys onto the same Akela Whole Prey Fish for the simplicity of feeding. They all seem to enjoy the food so hopefully our little allergic boy will be a lot happier. Fingers crossed this will sort out his problems food wise.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
1 review
“Excellent affordable high quality food! ”
Reviewed 30th October 2015
My three border collies have been on Akela for at least six months now and they love it! It's a great food, their coats are in great condition and I've never had any problems with them being on it. The value for money is great, given that foods of similar quality are more expensive. The company that sells akela is fantastic too, with a quick delivery and helpful customer services.

I cannot reccommend this food enough! Fantastic quality food at an affordable price.
  • Enjoyed by dog
  • Ingredients
  • Quality
  • Value for money
We’re Social! Facebook Facebook Facebook Facebook Connect With Us